X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 95%
  • 133 Total Reviews

No.1

  • Moana Lodge

  • 49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Wellington, Wellington
  • 94%
  • 24th Mar 2015

Stunning room with a view, 30 minute train to Wellington, safe, scenic, very friendly and clean!! More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Mar 2015

I would highly recommend this place it's spotless and perfect, staff is really really nice and the beds are comfy. not a party place, very chilled. One note: I never checked the location and was surprised it was that far away from town. 30m on a train. didn't matter in the end but quite a More
bobmeijer (Netherlands) (MALE) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 1284 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 89%
  • 25th Mar 2015

First YHA I've stayed at where they won't store your luggage at checkout. Disappointing. Good stay otherwise. More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 100%
  • 20th Mar 2015

Awesome stay, no problems at all. Good value for money More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 207 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 100%
  • 9th Mar 2015

I've stayed in ~40 hostels in NZ and this was one of my favourites. Lovely spacious clean bedrooms, well set out kitchen and large dining table, powerful showers. Only a minute from a big supermarket. The only downside was the WiFi, which only worked in the downstairs communal area and More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 83%
  • 5th Mar 2015

The free wifi doesn't really work outside the reception area and is very slow. But the hostel itself is very nice, I liked it a lot. More
Anonymous (Sweden) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 520 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 86%
  • 22nd Mar 2015

Good enough and it's cheap. Close to the party zone of Courtney Place which you can hear all night with pumping music but it's not too invasive. Good value for $. Clean enough. Nice staff. More
kieransteele2352 (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 97%
  • 14th Mar 2015

clean, nice kitchen, very close to the bars. It was noisy outside on sat night (not the hostel's fault), which might be a problem for a light sleeper but not for me. More
danidayrell (Brazil) (FEMALE) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 81%
  • 277 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 51%
  • 26th Mar 2015

The hostel is an old hotel a bit smelly and very noisy as facing a main street. No breakfast provided (not even coffee or tea bags). WiFi only for 30 mins then $2.50 every 30min. Beds are definitely not comfortable and noisy. No bed lights. I was in a 4 beds room and there was no More
Anonymous (Italy) (Female) Avid Traveller
  • 89%
  • 23rd Mar 2015

Nice heritage feel. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 1104 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 89%
  • 16th Mar 2015

Everyone was friendly, free dinner was great, good location and a really good atmosphere, pretty chilled during the day! Noisy at night because of the bar, but to be expected as the next night was Paddy's day!! More
Anonymous (Scotland) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 71%
  • 13th Mar 2015

I had a good stay but when I came home on sat nite from a nite out I found someone else in my bed and I when down to complain and they didn't do anything but give me another room after 45 mins wait from another room plus was kicked out of that room at 10 in the morning and have to wait More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 80%
  • 86 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 80%
  • 2nd Mar 2015

Very nice place, small and welcoming with very friendly staff. Long term residents seemed friendlier than in most places I've visited and generally the 'family' atmosphere they try to create here was enjoyable. Comfortable rooms and pretty quiet at night too, would visit again if I'm More
Anonymous (England) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 46%
  • 27th Feb 2015

Very incrowd atmosphere, didn't feel good at all. Kitchen was a mess, showers were not clean. Really noisy. More
Anonymous (Netherlands) (Female) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 332 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 97%
  • 24th Mar 2015

As an older lady new to hostels, I was a little concerned how it would work out. I needn't have worried- I stayed in the retreat More
Anonymous (Wales) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 89%
  • 4th Mar 2015

Very nice staff, we booked a two bed dorm but to make sure we got in the same room we got upgraded to an ensuite double! The bathroom in the was a bit disgusting though - clearly not cleaned. Would stay there again More
Anonymous (Denmark) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 74%
  • 413 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 83%
  • 13th Mar 2015

the only thing that i wasnt happy about was the power points not working in the room and having to climb up on bunkbeds at my age in time. they should just make it a single room shared bathroom and have the bigger rooms 2 single beds in the one room but everything else i was happy about More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 60%
  • 12th Mar 2015

My first really bad experience in a hostel with the management ! And I know what I'm talking about because I went in around 80 hostels around the world and at least 30 only in New Zealand. Really amazing, and not in a positive way ... More
Anonymous (France) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 56%
  • 241 Total Reviews

No.10

  • 43%
  • 25th Feb 2015

Renovation of the Bathrooms urgently necessary! More
Anonymous (Germany) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 57%
  • 22nd Feb 2015

In short, your discussion to stay here should depend on what is important to you. If you want somewhere clean, quiet, calm, well staffed and organised, don't stay here. If you want somewhere cheap then do it. Cheap was more important to me, so it was fine, otherwise take stock of what More
Anonymous (Canada) (Couple) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback