Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

Top Rated
  • 89%
  • 1385 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 21st Nov 2015

really enjoyed our stay, clean tidy, great service from behind the desk, will definitely stay again, regards carol More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 20th Nov 2015

This has got to be the cleanest hostel I've ever been too! Very large hostel, top location, top facilities, very clean and well maintained building, a very flash place, more like an apartment. I really liked the common areas and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The 10-day More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Avid Traveller

Top Rated
  • 85%
  • 287 Total Reviews


  • 80%
  • 22nd Nov 2015

The place us ok. Free breakfast and towel. More
unz742400 (Spain) (Male) Globetrotter
  • 74%
  • 17th Nov 2015

The hostel it self is great- the rooms are nice and spacious and the beds are comfortable. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms sometimes too- the kitchen is a bit a prolem. Its bit messi and we never saw it clean during that 2 days.... the other thing was that we felt ike strangers in a More
Anonymous (Germany) (Female) Novice Nomad

Top Rated
  • 83%
  • 1228 Total Reviews


  • 89%
  • 25th Nov 2015

Had some problems on the first night that the staff were very quick to sort out for me. Very clean, comfy and overall very good. More
Anonymous (England) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 22nd Nov 2015

Great hostel, no parking although it's a lot to ask for in Wellington. No free wifi. It's a dry hostel so you have to buy drinks at the bar connected to it, which is kinda annoying. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad

  • 81%
  • 571 Total Reviews


  • 69%
  • 31st Oct 2015

It is nice hostel if you want to meet new friends or want to party. I visited this hostel for a business visit in Wellington, was probably not the best option for me. But I can recommend it to other travelers. Noted that the kitchen can use an update. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 23rd Oct 2015

There where several issue we had with our stay at Base Wellington. One or two could be forgiven. But all together made the stay memorable for all the wrong reasons. We chose this hostel due to the car parking avaible. Not only was the parking paid parking which was not made clear (but More
Anonymous (England) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad

  • 76%
  • 447 Total Reviews


  • 77%
  • 11th Nov 2015

We did not open the window cause McD is right beside and all the oil smell came in, but then the room became so hot, ventilation not good enough. Far from cuba st but really liked how it was closed to the bus stop. Staff was helpful More
Anonymous (Malaysia) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 66%
  • 9th Oct 2015

Was a great hostel close to the Westpack Stadium and close to the ferry terminal. Bummer they didn't have any parking for their guests More
Anonymous (South Africa) (MALE) Novice Nomad

  • 76%
  • 387 Total Reviews


  • 91%
  • 24th Nov 2015

Nice place in the middle of the town with great facilities and staff More
Anonymous (France) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 23rd Nov 2015

Nice location. Fair prices and pretty clean. Staff were all good when approached with questions. Kitchen is kinda small and you need to pay for wifi is the only downsides. More
Anonymous (Scotland) (MALE) Avid Traveller

  • 76%
  • 321 Total Reviews


  • 46%
  • 22nd Nov 2015

Do not sleep here if you want to actually sleep at night! That's all I heard all night was the toilets going and hand dryers! I checked out after one night when I booked for 2! More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 54%
  • 19th Nov 2015

Pros: sturdy bunkbeds and nice staff Cons: 30min wifi!!!! Restroom & Kitchen not very clean. More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Avid Traveller

  • 71%
  • 91 Total Reviews


  • 49%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

Very small room, wifi never worked, limited number of showers for how many people staying there. And long term people staying were not very welcoming. Wouldn't recommend staying here! More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 16th Jul 2015

Heated rooms during winter was a huge plus! Also, the beds were real mattresses! I had a loft bed in room 3! I absolutely loved it! Very tight, limited space for luggage but that's expected. Plenty of hot water. :) More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad

  • 58%
  • 290 Total Reviews


  • 57%
  • 28th Nov 2015

It's a dive More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 43%
  • 27th Nov 2015

The hostel was $19 a night so I cannot complain for that. Unfortunately the facilities were as cheap as the accom! The walls in the toilets had yrine over them, bathrooms of cleaned were only ever given a mild surface clean. Kitchen had no utensils, literally it was gmfight for a fork. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad

Filter Result:


Price Range

Showing between



Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm


Payment Type

Please give us your feedback