Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Kose Pension, Goreme, Turkey
9.1
25th Jul 2013

very cheap, hostel has ABSOLUTELY NO SECURITY for your things except for a tiny safe at the front desk. also a severe shortage of outlets - 6 for a 20 person dorm. but a good location and for 15TL you can't really complain much. but breakfast isn't included so you're really going to pay about 11$/night. i didn't think dinner was worth it but soup/salad/main/desert for 20 TL is generally a better deal than you'll find elsewhere, but it's simple homecooking

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Arch-Ist Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
10.0
23rd Jul 2013

Staff aren't super professional, they're more just hired to make sure the place doesn't burn down. small lockers in the room, there's a bit of threadbare nature to the place but the location is excellent and i was very happy with everything else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Arch-Ist Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
10.0
21st Jul 2013

staff seem like they're just there to keep the peace and make sure the place doesn't burn down. don't get me wrong, they are very nice, and helpful when they can be, but i didn't feel like they were "professional hostelworkers" you know? that being said, rooms were good, shower was good, location is EXCELLENT, and i was very happy with my time there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Center Backpackers, Koh Phangan, Thailand
7.4
23rd May 2013

PROS: good location, good A/C, beds are comfortable, however...CONS: security is nonexistent (we didn't even get keys for the full moon, anybody could have walked right through every door!!!), rooms are cramped windowless dungeons, and reception only open from 10-10, if you have to check out early must do it the night before. I did this and the woman blew me off the night before and told me to come back later after they were closed! Almost lost my deposit for no reason. Stay elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Suneta Hostel Khaosan, Bangkok, Thailand
10.0
19th May 2013

Close to khao San if you're into that, beds are really good, the living areas were built to be living areas if you know what I mean (lamp, power area, etc), but it's definitely not cheap. But you get what you pay for and the place is very comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Feel At Home Backpackers, Bangkok, Thailand
10.0
16th May 2013

If money is an object but you still like cleanliness and security, this place is perfect. It's located a very short walk from khao San road so you can escape the noise if need be. Beds were comfortable, wifi worked well in the lobby (very poor/nonexistent in the rooms), shower was neither hot nor cold, lockers were big enough to fit an 85L bag, room was kept clean and the A/C worked great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Siem Reap Hostel, Siem Reap, Cambodia
10.0
10th May 2013

Beds were firm, but not uncomfortable if you like that. Best value of any hostel I've stayed at so far. Bar and pool are really good, a/c works great, and the food was right on every time. I'd definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Mad Monkey, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
10.0
2nd May 2013

Everything about this place is good. I'd go with a 12 person dorm as the beds are bigger and the locker space is exponentially larger. Would recommend to everyone and absolutely would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Vietnam Inn Saigon, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.4
28th Apr 2013

BEWARE: they warn of low quality budget tours from outside and then pedal the same bullsh*t themselves! Booked the 2d/1n mekong trip to cambodia, paid $50 to sit on a bus for 8 hours and a boat for 8 hours (boat was advertised as being 3 hours....lies!), with less than 4 hours of guided activities between both days and less than an hour of information. Not authentic or substantial at all. In the US, we call what they did FALSE ADVERTISING. Otherwise, the hostel is nice in just about every way

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Villa Pink House, Da Lat, Vietnam
10.0
22nd Apr 2013

You can get a place just like this for cheaper, but it's still very nice. Staff didn't seem to understand the importance of my passport being in my possession after check-in (?!) but they weren't unfriendly about it. Stumbled upon Mr. Rot's tour here and it was indeed a lot of fun; he has an interesting story and I learned more from him than any other tour guide in all of vietnam. If i were to list a drawback: that i almost ate sh*t on their stairs MANY TIMES because of the odd design.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Ruby Hotel, Nha Trang, Vietnam
7.7
20th Apr 2013

Hot water was a total myth. Security was good, beds weren't rock hard but springs jabbed my ribs, AC and fan worked well, nice rooftop view. Staff was pretty "hello sir you want _____?" but not unkind. Wouldn't be opposed to going back. For $11/night for a private room I would say the value is very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
HQ Cafe, Nha Trang, Vietnam
10.0
19th Apr 2013

Great hostel with a great crowd. Staff are kind, tours are honest (a bit cheaper elsewhere but was very happy with the experiences I got....ie no scams/overcrowding), motorbikes are also cheaper elsewhere but the HQ bikes were in excellent condition, and if you've rented motorbikes in Vietnam you know that isn't always the case, so for me it was worth the extra $2. Some beds soft, some beds hard but none of them are "uncomfortable" it's all about preference. WOULD RECOMMEND HIGHLY

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel, Hoi An, Vietnam
4.3
13th Apr 2013

ONLY good things are a nice pool and ok staff. OTHERWISE: shower didn't drain, flooded each time, rooms close to the lobby have no soundproofing and you are woken at dawn by staff, window view was a brick wall, breakfast was awful (cooks=joke), too far from the city center to be overcharging for bikes, beds are rock hard, AND the gap under the doors are so large that mice can (and do) come in and run amuck through your things dropping feces everywhere. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND FOR ANY REASON

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Canh Dieu Hotel, Ninh Binh, Vietnam
9.1
12th Apr 2013

Overpriced bike/motorbike rentals and tours, but the rooms were nice and staff were eager to please. Superior room had a nice balcony, beds are comfortable....again you can just do the extra stuff for considerably less than what they offer but otherwise a very pleasant stay. Would recommend but not overly so

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hanoi City Hostel, Hanoi, Vietnam
10.0
4th Apr 2013

Clean rooms, good bathrooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, located on the northwest corner of old town which is less than central but barely so. staff were very friendly and willing to help in any way possible. not the easiest to meet other travelers if you aren't at breakfast together but this place is more hotel-like b/c of the private rooms. If you're looking for some space, this is an excellent place to be

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.4
2nd Apr 2013

good beds, good showers, good AC, staff is helpful and as far as i can tell getting a vietnamese visa is the same price there as at the embassy. excellent common area to hang out/meet people playing pool and that sometimes has local music which is really nice. only thing I didn't like is that there aren't enough lockers for everyone, I had to leave my things unattended more than I would have liked to (although nothing went missing). one locker/person should be implemented immediately.

View Property Reply

Hello, We really appreciate your stay here and your nice comment.We would like to help all our friends who need help.We will offer more lockers for usage,so sorry for the incovenience.Wish you have a nice trip. Best wishes ANNIE

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Guangdong Guest House, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
10.0
22nd Mar 2013

Yes Chungking mansions are a bit sketchy, but once you get into Simon's guesthouse everything is fine. He does an excellent job maintaining the place and none of our things were disturbed at all. Try the indian place on the third floor!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
9.7
20th Mar 2013

good location (very close to a number of subway entrances), good facilities, good mix of people, storage room for luggage is a bit laissez-faire but it's all on CCTV so at least you'd know who to go after should something ever happen. The only con to being on the island is that you aren't in Kowloon, otherwise everything is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Great Wall Box House, Beijing, China
10.0
15th Mar 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hostel. Monica and her group create an incredible environment with some wonderful activities available in the area. While the food isn't cheap, i don't know what everyone is saying about there only being expensive food but we brought some of our own and there was no fuss, but family dinner is a lot of fun. Nicer bathrooms than in my home in the states!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Dragon King Hostel, Beijing, China
8.3
11th Mar 2013

extremely cheap but the staff just doesn't quite have it together in terms of who paid what where and when. bar is reasonable but the bartender is nothing too amazing and won't tell you it's happy hour if you order a different beer during (watched this happen to several people). but absolutely worth the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
10.0
10th Mar 2013

there are definitely cheaper hostels, but none of them smell as good or have beds half as comfortable. if you're not big on no-frills sleep arrangements, this is a great place to go

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Dizzy Daisy Hostel Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
9.1
29th Jul 2012

staff was really helpful in booking my onward travels,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
9.4
26th Jul 2012

the bar downstairs is a cool hang, but why they don't let us do tabs is beyond me in such an expensive city. this is really more of a hotel than a hostel, and if it was a hostel it was a hostel filled with australians. no judgements, just facts. i'd probably look at a place a little cozier given the options i saw but if you are coming with a group this place could definitely work. and the naschmarkt is pretty nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
9.4
24th Jul 2012

helpful staff, the layout is a little strange, there's an excellent 24/7 store a 2 minute walk down the road, and i'd definiitely consider coming back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Umbrella Hostel, Bucharest, Romania
10.0
12th Jul 2012

everything about this place is great. the owner is very friendly and will go out of his way to help you as best he can (train info, laundry, directions, etc). the bathrooms are in great condition as well. the owner's son Valentin, however, offered to let us pay for our taxi in advance and did charge us double for a cab ride to the train station (we watched the meter) so we "wouldn't be bothered about the price by the cab driver." I didn't really appreciate that but his dad is the man

View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel. However I think you have misunderstood one of my actions and I would like to explain it to you. It's about the cab ride. First of all, my Dad really is The Man, so thanks for that :) Second of all , I've lived in Bucharest all my life and I know the ins and outs; in cluding using the taxi in this city. When you call for a cab , it comes from a certain distance and only people who take a relatively long cab ride call for them. The distance between our Hostel and the train station is a very small distance. Most cab drivers would be offended that you called them from a long way out, for just an 800 meter long ride. It's worth too little. So what I do, in the best interest of the tourists, is I offer the cab driver as much as I would offer him if I took the ride myself. Double. It's an unspoken rule of the cab industry in Bucharest. I don't keep the extra for myself. I give it to him. I hope this clears up the situation. I couldn't leave your comment unanswered, because I would hate to know someone had such an impression of our services. The act that future tourists can read your comment in the review is painful enough :) All the best, Valentin Umbrella Hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's at The Winston, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.0
11th Jul 2012

a good hostel. it's kind of ridiculous that they won't watch your bags for you if you arrive before check-in time (you have to buy a locker downstairs, but there are lockers you can use in the rooms), but otherwise everything there is fine. i might bring some shower slippers to wear the next time around, but the beds are comfortable, there's space in the room, they have tv's if you're a moron that needs tv while they travel, and there's a bar immediately adjacent to a smoking room in the lobby

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.