Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: mrsidney33

Location USA, Gender Male, Age 46

  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Albergaria Hostel, Fortaleza, Brazil
6.3
26th Mar 2013

The Albergaria seems to be a nice place, and for the most part, it was! however, maybe no fault of the normal staff there, but it seemed that they want people to stay for too long, even though you are paying for your place there. There also times, when you feel as though you are interrupting the party scene there! I mainly got that vibe from the owner or the head manager. However, the two staff members from Guine Bissau made me feel at home, as well as the cleaning staff.

View Property Reply

Well, i think you are wrong, we treat everyone professionaly and i am sorry that you felt like that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
At Home Hostel & Pub, Fortaleza, Brazil
10.0
12th Mar 2013

The At home pub/hostel is a wonderful place to enjoy yourself with nice clean beds and bathroom and a staff that is always available to assist you with your needs and concerns. The bar downstairs also serves great food, drinks as well as good times. i would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Solar dos Romanos, Salvador, Brazil
10.0
27th Feb 2013

A very friendly place as well as clean! Mornong breakfast, perfect! Location, perfect! Security, execellent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Loki Backpackers La Paz, La Paz, Bolivia
6.6
10th Jan 2013

The Loki is perfect location within La Paz. The hostel has plenty of bathrooms and showers, very clean. The rooms are very clean as well. Your bar staff are either, aloof, lazy or beyond rude. They (bar people) seem to only want to talk and serve or help those from their home countries, every one else is left out or ignored. The reception staff are the nicest of all, they welcome all guests, the bar staff dont seem to care for people at all, especially the guests who are spanish speakers!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Incamahome, Cusco, Peru
2.0
30th Dec 2012

This hostel no longer exist! I went to the address listed for this hostel and the current owner (under a new name) said that the previous owner abandoned this place 6 months ago. I dont know where my deposit has been refunded. I sent an email to hostelworld.com and stll no response. It took hours to find another hostel. Very upsetting over this.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Point Lima, Lima, Peru
6.3
20th Dec 2012

The Point is a great hostel. Great bar and great food. The staff were very kind in arranging my reservation for me and my friends and other friends arriving later, ensuring that we stay in the same room. Thanks!! However, your cleaning lady uses very toxic smelling products and seems to make other people feel as though they should not be around while she is cleaning. Other than that, your hostel is great and the location is excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Residencial Munaywasi, Trujillo, Peru
10.0
18th Dec 2012

Thank you so much, your hostel was very relaxing and comfortable where i was able to get some sleep and having a safe place to stay for a few days. please, if anyone is going to Trujillo, please stay with these kind people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Point Mancora Beach, Mancora, Peru
10.0
13th Dec 2012

The Point Hostel, makes a point to ensure that you are having a good time, without making you buy, buy or go here or there, just have a great time with them, that is what I loved about this place. Diego, the manger of this hostel is such a great host and he does his best even though its the low season for travelling. The staff at the hostel are beyond the kindest and very friendly and know how to handle difficult situations and at the end, they were prompt and nice about it. Recommend highly!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Manso Boutique Guesthouse, Guayaquil, Ecuador
5.7
11th Dec 2012

The Manso staff needs to learn about their guests! We were a group of 4 guys, we did not like being starred at in a sexual way from the Gay waiter and gay staff. You guys are supposed to be professional! Uncomfortable coming out of our room, giggles and unwanted sexual glares from the male staff. Unsure if we were at a hostel or at a Gay cruising bar! If we pay for a new room, asking if we wanted to have it cleaned, is rude and again unprofessional. Manso looks nice, but not worth the time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Hogar Cuencano, Cuenca, Ecuador
10.0
6th Dec 2012

the hostal staff were beyond the kindness people in the city. i would highly recommend other travelers to spend time there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Revolution, Quito, Ecuador
10.0
10th Nov 2012

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Los Andes Hostel, Bogota, Colombia
10.0
9th Nov 2012

Even though, we did not stay for the full two days. The staff of this hostel were beyond very nice and made one feel at home. The location was perfect for going out and the area very safe as well. I highly recommend people to stay at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Masaya Hostel Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
2.0
5th Nov 2012

previous comments should suffice

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Masaya Hostel Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
2.0
4th Nov 2012

The Majority of the hostel's staff unable to listen & refused to think intelligently; only the night staff & american female understands fully. Owners of the hostel seemed to run the place as if it were a hobby, more interested in the restaurant than the hostel guests. Please start your day by avoiding breakfast! The woman who serves breakfast hates you, herself and life, beyond damn rude! Men's bathrooms a mess all the time, two toilets, while the women's bathrooms perfect, with 5 toilets.

View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your comment, we value it a lot in Masaya Hostel! We are so sorry for the inconvenience you had. We try to attach the same importance to all of our guests all day long and we are sorry if you didn�t feel that way. We are new in the business and we work to improve our services every day. Thanks again for your recommendations, and we will be glad to see you soon in Masaya to show you the improvements!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, Medellin, Colombia
10.0
26th Oct 2012

The Black Sheep is a great location of a hostel, the staff are beyond very friendly and very helpful. Even though, we stayed for two days, i would recommend others to spend some time there!!

View Property Reply

Thanks for the response Im glad you guys enjoyed your stay. Safe travels Kelvin

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Makako Chill Out Hostel, Cartagena, Colombia
10.0
16th Oct 2012

The Makako hostel is like being in a place with your good friends and family. You feel beyond welcomed and glad to be among great people. The rooms are spacious as well as very cleaned. The bathroom showers are also spacious and clean and taking a nice cold shower helps after walking in the humid heat! I would recommend anyone and everyone to stay at this hostel. Its runned by Colombians, whom which will give you an authenic feel of the country.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Villa Vento Surf, Panama City, Panama
10.0
14th Oct 2012

The hostel was both perfectly located as well as the staff and the entire environment. Very clean rooms and beyond spacious bathrooms and showers. One feels at home at this hostel. Not a boring time spent at all. We respected the quiet hours and the neighborhood in which the hostel reside, and still they found ways to keep everyone entertained as well as other travelers. Even though, we stayed for one night, it was beyond worth it. We promise to return to this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Pangea, San Jose, Costa Rica
10.0
10th Oct 2012

very friendly staff and great bar and great food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal El Momento, Granada, Nicaragua
10.0
6th Oct 2012

great staff. very friendly, always making people feel welcomed!! i will not forget these great people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Terrace Hostel, Antigua, Guatemala
6.6
26th Sep 2012

Some of the hostel's staff were nice, others rude!! Plus, one would feel that its more like a private club, the insiders and the outsiders. Bar vibe was great, if you are in the inside group, especially when they said that they were closed, if you are on the outside. Rooms had no proper air flow, hard to get any sleep, plus the drilling next door, to be fair, not the hostel's fault. The local Guatemalan staff were beyond the friendliest of them all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Rossco Backpackers Hostel, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
10.0
23rd Sep 2012

the greatest place to be in and visit. the staff were beyond kind and accomodating. I will highly recommend this hostel. However, maybe no fault of the hostel itself, but the shuttle van to Antigua, Guatemala may need to review its contract with them. The van is not direct and we had to make beyond 3 changes with drivers and different vans. The driver from the border of Guatemala was beyond rude and a horrible driver, we feared for our lives. I kindly ask that you provide information to guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
La Cigana, Tulum, Mexico
4.3
17th Sep 2012

La Cigna, it was more like an elite social club, there the insiders and outsiders. We were on the outside, not for our own doing. No information about the amenities of the hostel at all. Upon arriving there, we felt as though we have interrupted their party or social event. Other hostel guests provided more hospitality than the host. The room was beyond steaming hot, one fan for the room and one large fan only to be used and directed to the host who slept in the same room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Che Playa, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
10.0
15th Sep 2012

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Munich, Munich, Germany
9.7
4th Nov 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel 2962-Garmisch, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
10.0
2nd Nov 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
7.3
18th Oct 2011

the attitude there from SOME of the staff, was give us money, say nothing, ask nothing and leave right away

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
5.0
8th Oct 2011

location; location, the worst location for a hostel. too many drunk people staying and occupying the common areas and the staff drinking with them. I had to leave!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Albergue Zaragoza Hostel, Zaragoza, Spain
8.0
6th Oct 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mrsidney33
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Dixo's Oporto Hostel, Porto, Portugal
10.0
6th Sep 2011

I really love the staff and the other travelers in the hostel. The Dixo´s make you feel very welcomed and at home. I would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.