Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Male, Age 31

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mamallena, Cartagena, Colombia
8.6
10th Apr 2016

Good location close to everything. Rooms were ok, nothing special. Not to secure, as anyone can just walk into hostel or rooms so make sure you lock up your stuff. Staff is cool and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Ritz Hostel, Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
7.7
18th Mar 2016

The staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable. They keep the place fairly clean. The location is ok too. I must have been there during low season as I was the only person in my hostel room for the entire 3 nights I was there, so I didn't get the hostel experience or really meet people. The wifi doesn't work in the room either, but just outside the room by the kitchen it's ok. The pool is nice, but the food by the pool is bad!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bounce Sydney, Sydney, Australia
10.0
14th Feb 2016

I've stayed at Bounce several times over the years when I visit Sydney. It's THE BEST!! The staff are like family and there's something going on every night so as a solo traveler it's easy to meet people and make friends for life! The beds are comfy and there's power outlets in everybody's lockers. They've thought of everything. And, in a perfect location, right across from central station. You can't beat it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nomads Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
6.9
26th Oct 2015

The hostel is clean & some the staff are great, but it's missing the hostel vibe. Aside from Monday night when they do a bar crawl, there's nothing going on there. It's more like a giant B&B for groups Kiwi Ex travelers not looking to socialize with others. Charges for wifi, towels, etc, while other places don't, and are cheaper, and rated higher! Plus, this is a DRY hostel, they do room checks several times a day and confiscate any booze they find.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nomads Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
3.1
24th Oct 2015

Rooms are dirty and overpriced. Dina at reception staff is the absolute worst. Very rude and not welcoming. Arrived around 6am, couldn't leave my bags in storage til travel shop opened at 9, so instead of leaving bags and starting my day, I went to Burger King down the street to use wifi and kill time. Advertised 1 free hour of wifi a day, then they say no free wifi unless you go downstairs to their travel shop. Stephanie & Carlos were absolute legends.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Cat, Las Vegas, USA
10.0
4th Sep 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Local NYC, New York, USA
9.4
7th May 2015

It's a bit on the expensive side, like most of NY, but compared to other hostels I've stayed at close by, The Local is definitely worth the money. Staff was friendly and very knowledgable, gave great recommendations, and just had a cool vibe overall. Place is clean and modern. Would definitely come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ashanti Lodge Gardens, Cape Town, South Africa
10.0
29th Apr 2015

Amazing hostel. Great vibe from Liz at the travel desk the moment we walked in. She also gave us some great recommendations! Great food and cheap drinks upstairs. I came here last minute after bad experiences at another hostel, only had 1 night available, I booked my shark dive, and they went out of their way to call the shark dive place and leave a message for me saying they could extend my stay as something opened up. Great customer service! Will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Backpack Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa
5.1
26th Apr 2015

By far some of the rudest hostel staff I have ever come across, except for the guy working the bar the night I checked in, he was cool. Horrible communication before I arrived, I scheduled an airport pickup, they never showed. My friend was already there & they lied to her twice saying they would email me back & never did. Got an uber for half the price they would've charged so it worked out for the best, aside from the aggrevation. Wifi didn't work. Not enough showers. Moved to another hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Brown Sugar Backpackers, Johannesburg, South Africa
3.7
24th Apr 2015

I tried this place for 2 reasons: free airport pickup & "ex mafia mansion" story. Area is dangerous & out of the way. Staff is unattentive. Their driver tries to charge more than reception quotes, then tells us ok ok and tells us not to say anything inside. They also charge R250 for transfer to airport, don't bother, if you do stay here, use Uber to get around, it's safer & cheaper, & only R140 to go back to ORTIA airport. Wifi didn't work. Beds were extremely small. Only good thing was the eggs

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI NYC Hostel, New York, USA
5.4
20th Apr 2015

Staff is a bit rude, not as backpacker friendly, but I think that's common in USA hostels. But, the volunteers that take people out and the comedians were cool and social, they should be the ones getting paid. Room had a horrible odor, switched to another room that wasn't much better. Expensive and not worth the money. Wifi wasn't that good either, if you could get it to work. Too many underage kids running around. Ended up switching hostels.

View Property Reply

We take pride in making sure our guests leave happy. We will use this as a training for the staff to ensure guest satisfaction is always met. When you plan on visiting again, please inform a manager that way we can make sure your stay is great. Thank you.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
City Backpackers Hostel, Stockholm, Sweden
5.7
19th Mar 2015

Staff are rude & unwelcoming, except Gabriel was cool and helpful. The old guy that checked me in was the worst. I arrived at 8:30pm, there was a pub crawl advertised as leaving at 8, I asked where they went so I could meet up & I would still pay, he said "it's not that kind of thing" WHAT KIND OF THING IS IT? It didnt leave til 10! They also charge for sheets & every little thing. Requested bottom bed in advance, got top bed with no side rail. Not enough showers as there's always a long wait.

View Property Reply

Hello, sorry to hear you had a bad experience at City Backpackers.. On the particular day you arrived the bar tour was full, but you should of course have been given a satisfactory explanation. About your request of a bottom bunk, we always try to accomodate requests, but in shared dorms it often occurs that the lower bunks are allready taken by guests that checked in the previous day, but again, we should have communicated that to you when you checked in. Our appologies for the inconvenience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel London, London, England
9.1
16th Mar 2015

Great hostel. Each bed has its own light, power outlet, and usb! New, great, clean facilities. Most of the staff were great, helpful, and welcoming, but there were a some that were completely clueless. No charge for wifi, towels, adapters, etc. The bar/common area is nice, but the way its set up, it divides everybody instead of bringing everybody together, so it wasn't too social.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
City Circus Athens, Athens, Greece
10.0
7th Mar 2015

Excellent hostel located in the heart of Athens. Close to everything. The staff was great and willing to help with anything. The rooms were very clean, and had some of the most comfortable beds I've ever experienced in a hostel! There's something going on almost every night, just make sure you are there for tsiporo night! Yiamas!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
G Guest House Itaewon In Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
10.0
5th Mar 2015

I only had a 12 hour layover in Korea, but I figured I'd book a hostel to meet some people. I didn't even use the bed! But, I met some cool people, and the staff were awesome. The building is secure and the facilities are great. I will definitely come back for longer to this amazing hostel in this amazing city!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bamboo Beach, Nadi, Fiji
4.9
13th Feb 2015

The staff was busy chatting so I had to wait to check in at 8pm I get to my room and there is no ladder to get to the top bed. I asked for a ladder, or different bed, and they didn't have any. So they transfer me to their other property down the street which was a 12 bed when I paid for 8. But this was even worse because the AC was broken, but luckily their staff at their sister location was nicer, they moved me to another dorm no problem. Just not what you want to deal with after a long flight.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
MNL Boutique Hostel, Manila, Philippines
9.4
5th Dec 2014

Great hostel! It was my 2nd time staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sheebang Hostel, Puerto Princesa City, Philippines
9.4
3rd Dec 2014

Great hostel with lots of potential! It wasn't too busy when I was there but I can imagine this place being packed and having a great vibe. Had a great time with the guests that were there. The staff was very nice, helpful and accommodating. The food is great! Will definitely come back! Just a suggestion, as there are cats running around, keep some antihistamine for guests that are allergic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
NapPark Hostel at Khao San, Bangkok, Thailand
10.0
25th Nov 2014

I love this place! My 3rd year in a row staying here and it just keeps getting better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
7.4
21st Nov 2014

Decent hostel in a good location. The daily free beers for guests at their bar next door is a big thumbs up! Most of the staff were nice, but when leaving they charge more for their driver to take you to the airport than an actual taxi costs, figured it would be safer and quicker, and they said it included everything including airport entrance tax or fee or something like that and we wouldn't have to pay the driver any money, but then their driver was rude and demanding more money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bounce Sydney, Sydney, Australia
10.0
22nd Nov 2013

Absolutely love Bounce! I've stayed here several times. Super clean and great location. There's different social activities every night! The staff were very helpful and I had a great time with Kosta taking everybody out! I will definitely be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Cranky Croc Hostel, Bogota, Colombia
8.9
22nd Oct 2013

Great location, friendly and knowledgeable staff! It's secure that you have to be buzzed in and out of the hostel, but the rooms are open so anybody can go in any room. Lounge areas are great. Beds were very comfortable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Fulano Backpackers, Bogota, Colombia
9.1
18th Oct 2013

Great new hostel. Was very social on the weekend, not so much during the week, but I will definitely go back and I'm sure they will be full as they continue to grow! Very clean, close to public transport. Free breakfast and they cook the eggs how you want them, I almost forgot I was at a hostel! Pool table, games, movie room, free computers, wifi, etc overall great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Students & Travellers Inn, Athens, Greece
6.9
17th Aug 2013

Decent location but you can find better for around the same price or less. Not very social as there are families with little kids as well as elderly guests too. No hot water. "Luggage room" is just an open area anybody can walk by and steal from. Rooms are secure but would be nice if there were lockers inside the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sant Jordi Alberg, Barcelona, Spain
9.7
30th Jul 2013

great hostel, this was my 2nd time here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sant Jordi Alberg, Barcelona, Spain
10.0
29th Jul 2013

Excellent location, staff, atmosphere. I had a great time here and met some really great people! But, a lil pricey for a hostel, but definitely worth it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Monkeys in the Trees, London, England
9.4
27th Jul 2013

cool staff, good location, nice social vibe, would definitely come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.3
25th Jul 2013

They try to make themselves seem so bad, but some of the staff was actually pretty cool!! Some were rude, but so was the staff at other Amsterdam hostels. Very social vibe, always full of people. Good location, easy to get to. Fairly clean, again, not at bad as they try to make it seem with their funny signs and posters everywhere! Would probably stay here again...

View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel!! Greetings, Hans Brinker

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel the Globe Center, Amsterdam, Netherlands
6.3
23rd Jul 2013

Great location in RLD and easy to get to. VERY RUDE STAFF, but then again, I've been to several hostels in AMS RLD and they were almost all pretty rude and arrogant! This place is secure, you have to keep their business card with you and wave it for them to buzz you in. Gets annoying. Smoking room was cool, chill, social vibe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Rock N Bowl Hostel, Bristol, England
6.0
16th Jul 2013

Originally booked 1 night, wanted to extend 4 extra days through Sunday. First they said they were fully booked for Saturday, so I booked through Friday. Friday comes and they say they have plenty of beds available for Saturday but they were holding them as a "power move" so they could double their prices once the other hostels in the area sold out. BAD BUSINESS. Half of the staff was completely rude, but the others were very cool and helpful! No simple medium! It is a good location and clean

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Astor Victoria, London, England
8.3
15th Jul 2013

cool place, only stayed for one night. but extremely hot. no AC or fan. definitely not a good place to stay when its hot out!! staff was cool and knowledgeable. good location. bathrooms were ok, nothing great but cheaper that other places around

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
2.0
12th Jul 2013

Based on other reviews, many people liked the staff. I only booked 1 night, and it was the worst staff, completely rude. Place was filthy and very unsecure, and HOT! Only 10-15 min walk from station, not too bad, but definitely not worth the money. I've stayed at over 40 hostels and must say this has been the worst

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Far Out Beach Club, Ios, Greece
8.9
4th Jul 2013

I loved this place! Pool party going on from the time I arrived around 2pm! Met lots of great people. Food is a lil overpriced, you can save some money by eating down the street or in town. Also, very secluded, hard to get taxi to town to go out at night, so to avoid the long walk, I recommend taking last bus at midnight into town, grabbing a bottle or 2 with some friends, drinking it at gyro place then hit the bars and clubs around 2am when they start getting busy. I will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
MEININGER Brussels City Center, Brussels, Belgium
8.0
24th Jun 2013

My 2nd time staying here. It's clean, secure, and in a good location. Friendly & knowledgeable staff. Only downside is that it's more of a hotel, so you lose the social hostel experience

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Leuven City Hostel, Leuven, Belgium
8.0
23rd Jun 2013

The good: Clean, secure, and great location. The bad: The staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Antwerp Backpackers Hostel, Antwerp, Belgium
5.7
21st Jun 2013

Staff was nice at first. Full of mosquitos. If in a room upstairs, you must shower downstairs. Wifi didnt work. A bit out of the way, but not too far. Social, met some cool people. Everything was ok til the last day. It was 10:59 am, I was downstairs in common area with my luggage, and staff got really aggressive & pretty much said we need to get the F out by 11 or will be charged half day. I've been to many hostels and have never been to a place where we couldn't be in the lobby after checkout.

View Property Reply

Our common room is great. We understand you and all your newly made friends still wanted to enjoy it and the free drinks and the free breakfast,... But yeah, I think this is just a common sense case! We offer you a free anti mosquito thing to plug in! But ypu heve to plug it in! Keeping the terrace door closed at night also helps! Wifi works! Please if you give a review be honest! This really hurts. You even thanked us for the best hostel ever when you left!?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
MEININGER Brussels City Center, Brussels, Belgium
8.6
20th Jun 2013

It's more of a massive hotel then a hostel, it's so big it takes away from the hostel experience. Although a little over priced, its still nice, and the staff is great and knowledgeable. Only thing is wifi wasn't working so I had to pay 2euro for 20min computer. But its clean and in a great location, easy to walk to most sites

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Check Inn HK, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
10.0
11th Jun 2013

I switched here from another hostel, it was a better value for the money! Great staff and atmosphere! Too bad I only got to stay for one night... I'll definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
8.0
7th Jun 2013

It was clean and secure, but not the best value. And they offer free beer or soda for leaving a positive review in front of them! SMH! But it was a good location and I met some great people there

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
MNL Boutique Hostel, Manila, Philippines
10.0
2nd Jun 2013

I loved this hostel, great knowledgeable staff, beds, it was clean, very social environment! I'll definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Our Melting Pot, Manila, Philippines
8.3
29th May 2013

Nice hostel and staff... great location... social... just didn't like the rats and horrible odor in stairway

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lazy House, Koh Phangan, Thailand
7.7
23rd May 2013

This is my 2nd time coming here now, 2 years in a row, I love it! Great atmosphere, although it's not the cleanest place or best facilities, I think it goes hand in hand well with the full moon party!! Perfect location!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kool Backpacker Hostel, Phuket, Thailand
5.7
14th May 2013

Good location, fairly clean. Price is ok but dont book airport taxi or island ferry's with them when there's plenty of places downstairs much cheaper.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
10.0
7th May 2013

Clean, very social, great location and great staff... The best beds I've slept in at a hostel. I would definitely stay here again! Cheers from DJ Kosta ((Miami))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kayun Hostel, Kuta, Indonesia
8.6
1st May 2013

Good location right by Legion Street and not a far walk from Kuta Beach. A lil more expensive. Food and drinks are also very overpriced when you can walk across the street and get water, food, etc for half the price. They charge 700,000 (about $70) for roundtrip to Gili Islands, you can get the same exact ticket for 400,000 down the street. Maybe they forget they're a hostel, and should cater more to the budget traveler! Staff was very friendly, and bathrooms seemed to be cleaned every hour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nomads Byron Bay, Byron Bay, Australia
5.4
19th Apr 2013

Hostel is in a good location, but not the best value. Social nights are ok, but they take you to another hostel's social event, which is also a cheaper hostel, sooooo do you catch my drift!? My headphones were stolen from my bed, and it wasn't anybody from my room because we were all hanging out together, and 6-8 members of staff and their friends will come in rooms at a time and hang out while only 2-3 actually work and make beds.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bounce Sydney, Sydney, Australia
10.0
12th Apr 2013

Great location, best hostel staff ever, clean, secure, etc... met a lot of great people here. Great social events every day/night. Just a lil pricey for a hostel but hey its Oz, everything is more expensive here! Cheers from DJ Kosta!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
4.3
1st Oct 2012

The good: Great location, and secure. That's about it... The bad: Looks clean, but is filthy. The bathroom ceilings are full of MOLD which is unsafe to breathe in. Not very social, no activities, no help

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Cheers Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
4.9
29th Sep 2012

Great location, right by Agia Sophia. The staff was not helpful at all when asking for recommendations on activies and places to see. Not social environment at all. I came in very quietly at about 1am one night and there was a guest in his 50's or 60's in the bed above mine and talking and giving me a lecture about how I shouldn't be out and coming in so late! hahahahaha... The place was clean, the rooftop bar was overpriced of course...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The MadHouse Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
10.0
26th Sep 2012

I've been to about 20+ hostels around the world and this new hostel is by far one of my favorites! Great staff, great location, great activities. Clean, secure, fun... what more can you ask for?? I will definitely be back!! Greetings from DJ Kosta your favorite criminal radio pirate in Miami!! hahaha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Fusion Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
10.0
24th Sep 2012

Very nice, clean, and perfectly located hotel. I stayed in a shared room because I love the hostel experience, unfortunately at the time I went, the room was empty so it wasn't too social but the staff was very helpful in showing me places on the map to go see. I would definitely come back here to just chill at "detox" after partying hard elsewhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Grandio Party Hostel, Budapest, Hungary
6.0
23rd Sep 2012

I would never stay here ago... it's a fun atmosphere but the staff was useless, some guests were complete racist nazi's and thought it was cool and so did the staff... the place was filthy, i got attacked by bed bugs there, its one things to be a fun messy party environment, but to be filthy were it endangers the guests is not cool

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Retox Party Hostel, Budapest, Hungary
4.9
21st Sep 2012

Great location, lots of fun, but the staff has too much fun were they forget to clean rooms so they place is pretty filthy. I would much rather going to Carpe Noctem which is from the same company, they come party at Retox some nights, but the staff is way better there like a family as soon as you get there, and party just as hard or harder than Retox or Grandio ! Retox was dirty, puke in bathrooms, dirty sheets, etc... Party at Retox and go sleep at Carpe in a clean bed!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Carpe Noctem Original, Budapest, Hungary
10.0
19th Sep 2012

I stayed at 3 out of 4 party hostels from this company. Carpe Noctem was by far my favorite! The best staff, awesome guests, activities every night. Clean, secure, perfect location. Only downside is the stairs you have to walk up and down, but hey that's good for my fat @$$!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Athenstyle, Athens, Greece
8.6
15th Sep 2012

Couldn't ask for a better location, right in the heart of Athens and easy to get to. But, for as much activities and night life as there is in Athens, I don't understand why this place has no activities, pub crawls, night outs, etc no socialness. They just want you to go to their overpriced rooftop bar. And, the beds are somewhat overpriced too.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Egyptian Night, Cairo, Egypt
5.4
11th Sep 2012

Elevator didn't work so you have to walk about 5 flights of stairs to go up and down. The bathrooms were dirty and no water pressure or hot water. The staff would only help or give advice if you were booking through them. If you didnt pay them, they would not tell you any recommendations on things to do or how to do them. Then, when you pay them to have one of their friends drive you places, the the driver insists on taking us to more tourists traps and more people demanding tips.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
NapPark Hostel at Khao San, Bangkok, Thailand
10.0
6th Sep 2012

One of the greatest hostels I've ever been to! I love this place. Great chill vibe. Very social. Knowledgable and helpful stff. Clean. Secure. Perfect location. Can't ask for more!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lazy House, Koh Phangan, Thailand
7.4
31st Aug 2012

Great atmosphere, met a lot of great people from around the world! Nikki you´re awesome! Great location, easy walk to beach and full moon party! Right in the middle of many restaurants and shops. Now to the bad... Wifi barely worked.

View Property Reply

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
NapPark Hostel at Khao San, Bangkok, Thailand
10.0
30th Aug 2012

Great location, great atmosphere, great people! Will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki, Tokyo, Japan
6.6
27th Aug 2012

Laid back hostel, not much going on, even at their bar. The hostel is very clean, but I think just a little over priced. Staff was nice but not understanding. Missed my flight because of shuttle from previous hostel, emailed OVER 24 hours to let them know I´ll miss my first night, they still charged me 100% instead of 50% like their policy states. You would think that a hostel is a place catering to backpackers and travellers on a budget and they would be more reasonable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
5.4
22nd Aug 2012

started off bad from the time I arrived at 2:30. I didnt get checked in til 4:30. The lady working was absolutely useless and very rude, and several other backpackers had issues with her. We were interrupting her facebooking or games! Then 3pm comes and shift change, this guy Siam had me wait an hour and a half to get checked in after 11 hour flight. He only wanted to help the female guests. Pizza and beer night was a joke, not enough for everybody. Overpriced. There is better value nearby

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.