Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: lisaharrv

Location Canada, Gender Female, Age 26

  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Fawlty Towers, Livingstone, Zambia
8.6
21st Mar 2015

Most of my issues were with other travellers rather than the hostel, but I really didn't like how my dorm was connected to another, and people had to walk through my room to get to theirs. It made it very noisy when I was trying to sleep, especially since people would slam the doors.

View Property Reply

I am sorry to hear you had issues with noise from your fellow travellers. Unfortunately, dorm accommodation is a bit of the luck of the draw as to who you find yourself sharing with. Fawlty Towers does have private rooms for those who prefer to avoid the dorm style rooms. Thanks for your feedback. With best wishes, Elissa GM

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Atlantic Point Backpackers, Cape Town, South Africa
10.0
18th Mar 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Atlantic Point Backpackers, Cape Town, South Africa
10.0
4th Mar 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Brisbane City YHA, Brisbane, Australia
9.7
5th Dec 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Taupo Urban Retreat, Taupo, New Zealand
9.7
21st Oct 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bounce Sydney, Sydney, Australia
8.6
12th Oct 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
American Dream Hostel, New York, USA
9.1
13th Apr 2014

This is absolutely the hostel I will choose the next time I'm in New York. The location is great, the breakfast was delicious, and they don't have dorms anywhere so they gave me a room to myself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
New York Budget Inn, New York, USA
8.3
10th Apr 2014

I think it's a bit ridiculous that you have to pay $5 for baggage storage, but other than that, no complaints. I like that they had a filtered water fountain for refilling my water bottle, and I love the free candy in the lobby. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Please note that luggage storage is an option we offer our guests for a convenience. We offer this option for guests who want to maximize their remaining time in the city after checkout without having the need to drag their luggage with them before their flight back home.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
New York Budget Inn, New York, USA
10.0
11th Oct 2013

This was a great place to stay in NYC! I didn't spend much time here as I was out and about most of the time, but the location was very convenient. Just central enough to be close to everything, but not right smack dab in the middle of the touristy craziness. The staff was really nice, and the rooms were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Santa Mix Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
10.0
6th Aug 2013

This was one of my favourites hostels I've stayed at, and I've stayed at a lot. Jorge and the rest of the staff were excellent, and extremely helpful & welcoming! Jorge would take us out different places each night to show us nightlife in different parts of the city. The location is beautiful and very convenient - close to the Metro and a grocery store. Highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
YHA London Oxford Street, London, England
9.7
19th Aug 2012

Nice, clean place to stay, and in an awesome location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
KEX Hostel, Reykjavik, Iceland
8.6
15th Aug 2012

Big hostel with great facilities, lovely place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.0
10th Aug 2012

It would be nice if there were a kitchen and a cozier place to hang out, but it's a fine place to stay if you're young and looking to party.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Caveland, Santorini, Greece
9.7
7th Aug 2012

Had an awesome stay. Beautiful pool, good rooms with A/C, good prices!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Rethymno Youth Hostel, Crete, Greece
8.3
31st Jul 2012

Very little security, but there were no problems. Staff was absolutely wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Athens Backpackers, Athens, Greece
8.6
28th Jul 2012

My experience here was kind of ruined by inconsiderate roommates (not having people turn the light on in the middle of the night or barf everywhere multiple times), but other than that it was a good place to stay. Kitchen facilities were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
9.4
24th Jul 2012

Great place to stay, and the kitchen facilities were very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Gallo d'Oro, Florence, Italy
10.0
21st Jul 2012

Super friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
L' Imbarcadero, Venice, Italy
7.4
18th Jul 2012

Has a ton of bug bites while I was there. Still not sure if they're from mosquitos or bed bugs, but I was always swatting away flies in my bed at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
City Hostel Geneva, Geneva, Switzerland
10.0
16th Jul 2012

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Flying Pig Downtown, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.9
15th Jul 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
YHA London Oxford Street, London, England
9.1
24th Jun 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
10.0
26th Apr 2012

Great place to stay and the location on Barrington is really convenient for walking around in the downtown area and also to catch buses around the city. The hostel was clean and the staff friendly and knowledgeable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Cambodia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.7
25th Mar 2012

Great, very clean hostel with good facilities. Since the place is so big, it can be hard to meet people, but really you just have to be a bit outgoing and it works out fine. Also, the staff at the desk were really friendly, but the cleaning lady I encountered was extremely rude. I slept in one morning and she yanked open my curtain unnecessarily, waking me up, and yelled at a guy who had slept in past his check-out time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisaharrv
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
6.9
24th Feb 2012

You get what you pay for here - not too bad of a place. Looks a bit rundown from the outside, but the facilities are pretty decent, and the people were friendly enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.