Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Age: 34


Strasbourg, France

Staff at the frontdesk were very helpful. It doesn't have your traditional hostel atmosphere, but I would happily stay here again. It was very clean. The only negative that comes to mind is that there are no lockers in the rooms. For each person in the dormitory there is a little shelf, which is nice, but it would be so much better if this were a locker.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Amsterdam, Netherlands

The girl who checked us in was one of the unfriendliest receptionists I've ever met. Other staff were much nicer. We booked 2 beds in a 4 bed dorm and were put in a 6 bed dorm. On first getting in our room there were piles of dirty towels and sheets, but no clean sheets or towels for us. After the initial bad impressions of the place our stay turned out to be very nice. I'd stay here again, but only if no other places for a similar price were available. The free breakfast was great!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sad to hear that the receptionist wasn't nice to you. At least the rest of us made up for it? We really try to stay cheap but offer you as much as we can. Clean sheets and towels should always be there, so if there's not, you can always ask for some fresh sheets at the reception desk. Glad you did like our breakfast :)

Hostel Orange

Prague, Czech Republic

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the location is great, and the price was very good. However I would hesitate to recommend this place because of our mattress. We had a double room (no 2) with a shared bathroom. Our mattress was way too soft, and well past it's expiry date. Also, it seems there weren't enough bathrooms, we were often waiting to use the bathrooms, and the bathrooms were never very clean.

PLUS Prague

Prague, Czech Republic

I had a great experience at PLUS Prague. I didn't have the time to take advantage of the facilities very much, but it all seems very impressive. The breakfast was fantastic for 125CZK, the only thing I can complain about is that to lock the lockers in the room I was in, you need a very small padlock. The 8 bed dorm that I was in was very spacious. Every staff member I interacted with was very friendly and helpful. And it was very cheap - only 8 euro the night I was there.

Brussels 2GO4 Quality Hostel

Brussels, Belgium

I enjoyed my stay here, and I would happily stay there again. It was good value in a very good location. Unfortunately there was a shortage of duvets and pillows in the room. I'm sure the staff would have helped me out had I asked, but it would be much better if the stuff was already in the room. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. Also, the directions on hostel world to get to the hostel from Brussels North station are very poor. The English is not easily understandable at all.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Hamburg, Germany

For 12 euro for one night, in the the centre of hamburg. how can you go wrong? Clean, secure, no worries. Yep, the ensuite showers are tiny, but I will happily stay here again and again. I have already come back. I haven't been staying here for the full backpacker experience, more just overnighting when I need to in Hamburg, but if the right opportunity arises I look forward to experiencing more of what the hostel has to offer.

Rivertime Ecolodge Resort

Vientiane, Laos

I loved my stay here. The place is dirt cheap, and great atmosphere. After being in Bangkok & Vientiane it was awesome to get away from the hustle and bustle, with a few beers at the floating restaurant, as well as a swim in the river and a Lao massage. I had a great night with Barnaby, Barbara & Simon at the floating restaurant, and really enjoyed by village tour with Sit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I wish I had more time to stay much longer.

@Hua Lamphong

Bangkok, Thailand

@Hua Lampong is a great place to stay. Not real close to the action, but very easy access to transport - especially the airport. I'd stay here any day over Khao San road. I arrived at the hostel just after 7am, and within about 10mins I was able to check in to my room, at no extra charge. The staff were very helpful, If I'm in Bangkok again I would happily stay here again. Thank-you!!

Sailship Soeverein

Amsterdam, Netherlands

We enjoyed our one night stay on the ship a lot. The breakfast was great, the host Gerard was very friendly and hospitable, and the place has character. We booked a double cabin, and so expected a double bed, rather than two single beds. It would have been much better to actually have a double bed, or at least have one of those bed joiner mat things that transforms two single beds in to a double bed. There was no way to lock the door while we were inside the cabin.

Diamond Diggers Backpackers

Johannesburg, South Africa

Through this website I thought I booked a bed in a 6 bed mixed dorm. I got an email from the hostel telling me I'd booked a camping spot, although clearly my email from hostel world said 6 bed mixed dorm. Using email, the hostel was painfully slow at responding to any questions I had - especially with regard to airport pickups that I think they used to do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Should there be confusion as to what you booked, please confirm with Hostelworld as we did and you will find that you booked camping.

Kalulu Backpackers Hostel

Lusaka, Zambia

I enjoyed my stay at Kululu, the airport pickup was very convenient, and the food at the hostel was great also. The hostel is located near to a big shopping centre, internet cafes and the bus station. No complaints at all about this place. I'm not much for staying in cities, but if I have the need to be back in Lusaka I'd happily stay here again.


An older place with character, and the beds were quite comfortable. Staff were helpful. walking distance to many places to eat and drink. Very easy access to public transport. If you're after a flash new place this is not the place for you, but if you don't mind an older place with a bit of character and maybe a mouse in the living room you may love this place. Only complaint is the wifi is only in one building, and I think Wifi was a pain, but we had a cool balcony.