Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 23

Vagabonds

Belfast, Northern Ireland
94%

A great hostel, so good I extended my stay by 3 nights! The staff were amazing and so welcoming and helpful! The rooms were big and clean and the bathrooms were really clean and new! I would definitely go back! The wifi was great and the breakfast was great as well! Really impressed :) thanks for a great stay!

  • 20th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Astor Museum Inn

London, England
66%

Not the best hostel in London by a long way! I only stayed one night but the room I was in was freezing and the PowerPoint was falling out of the wall. There was literally one toilet and shower on the first floor for several dorm rooms! The staff were nice enough but the kitchen was dirty when I got there ad the bathroom was as well.... Was a little disappointed after my stay at the Astor Hyde park....

  • 16th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Blue Sky Hostel

Glasgow, Scotland
49%

Whilst the hostel was cheap it isnt all that centrally located. The staff were friendly and helpful enough but the room was a bit dirty and the wallpaper was peeling off.The kitchen was very dirty and the fridges stank! There were only 4 showers for the whole hostel and no toilets on the first floor. It was very noisy and nothing was done about it even at 3am in the morning.The showers are hot but the pressure is terrible.There was no laundry and we were given the wrong keys. Not the best hostel

  • 28th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Cocomama

Amsterdam, Netherlands
80%

A very nice hostel a little expensive but still nice. The cat is adorable! However the wi-fi was a little patchy and the first room we were given was below the street level and was incredibly noisy however the staff were great and changed our room for us. The kitchen is very clean but there is no where near enough fridge space.The games and books in the common room were great and the whole hostel had a very homely feel. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • 23rd Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Say Cheese Leipzig

Leipzig, Germany
100%

A amazing hostel. Great value for money and an amazing kitchen. Everything was so new. The 6 bed dorm we were in was HUGE! The common room was great big comfy couches and a big TV. WiFi was great and the staff at both check in and out were very friendly. I will definitely be coming back here.Thanks for a great stay pity it was only for 1 night

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


The Cat's Pajamas Hostel

Berlin, Germany
94%

What a great hostel. On arrival the staff were great. The lobby/ common area was really nice and the kitchen was well equipped. It is a little further away but it's on a metro line so alexanderplatz etc are very accessible. The wifi worked everywhere. The rooms were great and were ensured but what was even better was the fact that the shower and toilet were separate so no waiting for someone to finish in the bathroom. Our only complaint was that we had people arrive at 4 in the morning :(

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Lollis Homestay

Dresden, Germany
66%

Lollis homestay was pleasant enough and had a nice kitchen but it was very crowded. The rooms were nice wi-fi was good but keeps signing you out all the time.It was well connected to the city centre but everything was easy to walk to as well. The discounts offered were also good. The laundry service was good. My only complaint was that there was only 1 bathroom for several dorm rooms so not nearly enough! Make sure you go to the pizza place across the street!

  • 18th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Hotel Mercedes

Hamburg, Germany
54%

A very average hotel. The breakfast is nice though. Our room was a little small and our double bed was just 2 singles pushed together. We had to pay for wifi €2 for 24 hrs. Just a note you do have to walk through a red light area to reach the hotel and at night if your a female alone it can be a little bit uncomfortable. All in all a decent hotel but nothing special.

  • 16th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Interhostel

Stockholm, Sweden
69%

Was a nice hostel however it is a little bit of a walk from the main station so be aware of that. The wifi was ok and the hostel was cleaned daily. The kitchen/common room was good although as you cant drink at the hostel the atmosphere is a little dull and there were several families so it definitly lacked the hostel vibe. All in all a decent hostel however this is sweden so dont expect it to be cheap!

  • 13th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Eurohostel

Helsinki, Finland
51%

The only good thing was the location which was right next to the tram line. The wifi you had to pay for €5 a day an sites like viber Skype etc don't work. The guy on night shift was very rude and when our wifi pass didn't work asked if one of us had already used it! The kitchen area on each floor is a good idea and so are the fridge lockers but €10 deposit is a little steep! the showers are very communal so don't expect much privacy. Take them up on the camera for the day gives you 24 hrtranspor

  • 9th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Wombats City Hostel Berlin

Berlin, Germany
74%

A good hostel. The wifi only works downstairs in the lobby and kitchen and upstairs in the bar so keep that in mind as it can get a little crowded in both areas in the morning and in the evening. The kitchen is good but too small for more then a few people at once. The rooms were nice and cleaned daily. The welcome drink was a nice bonus and the bar had great staff and drinks at decent prices.

  • 26th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Hostel Mango

Prague, Czech Republic
74%

Was a good hostel and the location was great but there is no where to hang out or eat if you cook. Also the Internet doesn't work in the rooms which was a big disappointment! The staff were reasonably friendly I would probably stay there again.

  • 22nd Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Hostel of the Sun

Naples, Italy
89%

A great hostel a little expensive but for the room we got it was worth the money. The atmosphere is a little lacking but the cheap cocktails and drinks from 8-11 at night make up for it. The staff were very helpful and went out of thier way to answer any questions we had.The breakfast was good as well pity the dining room and kitchen area are so small but well equipped.Was a great place to stay would go back there again :)

  • 15th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Hostel 7 Santi

Florence, Italy
63%

The hostel was ok a little too far out of the way but still easy to access the centre once you work out the public transport.When we arrived our room smelt a little so we tried to air it out but once opening the windows we got attacked by mosquitos. The breakfast was well worth the 4 euro. Not many restaurants etc in the area and the lack of kitchen does make it a little difficult but for what we paid it was acceptable. Wouldnt be my first choice however if your on a budget its not a bad hostel.

  • 13th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


80%

A really nice hotel only stayed for one night but good service and nice clean room. Was a little let down that the wifi was 4 euro for half an hour but breakfast was nice and we were well looked after. It was a little difficult to find so we were walking around for a while but would recommend it. Very close to the train station. :)

  • 12th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Hostel One Sants

Barcelona, Spain
69%

We only stayed one night but the guy at reception was extremely friendly and helpful. The free meals sounded good pity we didnt get to try it! The rooms were tiny! The bunks were also pretty low so you had to duck alot to get onto the bottom bunk bed... Not bad for a night.

  • 11th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Home Youth Hostel

Valencia, Spain
83%

The rooms were nice we stayed in a 3 bed mixed dorm which had a balcony looking directly at la lonja.Security was good as we had keycards to the hostel which also worked for our rooms. The kitchen was well equipped and fairly spacious. Comfy couches in the communal areas. The wifi was terrible and it was a little unpredictable. A great central location with la lonja and the central markets directly infront of the hostel and lots of great bars and restaurants nearby.

  • 9th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Traveler's Inn Seville

Seville, Spain
80%

A nice hostel with a good central location everything was accessible by walking. I dont recommend walking there from the train as you could easily get lost! The staff a fairly friendly and helpful. Was nice to have an included breakfast however the kitchen was several floors up and usually very crowded at night. Our room was on the ground floor and had a window that allowed people walking down the stairs to see into the room however if it was closed it was too hot.

  • 7th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


La Casa Mata Central

Malaga, Spain
83%

A great hostel for couples or small groups. The owners were lovely and very helpful( even letting us print some bookings we needed).The kitchen was well equipped and despite the lack of space was very clean.The rooms were great large comfy bed,shelves the works. We were very impressed. There a several supermarkets nearby making it easy to cook your own meals as there werent too many restaurants nearby. Despite the poor weather was definitely one of our favourite stays so far.

  • 5th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS SO MUCH!!! :)

MuchoMadrid

Madrid, Spain
54%

We arrived early in the morning and went to the hostel as it was raining but there was no where to put our bags and as the reception area is very cramped we couldnt leave them there. The hostel is VERY small so even when we tried to stay in teh kitchen there wasnt any room! we only stayed for one night and thank goodness as the noise from the street was very loud as was the squeaking floorboards everytime someone walked down the corridor. Was pretty disappointed all round

  • 4th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Sunset Destination Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
97%

Hands down the best hostel we have stayed at! the breakfast was great and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.Our room was clean and had plenty of powerpoints always a plus! The location was excellent, close to alot of the sights and had a metro line directly beneath the hostel. The kitchen was well equipped however you do have to fight to get in there at night as they cook meals.The sintra tour was amazing definitly worth doing if you have the time.Will be back for sure! Thanks :)

  • 30th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


U Hostels

Madrid, Spain
71%

A nice new hostel however it lacks in any sort of a communal atmosphere.It was a nice clean room and the dorm was well set out. However for the price it didnt seem to offer anything special. The breakfast was a let down ,a cup of milk 2 pieces of toast and some biscuits not really all that impressive considering how much the hostel cost. The staff were very accomodating,friendly and offered good advice when asked. Not a bad hostel and for a clean room and a bed its great, but not exciting

  • 28th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Barcelona 4 Fun Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
74%

A good hostel once we found it, which was a little difficult as there was no signage. The wifi worked well however there were a few dead spots. The kitchen was well equipped but no kettle or microwave and it was locked at 10pm everynight as there was room right next to it which was a little inconvenient. There are plenty of supermarkets around and you are really close to the harbour and la rambla so a great location. The staff were friendly all round for the price you do get alot of privacy

  • 24th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


91%

My boyfriend got stuck in hospitsl in paris and when he got out the some of the staff went above and beyond to ensure we still had accomodation so we didnt have to move as everything was booked out for the weekend.The breakfast was great and the wifi worked even in the rooms. My only tiny complaint was that we had to be out of the rooms between 11 and 3 for cleaning however everything else was great and the rooms and bathrooms were really clean a big thumbs up from us!

  • 13th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Hotel Puy de Dome Paris

Paris, France
29%

The worst hostel/hotel I've ever stayed at. We ended up checking out after one night as once getting to our room we discovered that our door didn't even lock! There were holes in the floor board under the carpet which were a little dangerous and the shower had mould all through it not to mention the fact that our shared toilet in the hallway wasn't even working! Needless to say we checked out the next day after upgrading to a different room for the night.

  • 12th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

Brussels, Belgium
66%

Not a bad hostel and a decent location everything was easy enough to walk to or take the metro to however we did find that a few of the staff members were a little rude. Just a hint for breakfast when they say it finishes at a certain time they mean it regardless of how long you have been lined up waiting...We found this out after waiting for over 20 minutes one morning as there was a big tour group when we finally got served we got told we had 5 minutes and others who had waited got nothing....

  • 11th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

Brussels, Belgium
71%

Not bad but some of the staff need to consider the way they speak to guests as some of the cleaners were a little rude.

  • 10th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

Brussels, Belgium
60%

Whilst some aspects of the hostel were nice some of the staff were just plain rude! We went for breakfast one morning and lined up for close to 20 minutes as there were several large groups and when we got to the front we were told we had 5 mins for breakky regardless of our 20 min wait several others weren't even served and he started Taking our food away at 9 even though we were still clearly eating. Also the cleaning staff walked into our private room( twice) when we said not to.

  • 7th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


77%

We were pleasantly suprised! After a bit of a rough start ( we arrived early and caught the owners off guard) we were driven to the apartment which was right on the river! It was above a row of restaurants so it was a little noisey at night however for the price and location it was definitely worth it. It said wifi however we definitly didnt have any but that was the only con :)

  • 6th Oct 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Blaues Haus Stuttgart

Stuttgart, Germany
60%

didnt stay here


Keystone House Kings Cross

London, England
63%

Although the location was amazing we found the staff to be a little difficult at times with a few queries we had. The room was a little small but comfortable and clean. One thing we hadn't expected was how noisey the traffic on the street would be but after the first few nights we grew accustomed to it. I would recommend to other travellers but be warned, if you have an early flight out at heathrow, plan ahead as we struggled to get a taxi around kings cross station that early in the morning.

  • 24th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)