Reviews: Anonymous

Location: USA, Gender: Female, Age: 28
100%

Really great place. Dorms were thoroughly cleaned and beds are made every day. The staff are very nice--one of the servers was good at getting different groups to talk to one another, then the bartender ended up taking a bunch of us out and getting us into a club for free. The entrance is a locked door that you need to get buzzed into and there are lockers in the rooms. The bar on top has a ping pong table, fusbol table, and a tv room with lots of movies.


83%

The owners were very nice, it was in a good location, and we were able to get a private double room (no bathroom) for less than $15, which was great. Negatives were: that the shared bathroom was on another floor and was shared with the 12 person dorm, the social atmosphere wasn't great, and there was no tv room (that I knew of).


77%

It is in a good location, and it has a bar and restaurant attached which was nice (although it's a little overpriced). The strange thing was that there seat people in this dining room area, but my dorm was right off that room as well, so it was a little strange to be showering or going to the bathroom and having to walk by all these people eating. All in all, it was a fine hostel, with decent wifi.


89%

Pros: good location, decent free breakfast, bar upstairs, very thorough room cleaning, large lockers in room for big backpack (bring own lock), comfortable bean bags in courtyard. Con: They don't give each person a key to their dorm room, which was a little odd. Instead, you just leave it unlocked, and then the last person to leave locks it, then someone at receptionist has to open it for the next person. It was annoying and a waste of time.


The Palace Hostel

San Juan, Puerto Rico
60%

I don't know if I was there during low season, just happened to be there on boring days, or if it's always like this, but the hostel wasn't that full or lively. Pros: security (main door, room door, and lockers--but bring your own lock), comfortable mattresses, well ACed rooms, one of the workers was nice and took us out. Cons: location (a little sketchy and far from bars), awful mosquito problem, kitchen isn't well stocked, the other 2 workers were extremely standoffish.


97%

I liked this hostel a lot. Great location and nice facilities with daily activities offered. The free breakfast and dinner was a great bonus as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Glad to hear you enjoyed all of our daytime and nighttime activities! We had a great time hosting you at our hostel! Cheers, Bobby

Islander Backpackers Resort

Surfers Paradise, Australia
69%

Pros: great location, attached to a hotel so you get the extras of the hotel like a pool and steam room Cons: the hostel reception closes at 4pm although the hotel reception is 24 hours and they can help you after, no free luggage storage, you have to give a $10 deposit for a huge box with plates and cutlery, you were assigned a bed in the room which they are sticklers about (and both of us in our party got top bunks, even though there was an empty bottom bunk that no one slept in that night)