Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel e Pousada El Shaddai, Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
8.3
19th May 2013

The kitchen needs some more cooking utensils added but apart from that fantastic hostel. The staff were amazing, breakfast is great and close to everything you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Iguazu Falls Hostel, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
6.3
18th May 2013

Really comfy beds, close to bus station which is a plus- just be warned if going into Brazil by bus, do not pay long distance buses in Argentinian Pesos, its a huge rip off! just wait until you are across the boarder and get reals out at the ATM, do not change pesos into reals at the money exchanges in the city either-another huge rip off/scam.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Sue Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
8.0
15th May 2013

Nice hostel, close to everything and good facilities. One of the reception staff is a little slow and does not understand bookings done via the internet so be careful when it comes to paying-she may try and overcharge! but apart from that staff care lovely and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Chill House Backpackers hostel, Cartagena, Colombia
8.3
9th May 2013

Main receptionist is amazing and super helpful, best ive come across in 2 years of travel, will go out of her way to sort things for you. Hostel is in a fantastic location. Bit difficult with only 2 bathrooms though and hostel pretty small. Think owners of hostel are trying to make money everywhere they can, but ok hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Drop Bear Hostel, Santa Marta, Colombia
7.1
29th Apr 2013

Cool house with great potential. Big well equipped kitchen. Bathrooms can get a bit manky in the dorms. Hostel owner needs to stop focusing on the money making at this stage- everything is really overpriced, from water at 4000 COP for 1.5 litres when you can get 5L down the road for the same priced and a crappy BBQ for 25000 COP is a total rip off. Staff/owner can be arrogant and not very helpful, which is a let down. Could be a great hostel but needs work.

View Property Reply

Unfortunately these clients were robbed in Taganga late one night whilst walking with a camera. Although we did our best to help them it apparently wasnt enough and they blamed us for the whole debacle. The bathroom was not unclean but rather water on the floor, we provide FREE purified water 24/7 in the kitchen. The BBQ is unlimited helpings and comes with free beer not sure why thats a ripoff? They also came back 3 times.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mistella Salsa Hostel, Cali, Colombia
5.4
22nd Apr 2013

Unsure why this hostel has such great ratings. They shouldn't be allowed to say 'breakfast included'- some white rolls with nothing to put on or in them and coffee granules-very poor! Private room wasn't private- see-through curtains and very unprivate shower area! Young guy that is usually running things-constantly 'gaming' on his computer, barely has time to look up, no maps or city information given, kitchen unequipt and no hot water to wash dishes (unhygienic). Not great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Chasqui, Otavalo, Ecuador
7.7
20th Apr 2013

Staff were lovely, although sometimes a bit hard to find.. good location away from all the hustle and bustle, nice big kitchen and good views.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Macondo Hotel, Canoa, Ecuador
8.9
13th Apr 2013

Away from the bars so nice and quiet at night, but still only 3 mins walk to the beach, big lovely rooms, great showers, Felix the owner is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.3
31st Mar 2013

Owners are really nice but the ratings for this hostel are way too high for what it actually is. Its very small, no atmosphere and very basic. The location and price is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
El Labrador Hostel, Cusco, Peru
7.7
29th Mar 2013

Nice, quiet place. Clean and comfy. Room was a little awkward having no outside window and the only window was on the shared living area so had to keep the curtains closed all the time-maybe some net curtains need to be added. Hosts lovely though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ecopackers, Cusco, Peru
6.6
21st Mar 2013

Huge hostel, very noisy with people coming and going all night, breakfast pretty good, staff not so friendly all the time, bathrooms great and clean, location really good, needs a new kitchen!!-so tiny for number of people and pretty dirty. Good hostel but needs improvements.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Adventure Brew Hostel, La Paz, Bolivia
7.7
17th Mar 2013

Great bar, breakfast pancakes are awesome, room smelt pretty bad though and double bed was tiny for 2 people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Iquisa, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
5.4
23rd Feb 2013

Was ok that's about it. Flies in the kitchen a nightmare. Poor starving cats that live their and owners just don't care- hope the one that is/was pregnant is being looked after!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Loki Salta, Salta, Argentina
6.9
20th Feb 2013

Great location away from awful Salta. Beautiful pool and cool bar. Breakfast is pretty poor though and flies are a problem (but they're trying to sort that). Always things organised which is cool. Staff needs to be a little more professional as witnessed managers boyfriend being very rude to her and having argument right infront of all of us and other staff members complaining to us that it happens often...sort it out. Otherwise fab place to stay for a few days.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Macondo, Mendoza, Argentina
5.1
16th Feb 2013

From the outside this place may seem like a hostel-it isn't.This is basically some guys that have a place together and they are now renting out the rest of the rooms to make some money.Parties go on every night until 4-5am,it is extremely noisy!The place is filled with their friends.They do not speak good english,we were given wrong directions,they ran out of toilet paper and gave us wrong sheets twice to make our own bed.Average rooms.Nice guys & clean kitchen bt not good enough.Needs work!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bellavista Hostel, Santiago, Chile
7.1
12th Feb 2013

Great location in the very trendy Bellavista area, great vibes. Hostel has really good potential, its huge with lots of common spaces however could be 'jazzed'up a bit more,wouldnt take much time to make this hostel one of the best. Let down by a disgusting kitchen, moths in all the cupboards, dirty dishes, horrible fridge, food splatters all over the walls-it is foul! Needs a massive clean and then to be kept clean by visitors and staff to manage this.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Casa Aventura, Valparaiso, Chile
7.4
11th Feb 2013

Nice guy, very chatty and helpful. Clean and good location, directions could have been a little better. Hostel fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Margouya Patagonia, Puerto Varas, Chile
8.9
8th Feb 2013

Pierre is awesome, will go the extra mile to help you out. Big, clean, lovely hostel. El Gorditos resturant just down the road is amazing-thanks for the recommendation. Had a great stay, thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Nakel Yenu, El Calafate, Argentina
6.9
31st Jan 2013

Nice staff, no curtain in dorm, kitchen needs to be better equipt, ok hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Casona de Odile, El Bolson, Argentina
8.9
25th Jan 2013

Beautiful location, very relaxing. Delisheous homemade bread and jam for breakfast, loved it. A couple of very skinny dogs there but have discussed with one of the owners and he promised to make sure they were being fed and kept healthy from now on, very thankful for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Pudu, Bariloche, Argentina
7.4
23rd Jan 2013

Lovely owners, awesome view, well equipt kitchen. Cool hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Rayuela Hostel Boutique, Buenos Aires, Argentina
6.6
18th Jan 2013

Helpful receptionists. Breakfast ok. Comfy beds. Leaky toilet pretty gross, needs fixing. Close to most important places in BA.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Brown Sugar Backpackers, Johannesburg, South Africa
8.0
16th Jan 2013

Owner extremely nice and helpful. Very comfy bed, great looking hostel. Location a bit far away from everything (supermarket..etc) and taxis more expensive then what you can get elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple,
  • Globetrotter
Pension Aia, San Sebastian, Spain
10.0
21st Dec 2011

More like a hotel then a hostel. Beautiful rooms, very clean, lovely people. Had a fantastic time, highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand,
  • Globetrotter
Casa Angela, Granada, Spain
4.7
7th Dec 2011

Not what we expected according to the description at all.Bathrooms are terrible, showers barely work, kitchen is falling apart and dirty, no sign of air conditioning only a fan and the heater leaks in the rooms wetting anything on the floor. Owner was nice but this place definitly needs A LOT of work to be up to standard.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand,
  • Globetrotter
Emerald Hostel Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
6.0
5th Oct 2011

Kitchen needs to be cleaned once in awhile, it is disgusting. No hot water in kitchen either which makes it very difficult to clean dishes. Tea towels are filthy. Breakfast was very average and left over food left in the dirty fridge uncovered until the next day-process repeated every day.. needless to say we stopped eating the 'fresh meat and vegetables'. Apart from that room was reasonable, same with bathrooms, owner was pretty helpful.

View Property Reply

hello, thank you for your comment. we clean the kitchen after all the guests had the breakfast, not in between, we cannot help if not everybody eats properly. of course there is hot water in the kitchen. if you stop eating the breakfast, which is not true, how do you know if it is the same every day? because we changed it. pretty haplful owner-worths 3 points out of 5 -really wondering if your % corresponds with what you write overall you payed 70 euro for 3 nights in the double room. we try to give the maximum for our guests, but this is not a hotel.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Emma Hostel, Prague, Czech Republic
6.3
27th Sep 2011

Good location, the door locking system is a pain, 3 keys to just get in to your room every time. showers need to be cleaned more often they stink and need holders to have the shower heads on the wall, so annoying having to hold it all the time or have it on the floor. otherwise not a bad hostel.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.