Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Female, Age 31

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sandakan Backpackers, Sandakan, Malaysia
6.9
2nd Apr 2014

I had originally reserved two nights at this hostel but checked out in the middle of the night (2am) my first night there because the beds were full of bed bugs! The girl on the bottom bed of the bunk woke me up she was scratching so much and we looked at her bed, it was swarming with bed bugs, killed 8. Then I saw them in my bed. The first clue should have been the missing mattress from one of the beds in the room. Told the staff we wanted to leave and they immediately refunded the full money.

View Property Reply

Dear Melissa, thank you for your review to Sandakan Backpackers. The night staff that in charge during that day, said there is no guest that checking out at 2am. You wrote also we refunded full money to you. But in our record here, you paid and there is no refund. Maybe there is a mistake review here. We hope you can explain to us about this review. Thank you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Jesselton Cabin, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
9.1
25th Mar 2014

Great hostel and friendly, helpful staff. I love the balcony space on each floor, nice space to relax and socialize.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
8.6
25th Mar 2014

Great place to stay before a climb up Mt. Kinabalu. Short walk to the park headquarters. They also have a small shop to buy anything you may need last minute for the climb, I bought gloves and a warm hat, which were much needed. The view is also really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Borneo Backpackers, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
6.6
23rd Mar 2014

“I had originally reserved two nights at this hostel but checked out in the middle of the night (2am) my first night there because the beds were full of bed bugs! The girl on the bottom bed of the bunk woke me up she was scratching so much and we looked at her bed, it was swarming with bed bugs, killed 8. Then I saw them in my bed. The first clue should have been the missing mattress from one of the beds in the room. Told the staff we wanted to leave and they immediately refunded the full money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Le Nomade Hostel, Kuching, Malaysia
9.7
13th Mar 2014

Loved this place!! Chris and Mr. T are wonderful. They really make you feel at home and are beyond helpful with information and suggestions on things to do. A few of us were lucky enough to be invited to go to a longhouse of the family of Mr. T. Amazing experience. I will cherish the times in Kuching!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Fernloft City (Chinatown), Singapore, Singapore
9.1
22nd Jan 2014

Auntie that runs the place great! The breakfast is simple but does the job. Awesome location, right next to the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Newland Hostel, Da Lat, Vietnam
8.6
15th Jan 2014

Great location, friendly staff. The only problem is the close the doors early at night and sometimes don't open them till after 8am and it was hard to find a staff to let us out in the morning. Breakfast is fine and changes daily.

View Property Reply

thank you for your compliment about Newland as well as worst thing. sorry about that because at that time Dalat was a little cold, and we were quite tired so that why we slept a bit late. we appologized. we are now having more staff so we are going to serve you as well as possible

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sunflower Hotel Hoi An, Hoi An, Vietnam
8.3
7th Jan 2014

Sunflower is a little further from town (not a big problem, it's walkable or even better, a bike lady just out front rents bicycles for 20.000 Dong per day) than many other options that offer dorms beds, not many are listed here on Hostel World. The staff is wonderful and quite helpful. They rooms were clean with a great, separate shower in the bathroom! There is also a pool and a lovely outdoor seating area. The best thing about the hostel, and what you are paying for, is the buffet breakfast!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hue Backpackers Hostel, Hue, Vietnam
8.6
5th Jan 2014

Great location, near all of the sights, night spots and many delicious local restaurants. Short walk across the river to the Citadel. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great balconies on each floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.3
24th Dec 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sihome Backpackers Hostel, Vientiane, Laos
8.6
14th Dec 2013

Great location, friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Downtown Siem Reap Hostel, Siem Reap, Cambodia
8.6
1st Dec 2013

Nice staff, great location, about a five minute walk to the night market, pub street and the central area. Nice clean pool to swim in, a lawn for relaxing and a great little bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
CheQinn, Bangkok, Thailand
8.0
8th Sep 2013

Great hostel, easy to get to on the BTS and very clean. Not too close to the regular backpacker area which was a nice change. Nice common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
NapPark Hostel at Khao San, Bangkok, Thailand
7.4
30th Aug 2013

Overall, I really enjoyed this hostel. I stayed here with a friend for a few nights and we were in the 22 bed mixed dorm. The common area & food offering was great. The ladies room only has two showers so there was sometimes a wait. The hostel smells fresh and has one of the coldest AC's I have ever had in a room. My main complaint was the on my 3rd and 4th nights of staying here, I was attacked by bed bugs which the hostel didn't want to admit it and it took much talking to get my bed switched!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.7
15th Nov 2011

Great hostel! Social and welcoming atmosphere. Much better than the Prague St. Christopher's!

View Property Reply

Wow... thank you We are so happy you had a great time in Paris. We would love to have you back and we would make sure that you had another wonderful time again ;-)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Greg & Tom Party Hostel, Krakow, Poland
9.7
26th Sep 2011

Fantastic staff!! Great food, fun and friends here. Loved ti here in the hostel and this city. Extended the stay two more nights.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Munich, Munich, Germany
9.0
22nd Sep 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hobo Bear Hostel, Zagreb, Croatia
9.0
20th Sep 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Rising Cock Party Hostel, Lagos, Portugal
7.3
4th Sep 2011

Mama's breakfast is the best!! The people staying there were strange. Great town!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Rossio Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
9.7
2nd Sep 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.7
27th Aug 2011

There is construction going on but it was not an issue, not noisy. The staff does not know where to tell you to go for a good museum or drinks. They were not helpful. My key card reset everytime I swiped it so it was only good to open the dorm door once and then it had to be reprogrammed. Nice lobby and bar but no one was down and enjoying it, not a social place.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
St Christophers Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
7.3
23rd Aug 2011

The hostel is beautiful, new and clean. Only down side is that it is not set up as a social hostel. The bar and restaurant are a great convenience but not acceptable to meeting people; just feel like any restaurant. No true common are and no kitchen (or alternatively, included breakfast) is a huge bummer for the price.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
7.0
21st Aug 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Possonium, Bratislava, Slovakia
8.0
19th Aug 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.7
14th Aug 2011

Great place!! Brand new, stills smells new. Huge room, my 6 bed dorm was the size room some places will squeeze 10 beds into! Awesome staff and information on the city. The market nearby is wonderful.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Central Backpack King, Budapest, Hungary
10.0
6th Aug 2011

Amazing staff One of my favorite little hostels. Great location.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Balmers Hostel, Interlaken, Switzerland
9.0
2nd Aug 2011

Fastastic town, beautiful area, great hostel, fun biergarten and Metro bar, amazing staff. Everything was great; spent a night in the tents and a couple in the main hostel, both were fantastic. Cannot wait to get to Interlaken again!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Green Lizard Hostel, Hvar, Croatia
7.7
26th Jul 2011

This hostel is great, it is an actual hostel, not many in Hvar or Croatia. They staff working there is great! However, the manager is very unfriendly and shuts everything down and asks guests to leave at 10:30pm even though the quiet time is not until 11pm. Nice location, very social guests.

View Property Reply

Yes, there was an occasion when we had to close the terrace early because of the noise. It is a residential area and we get quite a few complaints but one of the staff members would take the whole group to a local bar, so everyone can have a couple of free shots and keep partying. We're sorry if it looked like the management don't really care but they are only looking out for everyone.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
8.7
26th Jun 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
8.7
24th Jun 2011

The guide for the afternoon street art walking tour never showed up, which was a complete bummer, there were about 20 people waiting. The hostel itself was great!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.0
23rd Jun 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Ostello Dante, Ravenna, Italy
8.0
18th Jun 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Sunflower City Backpacker, Rimini, Italy
9.7
17th Jun 2011

The room was a little cramped with 8 beds and lockers but overall the place was great! Awesome staff and location.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Student's Hostel della Ghiara, Reggio Emilia, Italy
8.3
16th Jun 2011

There is one key per uroom so if you arrive late or are out late you must knock and wake the other guests. I would suggest having on key per guest.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.