X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Choose from our best hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 87%
  • 1446 Total Reviews

No.1

  • 97%
  • 5th Feb 2016

I'm a repeat YHA Wellington person and that's where I tell everyone else to stay. That speaks for itself. More
Anonymous (USA) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 94%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel is conveniently located, a short walk from the path to Mt. Victoria, Te Papa Museum, and a lot of nice restaurants, bars and shops. Even though it's a big hostel, it was always perfectly quiet and the bathrooms and bedroom were very clean. Great More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 86%
  • 336 Total Reviews

No.2

  • 80%
  • 1st Feb 2016

The wifi wasn't working a good portion of the time I stayed there. So that wasn't great. And I noticed that the cleaning staff didn't mop the floors or dust the blinds. Both were extremely dirty in the bathrooms. The staff was ok. I liked that we had to have a room key to get in. I would More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 69%
  • 1st Feb 2016

The wifi needs fixing, for the entire time we were there we rarely were able to connect, very hard when you are trying to plan and book accommodation for the days ahead. More
Anonymous (Australia) (Female) Novice Nomad


Top Rated
HOSTEL
  • 83%
  • 1296 Total Reviews

No.3

  • 74%
  • 3rd Feb 2016

This hostel was not the worst one I have been too, but I would probably not stay there again. There was no ventilation in any of the rooms as the windows were less than a foot wide. We had also been in the kitchen for pancakes, what a mess that was, but I appreciate the free food. The More
Anonymous (USA) (FEMALE) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 25th Jan 2016

really nice hostel in a beautiful old building in the heart of Wellington with super welcoming staff. apart from squeaky beds, insanely loud bar and sometimes shockingly slow wifi it's a great experience. More
Anonymous (Germany) (MALE) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 596 Total Reviews

No.4

  • 94%
  • 8th Jan 2016

It was a great first hostel experience. I would definitely stay there again. The location is perfect! More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 77%
  • 31st Dec 2015

-seems like a former hotel - huge number of dorms -common areas don't convey a feeling of coziness - they look a bit cold (maybe because everything has to be a bit bigger than in hostels with less guests) -no WiFi except you pay for it (no problem as there is free WiFi in the street More
Trapperkeeper (Germany) (Male) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 77%
  • 339 Total Reviews

No.5

  • 74%
  • 23rd Jan 2016

Check that sink taps are actually working, only had hot water tap running and not cold. Either way my stay was actually quite nice. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 91%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

Great location next to lovely cafes and restaurants. Staff were very helpful. Facilities were brilliant. Would highly recommend. More
Anonymous (England) (COUPLE) Avid Traveller


HOSTEL
  • 75%
  • 420 Total Reviews

No.6

  • 51%
  • 27th Jan 2016

This hostel is very well situated and has a great system in place for our security (locked doors, lockers, magnetic cards), but everything was pretty much disgusting. The showers, the kitchens were dirty. Tons of dishes in the sink and food everywhere. The showers were cleaned at 8:15 am More
Anonymous (Canada) (ALLFEMALEGROUP) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 22nd Jan 2016

It may just be that, at 36, I'm too old for this kind of thing, but to be challenged (however politely) three times in four days as to whether ii was actually a guest in a hostel inescapably soured me on the place. Waking up to find someone else cleaning my private room at midnight wasn't More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 73%
  • 463 Total Reviews

No.7

  • 51%
  • 29th Jan 2016

Upon arriving my bed was taken by somebody else in the 20per dorm. Was helped by staff to locate another bed though which was good. Room wasn't clean at all, smelt poor etc. Have stayed in other places much nicer for similar prices. More
Anonymous (New Zealand) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 63%
  • 16th Jan 2016

I stayed one night in a single room with a shared bathroom. The place is a dump. Seriously needs some better cleaning and some paint. My room had all kinds of holes and cracks in the walls and the carpet felt so dirty I kept my shoes on at all times. The shared bathroom was also in a More
Anonymous (USA) (Female) Globetrotter


HOSTEL
  • 60%
  • 96 Total Reviews

No.8

  • 89%
  • 17th Jan 2016

'Tis good here. You should come. More
Anonymous (England) (Female) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 2nd Oct 2015

Very small room, wifi never worked, limited number of showers for how many people staying there. And long term people staying were not very welcoming. Wouldn't recommend staying here! More
Anonymous (England) (All Female Group) Novice Nomad


HOSTEL
  • 57%
  • 331 Total Reviews

No.9

  • 23%
  • 6th Feb 2016

I wouldn't let a dog sleep there! Left after one night. You've been warned. More
Anonymous (Ireland) (Male) Novice Nomad
  • 49%
  • 31st Jan 2016

Bathrooms and showers were really dirty, staff was really slow at check-in so that a long queue formed (also we had to wait more than 20 minutes for employee to get back to reception). Paying $60pp for a twin room seemed pretty expensive. More
Anonymous (Germany) (Mixed Group) Novice Nomad



Filter Result:

Currency

Price Range

Showing between

Rating

0%
100%

Showing between

Property Type

Room Type

  • Private
  • Dorm

Facilities

Payment Type


Please give us your feedback