Reviews: Anonymous

Kose Pension

Goreme, Turkey
91%

very cheap, hostel has ABSOLUTELY NO SECURITY for your things except for a tiny safe at the front desk. also a severe shortage of outlets - 6 for a 20 person dorm. but a good location and for 15TL you can't really complain much. but breakfast isn't included so you're really going to pay about 11$/night. i didn't think dinner was worth it but soup/salad/main/desert for 20 TL is generally a better deal than you'll find elsewhere, but it's simple homecooking


Arch-Ist Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
100%

Staff aren't super professional, they're more just hired to make sure the place doesn't burn down. small lockers in the room, there's a bit of threadbare nature to the place but the location is excellent and i was very happy with everything else.


Arch-Ist Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
100%

staff seem like they're just there to keep the peace and make sure the place doesn't burn down. don't get me wrong, they are very nice, and helpful when they can be, but i didn't feel like they were "professional hostelworkers" you know? that being said, rooms were good, shower was good, location is EXCELLENT, and i was very happy with my time there.


Center Backpackers

Koh Phangan, Thailand
74%

PROS: good location, good A/C, beds are comfortable, however...CONS: security is nonexistent (we didn't even get keys for the full moon, anybody could have walked right through every door!!!), rooms are cramped windowless dungeons, and reception only open from 10-10, if you have to check out early must do it the night before. I did this and the woman blew me off the night before and told me to come back later after they were closed! Almost lost my deposit for no reason. Stay elsewhere.


Suneta Hostel Khaosan

Bangkok, Thailand
100%

Close to khao San if you're into that, beds are really good, the living areas were built to be living areas if you know what I mean (lamp, power area, etc), but it's definitely not cheap. But you get what you pay for and the place is very comfortable.


Feel At Home Backpackers

Bangkok, Thailand
100%

If money is an object but you still like cleanliness and security, this place is perfect. It's located a very short walk from khao San road so you can escape the noise if need be. Beds were comfortable, wifi worked well in the lobby (very poor/nonexistent in the rooms), shower was neither hot nor cold, lockers were big enough to fit an 85L bag, room was kept clean and the A/C worked great


The Siem Reap Hostel

Siem Reap, Cambodia
100%

Beds were firm, but not uncomfortable if you like that. Best value of any hostel I've stayed at so far. Bar and pool are really good, a/c works great, and the food was right on every time. I'd definitely stay again


The Mad Monkey

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
100%

Everything about this place is good. I'd go with a 12 person dorm as the beds are bigger and the locker space is exponentially larger. Would recommend to everyone and absolutely would stay again


Vietnam Inn Saigon

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
94%

BEWARE: they warn of low quality budget tours from outside and then pedal the same bullsh*t themselves! Booked the 2d/1n mekong trip to cambodia, paid $50 to sit on a bus for 8 hours and a boat for 8 hours (boat was advertised as being 3 hours....lies!), with less than 4 hours of guided activities between both days and less than an hour of information. Not authentic or substantial at all. In the US, we call what they did FALSE ADVERTISING. Otherwise, the hostel is nice in just about every way


Villa Pink House

Da Lat, Vietnam
100%

You can get a place just like this for cheaper, but it's still very nice. Staff didn't seem to understand the importance of my passport being in my possession after check-in (?!) but they weren't unfriendly about it. Stumbled upon Mr. Rot's tour here and it was indeed a lot of fun; he has an interesting story and I learned more from him than any other tour guide in all of vietnam. If i were to list a drawback: that i almost ate sh*t on their stairs MANY TIMES because of the odd design.


Ruby Hotel

Nha Trang, Vietnam
77%

Hot water was a total myth. Security was good, beds weren't rock hard but springs jabbed my ribs, AC and fan worked well, nice rooftop view. Staff was pretty "hello sir you want _____?" but not unkind. Wouldn't be opposed to going back. For $11/night for a private room I would say the value is very good


HQ Cafe

Nha Trang, Vietnam
100%

Great hostel with a great crowd. Staff are kind, tours are honest (a bit cheaper elsewhere but was very happy with the experiences I got....ie no scams/overcrowding), motorbikes are also cheaper elsewhere but the HQ bikes were in excellent condition, and if you've rented motorbikes in Vietnam you know that isn't always the case, so for me it was worth the extra $2. Some beds soft, some beds hard but none of them are "uncomfortable" it's all about preference. WOULD RECOMMEND HIGHLY


Huy Hoang Garden Hotel

Hoi An, Vietnam
43%

ONLY good things are a nice pool and ok staff. OTHERWISE: shower didn't drain, flooded each time, rooms close to the lobby have no soundproofing and you are woken at dawn by staff, window view was a brick wall, breakfast was awful (cooks=joke), too far from the city center to be overcharging for bikes, beds are rock hard, AND the gap under the doors are so large that mice can (and do) come in and run amuck through your things dropping feces everywhere. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND FOR ANY REASON


Canh Dieu Hotel

Ninh Binh, Vietnam
91%

Overpriced bike/motorbike rentals and tours, but the rooms were nice and staff were eager to please. Superior room had a nice balcony, beds are comfortable....again you can just do the extra stuff for considerably less than what they offer but otherwise a very pleasant stay. Would recommend but not overly so


Hanoi City Hostel

Hanoi, Vietnam
100%

Clean rooms, good bathrooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, located on the northwest corner of old town which is less than central but barely so. staff were very friendly and willing to help in any way possible. not the easiest to meet other travelers if you aren't at breakfast together but this place is more hotel-like b/c of the private rooms. If you're looking for some space, this is an excellent place to be


94%

good beds, good showers, good AC, staff is helpful and as far as i can tell getting a vietnamese visa is the same price there as at the embassy. excellent common area to hang out/meet people playing pool and that sometimes has local music which is really nice. only thing I didn't like is that there aren't enough lockers for everyone, I had to leave my things unattended more than I would have liked to (although nothing went missing). one locker/person should be implemented immediately.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We really appreciate your stay here and your nice comment.We would like to help all our friends who need help.We will offer more lockers for usage,so sorry for the incovenience.Wish you have a nice trip. Best wishes ANNIE

Guangdong Guest House

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
100%

Yes Chungking mansions are a bit sketchy, but once you get into Simon's guesthouse everything is fine. He does an excellent job maintaining the place and none of our things were disturbed at all. Try the indian place on the third floor!


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
97%

good location (very close to a number of subway entrances), good facilities, good mix of people, storage room for luggage is a bit laissez-faire but it's all on CCTV so at least you'd know who to go after should something ever happen. The only con to being on the island is that you aren't in Kowloon, otherwise everything is perfect.


The Great Wall Box House

Beijing, China
100%

Can't say enough good things about this hostel. Monica and her group create an incredible environment with some wonderful activities available in the area. While the food isn't cheap, i don't know what everyone is saying about there only being expensive food but we brought some of our own and there was no fuss, but family dinner is a lot of fun. Nicer bathrooms than in my home in the states!

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (27 reviews)


Dragon King Hostel

Beijing, China
83%

extremely cheap but the staff just doesn't quite have it together in terms of who paid what where and when. bar is reasonable but the bartender is nothing too amazing and won't tell you it's happy hour if you order a different beer during (watched this happen to several people). but absolutely worth the price.


100%

there are definitely cheaper hostels, but none of them smell as good or have beds half as comfortable. if you're not big on no-frills sleep arrangements, this is a great place to go


Dizzy Daisy Hostel Prague

Prague, Czech Republic
91%

staff was really helpful in booking my onward travels,


94%

the bar downstairs is a cool hang, but why they don't let us do tabs is beyond me in such an expensive city. this is really more of a hotel than a hostel, and if it was a hostel it was a hostel filled with australians. no judgements, just facts. i'd probably look at a place a little cozier given the options i saw but if you are coming with a group this place could definitely work. and the naschmarkt is pretty nice


11th Hour Hostel and Cinema

Budapest, Hungary
94%

helpful staff, the layout is a little strange, there's an excellent 24/7 store a 2 minute walk down the road, and i'd definiitely consider coming back here.


Umbrella Hostel

Bucharest, Romania
100%

everything about this place is great. the owner is very friendly and will go out of his way to help you as best he can (train info, laundry, directions, etc). the bathrooms are in great condition as well. the owner's son Valentin, however, offered to let us pay for our taxi in advance and did charge us double for a cab ride to the train station (we watched the meter) so we "wouldn't be bothered about the price by the cab driver." I didn't really appreciate that but his dad is the man

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel. However I think you have misunderstood one of my actions and I would like to explain it to you. It's about the cab ride. First of all, my Dad really is The Man, so thanks for that :) Second of all , I've lived in Bucharest all my life and I know the ins and outs; in cluding using the taxi in this city. When you call for a cab , it comes from a certain distance and only people who take a relatively long cab ride call for them. The distance between our Hostel and the train station is a very small distance. Most cab drivers would be offended that you called them from a long way out, for just an 800 meter long ride. It's worth too little. So what I do, in the best interest of the tourists, is I offer the cab driver as much as I would offer him if I took the ride myself. Double. It's an unspoken rule of the cab industry in Bucharest. I don't keep the extra for myself. I give it to him. I hope this clears up the situation. I couldn't leave your comment unanswered, because I would hate to know someone had such an impression of our services. The act that future tourists can read your comment in the review is painful enough :) All the best, Valentin Umbrella Hostel

St Christopher's at The Winston

Amsterdam, Netherlands
80%

a good hostel. it's kind of ridiculous that they won't watch your bags for you if you arrive before check-in time (you have to buy a locker downstairs, but there are lockers you can use in the rooms), but otherwise everything there is fine. i might bring some shower slippers to wear the next time around, but the beds are comfortable, there's space in the room, they have tv's if you're a moron that needs tv while they travel, and there's a bar immediately adjacent to a smoking room in the lobby