X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 89%
  • 145 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Moana Lodge

  • 49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Wellington, Wellington
  • 51%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Its too far from Town, doesn't make sense to call it 5 star backpackers, there was a female in my 4 male dormitory. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 10th Jun 2015

Basically a beach front hostel. Beautiful building, beautiful location, and wonderful staff. The kitchen is well equipped and the rooms are very cozy. I wish they gave you a little more than 200mb of free wifi, but the fact that they do give you some for free is generous. I would More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1345 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 100%
  • 21st Aug 2015

Always a great place to stay and my number 1 in Wellington. Friendly, clean and good facilities and good location in downtown area with everything in walkable distance. More
micheyb (England) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 86%
  • 16th Aug 2015

Maybe it's not the peak time, so it's quite empty which was good. More
Anonymous (China) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 85%
  • 267 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 71%
  • 21st Aug 2015

The hostel was fine, good rooms and facilities. I agree with the other comments here, lots of long-term guests who we didn't really get to know so the atmosphere wasn't the best. Couldn't fault it as a place to stay for the night though. It's just a little walk from the city, very easy to More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 83%
  • 21st Aug 2015

8 bed dorm just off the kitchen so a bit loud. no rubbish bins in the rooms. Clean and comfortable beds- wooden bunks which are very nice good and helpful staff - friendly atmosphere More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1180 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 18th Aug 2015

This hostel was amazing! The free breakfast and dinners were delicious, the staff were great, the beds were comfortable, everything was clean, and I met some awesome people here. I had so much fun in Wellington and a lot of that started with my positive experience at Nomads. You would be a More
Anonymous (Canada) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 10th Aug 2015

They need to throw the tv out the window, or put it somewhere else, maybe outside. It shows movies 24/7 and everyone just sits there watching and saying nothing. On the flip side, they did show some bangers! Apart from that, awesome place!... won't go back. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 556 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 83%
  • 10th Aug 2015

Good location, close to national museum and supermarket. They even offer me a free breakfast, nice staff. But there aren't enough shower room to be used. More
papadylan (China) (Male) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 9th Aug 2015

The kitchen facilities were good we never struggled to find we needed. The toilets were always freezing. Some of the rooms smelt horrible were guests were long termers. Stayed during the winter & 80% of the guests seemed to worwork in the hostel so not great for meeting people. More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 362 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 66%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

Just a place to stay. The mattress was so worn I felt the metal through on my back but the staff was really great! Boys were on the girl only hall so that was a little iffy. Other than that pretty average. More
Anonymous (USA) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 2nd Aug 2015

We stayed on a double bedroom for two nights and didn't spend much time at the hostel. Must say that was very noisy at night till 11:30 or further with the guests playing guitars and drums! And was quite smelly too. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 311 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 40%
  • 14th Jul 2015

On arrival the staff were friendly but we were not given much info about where our dorm was located or other facilities. The dorm room smelt of stale smoke, the bedding smelt dirty, i was on the bottom bunk and there was chewing gum and writing above me under the top bunk, there was a door More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 12th Jul 2015

Great location and probably best value for money for a hostel in Wellington - backpacker room had fridge and TV! Grand old building, very nice bathroom and shower, common room and kitchen facilities, nice bar, enjoyed the $3 eggs on toast breakfast deal. Top marks for facilities. Only More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 436 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 69%
  • 10th Jul 2015

Rooms quite dank, but excellent location. Seemed to be a friendly atmosphere, but only stayed one night. Would recommend based on close proximity to train station More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 1st Jul 2015

Hostel was functional but we really hated the bunk beds that we got in our private ensuite room. It had the equipments necessary for a night's stay in Wellington however, I wouldn't recommend a longer stay at the place. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 16th Jul 2015

Heated rooms during winter was a huge plus! Also, the beds were real mattresses! I had a loft bed in room 3! I absolutely loved it! Very tight, limited space for luggage but that's expected. Plenty of hot water. :) More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 18th May 2015

Hostel has a pretty cool atmosphere even though it can be messy sometimes. The staff is very helpful and chilled out. Looks more like a home :) More
Anonymous (Italy) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 53%
  • 269 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 86%
  • 23rd Aug 2015

The bathrooms was in an appalling state. Middew everywhere. Carpets broken . The beds was lovely and clean.I will go again. More
Anonymous (South Africa) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 5th Aug 2015

Thine matriz More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Female) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback