X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 93%
  • 140 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Moana Lodge

  • 49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Wellington, Wellington
  • 91%
  • 27th Mar 2015

Really nice place too stay, though our room was a bit small for calling it a 5-star backpackersplace. More
roelandhiele2544 (Netherlands) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 25th Mar 2015

Lovely location. Great facilities. Would return. Only downside for me was the 1/2 hour walk to get there from the train station at night. However, it's a beautiful walk along the water during daylight. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1309 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 16th May 2015

Really good hostel in the city. However, I've never been to a hostel where you have to put on your own pillowcase, top sheet, AND bottom sheet. Also, no free tea/coffee/sugar. Decent beds, clean facilities, good shower pressure, great TV room and reading room, 2 nice kitchens, and pretty More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 27th Apr 2015

Directly in front of a supermarket and very close to Te Papa, the location is excellent. The rooms and the hostel itself is super clean, it often feels more than a hotel. Wonderful and big enough common rooms and kitchens well equipped. Enjoyed my stay very much! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 223 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 94%
  • 30th Apr 2015

Best hostel in Wellington, great location, great staff, great atmosphere. As it's located between the American and Chinese Embassies it feels pretty safe. 10 - 20 minutes walk to the CBD, most people are long termers, but you get easily into their "community". New World super market is More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 28th Apr 2015

Very welcoming and homey hostel. I enjoyed the free breakfast, nice tv room and super soft linen. Relaxed vibe. Clean bathrooms that smelled nice as well- nice touch! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 82%
  • 537 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 97%
  • 12th May 2015

We were in a private room up on the 7th floor, with an amazing view of the harbor. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The only drawback was having to pay for some extra features, such as wifi and breakfast (although the latter was free as we booked through hostel world). Great More
Anonymous (USA) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller
  • 71%
  • 2nd May 2015

Nice sofa area for relaxing average rooms poor mattresses More
Anonymous (Northern Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 1141 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 63%
  • 19th May 2015

My matress was awful and rhwre ere no lockers in the room!!! More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 18th May 2015

The free pancakes are AMAZING! More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 299 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 94%
  • 16th May 2015

Hostel was great, on the Kiwi Experience bus and didn't much like the boring and overpriced "Base" on our way down south so decided to change for our stop north and very glad we did! Only booked a couple of days prior but was still cheaper and a nicer place to stay. Room was good, could More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 14th Apr 2015

This is our second stay at the hostel. The first stay was last year with a group in a group room and this year it was only two of us in a private room. The group rooms and bathrooms are much nicer than the private ones. Our private room was musty and the night side table was sticky so it More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 428 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 66%
  • 3rd May 2015

A mixed bag of a hostel. Staff very kind and friendly! Good location too! The bedroom wasn't cleaned before we arived so we had to wait for the cleaner to arrive an hour later. The "fresh" bedding didn't seem to be fresh either. Cleanliness not exactly the best. The cafe/canteen was More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 2nd May 2015

Great for an overnight stay in Wellington because it's right by the buses, trains, and ferries. Hotel atmosphere, not a hostel. Clean rooms, unstable squeaky beds, loud outside (though that doesn't bother me). Room was ensuite, which was awesome. Kitchen was large, clean, and even had an More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 341 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 63%
  • 3rd May 2015

This place is dull, the staff the building. The room i stayed in was filthy as a pig sty. used plates on the floor, worn clothes, unknown white powder (god knows what) right next to my bed. Wondered why the staff never checked or pass any warning. Only the the reception and ground floor More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 25th Apr 2015

It was a nice stay in Trek Global Maybe the drinking ban hour should be at 12 instead of 11. More
Anonymous (Switzerland) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 89 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 77%
  • 18th May 2015

Hostel has a pretty cool atmosphere even though it can be messy sometimes. The staff is very helpful and chilled out. Looks more like a home :) More
Anonymous (Italy) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 29th Mar 2015

I got there to find out that there had been a mistake in my booking and I had to go to a nearby hostel and stay there for a night first, which was annoying. The wifi worked only some of the time. Most of the people there seemed to be long termers and it didn't seem like a great place for More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 53%
  • 257 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 57%
  • 5th May 2015

Considering the cost, I was expecting better. The toilets were not that pleasant (in that other guests didn't always flush/the toilets themselves didn't always flush). I only stayed briefly, so maybe I didn't get to experience all of its good points. I had little staff and other guest More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 40%
  • 26th Apr 2015

Terrible, just terrible. Toliets have not been cleaned in ages. Also many toilets's locks doesn't work properly. French lady who works at reception not helpful at all, rude towards customers and could not give me directions of the city. Kitchen small for the amount of people that is More
Anonymous (Argentina) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback