Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Sweden, Gender: Male, Age: 26

B&B Pan

Jeju Island, South Korea
74%

Good location within Jeju City, but quite far from the intercity bus terminal. Clean. Certainly feels like to come to someones home, so not that much of a hostel feel. Owner cooks breakfast every morning and takes his time to explain the island to the guests. English is passable.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Hotel Chuo Selene

Osaka, Japan
60%

An ordinary simple hotel which has some dorm rooms. Nothing special. Clean. Good for a nights stay.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


A-yado Gion

Kyoto, Japan
63%

Not that secure, didn't have to use my key once during my stay. Mixed dorm room a bit cramped, would definitely be better with one bunk bed less in that room. Staff is nice. Common room is nice. Location is good.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Also thank you for giving us an advice. Well, we always tell the guests to use the keys. Also we check the room several times a day. so we try to do some things for security. We hope you will enjoy the rest of your trip in Japan!!

B&B Hope

Bologna, Italy
91%

Clean and comfortable room. Not central but not that far by walking. No 24 hour reception. Good Value. Would Stay again.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Youth Meeting Home

Florence, Italy
51%

The hostel looked like construction site. We were fortunate enough not to have to leave our luggage in the reception and the hostel during the day so they could work and clean, but we heard of other guest who had that experience. No AC in the room and it was incredible hot, instead they had provided an industrial strength fan that had a sound comparable to that of a jet motor. No security what so ever, didn't have to use the keys even once during our stay.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Legends

Rome, Italy
66%

Clean rooms. Decent staff. They had just implemented some crazy restriction of the air conditioning, where the ac only could be operated between 18.00-06.00. Waking up at six o'clock in the morning in sweltering heat is not a nice feeling. The included welcome drink and pizza was okay, but I wouldn't have paid for the pizza but as it was free it was okay.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Freedom Traveller

Rome, Italy
69%

Okay place to stay. Clean rooms. Nice outdoor patio. Staff friendly. Had free pizza and wine, which wasn't that good, but free.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Hostel Turku

Turku, Finland
74%

Good location and clean. Kinda pricey, but there's not really any other options in Turku. No tea or coffee for free in kitchen, with the price they charge they could at least offer some tea. Wifi was NOT working. Brought it to the staffs attention but they were unable to fix it. Breakfast not included and the breakfast they offer was at a pricey 5€ per person. Would probably stay there again, since there's not that much else in budget accommodation in Turku.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for visiting us. We do have a free tea and biscuits in the evening in the lobby for the customers. Maybe you missed it? Have a nice winter, see you soon!

Red Emperor Hostel

Tallinn, Estonia
57%

Room were terrible! No ventilation what so ever, woke up with a headache and sore throat every morning due to breathing the same humid air all night. Would not surprise me if there is mold above the ceiling. The fire alarm went off in the whole building in the middle of the night due to our room being "too warm", as there was no ventilation. Never really sure which entrance to use. Only 3 toilets from what I could see, which seems as a bit too little given the size of the hostel.

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


89%

Good hostel with more of a family feeling. Everything clean. The rules posted everywhere was a bit intimidating, most of it was just common sense, but the way it was written struck me as very controlling. Centrally located, but the building seemed to be a hangout for the local drunks, stairway felt unsafe during the day and night with drunks sleeping in the stairs and foul smells.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Tatamka Hostel

Warsaw, Poland
57%

Staff seemed confused. They only had 1 key per room, which they had already given out to the other guests. Breakfast was not included but the breakfast served was good. Otherwise clean and overall okay, but would probably not stay again since there are better options which are more central and nicer.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Isaacs Hostel

Dublin, Ireland
77%

Overall a good hostel. There's no lockers in the room. There's not that many bathrooms and the water "saving" feature on the faucets, showers and toilets are a real annoyance, 2 seconds of water flow is not enough to wash your hands. Toilets were not nice because it took about 5 minutes for the water closet to refill, so more than often you walked in to an unflushed toilet. Kitchen rather small given the number of people staying at the hostel. Kitchen equipment was poor, pots and pans were old.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Portrush Holiday Hostel

Portrush, Northern Ireland
94%

Staff are great and very helpful. Facilities are clean, kitchen well equipped and breakfast is good. Good assortments of teas. Would definitely stay again.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Sleep in Heaven

Copenhagen, Denmark
57%

Not that central, rooms are in another building away from the reception. Rooms and showers clean. A bit pricey.

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Flying Pig Uptown

Amsterdam, Netherlands
86%

Good breakfast, smoking room, nice staff, clean, many stairs. Expensive but A'dam is expensive, would stay again.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Hostel Strowis

Utrecht, Netherlands
69%

Good location. Rooms and facilities good. Nice patio.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Hostel de Mafkees

Rotterdam, Netherlands
60%

Good price! The rooms are old gymnastics halls, quite roomy even though there were many beds there. Offered room for €7.5 but only every other day was available, but when I stayed there the hostel was far from full. Dirty trick to get on top of the listings at hostelworld. Only kitchen facilities were a microwave. Staff were nice and helpful!

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the reviews! We had a temporary opening promotion, offering beds for €7.50 per night. This promotion ended during your stay, therefor it was not possible to book this price for all your nights.

Hostel de Mafkees

Rotterdam, Netherlands
57%

Good price! The rooms are old gymnastics halls, quite roomy even though there were many beds there. Offered room for €7.5 but only every other day was available, but when I stayed there the hostel was far from full. Dirty trick to get on top of the listings at hostelworld. Only kitchen facilities were a microwave. Staff were nice and helpful!

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the reviews! We had a temporary opening promotion, offering beds for €7.50 per night. This promotion ended during your stay, therefor it was not possible to book this price for all your nights.

HI De Blauwput Leuven

Leuven, Belgium
66%

Wifi only in the reception, which closed at 11. Breakfast really good with cheese. Had to pay the extra 3€ for HI. Rooms in alright condition.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Lybeer Travellers' Hostel

Bruges, Belgium
60%

Was going through renovation while I was staying there. The newly renovated rooms and bathrooms were great, but the kitchen had not yet been renovated while I was there. Kitchen was bad and dirty.

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Brussels Hello Hostel

Brussels, Belgium
57%

Checkout time is not consistent, the time on hostelworld is different from the time given at checkin and from the time stated on the billboards posted in the common room. The real checkout time was at 10.30, which the cleaning lady pointed out in a rather unpleasant way at 10.33 when I were just about to leave the room. The location is far from the center. Otherwise clean and facilities were okay. Would probably not stay again because of staff and location.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Ecohostel Andromeda

Gent, Belgium
74%

It's on a boat! Cozy and nice. Showers were big! Breakfast good with a lot of organic products. Not much of a kitchen, only a microwave. Rooms were clean but there were a lot of spider webs everywhere.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Astor Museum Inn

London, England
71%

Good location, breakfast was good. Clean.

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Everton Hostel

Liverpool, England
31%

One of the worst hostels I've stayed at in europe. Checked-in late the reception was closed. Key was left in a locker, but it was not obvious in which room I was supposed to stay in because of very poor handwriting on the key. First morning there was no breakfast, and no explanation. Next morning there was breakfast, I came down less than an hour from when the breakfast had started and could just grab the last piece of toast and the milk for the cereals were also gone. Room was damp, wc unclean.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Sevilla Inn Backpackers

Seville, Spain
77%

Clean, nice staff, ok breakfast, good location and good value.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


66%

Good location, close to the avatar mountains. More or less no english spoken. There isn't anything close by, about 20 minutes of walking to find somewhere else to eat or 5 minutes with the bus, which stops running at 7pm. Definitely go for the elevator and don't try to climb the stairs by going the golden whip path, with a backpack it would take 3-4 hours and you'd be exhausted.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Fenghuang Biancheng Hostel

Fenghuang-Phoenix County, China
34%

One of the worst hostels I've stayed at in China. Rooms were damp, beddings dirty, spiderweb and mold in the room and there were loads of ants all over the room as well as spiders and a toad! Barely any water coming out of the shower head. No wifi in rooms, only place to use the wifi was in the reception which also double as a karaoke place. Had to listen to some awful and loud singing while I used the internet and when no one were singing they played cheesy love ballads. Will not stay again.

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Wada Hostel in Guilin

Guilin, China
74%

A bit off from the centre, quite close to the train and bus stations. The staff were nice and spoke english rather well. Other than the location, this hostel is really good.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Roger, Thanks for staying with Wada. Wada is located about 10 mins walking to the train station, 15 mins walking to the Long Distance bus station (to Yangshuo) & Qin Tan bus station (to the Rice Fields). ALso there's big shopping mall just 3 mins walking from Wada where you can get all your supplies in travel, a morning market just next to us. Bus No. 10 takes you to all attractive spots which only costs 1yuan and takes 10 mins. We pretty much love our location! Enjoy :) Team Wada

91%

Clean, reception looks great, the shower heads are massive. Would definitely stay here again if I go back to Nanning.

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


80%

Cheap, great spot for viewing the rice terraces, rather clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
How are you doing.Thank you very much for your comments and review. Hope you have a nice trip in China.Best wishes to you !

The Hump Hostel

Kunming, China
83%

No customer comment


SleepyFish Lodge

Dali, China
74%

No customer comment

  • 31st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse

Lijiang, China
69%

No customer comment

  • 30th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Caledonian Backpackers

Edinburgh, Scotland
71%

Very large hostel. Kitchen seemed a bit small for all guests, there were only one microwave, still I didn't have to wait for long to prepare my food. Breakfast was good; yogurt, cereals, toasts, jams and orange drink(not juice). Internet was not working all the time or to sufficient speed, but still satisfactory most of the times. The wireless internet came without any encryption, which is a bit worrisome. Nice location and friendly staff, I would stay there again.

  • 21st Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


St Enoch Hotel

Glasgow, Scotland
54%

Extremely cold in the room. I shivered all night. Showers were also very cold. On the plus side, breakfast consisting of corn flakes, milk and apple juice was provided, as well as some biscuits. Location good, staff did not ask for ID, which was a bit odd.

  • 20th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


New World St. Hostel

Warsaw, Poland
80%

Nice and clean hostel. A lot of stairs to climb and no elevator. Hot water ran out in the morning. Lockers were a bit too small.

  • 10th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Hedonist Hostel

Belgrade, Serbia
77%

No customer comment

  • 30th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • INALLMALEGROUP, EIGHTEENTOTWENTYFOUR
  • (44 reviews)


New York Budget Inn

New York, USA
77%

Very nice hostel with good location. Expensive but that is to be expected in nyc. Narrow corridors and not much of a common room but again, space is limited since it's nyc. Hostel is very clean and tidy. Staff is nice and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 19th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (44 reviews)


Global Village Backpackers

Toronto, Canada
40%

Hot water was out for more than a day. Rooms and beddings was unclean. Breakfast wasn't good. No food or drinks allowed in room. No byob because hostel have a bar.

  • 15th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Hollywood Youth Hostel

Los Angeles, USA
57%

The bathroom smells of urine. Rooms have lockers that you have to pay 25c every time you want to use it. Linens feels old and unclean. Breakfast wasn't served all days as advertised.

  • 20th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


51%

No customer comment

  • 21st Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


74%

No customer comment