Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Shishkin Art hostel, Krakow, Poland
3.1
21st Aug 2015

We checked out of this hostel 2 days early because we were really disappointed. There were no lockers, no room keys, no safety deposit box, the woman would just buzz in anyone who rang the doorbell. There was a really bad atmosphere, and we felt like we were staying in the owners apartment instead of in a hostel. The rest of the hostel was quite clean but the bathroom was quite gross and didn't have a bath mat. The breakfast was pitiful. Wouldn't recommend at all.

View Property Reply

We remember you. You all did not like from the very beginning. In the kitchen you have prepared for a dinner and not removed. Smashed glass and not paid. Breakfast from 8 am to 10 am (cheese, bacon, butter, bread, milk, tea, coffee, jam). Yes, we do not serve chicken and breed dances.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Corner Hostel, Wroclaw, Poland
9.4
19th Aug 2015

Nice hostel and good location. Really good value for money. Free breakfast would have been nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Die Wohngemeinschaft, Cologne, Germany
10.0
3rd Apr 2015

This hostel was suuuper nice! All of the facilities were really good and everything was very clean. I really recommend staying here, the staff are really friendfly and the bar downstairs is v. cool. Also the beds were so big and comfy. I really have nothing bad to say. Really worth the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Moon Hostel Bio, Bilbao, Spain
8.3
28th Feb 2015

I thought this hostel was really good value for money. It was clean, yes, the dorms were a bit cramped but certainly not ridiculously so. There was a nice communal area and a small kitchen area. The staff members were all friendly enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Living Mad Hostel, Madrid, Spain
7.7
6th Nov 2014

the hostel was OK but the keycard system was overcomplicated and annoying, any extra security it adds is outweighed by the fact that it prevents you from getting into your own room! Normal keys or cards would be soo much better, I cannot even imagine what you do if you are drunk trying to use the current keycard. Asides from that it was okay, the breakfast was good.

View Property Reply

Yep, keys are a little bit tricky... Sorry for that. So safe that not even you could get in, as you said! It's incredible, but people usually have less problems when they're drunk than not. Hope you come back anyway and get drunk with us to try ;) Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Purple Nest Hostel Valencia, Valencia, Spain
7.4
2nd Aug 2014

Good facilities. The atmosphere was a bit seedy though.

View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for visiting our hostel! If you mean that the hostel was not clean enough by saying "seedy", we'll promise to check on that. For us the cleanliness of the hostel is essential. Best regards from Purple Nest

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Al Vucciria Hostel, Palermo, Italy
9.7
7th Jun 2014

We had a great time at this hostel, the owner was so friendly and helpful that we felt perfectly at home in every way. The hostel was super clean, and also really nicely deocrated, with lots of space to chill out. The kitchen was incredibly well stocked and the free breakfast was really good, with lots of different jams and nutella. I would definitely recommend staying here, as the area is very cool and much less touristy than central Palermo. Only advice: make sure you turn the air con on!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Riverside Hostel Gdansk, Gdansk, Poland
9.7
12th Apr 2014

Unbelievably clean, beds were really comfy, good facilities - PS3, lots of books.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
International Budget Hostel, Amsterdam, Netherlands
3.7
17th Sep 2013

Spent the whole stay covered in what we hoped were mosquito bites,

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
The Linen House Hostel, Belfast, Northern Ireland
4.9
11th Sep 2013

The hostel was basically OK. Nothing special. Didn't have a very nice atmosphere. Lockers would have been nice. However, was really cheap so I guess you get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Hans Brinker Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
9.7
9th Apr 2013

Really nice hostel, good kitchen facilities. Staff are all really friendly. Free breakfast was great, they even had chocolate milk. Loved the balconies in the dorm rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Check In Hostel, Berlin, Germany
5.7
31st Mar 2013

You could just tell the owner had not gone out of their way at all to make this place even slightly nicer than it needed to be - the rooms feel like a cell because they are all plain white; the kitchen has nothing in it, and you have to put down a deposit to use a pot or a pan; there is no washing up liquid, only bleach, to wash plates with; the hot water always ran out in the shower. But, worst of all, there is no atmosphere at all and the common room is dismal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Rosemary, Prague, Czech Republic
10.0
29th Mar 2013

This hostel is the best. The dorms are like tiny flats with their own kitchen and bathroom, which creates such a friendly atmosphere with the other guests. Everything was so nicely decorated as well, which really made a difference. Great facilities.The staff were really lovely as well. Only downside is that the heaters were left on pretty much all the time so it was waaaay too hot and stuffy. And also a light in the left luggage room would be great. Other than that, absolutely fantastic hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Kabul Backpackers Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
9.4
15th Dec 2012

This hostel was crazy-good value for money; free breakfast and free dinner all for £5 a night. Stayed in a 24 bed dorm and the only complaint was that maybe it was a bit too squashed because I couldn't stand in the aisle next to my bed at the same time as the person opposite me. Asides from this, everything was perfect. The free club entry was amazing as well, and it was so good that something different was organised every night. Some of the staff were a bit moody.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
No Name City Hostel, Madrid, Spain
10.0
2nd Sep 2012

Really good hostel, always a lot going on which is great for solo travelers! Free breakfast is really good as well. Maybe it would be good to allow 24 hours access to the computers - the internet connection was a bit slow and quite hard to access in the dorm rooms. The location is amazing though, you can walk to Plaza Mayor in about five minutes, Reina Sofia in ten and Parque Retiro in fifteen. The staff are really friendly and helpful as well. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Diagonal Home, Barcelona, Spain
8.0
30th Aug 2012

Maybe not the best hostel in the entire world but for the price it is really good. I was quite worried after seeing some of the reviews on here, but the showers worked fine while I was there, and there were certainly no bed bugs - the beds were actually really comfortable. My dorm was actually really cool, it had a small balcony attached to it which was very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Brussels Hello Hostel, Brussels, Belgium
8.9
18th Jun 2012

Hello Hostel was really lovely, very clean. Only complaints: -that twice our keys stopped working and we were locked out quite late at night - fortunately not an issue, but potentially very dangerous for solo travelers. -the shower had no door or shower mat so the bathroom was always SOAKING wet, which was more annoying than dangerous (although I did slip over...). Right next to the metro stop which was really good. Also NOT in the 'ghetto' or even a remotely dangerous area. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
7.7
17th Apr 2012

Really thought some of the other comments were being melodramatic when they complained about the noise, but when we arrived at around 8pm the reception area was FULL of teenagers, Probably about 100 plus (and I'm sure at least half of them werent staying at the hostel...) as you can imagine this made it incredibly noisy all night. They were also running about in the corridors screaming & repeatedly knocking on our door. this isn't really the hostels fault but it did detract from the experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Corner Hostel, Wroclaw, Poland
9.7
28th Mar 2012

The hostel is great, 24/7 reception was really good, as was the free breakfast - especially when one considers the price. The dorm room was fine; a few of the plug sockets and lamps didn't work which wasn't really an issue for us but could be for other guests. The dorm doors were really soundproof as well. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.