Reviews: wandering_gypsy_queen

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 30

La Bohemia Hostal

Capurgana, Colombia

This hostel is amazing has such a nice and friendly vibe. The owners are great and really want to help in every aspect, the only down fall was that the water and electricity sometimes works but in a place like this where you are on no schedule it doesn't really matter. Would recommend staying here if you are wanting to relax!

The Dreamer Hostel

Santa Marta, Colombia

Loved it here!!! Stayed at Drop Bear also and preferred this hostel a lot more. The staff are a lot more friendly and accommodating, the atmosphere here is a lot better and easier to make new friends. The facilities are awesome and it is great location to get to Parque Tayrona and Palomino etc. Highly recommend this place!!

Colombian Home Hostel

Cali, Colombia

One of the best hostels for creating a vibe and a family especially when travelling alone. The staff are someof the friendliest I have met especially Phoebe, if only Cali had more to offer during the day I would have stayed here longer and the breakfast changes daily which is nice. Perfect place to stay if you want to learn salsa and make new friends

Galeria Hostel

Medellin, Colombia

This hostel had a really cool vibe like a family and the staff were friendly and helpful and the communal areas were nice. There were only a couple of bathrooms, the major downfall for me was the room was disgustingly filthy from other guests however the hostel never asked them to clean for example there was other guests clothes on my bed all the time and to access my locker I had to move some dirty jocks and clothes as well as food blocking it and blocking the walk way to access my bed.

Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel

Medellin, Colombia

Not enough bathrooms for guests, luckily I had the female dorm which meant I had a private bathroom. The staff were not the most helpful a lot of what the hostel had on offer was not available such as Monday night BBQ and maps!! There was not enough keys for everyone to have to the rooms so you had to get Reception to let you into the room and which made it harder to get to the reception desk. Otherwise very clean and good place to meet people.

Hostel Campo Grande

Campo Grande, Brazil

BED BUGS!! stayed here 1 night & woke up to a bed infested with hundreds of bed bugs, no exaggeration the size of watermelon seeds, we pulled back the sheets to discover blood stained mattresses they have known about this for a while. We changed rooms and there was 2 bed bugs then were given another after they checked a few rooms & were saitisfied but we could not sleep. We had to approach management they offered no compensation we had to demand and were lied to on several occassions. Not Happy

Santa Mix Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Can not fault this hostel it is the best we have stayed at by far. New comfortable beds and pillows, clean bathrooms, rooftop terrace along with a blow up pool (thought this was a nice extra touch) great common area especially for socialising made many friends here. The atmosphere that this hostel created was the best we have also had, Jorge is the hostess with the mostest (altho I would never tell him) along with Tor and Sunny they made us feel at home. Everyone should be staying here now!!!

Namoa Hostel

Sao Paulo, Brazil

It was like staying at a hotel!! The hostel is tastefully decorated and everything is brand new and sparkling clean. It is in a good area Villa Madalena and very close to the metro which is convenient for exploring Sao Paulo however a little bit away from the bars and restaurants in Vila Madalena (but a short taxi ride) Staff were extremeçy helpful especially Sua who was determined to get my friend a nutella crepe to satisfy her craving haha Only downfall was there was no atmosphere.

Geckos Hostel

Florianopolis, Brazil

Nothing bad to say about this hostel, centrally located, staff were friendly cocktails were cheap, they arranged nights out for the guests with the added bonus of a swimming pool if you were too hungover to venture out for the day and this will happen!

Marcopolo Inn Iguazu

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina

Great location just across from the bus station, they make it easy for you to arrange trips to the falls, we had an extra few days here to relax by the pool and enjoy a few drinks at the bar. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, not a bad thing to say.

Hostel Suites Obelisco

Buenos Aires, Argentina

We booked a 6 female bed dorm and the room was massive and spacious which great! The bathroom was a bit dirty and the shower didn´t work properly and there was only one shower for a few rooms so made it difficult in the mornings and the kitchen was tiny for the amount of people and cooking facilities were lacking or broken. However it was in a great location close to main attractions and buses and had lots of activities for you to book, good for what you are paying.

F&F Hostel

Punta del Este, Uruguay

Mixed feelings. Guy at check in was blunt, unwelcoming told us there were no more rooms for an extra night, spoke to other staff and there was. Checking in there was chewing gum stuck on the bedhead, floors were dirty and the room wasn´t cleaned for the 3 days we were there, I also contracted bed bugs here. No key or lockers. Lack of bathrooms difficult to shower or go to the toilet. However the ambiance was great Kelly the bartender was very friendly pool is a bonus, had an awesome time here


Good location, staff were friendly, rooms were small, lockers were under the bed but then left no room to get around when you had opened it. Facilities were good but the TV was in the same room as the bar so if you wanted a quiet night in to watch TV you couldn´t. Ambiance was lacking, however nice hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment Christine , we are always working to improve ourselves. Regards El Viajero Staff


Great location on the beach however far away from the town centre if you needed anything. Rooms were average, we had a stuff around with check in as they put us in the wrong room which meant we had to change rooms the next day due to their mistake. They say they have wifi but it never works. The bar on the beach does create a great atmosphere to have a few drinks and watch the sunset and make new friends.

Lagares Hostel

Mendoza, Argentina

Staff were all very friendly especially Javier they really want you to enjoy your stay. It is a nice small hostel with a chilled vibe, not a party hostel and pretty clean, we were disappointed with the bathroom facilities as there were only 2 bathrooms to share between the top floor of guests so it was difficult to get in.

La Casa Roja

Santiago, Chile

Most of the staff were friendly and happy to help, Rooms were large with lockers, kitchen is amazing, the swimming pool and outside garden was an oasis in a concrete city. Simon the bartender is awesome really wants you to enjoy your time there. Security wasn't amazing, they buzzed anyone in at the front door and allowed guests in, if you want to sleep this is not the place, guests partying could be heard from our room also there were only 2 showers for all the girls on the bottom floor.