X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 91%
  • 145 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Moana Lodge

  • 49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Wellington, Wellington
  • 51%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Its too far from Town, doesn't make sense to call it 5 star backpackers, there was a female in my 4 male dormitory. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 10th Jun 2015

Basically a beach front hostel. Beautiful building, beautiful location, and wonderful staff. The kitchen is well equipped and the rooms are very cozy. I wish they gave you a little more than 200mb of free wifi, but the fact that they do give you some for free is generous. I would More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1333 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 71%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

VERY helpful staff. Thank you for your patience! More of a hotel than a hostel. Quite corporate with the lifts, 6 storeys and multiple rooms. This looses it's feel for atmosphere and socialising a bit. you have to make and unmake your bed?! 3rd floor bathrooms bad drainage!! Horiible More
Anonymous (Ireland) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 21st Jul 2015

Brilliant free wifi rooms were perfect staff on desk very helpful More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 254 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 97%
  • 24th Jul 2015

I've stayed in a lot of hostels, and this is right up there with the very best. Great atmosphere, clean, secure, excellent facilities: everything you need from a hostel. More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 23rd Jul 2015

Nice and clean... Pretty far away and seems like most guests are long-term and as a result witnessed social interaction but not much mixing with short stayers! Wellington is a brilliant city though... Kitchen and commons areas were clean and well done More
Anonymous (USA) (MALE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 550 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 100%
  • 24th Jul 2015

I'm 70 years old and I this is the second time I have stayed .. You run a very good hostel even for my age .. I felt very respected by reception staff, ( a lovely welcome )..cleaning staff... also the younger guests... I was in a 4 bed dorm with lovely international backpacking young !!! More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 22nd Jul 2015

Everything was good in my stay as a backpacker. More
Anonymous (Chile) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 1171 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 100%
  • 21st Jul 2015

best hostel in NZ! Ken Keys More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 18th Jul 2015

the staff were really good to work with, they had a very friendly vibe about them and had great knowledge of the city and what events were taking place at the time of our stay More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (All Male Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 78%
  • 358 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 66%
  • 2nd Aug 2015

We stayed on a double bedroom for two nights and didn't spend much time at the hostel. Must say that was very noisy at night till 11:30 or further with the guests playing guitars and drums! And was quite smelly too. More
Anonymous (Italy) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 18th Jul 2015

The staff were super helpful and accommodating. Weather was sketchy and Ferry might have been cancelled, they continually checked and even held 6 beds for us just in case...we didn't even have to ask. More
Anonymous (Canada) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 309 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 40%
  • 14th Jul 2015

On arrival the staff were friendly but we were not given much info about where our dorm was located or other facilities. The dorm room smelt of stale smoke, the bedding smelt dirty, i was on the bottom bunk and there was chewing gum and writing above me under the top bunk, there was a door More
Anonymous (England) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 11th Jun 2015

A fridge in the room was great, could do to also have securable lockers. Better than average bathrooms, lots of space. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 435 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 69%
  • 10th Jul 2015

Rooms quite dank, but excellent location. Seemed to be a friendly atmosphere, but only stayed one night. Would recommend based on close proximity to train station More
Anonymous (Canada) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 1st Jul 2015

Hostel was functional but we really hated the bunk beds that we got in our private ensuite room. It had the equipments necessary for a night's stay in Wellington however, I wouldn't recommend a longer stay at the place. More
Anonymous (Singapore) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 90 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 94%
  • 16th Jul 2015

Heated rooms during winter was a huge plus! Also, the beds were real mattresses! I had a loft bed in room 3! I absolutely loved it! Very tight, limited space for luggage but that's expected. Plenty of hot water. :) More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 18th May 2015

Hostel has a pretty cool atmosphere even though it can be messy sometimes. The staff is very helpful and chilled out. Looks more like a home :) More
Anonymous (Italy) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 52%
  • 266 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 37%
  • 28th Jun 2015

Clean the toilets and hallways as well as the rooms! This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Couple) Novice Nomad
  • 34%
  • 25th Jun 2015

It is a place that has misleading advertising. when we just said it was the fault of the page hostelworld.. they didn't climb the information. the place has a small parking area that isn't available upon arrival. the room we requested was triple but was only a double bed with a bunk up. More
Anonymous (Argentina) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback