Reviews: Anonymous

Hostel e Pousada El Shaddai

Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
83%

The kitchen needs some more cooking utensils added but apart from that fantastic hostel. The staff were amazing, breakfast is great and close to everything you need.

  • 19th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Iguazu Falls Hostel

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
63%

Really comfy beds, close to bus station which is a plus- just be warned if going into Brazil by bus, do not pay long distance buses in Argentinian Pesos, its a huge rip off! just wait until you are across the boarder and get reals out at the ATM, do not change pesos into reals at the money exchanges in the city either-another huge rip off/scam.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Hostel Sue Candelaria

Bogota, Colombia
80%

Nice hostel, close to everything and good facilities. One of the reception staff is a little slow and does not understand bookings done via the internet so be careful when it comes to paying-she may try and overcharge! but apart from that staff care lovely and helpful.

  • 15th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


83%

Main receptionist is amazing and super helpful, best ive come across in 2 years of travel, will go out of her way to sort things for you. Hostel is in a fantastic location. Bit difficult with only 2 bathrooms though and hostel pretty small. Think owners of hostel are trying to make money everywhere they can, but ok hostel.

  • 9th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Drop Bear Hostel

Santa Marta, Colombia
71%

Cool house with great potential. Big well equipped kitchen. Bathrooms can get a bit manky in the dorms. Hostel owner needs to stop focusing on the money making at this stage- everything is really overpriced, from water at 4000 COP for 1.5 litres when you can get 5L down the road for the same priced and a crappy BBQ for 25000 COP is a total rip off. Staff/owner can be arrogant and not very helpful, which is a let down. Could be a great hostel but needs work.

  • 29th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately these clients were robbed in Taganga late one night whilst walking with a camera. Although we did our best to help them it apparently wasnt enough and they blamed us for the whole debacle. The bathroom was not unclean but rather water on the floor, we provide FREE purified water 24/7 in the kitchen. The BBQ is unlimited helpings and comes with free beer not sure why thats a ripoff? They also came back 3 times.

Mistella Salsa Hostel

Cali, Colombia
54%

Unsure why this hostel has such great ratings. They shouldn't be allowed to say 'breakfast included'- some white rolls with nothing to put on or in them and coffee granules-very poor! Private room wasn't private- see-through curtains and very unprivate shower area! Young guy that is usually running things-constantly 'gaming' on his computer, barely has time to look up, no maps or city information given, kitchen unequipt and no hot water to wash dishes (unhygienic). Not great.

  • 22nd Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Hostal Chasqui

Otavalo, Ecuador
77%

Staff were lovely, although sometimes a bit hard to find.. good location away from all the hustle and bustle, nice big kitchen and good views.

  • 20th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Macondo Hotel

Canoa, Ecuador
89%

Away from the bars so nice and quiet at night, but still only 3 mins walk to the beach, big lovely rooms, great showers, Felix the owner is great.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


63%

Owners are really nice but the ratings for this hostel are way too high for what it actually is. Its very small, no atmosphere and very basic. The location and price is good.

  • 31st Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


El Labrador Hostel

Cusco, Peru
77%

Nice, quiet place. Clean and comfy. Room was a little awkward having no outside window and the only window was on the shared living area so had to keep the curtains closed all the time-maybe some net curtains need to be added. Hosts lovely though.

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Ecopackers

Cusco, Peru
66%

Huge hostel, very noisy with people coming and going all night, breakfast pretty good, staff not so friendly all the time, bathrooms great and clean, location really good, needs a new kitchen!!-so tiny for number of people and pretty dirty. Good hostel but needs improvements.

  • 21st Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


The Adventure Brew Hostel

La Paz, Bolivia
77%

Great bar, breakfast pancakes are awesome, room smelt pretty bad though and double bed was tiny for 2 people.

  • 17th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Hostal Iquisa

San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
54%

Was ok that's about it. Flies in the kitchen a nightmare. Poor starving cats that live their and owners just don't care- hope the one that is/was pregnant is being looked after!!

  • 23rd Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Loki Salta

Salta, Argentina
69%

Great location away from awful Salta. Beautiful pool and cool bar. Breakfast is pretty poor though and flies are a problem (but they're trying to sort that). Always things organised which is cool. Staff needs to be a little more professional as witnessed managers boyfriend being very rude to her and having argument right infront of all of us and other staff members complaining to us that it happens often...sort it out. Otherwise fab place to stay for a few days.

  • 20th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Hostel Macondo

Mendoza, Argentina
51%

From the outside this place may seem like a hostel-it isn't.This is basically some guys that have a place together and they are now renting out the rest of the rooms to make some money.Parties go on every night until 4-5am,it is extremely noisy!The place is filled with their friends.They do not speak good english,we were given wrong directions,they ran out of toilet paper and gave us wrong sheets twice to make our own bed.Average rooms.Nice guys & clean kitchen bt not good enough.Needs work!!!

  • 16th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Bellavista Hostel

Santiago, Chile
71%

Great location in the very trendy Bellavista area, great vibes. Hostel has really good potential, its huge with lots of common spaces however could be 'jazzed'up a bit more,wouldnt take much time to make this hostel one of the best. Let down by a disgusting kitchen, moths in all the cupboards, dirty dishes, horrible fridge, food splatters all over the walls-it is foul! Needs a massive clean and then to be kept clean by visitors and staff to manage this.

  • 12th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Casa Aventura

Valparaiso, Chile
74%

Nice guy, very chatty and helpful. Clean and good location, directions could have been a little better. Hostel fine.

  • 11th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Margouya Patagonia

Puerto Varas, Chile
89%

Pierre is awesome, will go the extra mile to help you out. Big, clean, lovely hostel. El Gorditos resturant just down the road is amazing-thanks for the recommendation. Had a great stay, thanks!

  • 8th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen

El Calafate, Argentina
69%

Nice staff, no curtain in dorm, kitchen needs to be better equipt, ok hostel.

  • 31st Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


La Casona de Odile

El Bolson, Argentina
89%

Beautiful location, very relaxing. Delisheous homemade bread and jam for breakfast, loved it. A couple of very skinny dogs there but have discussed with one of the owners and he promised to make sure they were being fed and kept healthy from now on, very thankful for that.

  • 25th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Hostel Pudu

Bariloche, Argentina
74%

Lovely owners, awesome view, well equipt kitchen. Cool hostel

  • 23rd Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Rayuela Hostel Boutique

Buenos Aires, Argentina
66%

Helpful receptionists. Breakfast ok. Comfy beds. Leaky toilet pretty gross, needs fixing. Close to most important places in BA.

  • 18th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Brown Sugar Backpackers

Johannesburg, South Africa
80%

Owner extremely nice and helpful. Very comfy bed, great looking hostel. Location a bit far away from everything (supermarket..etc) and taxis more expensive then what you can get elsewhere.

  • 16th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (27 reviews)


Pension Aia

San Sebastian, Spain
100%

More like a hotel then a hostel. Beautiful rooms, very clean, lovely people. Had a fantastic time, highly recommend!!

  • 21st Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple
  • (27 reviews)


Casa Angela

Granada, Spain
47%

Not what we expected according to the description at all.Bathrooms are terrible, showers barely work, kitchen is falling apart and dirty, no sign of air conditioning only a fan and the heater leaks in the rooms wetting anything on the floor. Owner was nice but this place definitly needs A LOT of work to be up to standard.


Emerald Hostel Budapest

Budapest, Hungary
60%

Kitchen needs to be cleaned once in awhile, it is disgusting. No hot water in kitchen either which makes it very difficult to clean dishes. Tea towels are filthy. Breakfast was very average and left over food left in the dirty fridge uncovered until the next day-process repeated every day.. needless to say we stopped eating the 'fresh meat and vegetables'. Apart from that room was reasonable, same with bathrooms, owner was pretty helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank you for your comment. we clean the kitchen after all the guests had the breakfast, not in between, we cannot help if not everybody eats properly. of course there is hot water in the kitchen. if you stop eating the breakfast, which is not true, how do you know if it is the same every day? because we changed it. pretty haplful owner-worths 3 points out of 5 -really wondering if your % corresponds with what you write overall you payed 70 euro for 3 nights in the double room. we try to give the maximum for our guests, but this is not a hotel.

Emma Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic
63%

Good location, the door locking system is a pain, 3 keys to just get in to your room every time. showers need to be cleaned more often they stink and need holders to have the shower heads on the wall, so annoying having to hold it all the time or have it on the floor. otherwise not a bad hostel.

  • 27th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (27 reviews)