Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Yellow, Rome, Italy
6.3
15th Feb 2017

I have mixed feelings about The Yellow. It had a comfortable bed, and all the amenities you'd need but it truly lacked atmosphere. Basically the common area is tiny and is 6-8 bean bags on the floor of the basement. Hardly conducive to meeting travellers. The bar is an option; but you're going to pay 6€ for a beer (minus your 10% discount for being a good sheep and wearing a bracelet around so everyone knows you're a tourist. Some people will love this hostel and others will hate it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
8.0
14th Jan 2017

Nice hostel. Nothing special but nothing to complain about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Czech Inn, Prague, Czech Republic
9.4
2nd Jan 2017

Excellent hostel. Outside the center WHICH IS A PLUS. Perfect hot showers if you aren't one of the last ones. They make perfect lattes, friendly staff...what more to say; it's one of the best hostels in Europe without a crazy price. This coming from a 100+ country traveler.

View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you very much for choosing our hostel for your stay in Prague as well as for this excellent review! I really appreciate you have taken your time to share your experience online and I am sure all the information about our hostel and its location, great hot showers, tasty coffee and friendly staff will be helpful for all other travellers. We are really happy you have had such a great stay with us and we hope we will see you at Czech Inn soon again! Kind regards, Lucia V (GM)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Old Prague Hostel, Prague, Czech Republic
2.0
1st Jan 2017

This is the worst hostel I've ever stayed at and that's saying something since I've been to over 100 countries. Worst possible beds, which I could deal with if the blanket were big enough to at least cover half my body, AND the pillow was bad. No kitchen, bad breakfast, lousy atmosphere and slow wifi. Even the toilet paper was horrible. Better off using a leaf or news paper. The staff was the only thing that was ok.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Curiocity Backpackers, Johannesburg, South Africa
8.6
15th Mar 2016

Awesomely designed hostel with comfy beds in a really hip area. They always put on events so it's easy to meet the other travelers. There are much cheaper places to stay in the city that even include a good breakfast (which they don't) which is the only downside in my opinion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
HomeBase Melville, Johannesburg, South Africa
6.9
10th Mar 2016

Home base is in the cool neighborhood of Melville, yet still a 5-10 minute walk from the action, which is good for quite sleeping but bad for walking home at night from a bar. The hostel itself is average. It's nice that they offer a free breakfast, but it ends too early at 9:30. I stayed in the large dorm and could hear a conversation through the thin walls in the room next door. This wasn't pleasant when next door they woke up at 5am and have a conversation at full volume.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
7.7
27th Feb 2016

Fine place. It was full, but definitely didn't have the vibe of a hostel. Was more half locals from other areas of KZN staying for the weekend including families. Everything was clean, but sedate too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Caledonian Backpackers, Edinburgh, Scotland
5.7
24th Aug 2015

Staff was friendly and helpful, and other guests were great. One sink, stove, etc for 200 plus guests? You're joking. You get in line to wash your dishes after breakfast. Cold showers in the morning and a few broken ones too. Cheapest place to stay in the city though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Nimmos Hostel, Galway, Ireland
7.7
9th Aug 2015

I don't know what everyone is complaining about. It's by far the cheapest hostel in Galway, the beds are comfortable, clean sheets, it has a common room that's easy to meet everyone, and has a functioning kitchen. The only possible bad things about it are there is only one staff member at a time who often isn't at reception if you need something but he's usually cleaning up the rooms or bathrooms. There basically is NO security, but you're also allowed to bring friends who aren't staying!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Komune, Coolangatta, Australia
8.9
15th Apr 2014

I arrived at 10pm which is apparently after the staff goes home. I wished to pay in cash, but was forced to use a credit card AND pay 2% extra for doing so which was kind of annoying. Room was pretty amazing with a porch that overlooked the pool, private bathroom and two separate areas with 4 beds each.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Fat Camel Hostel, Auckland, New Zealand
9.1
14th Oct 2013

The beds aren't super comfy (same as the nomads down the street), but I paid for a 4 bed without windows (cheapest room) and was upgraded to a 4 bed with windows (most expensive) which had it's own kitchen/bathrooms. The best part about this mini common area was the ability to meet other people in the surrounding rooms using this mini common area. I'd stay here again, and would choose it over the other nomads.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Nomads Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
6.3
22nd Sep 2013

The beds were uncomfortable, but nice hot showers.

View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you found our beds uncomfortable?! We will have a look at the mattresses in the room you stayed in. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.