Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Switzerland, Gender: Male, Age: 29
69%

If you want to stay in South Beach at all costs, this is probably one of the cheapest places you'll get. The busstation of the South Beach Local (a ride costs only 25 cents per person) is located in front of the building, a whole food market is nearby and it takes you only 15-20 minutes to walk to the beach. On the other hand it is still very pricy (compared to North Beach), the rooms are tiny and cleanliness is only ok. Some staff members are friendly others not really.

  • 8th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Colonial House Quito

Quito, Ecuador
83%

As the name says, the hostel is located in an old colonial house which creates a really charming atmosphere! Rooms are huge and clean and in some of them there is even WiFi! The breakfast you can get for an extra 3.50 is excellent, with fresh fruit, Muesli, eggs, natural juices, etc. Since there is also a kitchen you can eat all the meals at the hostel which in Quito is quite necessary: the town is VERY unsafe and a lot of people we met got robbed (some during daytimes, some at night)!

  • 11th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


83%

+ giant rooms with private bathroom, cleanliness ok, luggage storage, friendly staff at reception - quite loud during night (hostel is huge), WiFi only works in the bar which is extremely noisy even during daytimes (loud music!), unfriendly staff at bar

  • 5th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


94%

The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, nice and spotless. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast you can get here is nice (selfmade yoghurt, etc.). And what is best: the price is just unbeatable! Unfortunately we've just spent one night here!

  • 27th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


77%

The place offers spacious and clean rooms close to the beach and a casino. There are lockers for everyone in the common area (also for people in double rooms) and the common area itself is lovely. A huge disadvantage are the other facilities: not enough pans in the kitchen (only one frying pan), WiFi which only works in the common area AND ways too less toilets and showers!

  • 24th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Hostal Lili-Patagonicos

Puerto Natales, Chile
94%

A newly renovated hostel with well furnished and very well equipped private rooms (they even have a heater in every room). Staff is very friendly and helpful and can organise bus tickets to the torres, etc. And the best thing is: you can even rent camping materials here, which are also really good (no leaks, etc.). Probably the best base for excursions to the Torres!

  • 31st Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Hospedaje Magallanes

Punta Arenas, Chile
94%

A very cozy place with extremely friendly and helpful staff who will give you great hints regarding restaurants, etc. and can organise all the day trips to the penguins, etc. The included breakfast is good and the WiFi quite fast. Only downside is that it can get really cold during night times (heaters are not in the rooms, but in the corridors).

  • 24th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review! You're right, so far, we only got Southern Patagonian style natural gas heating in the house. If you ask me: beats wood-stove heating as in may other parts of Southern Chile, especially in the mornings... Anyways, we're currently studying the option of investing in central heating (bloody expensive that is!) - unfortunately this may be too late for you - unless you come back one day... ;-) Looking forward to that! Best, Sebastian

Hostel Petero Atamu

Easter Island, Chile
80%

Perfect for backpackers: Nothing special and quite basic but clean rooms at fair rates and helpful staff. Only real downside is the internet connection which is really slow. But there are internet cafes nearby which offer fast and affordable connections.

  • 12th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Zing

Sydney, Australia
57%

The only reason to go is the price! Staff is unmotivated, bathrooms are dumps and most of the other guests have nothing in mind but drinking and shouting! Avoid it!

  • 1st Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross

Sydney, Australia
74%

Compared to other hostels we've been to in Australia, definitely one of the better places: staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the location is perfect to explore Sydney on your own and the cleanliness of the facilities is OK. On the other hand, if you're coming from Asian countries where you get better, bigger and cleaner rooms for a fourth of the price, it is a shock. But as already mentioned: all places in Australie are terrible, compared to Asia!

  • 8th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


98SG

Singapore, Singapore
74%

If you just stay one night in Singapore and have to catch a flight in the morning, this is definitely a good choice. Close to the metro station and at a fair rate. On the other hand, the rooms are small, the shared facilities not the cleanest and there is a strong smell of urine in the staircase.

  • 5th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Bohol Guesthouse

Loboc, Philippines
80%

The place (also known as "Nipa Hut Village" if you are looking on tripadvisor) is situated in the middle of the jungle, approx. 2 kilometers apart from the mainroad. Therefore it is very calm, but probably you are looking exactly for this! The huts are like you imagine them: very basic but clean and with great atmosphere (and surprisingly few mosquitos). The only real negative point for individual travellers is the absence of internet. But if you need information, just ask the friendly staff!

  • 24th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Traders Inn

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
83%

The place is definitely not a hostel. But in the absence of hostels in Brunei (apart from the miserably rated pusat belia youth hostel), this is probably the best value for money, a budget traveller can get in this expensive country! Spacious, modern and very clean rooms. The bus station is nearby (bus number 55; pay attention: the bus service stops at 6 PM!) and there are a lot of restaurants and shops in the close surroundings! Staff is friendly but WiFi is really slow!

  • 18th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Lavender Lodge Kota Kinabalu

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
89%

Spacious and very clean rooms, situated in the centre of KK; a huge seafood nightmarket is located just accross of the street, the ferry pier is within walking distance, convenience stores and atms are nearby. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is not the best but at least it is free. The only real downside is the missing of a comfy common area to meet other travellers. But when you travel as a couple, this is not a big deal.

  • 17th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Harbourside Backpackers

Sandakan, Malaysia
97%

We had a spacious 4-bed room with window for just the two of us (although it would not be that spacious anymore if there were four people...). Everything was very clean, the price really fair and the staff friendly. But the best characteristic of this place is its location. The huge harbour mall with a excellent food corner on the 4th floor is just accross the road and a lot of shops, restaurants and the minibus terminal are nearby! We would definitely stay here again.

  • 11th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Masada Backpacker

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
83%

The place is quite clean and the location great (minbus for mount kinabalu just around the corner; restaurants, atms and convenience stores within short walking distance); but at least the double rooms are too small, have no windows and are overpriced. Furthermore, the common area is rather small and the included breakfast consists of toast and jam (good thing is, that you can eat it all day long, without time limit)

  • 9th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
86%

Even though it definitely is a party hostel you can get rooms where you can sleep in peace (the double rooms are located on the ground floor). The location of the place is great and the rooftop bar worth a visit if you want to get to know other people. Breakfast is ok. The only downside is the availability of toilets and showers, specially on the ground floor.

  • 4th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Ari Putri

Denpasar, Indonesia
77%

To tell it first: this is definitely not the "typical" backpackers' accommodation. Nevertheless it is quite a good bargain with clean and spacious rooms and friendly staff. Since we stayed just for one night (we were picked-up by a speedboat company going to Gili T.) we are not really able to judge the location of the place.

  • 28th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


POP! Hotel Denpasar Teuku Umar

Denpasar, Indonesia
89%

Even though the location of this hotel is not the best in terms of sightseeing, etc. it is definitely good value for money. Where else in Denpasar do you get a spacious and very clean double room with aircon and LCD-TV for around 30 Dollars per night? The design may be extraordinary but hey, it is a POP-hotel! We can just recommend this place!

  • 12th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Da Rifi Hostel

Surabaya, Indonesia
80%

The design of the hostel is definitely aimed at backpackers. And for them it is great! We had a spacious and clean room. The shared bathroom was open-air and clean as well. And the owner is a very kind person who will help you in all matters and who prepares lovely fruit juices every morning (which are for free!). Unluckily we have been almost the sole guests so that the big common area was of no real use to meet people. Cons of the place: far away from city center and a lot of mosquitos!

  • 10th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


One Florence Close

Singapore, Singapore
77%

Very clean hostel with spacious private rooms, fast WiFi connection (in the room itself; not just common area) and close to the MRT station. The common area is huge as well and has a great atmosphere but unfortunately we were the only guests when we stayed there and therefore had no chance to meet other people. Another disadvantage is the distance to the city center. Staff was friendly and helpful but when we arrived the first day at around 9 PM no one was there to introduce us to the place...

  • 3rd Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Rahul Guest House

Varanasi, India
74%

Not located in the centre of Varanasi (in our eyes an advantage, because the city center is too crowded, noisy and dirty), friendly staff, free WiFi (at least in deluxe rooms), excellent boat tours (sunrise/sunset). Our room was just cleaned after complaining (ok, we got a free sunrise boat trip as compensation...). The restaurant seemed to be good and not too expensive, but on the day of our departure we suffered heavy stomach aches (and we just ate at the guest house and never in the city).

  • 30th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


89%

The location could not be better! It was even possible for us to be the first people in front of Taj Mahal in the morning! Very good food as well. Modern (deluxe) rooms with A/C. Everything is (according to Indian standards) very clean. Wi-Fi is quite fast but works only in the common area. Staff are friendly for the most part (with one exception). Very good value for money!

  • 24th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Wood Castle

New Delhi, India
74%

Spacious and clean rooms with A/C and big bathroom. The hotel is quite centrally located and in walking distance of a metro station. But during night, we would not recommend to walk through the neighborhood alone! The restaurant offers excellent but rather pricy meals. The same is true for pick-ups and drop-offs but since it is hard to get a cab in the neighborhood yourself (at least early in the morning), it is still ok.

  • 28th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Homy Inn

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
86%

Very centrally located, modern facilities with helpful and friendly staff! The downside is the size of the (double) rooms (approximately 10 square meters, including bathroom), the fact that most rooms do not have a window and the missing of a common area to meet other travellers. But if you just stay for 2-3 nights, definitely higly recommendable!

  • 18th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse

Lijiang, China
86%

Situated in the old town, this place is a good location to explore Lijiang and its sights. The (double)rooms are spacious and clean and the (mostly Western) food is freshly prepared. The guesthouse offers busses to Shangri-La and the Tiger Leaping Gorge (which we can highly recommend). But be careful: Since there are always huge groups which take those busses in the morning (and order breakfast first), they will never leave on time and you will be forced to start your hike ways too late!

  • 6th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Sunny Guest House

Yuanyang, China
51%

Even though the location is great, we can't recommend to stay there at all: The staff speaks almost no English; when we arrived (after booking 2 weeks in advance) our room was empty for more than three hours but not cleaned yet (even though there was no one except the two of us); after half a day the toilets and showers were still dirty; we asked for lunch but were told to eat at another place, etc. We changed to Jackie's (almost next door) the same day and can highly recommend that place!

  • 3rd Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


86%

Nice, clean and spacious rooms, a good restaurant at reasonable prices and quite helpful staff are the pros of this place. On the other hand, the location is not the best (at least if the green lake park - which is just around the corner - is closed due to reconstruction as was the case during our stay). Nevertheless this place offers good value for money and we can recommend it.

  • 29th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
How are you ? Thank you for your booking and give a rating to us. Sorry now in kunming have many road were reconstruction , because of the city will be have metro cross it . So ...But thank you very much for your recommend our hostel ! Enjoy your trip in Yunnan ,and welcome to come back! your friend jean

74%

The staff is very helpful and quite friendly. The associated restaurant offers a great variety of dishes to very reasonable prices and the possibility to borrow DVD's or watch them in the hostel-owned "cinema" is great. On the other hand, some of the rooms are quite dim and a little wet (we asked to change the room after one night and got another one which was much better). Since Chongqing was under water due to heavy floods, we cannot judge the quality of the location within the city...

  • 23rd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We really appreciate your review,and we will try to make a change and do our best to make you guys feel like home.Please trust us.Wish you have a nice trip in China. Best wishes ANNIE

Dalkom Guest House

Seoul, South Korea
91%

New and modern place with a lovely manager and extremely clean rooms and facilities. But if you leave your window open at night, it can get quite noisy since the guesthouse is located in a neighbourhood with a lot of printing companies working 24/7. Another slightliy negative point is that you have to take the subway first to reach most of the sights (exceptions are Seoul tower and the Cheonggyecheon creek area.

  • 16th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


63%

Even though the hostel is centrally located and has a quite good restaurant at reasonable prices, we would not go there again because the (small) room we got (double room) was dark (it had only one small window), wet and had even some small spots of fungi on the wall!

  • 11th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are Looking forward to your visit again. Best wishes

Han Tang House

Xi'an, China
86%

Newly built place quite close to the city center. The rooms are clean and spacious (it's more kind of a hotel than a hostel). The staff was somewhat friendly although sometimes a little bit halfhearted.

  • 2nd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry for that。

97%

Located in the heart of Pingyao, this hostel is situated in two lovely traditional Chinese courtyards. The staff was friendly and helpful; food was good and the same family runs even an own (cozy) bar next doors! Can recommend this place to everyone visitting Pingyao!

  • 30th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


97%

A superb hostel in every respect! Great location near the subway, friendly and very helpful staff (they will arrange everything for you), great hutong-atmosphere, very clean... To sum up: highly recommendable!

  • 19th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Golden Gobi

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
66%

This is a great place if you want to meet other travellers, connected with all the correspondent pros and cons: on the one hand it is a very living place filled with a lot of different travellers from around the world and run by a mongolian familiy which seems to be very experienced! On the other hand it is very noisy, the common area is much too small and heavily overcrowded and sometimes you cannot avoid the feeling of being ripped off a bit (although not too hard...) Tours are excellent!

  • 5th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Irkutsk City Lodge

Irkutsk, Russia
83%

Very new hostel with modern facilities and very friendly staff! If your willing to take a longer bus ride through the city (the location is not really what we call "central") it is great value for money and it is easy to get a minibus to lake baikal at the bus station next door.

  • 2nd Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Capital Hostel

Moscow, Russia
80%

The location of the hostel is excellent since it is located in the city center and very close to the subway! Rooms are clean although not too spacious. The staff speaks quite a good English but was sometimes a little grim. The only negative thing is, that there is only one toilet and one shower for the whole hostel! And during our stay there was also just cold water. Nevertheless we can recommend this place.

  • 25th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)