Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

Top Rated
  • 87%
  • 1356 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

I don't remember having been in a hostel as clean and tidy as this one. No funny smells, no stuff everywhere, clean sheets. Perfect. Location is amazing too, couldn't be happier. More
augustojacquier5541 (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 27th Sep 2015

The facilities in this hostel are incredible - separate reading room & games room (with pool table and music system) & TV / video room, in addition to a large kitchen / lounge area. The location couldn't be better - just around the corner from the bus stop on Courtenay Place where buses More
Anonymous (Wales) (Male) Avid Traveller

Top Rated
  • 85%
  • 272 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 12th Sep 2015

Great hostel, very accomodating staff, newly furnished, clean bright atmosphere and decor, comfy beds, clean bathrooms, warm hostel, good hostel vibes. Free entry to tentennis courts. More
candiren (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 11th Sep 2015

I loved my stay and the good atmoaphere.Thank you guys so much ! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

Top Rated
  • 84%
  • 1194 Total Reviews


  • 100%
  • 21st Sep 2015

Absolutely awesome experience! All staff & the visitors I shared the mixed room with were wonderfully friendly. Had a GREAT time staying there! This is my second time staying at Waterloo and both occasions have been very enjoyable experiences. I would definitely recommend to others. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 86%
  • 20th Sep 2015

The staff at the reception was very helpful. It is well situated close to the main street of Wellington. The free pancakes in the morning and the free nachos in the evening at the bar next door are a good plus, the paying Wi-Fi a minus. There was only one kitchen in the whole More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 84%
  • 146 Total Reviews


  • Moana Lodge

  • 49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Wellington, Wellington
  • 91%
  • 8th Sep 2015

This hostel is the right place for anyone who seeks some peace and quiet close to Wellington. It is helpful to have a car but there is a train going to the city as well ! I just loved the fact that you can hear the ocean while laying in bed. Everything is very clean and tidy ,the staff was More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 51%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Its too far from Town, doesn't make sense to call it 5 star backpackers, there was a female in my 4 male dormitory. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 560 Total Reviews


  • 77%
  • 3rd Oct 2015

A bit noisy on a Friday night until 1am, and also a bit on the chilly side. More
atn71429 (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 80%
  • 19th Sep 2015

Mainly good. Bed, bathrooms and facilities all fine. One issue was noise at night wth people talking and yelling in the stairwell, which was right next to our room. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 79%
  • 312 Total Reviews


  • 40%
  • 14th Jul 2015

On arrival the staff were friendly but we were not given much info about where our dorm was located or other facilities. The dorm room smelt of stale smoke, the bedding smelt dirty, i was on the bottom bunk and there was chewing gum and writing above me under the top bunk, there was a door More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 12th Jul 2015

Great location and probably best value for money for a hostel in Wellington - backpacker room had fridge and TV! Grand old building, very nice bathroom and shower, common room and kitchen facilities, nice bar, enjoyed the $3 eggs on toast breakfast deal. Top marks for facilities. Only More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller

  • 78%
  • 366 Total Reviews


  • 60%
  • 21st Sep 2015

Okay hostel, only stayed one night. Quite difficult to find from the train station as the street is easy to miss. Maybe include the church in your directions so people have something to look out for. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 19th Sep 2015

The staff time is so good and te shower is awesome! More
Anonymous (Brazil) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 75%
  • 438 Total Reviews


  • 69%
  • 10th Sep 2015

i did nt like the kitchen, specially on morning with greasy noodles smell More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 10th Jul 2015

Rooms quite dank, but excellent location. Seemed to be a friendly atmosphere, but only stayed one night. Would recommend based on close proximity to train station More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 75%
  • 90 Total Reviews


  • 94%
  • 16th Jul 2015

Heated rooms during winter was a huge plus! Also, the beds were real mattresses! I had a loft bed in room 3! I absolutely loved it! Very tight, limited space for luggage but that's expected. Plenty of hot water. :) More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 18th May 2015

Hostel has a pretty cool atmosphere even though it can be messy sometimes. The staff is very helpful and chilled out. Looks more like a home :) More
Anonymous (Italy) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad

  • 60%
  • 276 Total Reviews


  • 20%
  • 4th Oct 2015

It was definitely not worth the money we paid. 80$ (including the parking fee and the key deposit) for a twin room, dirty, really noisy, with extra thin mattresses.. The bathroom was disgusting, we could not shut the door and the light was broken. The kitchen was even worse, not a More
Anonymous (France) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 1st Sep 2015

the best ever More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback