Reviews: Anonymous

34%

Unclean, old squeeky beds - 3 level bunks, 9 to a room, about 40ppl/floor and only two showers. Dodgy neighbourhood, unhelpful staff and NO POWER in the rooms. London hostels are generally worse than the rest of Europe, but this was the worst hostel of the thirty or so I've stayed in...

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for booking with us, we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, in contrary, we have 5 showers, and we never have a room with NO POWER in the building. i m very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, but we promise that next time will be better

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Budapest, Hungary
89%

Clean, Friendly staff - right in the middle of town. Big hostel which makes it a little impersonal

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Astor Victoria

London, England
60%

Good location and nice area with cafes, pubs and food. Hostel is a little run down too. TV room is good. Breakfast includ, but quite average. Wifi is good but only in common areas. Showers are really BAD! No presure, and one setting... Scalding.

  • 21st Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


The Walrus Hostel

London, England
66%

Good location within central london, and accom. above the pub which is good to meet people, both local and travellers. However it is also RIGHT next to train lines of Waterloo station and is noisy before 1am when the trains stop. Ater a while though, it isn't a problem. Only one shower/20people/floor.

  • 12th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


97%

Nice hostel WITH A POOL! Activities and organized tours as well as great central location

  • 16th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


80%

Hostel was great but was very noisy with people parting on the roof, and the noise from the street as well - the price you pay for being in the middle of town I guess

  • 15th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Yes! Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
100%

Great atmosphere and cool social vibe in the common area

  • 9th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Porto Spot Hostel

Porto, Portugal
97%

The best hostel I've stayed in. Everything you could want, dinner, bar, garden etc. Called the spot cause it's spotless.

  • 7th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


66%

This hostel looks like it is set up for winter school groups but in summer, it felt like I was the only one staying there. Room are fine, ensuite and short walk into town.

  • 6th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Hostel La Salle

Santiago de Compostela, Spain
83%

A hotel set up for pilgrims, not a backpackers, but has all the facilities and only a short walk from the town

  • 5th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


86%

A highway side hotel above a petrol station which is clean, with comfy beads and nice breakfast in the cafe downstairs. Nowhere near the city, but great for passing through

  • 4th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


San Sebastian Beach Hostel

San Sebastian, Spain
83%

A cool apartment style hostel located minutes from the beach. Alberto runs the place and takes you to local bars, and runs the pub crawl. Had a great group while I was there and felt very comfortable, would have stayed longer had I not book other hostels in advance...

  • 1st Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


71%

This hostel is set up for pilgrims and winter school groups, when I was there in summer, it felt like I was the only one there. Short walk to the town

  • 31st Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Annecy Hostel

Annecy, France
91%

Just come for the garden - every hostel should have one. Clean, friendly staff and short walk to old town.

  • 23rd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Youthhostel Bern

Bern, Switzerland
80%

Great, clean, friendly hostel. Also geared towards families but this sea to be the case for a lot of hostels in the area. Good facilities but not many 'travellers' to meet when I was there. Easy walk to town.

  • 22nd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Youthhostel Luzern

Lucerne, Switzerland
60%

This is not a backpackers but a hostel for cheap accom, So family and screaming kids in the corridors. Shame because the place was nice, clean and well organized but no atmosphere to meet people. 15min walk into town/sites.

  • 21st Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
In summer time we have a families who are enjoying their holidays in Lucerne and at our hostel. Martina, Youth Hostel Lucerne

Miss Sophie's

Prague, Czech Republic
83%

A designer hostel - fancy bathrooms and single beds. No bunks means your not twelve anymore. A little walk out from the old town, but easy metro access if lazy. Not a party place, suits quieter travellers - although you can always dither Pubcrawls for more action. Staff are amazing, know everything there is to know and helped me out with some problems. Dorms are more of an apartment setup with the hotel and reception across the street.

  • 12th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Zebra Hostel

Milan, Italy
86%

This place is great to meet other travellers. Pool table, ping pong and table soccer means its fun to hang out and play others. On the fringe of the city city it's a little walk into center of town. Dorms are only separated by a partition, not full height wall so a little noisy and showers/bathrooms are cubical style. No doors to my dorm and lockers are too small to fit a Pack in but all was fine.

  • 9th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the comment, as you say this hostel is the ideal place to meet travelers from around the world and make new friends, fun and sociable atmosphere makes you forget about small deficiencies in the structure ;)) Cheers, Zebra Hostel Staff

DanyHouse

Florence, Italy
54%

As the name suggests, this is someones house turned hostel - so 6beds in a room. Only small common room with TV. A little walk out from the town centre and. It a lot of action around the Hostel. The street outside is relatively noisy and no A/C, so need to leave the window open. Staff are great and welcoming, make you feel at home.

  • 8th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry if you didn't felt good but Dany House offers this...And no one ever complaints.

Fattoria del Bassetto

Florence, Italy
94%

This is less of a hostel and more of a family country home, only your family is fellow travellers. Everyone cooks in the kitchen and sits around the dining table swapping stories. During the day there is a short walk to the town of Certaldo, a beautiful little medieval fortified village. If you need a few days out of the cities, this is the place to do it. Wish I'd stayed longer... Also great to stay long periods and use as a base to catch trains to surrounding sites.

  • 6th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Academy Hostel

Florence, Italy
97%

At first I was bait worried about all the 'rules' (like having to leaved the hostel everyday between 11-2) but most of the time your out and the hostel is run like a perfect machine, clean, friendly, free snacks, and lockers, storage and comfy beds. Would stay here again.

  • 4th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


77%

The hostel was fine, AC not working when I was there but just opened the window... Great location, easy walk from station and to the tower. Don't spend too long here, not because of the hostel, but there isn't much in Pisa.

  • 2nd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Hostel Baccarat

Nice, France
57%

The rooms weren't that clean and the ensuites were worse. The atmosphere in the common room was good and the spagetti party meant everyone meet everyone. Staff double booked my bed after I'd checke-iin and got back at 2am to a full room... Not great.