Reviews: Anonymous

Location: USA, Gender: Male, Age: 29

Big Hostel

Sydney, Australia
91%

The staff was nice and free breakfast was good. I stayed in an 8 Bed dorm which was nice but the shared restroom for the whole floor was not very clean.


Canberra City YHA

Canberra, Australia
74%

Average hostel nothing special. No where to really socialize


Wake Up! Sydney Central

Sydney, Australia
83%

Very cramp rooms. The bar downstairs is lively. Feels very corporate however. Also this place is expensive to do anything in, such as washing, Internet, or storage. I feel there are better value places throughout Sydney. The staff were friendly enough to help though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Wake Up. Wake Up is a family run business and very far removed for some of our more corporate competitors. With over 500 beds as well as bar, cafe and travel desk it may seem at times to have a corporate feel but I can assure you it is just the owners desire to give guests everything they need for a great stay here in Sydney right under the one roof. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff. Dev Penney - GM

80%

My only complaint is that the room did smell a little moldy. Free use of the washer is a plus.


Bounce Sydney

Sydney, Australia
89%

Very organized very large hostel. Wifi is not free however. Felt basic and more of a party hostel


Big Hostel

Sydney, Australia
100%

I believe this is the best hostel in Sydney. Free breakfast free wifi. A nice common room with free movies. Large kitchens well. It's is a big hostel but the common area is big enough to make new friends.


Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Sydney, Australia
60%

Not much to say about this hostel. It seemed very dis organized. Rooms weren't ready on time and the kitchen was dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Check in is from 12 noon. We welcome guests to arrive earlier if that suits them, however, we can not guarantee the room will be ready if they arrive before 12. Like most hostels, the kitchen will get dirty due to the amount of people using the facilities in the kitchen throughout the day. We do clean the kitchen 3 times a day in order to make it as clean as possible for our guests. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

Eva's Backpackers

Sydney, Australia
97%

Great value, the staff is friendly. The whole place feels more like a very big house. Freebies once during the week such as pizza or waffles. Also towels included!


Blue Parrot Backpackers

Sydney, Australia
86%

Nice place, great common area with free movies and free access to a computer. It could use one more restroom, in the morning you might have to wait for a restroom to be free but not to long. Also there's a backyard which is nice and big to have bar b ques or just hangout outside.


Central Melbourne Accommodation

Melbourne, Australia
80%

The atmosphere is great here, a small hostel where everyone gets to know each other since everyone has to stay at least a week.


Home at The Mansion

Melbourne, Australia
80%

The rooms are small, no real social scene.


Backpack Oz

Adelaide, Australia
89%

Nice place, the staff do well getting the whole hostel involved in activities.


Glenelg Beach Hostel

Adelaide, Australia
80%

Meh it was ok, good location by the beach and live bands on the weekend. No bunk beds which was rare.


The Mad Monkey Kampot

Kampot, Cambodia
89%

Very nice hostel but the food was expensive and it's far from the city center, so it's best to get s scooter.


Envoy Hostel Phnom Penh

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
100%

Very chill out hostel, nice place to relax. Wifi is super fast. Free breakfast and really nice staff that keeps the hostel clean


The Siem Reap Hostel

Siem Reap, Cambodia
97%

Great place but the wifi was very weak. I stayed in the 18 bed dorm but it's actually spilt in two rooms so it's more of a 9 bed dorm. The tours are very well organized and a fair price compared to the random ones on the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great score. We have an extensive wifi network covering the whole building fed by a huge bandwith optical fibre connection. Routers obviously do need resetting from time to time, particularly in the busy bar area, but in saying that, quite often guests connect to the wrong networks for the particular part of the building they are in. If you had of let us know you were having problems we could have sorted it for you. All the best.

100%

Very busy and efficient hostel. A very big and popular hostel.


Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel

Hanoi, Vietnam
94%

Everything is great, except for the atmosphere. It's quiet but the staff is very attentive and informative.


Getaway Backpackers Hostel

Vientiane, Laos
94%

Everything was good. The atmosphere is ok. There's free breakfast


Bountang Hotel

Vang Vieng, Laos
77%

Good location. Not very social. Good value.


Kounsavan Guest House

Luang Prabang, Laos
86%

No customer comment


Humble Footprints

Yangon, Myanmar
74%

Ehh, you can probably get more bang for your buck from a private guesthouse for the same price. $16 for a 8 bed dorm.....


Smile Society

Bangkok, Thailand
100%

Great place to meet new friends, great free breakfast, and it's quiet enough to actually sleep.


100%

No customer comment


La Maison du Patriote

Montreal, Canada
94%

Amazing hostel. The atmosphere was great. It allowed everyone to get to know each other. It's a small hostel but feels like home


Supertramp Hostel

Machu Picchu, Peru
94%

No customer comment


91%

No customer comment


Vibes Hostel

Quito, Ecuador
83%

Atmosphere wasn't there as much. Perfect location if you want to party next to mariscal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
great fiestas and good for sleepers also, there is too much atmosphere actually but thanks, have a great rest of your trip...

USA Hostels San Diego

San Diego, USA
100%

Everything was cool. The Tijuana tour was kinda weak. Felt to planned and not the real Tijuana I wanted to see


Believe-it-or-Not

Vienna, Austria
100%

Best Hostel stay ever. Great idea to have an apartment style hostel. Lily was great and everyone got along.


The 4You Hostel Munich

Munich, Germany
80%

Huge hostel it was alright. I went during Oktoberfest so it was kinda crazy. Felt like a college campus setting


Art Hole Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic
71%

Average Hostel. Beds were small and so were the rooms. Average Hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
You should have told us. We have 4 single beds in our huge 4 bed room, and also a large double bed for our more massive guests. The rest is standard adult size bunk beds, which are good for tall people. Some couples even sleep together on one, but we try to discourage that. Please don't do that.

Jetpak Alternative

Berlin, Germany
91%

No customer comment


The New York Loft Hostel

New York, USA
94%

Great place best hostel I ever stayed at. Sucks that it's in Brooklyn but just take the 15 minute train into Manhattan and you'll be there.