Reviews: Anonymous

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Budapest, Hungary
54%

Awful wifi, like actually terrible!! Rude staff. Great location though! Beds were average, found it a rather impersonal hostel overall. So many rooms!

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Sorry we couldn´t fulfill your wishes while staying with us. We know that wifi is important, that´s why we spent a lot of money to install a wifi system. Its actually working more than good and covers 500 persons being online at the same time. That our staff is rude I have to refuse (91% rating actually says that they are pretty good). Being one of the bigger Hostels might make it a bit imporsonal that´s true, on the other hand more chances to meet other travellers and make friends

Fest Hostel

Warsaw, Poland
91%

Overall awesome location and very sweet hostel with great staff! Getting into the hostel was a nightmare with no guidance at all, we were luck someone walking past knew what to do!! Nice breakfast, great wifi. Clean overall. Lacking in powerpoints in the rooms! Needs a dryer, great to be able to wash but u need to dry too!! Overall I'd stay here again though! Staff made it worth it!

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. "Lacking in powerpoints in the rooms" ??? In the room you were staying in, there are 24 of them. Its true that we do not have a dryer only hanger but we inform about it, so if guests do not have enough time to wait till washing will dry they just need to do washing outside. :)

PLUS Berlin

Berlin, Germany
74%

Next to no kitchen was weird!! Not even bowls or spoons available!! Highly annoying!! Rooms were pleasant and clean. Unsure why the walls had to be bright pink for the girls! Haha but it was ok! Good wifi and powerpoints. Overall very large but doesn't feel too impersonal!

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Generator Hostel Hamburg

Hamburg, Germany
94%

Great location, funky atmosphere with the bar etc average wifi in rooms! Good laundry facilities and great room setup! Good place overall!

  • 2nd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


SleepIn YMCA Luebeck

Lubeck, Germany
57%

Average hostel. Unfortunately they were annoyed with me for being late, yet I had sent them an email to notify them!! Bit they said it wasnt working... nit my fault! :( Good location, very average wifi. Facilities are ok, it's literally a bed to sleep in and a shower.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Copenhagen, Denmark
86%

Great place to stay in the heart of the city! Funky bar, good wifi, good facilities. Staff were helpful only always busy! Would stay again! :)

  • 31st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Reykjavik Backpackers

Reykjavik, Iceland
77%

Great location, standard size room. Not enough power points and only wifi downstairs! Staff varied some nice, some not! Showers were ok. Only annoying thing is the beeping of the doors if not closed properly! Good for security but annoying and loud as you had to basically slam doors to close them! Not a great night sleep because of it!!

  • 30th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Akureyri Backpackers

Akureyri, Iceland
80%

Showers didn't drain properly so flooded everywhere, all the time. Excellent location, average wifi, nice staff, friendly people, good kitchen. Location was definitely its best drawing card!

  • 28th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Reykjavik Backpackers

Reykjavik, Iceland
83%

Great location. Fun bar. Helpful staff with booking tours. Very busy. Locking of doors and loud closing make for a rough night sleep!

  • 24th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Copenhagen, Denmark
94%

Overall amazing time here!! It's a very busy place so it does often take a bit of time to check in or out! But otherwise rooms are clean, atmosphere and bar downstairs is awesome, location is amazing. It is a loud hostel though and being in the heart of the city, don't expect a quiet night! But that's the fun of Copenhagen right? :) enjoy!! Also they should really label the levels in the stairwell!! So simple but would be helpful!

  • 21st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


St Christopher's Barcelona

Barcelona, Spain
83%

Great location, good wifi, great setup of beds with lockers! only thing was in my huge dorm one of the bathrooms were broken, which made the other very busy!!

  • 6th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


360 Hostel Centro

Madrid, Spain
89%

Amazing place to stay, wicked social and friendly atmosphere! Staff were amazing and it was so clean! The only issue I had was with washing: they do it for you, which is amazing BUT it was wet when they said it was done... So we had to put it through the dryer a few times, lucky I wasn't leaving in a hurry as I would've been stuck with a bag of soaking wet clothes!

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Urban House

San Sebastian, Spain
71%

Great location, awful breakfast and great difficulty trying to do laundry-couldnt be done in the end! Wifi was average. Overall average stay.

  • 1st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Aloha Hostel Pamplona

Pamplona, Spain
91%

Awesome place to stay, very clean and cute and the staff were so kind and helpful.

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


The Hipstel

Barcelona, Spain
83%

Amazing breakfast!!! Possibly the best I've ever had in a Hostel!! Location is great, staff were nice and wifi is good. Bedrooms were very cold though and not enough power points! They need instructions on the elevator as which floor is which and where to get off! Rather confusing!

  • 29th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Best Island Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
43%

This hostel was a poor standard even for a basic hostel! We had a private room which was two single, old beds pushed together, the room had mould, thin walls and we were given one towel between the two of us

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Planet Paprika Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
83%

This is a very quaint little hostel on the edge of takism. Mr Paprika and his staff are truly wonderful people, so helpful and welcoming. The hostel was very clean but the rooms are small. My only complaint is that even though I had a booking well in advance there was no room for me, I was just lucky I had made friends staying elsewhere so I could crash there. Admittedly, Mr Paprika did offer us his apartment further out of town, which was very kind. Wifi was good. Security was poor.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Planet Paprika Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
97%

This is such a homely hostel. The staff are beyond amazing, it has a great vibe, it's in a brilliant location, a great base for Istanbul!! Would definitely recommend!!

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Astor Hyde Park

London, England
89%

It was a great, clean hostel to stay at. They were great with luggage storage, breakfast was good, facilities were great with laundry available etc Good location to Hyde park and close to the station! Would definitely stay again.

  • 8th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Astor Hyde Park

London, England
89%

I had a very enjoyable stay. The dorms were clean, great location, always warm, staff were lovely, kitchen was huge! Great place to stay, would highly recommended! :)

  • 5th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


57%

This hostel is in a convenient location but overall is just a bed to stay in. The staff were rude & unhelpful. The rooms were crowded. The lockers were small & there were too few power points. It was clean though and the bar below was cool. However, there was no kitchen or chill out area, other than the bar & breakfast was very poor.

  • 10th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Kinlay House Dublin

Dublin, Ireland
89%

Stayed here before, great location, staff are amazing (they even remembered me from last time!) but the room did smell like stale cat :P otherwise everything was great

  • 27th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Innisfree House

Dundalk, Ireland
94%

I had the most wonderful stay here. The rooms were incredible, the staff were lovely. the breakfast was amazing!!! I loved the who atmosphere here. It was a great getaway!


Newcastle Hostel

Newcastle, Northern Ireland
83%

Here, had all the basics. In off peak season so no-one else was around. Great location, staff were nice and it was a bed to sleep in that was clean and warm.

  • 25th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Vagabonds

Belfast, Northern Ireland
100%

This was a fabulous hostel. The staff were so friendly, facilities were great. Breakfast was good and the setup encourages a great hostel atmosphere with meeting lots of people. Would definitely recommend and go back :)

  • 23rd Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Paddy's Palace Hostel Derry

Derry, Northern Ireland
94%

Overall, I thought it was a great hostel. The staff were lovely, the rooms were clean with ensuite. The location was good, walking distance to the main city. It was a little hard to find and the rooms need more power-points but other than that I had a fabulous stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 20th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Old Town Hostel

Dubrovnik, Croatia
80%

It was a fabulous hostel within the walls. Amazing location, good wifi. Small rooms but what do you expect within the walls. Staff were friendly but there english wasn't amazing. But i did enjoy it.

  • 15th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Old Town Hostel

Dubrovnik, Croatia
83%

The hostel is in a great location. Friendly staff, english not the greatest. There is no aircon but the fans are fantastic. Its a small hostel but its a bed within the Old city and its a great atmosphere.

  • 7th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Kinlay House Dublin

Dublin, Ireland
94%

I was only here for one night but it had a great atmosphere, was easy to find, the staff were great and it was very cheap. Overall a great stay and I would definetely stay here again.


Hostel One Paralelo

Barcelona, Spain
86%

Overall this was a wonderful place to stay! The staff were incredible, friendly, welcoming, helpful and they can cook (especially Angel!!) because of the stay it created a great ambiance with everyone and a real sense of 'home.' I felt very safe and it had aircon which was fabulous!! We had a few troubles with bed allocations but it was never a huge issue jut a hassle. Its a little off pace and hard to find initially but great overall. Have a great time in Barcelona!!

  • 23rd Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Portree Hostel - Waterford City

Waterford, Ireland
71%

This is a great place to stay overnight. It has all the essentials and is in a great location. The staff were pleasant but not welcoming. It could be a great place to meet fellow travellers but its not a town to party in. I would recommend this, even though it feels like you're hiding in the basement of a hotel!

  • 20th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


FIAP Jean Monnet

Paris, France
74%

Very much like a mini hotel, we had a private room with en suite and was wonderful, clean and medium sized. It was close to metro (10 min walk), 20 minutes to Eiffel tower by metro, 10 mins to Notre Dame. The breakfast was average and very early, but better than nothing. No free wifi and not a great pub/bar atmosphere. Seems to attract a mixture of all sorts of travellers, ages and cultures to the hostel. Overall, great to stay for a few days as a bed to sleep in, don't count on it for partying.

  • 11th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


St Christopher's Edinburgh

Edinburgh, Scotland
66%

Overall, the location was amazing and this was by far its strength. Breakfast was standard but they kick you out right on 10am. The staff overall seemed tired and unhappy, possibly overworked, but did eventually help you. The bed was comfortable enough, room size fine but the bathrooms were poorly ventilated (i'd hate to get too claustrophobic!) Also they need BENCHES!! they are so simple yet critical in a bathroom. Other than that, had a wonderful time. I would come back and stay here again :)

  • 3rd Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


Joys Accommodation

Kinsale, Ireland
60%

This hostel was in a great location, but is not your typical hostel. Don't expect to meet people here or go out together. The rooms are very crowded and small, and the bathrooms tiny. The staff (only one) was friendly and although the 'living area' was 'cosy' is was not very welcoming. The kitchen was untidy and overall the place is pretty run down. It is very cheap accommodation. Good stay for a 1-2 night short stop, not great for longer.

  • 17th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All rooms were fully booked, you cannot blame the Hostel for the fact that you were unable to make friends. Countless others have not had this problem. I have been informed you did not inspect any other rooms or bathrooms, so you are not qualified to comment on the sizes etc. You chose a Dorm Room, which although spacious obviosly has more beds than a Private room. The bathroom is an adequate standard size. Considering the house is 400 years old, it is in excellant condition and well maintained. Sharing a kitchen with numerous guests cannot gaurantee pristine conditions at all times.

63%

Found it very difficult to find as the street names are all in Greek!! Staff were nice, but one key to the room was really strange and annoying!! The area felt threatening, bathrooms were small.

  • 13th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


80%

No customer comment

  • 19th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)