Hostelworld.com

Reviews: deiden

Location USA, Gender Male, Age 27

  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Victoria Hotel Backpackers, Melbourne, Australia
6.6
26th Jun 2013

Staff was all great, besides the mattress the room was perfect (spacious, warm and organized)! Kitchen had minimal utensils and was always filthy - you can't clean anything with no dish soap and no clean towels. Bathrooms dirty as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Home at The Mansion, Melbourne, Australia
7.7
7th May 2013

Very friendly staff and building had amazing character! Kitchen a bit small and pretty basic, bathrooms/showers perfect! Location perfect for walking anywhere within CBD. Very dusty. Would recommend to stay - have ear plugs at the ready too as hostel is located on busy road and floors creak quite loudly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Berkenhoff Lodge, Taupo, New Zealand
9.4
3rd May 2013

Awful lot of signs telling you what not to do.

View Property Reply

Hi Derek Thanks for your comment. The reason for the signs, so people know what they are doing. There are a lot of people travelling these days that dont use common sense. Hope the rest of your trip is rewarding

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand
6.9
1st May 2013

Double room was very, very basic.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Airport Skyway Lodge, Auckland, New Zealand
8.0
27th Apr 2013

Lovely hostel with no real complaints. Loved the close atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Urban Central, Melbourne, Australia
6.0
20th Apr 2013

Beds were terrible and the place was awfully cold. Most hostels along my East coast travels offered free wifi for the price charged - it's also 2013, people travel and expect free or affordable wifi access. Overall, very mediocre and average experience with a textbook definition of a 'hostel factory'.

View Property Reply

Hi Derek, Thanks for your review of Urban Central. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations during your stay. We feel we offer great value for money for our nightly rate which a free towel, free breakfast, free pasta and rice, free tea and coffee and free evening entertainment to enhance make your stay. Thanks again for your review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia
9.7
29th Mar 2013

Reliable and free wi-fi is simply wonderful and always greatly appreciated!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort, Surfers Paradise, Australia
6.9
22nd Mar 2013

Average place. Great to have all the extra facilities. No lockers in rooms biggest disappointment. 1 girl who closed bar/kitchen very rude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • deiden
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Kookaburra Inn, Brisbane, Australia
8.6
21st Mar 2013

Showers were absolutely perfect and clean! Staff extremely friendly and helpful! Perfect's night sleep for my first night in Australia!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.