Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Age 27

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Controra Hostel Naples, Naples, Italy
8.3
23rd Jul 2016

Very nice hostel, super clean with a very social and welcoming staff. Be careful if you have an early flight out, reception might not be there if they had a big night out the night before.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Paraga Beach Hostel, Mykonos, Greece
7.7
23rd Jul 2016

Nice hostel, good location. Expensive like everything on the island. Extremely busy, but surprisingly not the best for solo travelers. You will definitely need to put yourself out there more than normal if you want to make friends. Wifi works, but is sporadic. ATM is usually broken so get cash before.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Resort Campogaio, Sorrento, Italy
7.4
20th Jul 2016

This is a lovely campground, even has free private beach access. This is not exactly a "hostel/backpackers." There are many families and children. Not the best place for solos unless you want quiet time. Food on site is amazing! 10 minute bus ride into the main part of town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Yellow, Rome, Italy
9.1
18th Jul 2016

Stayed here a few years ago and it has only gotten better. Very social hostel, has a great bar open until 4 am so very easy to meet people. My only qualm is that they made me and quite a few other people switch rooms mid reservation to accommodate large groups and tried to pretend this is normal hostel policy. It is not!!! It is so wrong to screw over solo travelers like that so if it happens, demand free vouchers for breakfast for every day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Athens Backpackers, Athens, Greece
6.6
17th Jul 2016

Warning, this place is the master of fine print. It has 2 locations and will randomly assign you regardless of what you book. If they switch your booking, they will make you walk to the other one at 2am alone in the dark even if you have just arrived in Greece and are a solo female traveler. Not the most social place, the reception staff is minimally helpful (other staff is amazing so just ask them for help). Would definitely not book again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Managua Backpackers Inn, Managua, Nicaragua
8.0
21st Apr 2014

Usual close to the airport hostel. Nice staff. Can't complain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Landing Hostel, Ometepe Island, Nicaragua
9.1
15th Apr 2014

Just a few meters from the pier. Many backpackers prefer the other side of the island, but I thought this place was great! Many thanks to the kind lady who works in the front and helped me with my gross bleeding foot from falling on the ferry. She constantly checked on me, the place is worth it just for her!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostal El Momento, Granada, Nicaragua
7.4
12th Apr 2014

Nice clean hostel. Not sure if it was just an off night, but not the funnest vibe. Short walk to the center of town.

View Property Reply

Hi , sorry to hear you did not enjoy the night you stayed with us, as I write this I have a group of about 12 guests all hanging out together for the last 3 days and they did not come together. We are a small hostel, sometimes guests check in late or go out to the bars and so we cannot guarantee who will be here at any given moment. Guests have commented to me that they went to party hostels and were disappointed, can depend on the timing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, Bangkok, Thailand
9.7
11th Jan 2014

Such a great hostel! I stayed in a few in Bangkok and this one is a top favorite of mine. So clean. 20 minute walk to Koh San. GREAT STAFF!!

View Property Reply

Thank you so much for both times of your stay , it's really nice to take care of you , wonderful female traveler. We are so happy to be your favorite !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers Garden Hostel, Vientiane, Laos
9.4
10th Jan 2014

Great staff!!! Love Oli and everyone else in the front! Great location, really close to town. Super easy to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Khammany Inn Hostel, Luang Prabang, Laos
9.4
4th Jan 2014

Nice hostel, run by an adorable father-daughter duo. 5 minute walk into town. Really easy to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Thailandwow, Chiang Mai, Thailand
10.0
3rd Jan 2014

Love this place Kai (the owner) is the greatest! He truly cares if you are enjoying yourself and helps you with anything! I originally wasn't staying here, but after meeting up with my friends switched. Very clean, great location. You won't regret your stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Dozy House, Chiang Mai, Thailand
8.0
31st Dec 2013

Greatest shower ever (as in 2 shower handles and water so hot you have to use the cold water). It may have been an off-time for them, but this place is more guest house than a hostel. Not many backpackers. If you are looking for a nice quiet place, this is for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Mad Monkey, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
9.7
25th Dec 2013

Very nice hostel. Easy to meet people. Staff is wonderful. Great food. If you are headed to Siem Reap, book your ticket first thing because they will sell out on the nice bus by the night before.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Lub d Bangkok Silom, Bangkok, Thailand
10.0
24th Dec 2013

BEST HOSTEL IN BANGKOK!! Best staff in bangkok. I cannot say enough great things about this hostel. So nice and clean. Tuk Tuk to koh san.

View Property Reply

.....and YOU are our BEST GUEST ever!..... From Lub d Hosts'

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Siem Reap Hostel, Siem Reap, Cambodia
10.0
17th Dec 2013

Great hostel, great location! Staff extremely helpful. Easy to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
NapPark Hostel at Khao San, Bangkok, Thailand
7.7
14th Dec 2013

Biggest downside of this hostel is that the staff is as unfriendly as you can get. Great location, 2 second walk to kohsan road. Really easy to meet people!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Alajuela Backpackers, Alajuela, Costa Rica
8.3
18th May 2013

Great stay if leaving for the airport. There are hourly shuttles, but only for certain hours (I think 4am to 10am). Way better choice to stay there than somewhere in San Jose, even if you had to take a cab it is a 3 minute cab ride v. the usual $30 to San Jose. Beds were really comfy. Nothing to special, really is just a place / and a city for airport closeness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Plinio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
7.4
15th May 2013

Beautiful hostel, definitely one of those could just stay there all day if you wanted. Great to relax if feeling a bit of backpackers fatigue. 10 minute bus ride to the actual park. It may have just been an off night when we were there, but it was not super "backpackery." It was more couples vacationing than anything. Also, did not like the fact that there was no lock or key for the dorm doors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Monteverde Backpackers, Monteverde, Costa Rica
8.0
13th May 2013

Nice hostel, very close to the grocery store. GREAT HOT WATER. Cutest puppy / fluff ball ever! Can arrange a shuttle or take a bus for like $2 to ether Cloud Forrest. Not as glitzy as other Costa Rica Hostel network places, but still a very nice and comfortable stay. Someone did take a lot of our food, so labels would have been nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Arenal Backpackers Resort, La Fortuna, Costa Rica
9.7
10th May 2013

What makes this hostel so great is the guys in the front. They are so helpful and hysterical. They really want you to enjoy your trip and La Fortuna. The owner is lucky to have them because they are key to the hostel's success. If you are on a bit of a tighter budget, try to ask Freddy about what to do (all of them give great advice, but he really knows what is worth the money and won't lead you astray). It is super clean and a great place to chill after hiking or whatever in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Pangea, San Jose, Costa Rica
9.7
7th May 2013

Fun hostel, safe, and clean! These 3 things can really be scarce in San Jose. Highly recommend. Great common areas aka bar area and pool to hand out and meet other backpackers. Would stay again. That being said, and this has nothing to do with the hostel itself, but there is not much to do in San Jose, you most likely will want to leave the next day. Just and FYI bc quite a few ppl booked too many days and wanted to leave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Casa de Lis, Turrialba, Costa Rica
10.0
3rd May 2013

Great hostel! If it is your first one in Costa Rica you will become spoiled. The staff is so nice and helpful and it is unbelievably clean. Would stay again in a heart beat! Other than rafting, there are not many other touristy things to do, that being said it is a total local town and you can really explore the Tico life style. Everyone in the town is also hospitable and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.7
20th Jul 2011

Really nice hostel! Great rooms, really no complaints. It may seem pricy at first, but remember everything in Paris is pricy, and it is definitely one of the nicer hostels in Paris. Has a restaurant on the bottom that is super convenient; however, if you are one of those people who like to meet and socialize with new people in the hostel, it can be a bit challenging since there are no common areas, but the restaurant / bar.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Emerald Fields, Florence, Italy
5.3
16th Jul 2011

I only stayed one night so I can only attest to the hostel itself, not the environment. I have stayed in many hostels and it is definitely one of the less modern ones. The blankets had not been washed and had stains of I prefer not know. The biggest problem by far, is there is no staff there 24 hrs. There were about 5 of us who all happened to be relying on an early checkout (8am) and storing are stuff, the 1st floor was locked so we could not get info on baggage storage, which delayed all of us

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel One Sants, Barcelona, Spain
9.7
3rd Jul 2011

A little far from the center of town, but metro stop is right down the street so it is no problem! The staff is so kind and helpful especially Laia! Fun hostel, very easy to meet people, would definitely stay here again!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Barnacles Temple Bar House, Dublin, Ireland
10.0
1st Jul 2011

Great location, really nice rooms, and helpful staff. Would stay again without a doubt! Pub crawl and common room great way to meet people. One thing I would suggest is take some day trips out of the city.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bru Bar & Hostel, Cork, Ireland
6.7
29th Jun 2011

Nice hostel, 5 minute walk from the main part of town.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.