Reviews: Anonymous

Location: England, Gender: Male, Age: 50

Cityhostel Berlin

Berlin, Germany
54%

It was my second stay at cityhostel berlin, and my last. the staff were to busy with each other to serve at the bar or help with requests. whilst hostels need to make money and booking in large school parties is a way to do so, staying in a hostel with at least two very large groups of school children is not a pleasant experience. very disappointing overall, especially considering how much i had enjoyed the hostel 4 years earlier


Prague Centre Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic
77%

Our apartment was close enough to walk into Wencleslas Square from with no problem. Once checked-in we did not see any staff in three days, which was how we wanted it. As a two bedroomed apartment, it offered everything we required, although the bathroom facilities we small, and bedside lamps may be a useful addition, but if they are the only negatives I'd say that's a good effort!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (31 reviews)


Hostel Jacob

Brno, Czech Republic
83%

We stayed (as a group of 5) in a 6 bed dorm, which was perfect. It was clean, well appointed and comfortable. And breakfast was excellent. I would strongly recommend Hostel Jacob to any visitors to Brno

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (31 reviews)


Enjoy Comfort

San Sebastian, Spain
80%

we had some difficulty in contacting the hostel to gain entry on arrival, but once in it proved good value and we were advised to all our needs in San Sebastian... the best tapas, the best walks.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (31 reviews)


Malvarrosa Home

Valencia, Spain
86%

we shared the four bed family room and it was ideal for our needs. clean, comfortable and spacious

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (31 reviews)


My Stay in Barcelona

Barcelona, Spain
54%

Despite the efforts of the manager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, he was fighting a losing battle. the building itself was very old and tired and the rooms were shabby. the fact that there were only two bathrooms for the whole hostel meant a long wait for a cold shower. the girls in our party found hair drying impossible due to lack of sockets and mirrors

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (31 reviews)


Hotel des Ambassadeurs

Toulouse, France
74%

The only downside to Hotel des Ambassadeurs was the difficulty in finding the car park, but once that had been found the stay was exactly what we wanted. The staff were ultra friendly and helpful and the rooms, although small were comfortable and clean... and breakfast was exceptional!!!

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (31 reviews)


Hostel Shappy

Zagreb, Croatia
83%

the private rooms are worthy of any mid-range hotel. two of our party had to move to a shared-bathroom private room, which was equally clean and secure. very little in the way of kitchen facilities and "community", but very helpful and welcoming staff. peaceful in the heart of the city

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (31 reviews)


Hostelche

Belgrade, Serbia
86%

an award winning hostel, and obvious as to why. despite arriving early in the morning, we were made very welcome immediately, and extra effort was put in to have our room ready as soon as possible. only one shower made mornings a little awkward and did delay us, but overall a highly recommended hostel that is a two minute walk from the citadel. a special mention is deserved for the immaculate, and well provided, kitchen. five star!!!

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (31 reviews)


Nomads Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
51%

a characterless tower block in the centre of the city. 15 mins waiting to check-in, although there were only one other group ahead of us. clean and well located, but try somewhere with more pesonality

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. Although we are a big hostel we try to be as personal and customer focused as we can. At this time of year we are indeed very busy and waiting times can increase as well as they do at the airport when checking in. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and we would love to see you again some time soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

Elmlodge

Dunedin, New Zealand
63%

a little way out of the centre, (and uphill!!) but still close enough for easy access. the well maintained garden, complete with hot tub were enjoyable, but being in the annexe with two very small shower cubicles and little hot water was a minus for an otherwise decent hostel


Pinewood

Queenstown, New Zealand
83%

What an excellent hostel, competition would be hard in Queenstown, and Pinewood holds up. The short walk into town was not really a problem


Fat Cod Backpackers

Picton, New Zealand
83%

situated close to the ferry terminal and very welcoming. the large common room and balcony made the stay very enjoyable


Trek Global

Wellington, New Zealand
46%

Despite the fine location, our stay was not enjoyable. the staff were unhelpful and the tiny kitchen made cooking very difficult. everyone else seemed to manage though, by the state of the piles of washing up in the sink and dirty dishes left abandoned in common areas and hallways


Pentlands Backpackers Hostel

Auckland, New Zealand
91%

Located in a quiet suburb and in leafy grounds. the perfect place to kick back on arrival


New York Budget Inn

New York, USA
86%

Although the rooms were very small, the location and the attitude of the staff made our stay at New York Budget Inn very pleasant. You don't get a lot for your money in New York, but if you can cope with a tiny room with nothing but a bed, this is a hotel of outstanding value. Highly recommended


Chamenka Guest House

Dehiwala, Sri Lanka
54%

As somewhere to sleep,perfectly reasonable and good value. However it is a guest house and you will be staying with a family. There are no locks on the doors to the room and no facilities other than the bed and bathroom. An excellent breakfast was always marred by the over helpful owner whose constant attention became oppresive. Things were taken from our room, justifiably and helpfully (due to ants) but as the linen was not changed and seemingly no cleaning done, why were people in our room


Hornbill Holiday Home

Colombo, Sri Lanka
86%

Although a little way out of Colombo, very well situated for the railway station. Clean quiet and comfortable with excellent, helpful staff


Marken Gjestehus

Bergen, Norway
91%

perfectly situated for harbour and train/bus station and clean and friendly. everything you ask for. was surprised to pay extra for bed linen, but otherwise perfect


Hotel Gandhara

Puri, India
100%

a hotel that shines as a beacon of cleanliness in the dust of Puri. with friendly and effient staff a fantastic food. yet still retaining character


Guest Inn

Chennai, India
67%

Very difficult to find, but once in a clean and welcoming place to stay. No key given, but always someone to let us in to the guest house. definitely a private guest house as opposed to a hotel


Trianon

Amsterdam, Netherlands
43%

With mouse droppings and mouse poison on the floor, lights and a cistern that didn't work and worn carpets the cleanliness was very poor. Also 4 bunk beds in a room a little more than 3metres square gave the room a feel of a storage room rather than a dorm


63%

I was very unhappy about an increase from 17 to 26 euros when we stayed for a second night, despite our dorm still being empty. and being on the 4th floor with no lift was a minor inconvienience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the price increase...the pricing depends of the availability of beds...all other dorms were full...so new guests would have paid the same of you if they had come into your room.We do our best to be reasonably priced,hope that we didnt put you off coming back again.

Cityhostel Berlin

Berlin, Germany
93%

clean, tidy, friendly and within walking distance of the Brandenburg Tor. A good fun hostel with pleasant staff


77%

A clean and servicable hostel, with easy access to the city centre. it did lack real character though. We were given a voucher for welcome drinks but when we handed them over were charged for them anyway, that didn't endear us. Breakfast was superb


50%

Everything was good about the hostel, and a brilliant location. Except the fact that it wasn't the hostel we booked. On check-in we were transfered to another hostel. It was only 100 metres away and perfectly reasonable, so no complaints


Tatamka Hostel

Warsaw, Poland
83%

Although lacking in a little character, friendly staff at location make Tamka a good bet. Not perfect, but I can speak no ill (except the really slow internet) 7/10


100%

If you plan to travel through Krakow, stay at Good Bye Lenin. If you are not planning on Krakow... change your plans and stay at Good Bye Lenin!!! Everything you could possibly want, and a bit more. 10/10


80%

If you want a comfortable, clean bed and a friendly, helpful welcome. Kiev-sky city is for you. If you want a common room, kitchen and a place to chill... try somewhere else. Full of character, but don\'t be put of by the stairs. 6/10


Godzillas Hostel

Moscow, Russia
73%

Ideal. Friendly staff with very good English. Currently under renovation, but the inconvenience will be worth the reward I\'m sure. Better directions needed from the Metro (you won\'t find it without a map) and ignore the posters offering to buy your onward train tickets. 7/10 (will improve after renovation)


Metro-Tour Hostel

St Petersburg, Russia
40%

Cramped and overcrowded. Inhabited by working Russian (we shared a dorm with 6 soldiers). Very \"soviet\" in it\'s functional feel. 4/10