X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Tokyo, Japan

HOSTEL
  • 96%
  • 1638 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 26th Feb 2015

Friendliest staff I've ever seen in a hostel. They were very helpful and so polite. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 24th Feb 2015

The hostel is clean and well maintained. The staff were extremely helpful. The location is excellent - near many shops, restaurants and the Senso-ji temple. A wonderful jumping off point for the rest of the city. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 745 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 77%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Good clean hostel. Nice location in Asakusa. For that I'd have expected the wifi to carry into the rooms: we had to sit the lobby to connect. More
Anonymous (France) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 19th Feb 2015

The staff were great and always helpful. The hostel is located in a good area. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 693 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 91%
  • 28th Feb 2015

Great atmosphere, the staff were incredibly friendly and made you feel right at home. The hostel is just a stone throw away from the metro line so it was easy to travel around Tokyo from the Hostel. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 94%
  • 2nd Feb 2015

Toco was the most amazing hostel to stay in! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The hostel has a little bar which is full of happy faces every evening. During the day you could buy cute cakes and sit and read in the bar, it was quiet and peaceful. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and the bed More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 687 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Could do with a TV in the common room other than that this place really sets the bar up high for hostels the atmosphere and vibe down stairs is so chill and positive and the staff are tops More
Be_the_board (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 23rd Feb 2015

Bathrooms and rooms were always clean and tidy. The bar is really cool such a nicely designed place, good beer and food. Only a short walk to the metro which is easy to use, grab a pasmo pass to make adventures easier. Staff are great, good the have a chat with and always happy to help. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 244 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 20th Feb 2015

cute little hostel, tucked away in the narrow streets of asakusa. a bit hard to find without gps, but that is tokyo for you. close to uneo park and everything in asakusa too. staff were really chilled and friendly. very small hostel, but this is why it is so charming. seemed to have lots More
rossimoco (New Zealand) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 1st Feb 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at retrometro! The staff was very polite and helpful. They also speak very good English :) would stay again! More
MCGUIZZY (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 1681 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 97%
  • 24th Feb 2015

Great hostel-very conveniently located close to two of the Metro lines. Rooms and facilities were very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommended! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

Solo traveller, stayed 2 nights. Very nice hostel couldn't be closer to Kurmae station which made it very easy to get to from Haneda Airport. Staff were very helpful. Relaxed vibe on the common area people keeping mostly to themselves. Did make a couple of friends. Head upto the Rooftop More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 734 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 89%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

Everything about this Hostel was perfect, EXCEPT for the bunks not having curtains(every other hostel i have stayed at in Japan has had this feature) which meant a fair bit of interrupted sleep. Apart from that the Hostel is perfect, very big, and very clean, has its own bar which is More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 18th Feb 2015

I really liked this hostel. The beds were super comfortable in the 10 bed dorm- like memory foam! The showers were spacious and hot. There is free coffee all day. I returned to this hostel after missing my flight, and stayed in the 6 bed dorm. It was very nicely decorated. There are More
ahable2418 (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 56 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 19th Jan 2015

If you want to stay in Asakusa, then this is the place. Fantastic location, great friendly staff (although not much English), and overall great facility. It needs to be noted that this is not a hostel and has no backpacker vibe, so meeting other travelers is unlikely, otherwise top marks More
neildux (USA) (MALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 7th Dec 2014

Fantastic hostel. Great staff, always friendly and location could not be beat. They even gave us a Christmas present! More
chlprobertson2643 (Australia) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 637 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 89%
  • 8th Feb 2015

The place was very nice and clean. Location was good, 5 minute walk from a metro station and also surrounded by shops and restaurants. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 21st Jan 2015

It's very nice place to stay!! I'll go back again!! More
supenjen5184 (Taiwan) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 270 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 97%
  • 24th Feb 2015

Its a lovely and upbeat hostel! My fav so far!! The folks are usually friendly and up for any conversations; their bar is pretty neat too!! Lots of lovely restaurants, attractions and onsens around, so u def wont get bored! The room I stayed in had 6 beds, its extremely spacious and even More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 21st Feb 2015

I enjoyed my stay, very good sized Japanese style beds. Plenty of room to put your stuff at the end of the bed. Also very solid, no shaking around as the next person climbs to the top bunk! The room decor is much nicer then the average backpackers too. The area Asakusa, some people More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type

Tokyo Podcast

Listen to our Tokyo podcast for a taste of what to expect there.

Listen Now

Tokyo Guide

Download your FREE guide for with info on top attractions and more.

Read Now

Tokyo Videos

Watch our Tokyo video(s) to find out ways to save money and more.

Hostelworld Tokyo Videos

Please give us your feedback