X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 92%
  • 111 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Moana Lodge

  • 49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Wellington, Wellington
  • 97%
  • 12th Sep 2014

We have a car so driving out to Plimmerton and enjoying relative peace and quiet was no problem. Otherwise, it is a 15-minute walk from train stop in a quiet area with a cafe or two nearby. More
Anonymous (USA) (Couple) Globetrotter
  • 100%
  • 19th Aug 2014

One of if not the best backpackers/hostel I have ever stayed at, very comfortable and super friendly staff. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (MALE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1207 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 94%
  • 10th Sep 2014

Great hostel. There is a supermarket just in front of it which is very convenient. It is close to the museums and the waterfront. More
mmroczko7037 (Poland) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 83%
  • 18th Aug 2014

Only one night here but it was a good place to stay to explore Queen street, the waterfront, and the sky tower. Easy to meet people in the dining area. Early morning flight was easy bc staff was available 24hours to call taxi. Only 25min ride to airport at 430am. Very cold in the room due More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 173 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 83%
  • 25th Jul 2014

Great location in the heart of Wellington, rooms and beds are a bit past their prime but the proximity to Wellington's finest cafes, restaurants and nightlife ensures you'll have no reason to stay in your room. Extremely friendly staff and the bar at Cambridge is a great place for a More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 18th Jul 2014

This hostel is just a small part of a hotel, which means that it somewhat lacks the atmosphere hostels are generally known for. There was a problem with one of the windows in my room, which combined with the rather turbulent Wellington weather made a lot of noise during the last night, More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Male) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1006 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 80%
  • 5th Sep 2014

Room as super cold and a little noisy as the window was ajar and we couldn't shut it. One thin blanket per bed wasn't enough for Windy Wellington in our room! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Globetrotter
  • 69%
  • 28th Jul 2014

Stayed in a 10 bed dorm on 105. The first floor stunk of damp and 105 wasn't so fresh either. Moved to 305 much better. Kitchen has good variety of pans etc. Only 2 toilets and showers on 3rd floor. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 79%
  • 282 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 97%
  • 24th Jul 2014

You can hear people from other rooms but this hostel is very clean. The staff is also very nice and helpful. More
williebirdy5153 (France) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 31%
  • 24th Jul 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had a horrible experience. Our room was full of long term stayers who were extremely rude and smelly. Three of the four nights, the residence of the hostel partied on a set of steps outside our dorm window until after 5am (on one night 7am). Would not More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Couple) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 458 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 100%
  • 17th Jul 2014

Great stay at Base Wellington. Location is perfect, just around the corner from the centre of town with all the bars and cafes. The building, which i learnt from the friendly staff was built in the 1930s, is full of character. Facilities are great, TV lounge and outside breakfast area was More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 25th Jun 2014

Incredible location right next to the main bar area in town, friendly staff and interesting people made this a great stay. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 355 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 60%
  • 2nd Sep 2014

We stayed in a twin room for one night. The room itself was OK. Big enough and handy to have a sink in the room, and it was nice to have a bathroom shared with just one other room. But the bathroom facilities were old and although I think it was clean, it just felt unclean that everything More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 74%
  • 15th Aug 2014

Big building with a huge kitchen, a bar inside and an elevator Everything was perfect but it has the hotel feel that some backpacker might not like. It is really a question of taste. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 61%
  • 169 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 49%
  • 13th Sep 2014

Pretty gross. Also, make sure you spare an hour or so for check in (or any tiny thing you may need from reception)- the SLOWEST guy in the world. I guess it's pretty close to Cuba Street though..? More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 60%
  • 4th Sep 2014

In the last year I have stayed at hostels in UK, France and New Zealand. My bench mark for the standard of facilities and services sought in other similar situations has been measured against "The Generator" hostel situated close to St Pancras in London. "Lodge in the City" was generally More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback