Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: marcwiz

Location Australia, Gender Male, Age 49

  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Home, Mexico City, Mexico
8.0
27th Oct 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Home, Mexico City, Mexico
8.9
3rd Oct 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Woodland Beach Resort, Donsol, Philippines
8.6
8th Apr 2014

The rooms at the back (closest to the beach) are the best, they have a balcony and are close to sea. Marlon, the bartender makes a great Bloody Mary! The chicken gambas is delicious, worth ordering, as are the fresh cut fries. The pool is a little on the dirty side.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Woodland Beach Resort, Donsol, Philippines
8.9
7th Apr 2014

The rooms at the back (closest to the beach) are the best, they have a balcony and are close to sea. Marlon, the bartender makes a great Bloody Mary! The chicken gambas is delicious, worth ordering, as are the fresh cut fries. The pool is a little on the dirty side.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.3
20th Jul 2013

Dorm rooms are cramped, with little space for backpacks. Rooms have a/c but only until around 8am, then it's turned off and the rooms get really hot. There are no lockers in the dorms, only near reception. No breakfast included (strange for Brazil). Upstairs shared shower is hot, but downstairs are cold only. The staff are friendly and helpful. Downstairs common area is quite nice but wifi doesn't reach there. 10 min walk to the opera house and square.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Pousada do Tapajos, Alter do Chao, Brazil
9.1
15th Jul 2013

The hostel is new, it's clean, there's ac in the rooms (at night). Large common area with hammocks. Excellent breakfast. Great mattresses. Big lockers. Staff are very friendly and helpful. But it's a bit lacking in atmosphere somehow, maybe it's just the people who were there when I stayed

View Property Reply

Hi Marc. Thank you for your review. Best regards, Moacir.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Jericoacoara Hostel - TIROL, Jericoacoara, Brazil
9.4
28th Jun 2013

Excellent hostel! Great chill out area with hammocks (and they even get washed!) Easily the most social of the hostels in town, even people who aren't staying there come and hang out in the evenings. The most organised honour-system drinks fridge I've ever seen. Rooms are a little tight for space for larger backpacks, but lockers are on the large size. Well equipped kitchen and there's a BBQ you can use. I'd def stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers Ceara, Fortaleza, Brazil
9.1
27th Jun 2013

The cheapest hostel I've stayed in in Brazil - but you get what you pay for. It's very, very basic. In fact, it looks like its still being built or renovated. But the location is good and for 1 night in transit to Jeri it was fine

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Natal Fun Hostel, Natal, Brazil
9.4
25th Jun 2013

Clean, new, decent wifi. Nice chill out area at the back, with a pool. Down the end of a street with good bars and restaurants. Not too far from the beach and main strip. Close to a bus stop to beaches to the south. Ok breakfast. The owner is very helpful and friendly (and speaks good english too which was a bonus given my poor portuguese)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Media Veronica Hostel, Pipa, Brazil
10.0
20th Jun 2013

The hostel itself is nothing particularly special - good mattresses, decent wifi, hammocks, but what makes it stand out is the staff - super welcoming and friendly, like staying with old friends. They cook for themselves every night and you are invited to join them, sharing costs (very cheap!) There is no breakfast included but they have a deal with the local bakery which is pretty good value, especially when you consider the price. Bunks could be higher spaced, hard to sit up in the lower one

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
HI Albergue de Olinda, Olinda, Brazil
9.4
19th Jun 2013

Great common areas including a decent sized pool. Hammocks. Friendly staff. Good location along the beach road, close to the historic centre. Good wifi, although it doesn't work well in the rooms in the front main building (rooms 1-4). Good sized lockers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Galeria 13, Salvador, Brazil
10.0
12th Jun 2013

Great hostel - friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast, decent wi-fi. Comfy beds, great common areas including a small pool. Well located

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Bananas Hostel, Itacare, Brazil
9.7
8th Jun 2013

One of best hostels I've stayed in.Great breakfast, good chill-out areas, fast wi-fi, comfortable beds, hot showers, big rooms. Pete and Debs are more like friends than hostel owners, they make you feel right at home.There weren't many people staying there when I was there, but rather than put all of us (travelling separately) in the same dorm (which is what most hostels tend to do) they gave us each our own dorm room, which is amazing hospitality!Would def recommend Bananas & stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Goiabada com Queijo Hostel, Ouro Preto, Brazil
9.4
6th Jun 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Walk On The Beach Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
9.4
2nd Jun 2013

On the one hand, the common areas are really good and the staff are really friendly and super helpful. BUT, after a year and 1/2 travelling in Latin America I can easily say that this hostel has the WORST MATTRESSES of all hostels I've stayed in - thin so you feel the slats and they have a vinyl cover which makes for a hot sweaty and uncomfortable sleep. They should also provide mosquito nets as the place seems to be plagued by mozzies. Breakfast was also among the most basic I've had in Brazil

View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are sorry about your experience with the mattresses, they are standard. We were surprised by your opinion about the covers, since experienced travelers tend to consider them a plus - they make it possible to sanitize all the matteresses on a daily basis. Brazil is a tropical country and this is mosquito season - mosquito spray is what usually helps. Our breakfast include coffee, tea, milk, juice, bread, cheese, ham, butter, jam, fruits and cake. Thanks again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
El Misti Hostel Rio, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
7.4
30th May 2013

Rooms are really cramped and the bunk space is so small that you can barely even sit up in bed. Staff are apathetic at best. Tiny bathrooms. Common areas are too small for the number of guests. Would not stay there again. In fact, I moved to another hostel as soon as I could

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
HI Holandes, Ilha Grande, Brazil
9.7
27th May 2013

Easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in on this long trip. Sure, it's a little way up the hill and away from the town and beach but that's part of the appeal. It feels like you're away from it all and in the jungle. Very tranquil setting. Very clean. comfy beds, hammocks, decent breakfast. wi-fi is a bit patchy. The girl who runs the place is super friendly and helpful, the rest of the staff were just ok. The optional dinners (not all nights) are excellent value and delicious

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Paraty Beach Hostel, Paraty, Brazil
7.4
24th May 2013

I happened to visit Paraty during the jazz festival and so prices were ridiculously inflated. As such this hostel was a complete rip-off. Rooms are very cramped, with almost no room at all for bags. in fact the whole place was cramped. At their normal prices *maybe* it would be worth it, especially for their great location on the beach, but at their jacked-up prices def not worth it. I was more than happy to have to move hostels as they were full for my 2nd and 3rd nights

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
9.7
18th May 2013

I really liked this hostel - and I've been on the road in Latin America for over a year - large rooms and comfortable beds. Big lockers under the beds (dorms). Decent breakfast (could be improved). Great outdoor area (rare for a hostel) with a pool. Fast wi-fi. I wasn't a big fan of Asuncion but if I was ever there again I'd happily stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Green House Hostel, Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
9.4
16th May 2013

great hostel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fast internet, decent breakfast. Close to the bus to the falls and bird park but not a lot around the hostel in the immediate area in terms of restaurants and bars

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Curitiba Casa Hostel, Curitiba, Brazil
9.4
10th May 2013

Great hostel, friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfortable beds, great breakfast. 15 mins walk to the bus and train station and about the same to the botanical gardens

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
El Diablo Tranquilo, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay
9.1
29th Apr 2013

Great hostel, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are a bit cramped. Internet is fast. Even though someone cleans the place every day it is only a surface clean - some things are never touched, spider webs in easily reached places and a swarm of flies are always hanging around the common area. But it's not like it's filthy and I'd stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The Trip Hostel, Punta del Este, Uruguay
8.9
27th Apr 2013

overall a good hostel but walls are very thin so you hear everything in the next rooms and around you. mattresses are poor, need to be updated. staff are great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
El Viajero - Hostel & Suites, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
9.7
23rd Apr 2013

Great hostel, comfortable beds, decent breakfast, helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Art Factory, Buenos Aires, Argentina
9.7
14th Apr 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Penthouse 1004, Bariloche, Argentina
10.0
2nd Apr 2013

great location, very helpful and friendly staff, decent breakfast, excellent view from the balcony. internet could be better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Margouya Patagonia, Puerto Varas, Chile
9.7
1st Apr 2013

great hostel. friendly and helpful staff. fast internet. huge choice of movies to watch. shelf space in the dorms for putting your stuff and hooks to hang towels - unheard of in most other hostels ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
La Bicicleta, Pucon, Chile
8.9
28th Mar 2013

Jose and his wife are very friendly and helpful and the hostal is very central. It is a bit noisy with poor sound insulation between rooms and due to the wooden floors, but overall a great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers Kaweskar Hostel, Puerto Natales, Chile
9.4
1st Mar 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Aylen-Aike Hostel, El Chalten, Argentina
8.0
25th Feb 2013

decent value hostel, showers are hot, beds are comfy, good common area and kitchen. atrocious wi-fi (but it's bad everywhere in chasten). owner is helpful with info about walks etc. not all rooms have lockers or not enough for the number of beds. some rooms are way more cramped than others with barely any space for bags etc

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
I Keu Ken Hostel, El Calafate, Argentina
8.9
22nd Feb 2013

Great hostel! Super friendly & helpful staff. There are large lockers for each person in the rooms & pretty good wi-fi. The breakfast is included & is basic (bread and butter, jam, dulce de leche with tea/coffee and juice). There's a nice sitting area downstairs & a very friendly atmosphere. They offer an asado (BBQ) once a week or so - and if you're there (and a meat eater) it's a fun time & excellent value w perfectly cooked sausage, beef, lamb, chicken & all the red wine & beer you can drink

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers Kaweskar Hostel, Puerto Natales, Chile
9.4
14th Feb 2013

Omar runs a tight operation and is very helpful (although occasionally a bit surly), especially about trekking in Torres del Paine. Comfy beds, large lockers, great breakfast, fast Internet. The downstairs male dorm room can be noisy as it's close to the common room and right opposite the kitchen; better to get a bed upstairs if you can. I stayed there twice, before and after the W trek and would def stay there again, if in P. Natales.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Magallanes, Punta Arenas, Chile
7.7
13th Feb 2013

the woman running the place was very friendly but one thing I found odd was that on arrival she told me that the tour to see the penguins the next day was full. I was surprised at this and asked if ALL tours were full and she said yes. It turned out that there was space with other companies, just not the one that they book with - but by that point I'd booked my bus to Puerto Natales and so could not go. Big shame as that's the main thing to do in Punta Arenas and very poor service on her part!

View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment! Nevertheless, I find it quite odd and would like to comment on it: According to our registry, you filled in, you arrived at 9:00 p.m. That tours might be booked out in Patagonia in high season for the next day, to me, seems to be common traveler's knowledge. Sorry, if you didn't know that! As far as we know, there is only one company that goes to the penguins in the morning - every day at 07:00 a.m. Marisol probably called them to check availability (because that's what we do - always!), but if they're full, what can we do? On Feb. 14, the ferry to Isla Magdalena left at 5:00 p.m. and returns to Punta Arenas at about 9:30 - 10:00 p.m. - too late to travel to Puerto Natales on this day, since the last bus leaves at 8:00 p.m. We always offer all available options, we know of, in a fair way, for our guests to chose from and even tell everybody that we can only offer what's available, but everybody has to decide for himself, what their best choice might be (considering budget, time frame etc.). We have no interest whatsoever, to hold back any tour option, especially because we don't operate any tours on our own at his point. Sorry to say, but what you are describing doesn't sound like what we usually do at all - and have been doing for over a decade! If you found another tour, which we weren't aware of, why didn't you approach Marisol again, shared you knowledge or simply booked the tour? You left Punta Arenas on the 2:30 p.m. bus to Puerto Natales. At 3:00 p.m. tours depart towards the penguin colony at Seno Otway. There is always enough space on these tours, because if one minibus is full another one simply will be chartered. This tour returns to Punta Arenas by 7:00 p.m., which allows for enough time to catch the 8:00 p.m. bus to Puerto Natales. On top of this, the only bus company leaving to Puerto Natales at 2:30 p.m. is Buses Fernández. We sell their tickets. Until 1 hours prior to departure, we could have changed your ticket - even over the phone, which is common practice and we do that all the time. After all, the 250km, 3-hour bus ticket with Buses Fernández costs CLP 5,000 (about USD 10.-). I know how it is to travel on a budget, because I've done that quite extensively. Worse case scenario, was there really no way to let that go of that bus ticket and buy a new one? Sorry to say, but this seams like an awkward set of circumstances. If we made a mistake, I apologize for that, but -to be honest- I would have expected a bit more self-reliance. Kind regards, Sebastian

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, Medellin, Colombia
9.1
14th Oct 2012

overall a good hostel. The Sunday BBQ is excellent, don't miss it if you're there. The owner is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. more hooks to hang towels and clothes in the dorms would be a big plus, as well as shelves to put your stuff on

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Cabinas el perezoso, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
8.3
29th Jul 2012

Cabinas El Perezoso is a couple blocks down from the main street. It's simple but there's a kitchen you can use, the mattress was good, the place was clean and it's cheap $10. Cold water shower. No wi-fi. Omar, the owner, is a lovely guy, super friendly and helpful. I'd stay there again if I was in Puerto Jimenez again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Nomadas Backpackers, San Jose, Costa Rica
9.1
5th Apr 2012

for $12 (dorm) this is a great place to stay. the couple who run it are very friendly and helpful. excellent mattresses! free wifi. breakfast is a bit too simple (coffee, juice and 2 pieces of toast) and could be improved but this is still my standard place to stay when passing thru San Jose

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Nomadas Backpackers, San Jose, Costa Rica
9.4
4th Apr 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Dos Molinos B&B, San Pedro Sula, Honduras
7.4
19th Mar 2012

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Seakunga, Placencia, Belize
6.9
1st Jan 2012

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Poc na Hostel, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
8.7
6th Dec 2011

a really fun hostel, lots of other travellers, always something going on that you can choose to join or not. Food and booze prices are cheap. My only complaint would be that their wifi sucks big time, often down, really slow

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping, Holbox Island, Mexico
8.0
1st Dec 2011

Nice simple set of bungalows, a little further from the centre of town.There's a common, well-equipped kitchen, lots of hammocks (including inside some bungalows), free wifi & a great community feeling.The floor of my bungalow was fine sand,which was swept & raked each day NOTE: taxi drivers at the dock may tell you that the hostel is really close or even closed in a subtle refusal to take you there.This is because they demand a commission from hotels and the owner will not pay them this.Crooks!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Zocalo, Merida, Mexico
9.0
28th Nov 2011

Great location, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, fun and friendly common area. Fast free wi-fi

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
B&B Le Gite Del Sol, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
8.0
15th Nov 2011

Comfortable hostel, quite close to the main plaza and pedestrian street. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Yes, they mention the tours that you can buy through them but they are hardly pushy about it - and their prices are exactly the same as if you bought the tours directly from the tour operator (who won't then necessary pick you up from the hostel; whereas buying thru the hostel does guarantee this). You can also check and buy ADO bus tickets with them, which is very handy!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcwiz
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
La Casa de Dante, Guanajuato, Mexico
9.0
24th Oct 2011

La Casa de Dante is a little out of the centre but not that far. Yes, there are 160 or steps to climb on your way home, but it's well worth it. The family who run the place are super welcoming and friendly, my bed was really cozy and comfy, there was free wi-fi in the room, free bottled water (and a filling station too, for your water bottle). The breakfast (included) is Mexican style and delicious. The rooftop patio/terrace has a fantastic view over the town.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.