Reviews: petraderijk

Location: Netherlands, Gender: Female, Age: 29

Byron Beach Resort

Byron Bay, Australia

We stayed in a deluxe ensuite mixed dorm, the room was spacious and clean, good shower and comfortable matras. The only downside is that people from other rooms were having parties outside of their door and this kept us awake. It would be better if the hostel had an area for drinking and parties away from the rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the shuttle to the town is perfect. Otherwise it's about 20 minute walk. Can recommend this hostel!!

Backpackers by the Bay

Airlie Beach, Australia

Perfect place to stay!! Super clean, relaxing hammocks, nice spacious rooms, comfi bed, big kitchen. The place has everything you need and has a great atmosphere. Less than ten minute walk from the main strip,which I think is great because you're away from all the hustle. Thank you Peter and Sam for your great hospitality. Travelers: you won't regret staying here. They also have good last minute deals on boat trips.

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Cairns, Australia

Super super nice hostel, great atmosphere, mega friendly staff, and the beds are so comfortable I wish I had stayed another night! The only downside is the location, it's about 25min walk from reef fleet terminal. But on the positive side you're away from all the loud bars. Great place to stay, you won't regret it.

Cairns Girls Hostel

Cairns, Australia

The location of the hostel is good, it's not too far from the centre but you don't get all the noise so it's a nice quiet place. The staff is super friendly and the place is kept really clean! The only downside for me was that the mattress was so so bad, a foam one with a big dent in it from usage, I slept poorly due to that. Also there seems to be a few older long term ladies and it makes the vibe not the best. Overall it's a good place to stay when you want quiet time.


Kathmandu, Nepal

The rooftop is absolutely great, good way to meet other travelers. The hostel organizes many nice activities. Downside is you can hear the noise of the rooftop in the female dorm, and the toilets were really really dirty during my stay. We also had red ants and bedbugs but the manager luckily solved that quickly. Location is close to Thamel but still in a nice alley away from the noise. The staff was really friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Petra, We have many travelers who go trekking in Nepal and thus possibility of bed bugs and insects coming to the hostel. But as you have seen, we take care of problems because we understand that we are in service industry. As for the toilet being dirty, we are going through Dasain festival, which is the biggest one in Nepal and thus short of staff members at that particular time. We are extremely sorry that your experience was not at par and hopefully we continue to improve. Namaste!


I stayed here for the second time and was again a great stay :) staff is great and the hostel organizes many fun free activities. The location may be a bit far from the centre but it is close to the metro and north train station.

The Hump Hostel

Kunming, China

Nice location, good big common area, comfy beds. The rooms are kept very clean, showers and toilets are ok as well. Overall the staff was nice but there were some really unfriendly ones among them as well, they are not so helpful and often busy doing something else when you talk to them. Food is okay, but not much flavor to it. The hump cafe at the street downstairs from the hostel services free coffee in the morning and has really nice dinners. Overall the hump is a nice hostel to stay!

Yi Dou Hostel

Yichang, China

We only spent one night here and did not go into Yichang itself so don't know whether location is good. Taxi from train station is 25 RMB. Area surrounding the Hostel is nice, if possible ask them to email you their Chinese address upfront because no one knows this hostel or the south lake hotel. Staff is friendly and the place is super clean! Nice common area and the dorms are spacious. Bed is hard but duvet and pillow super soft, only weird thing: the bathroom has frosted glass walls....


Location is not very close to the centre. Other than that the hostel itself is a nice place to stay at, staff is very very helpful, friendly and speak good English. Food at the hostel is good too. Only downside is there are only two public showers so can be a little bit of a line when the hostel is full. But the showers itself is really nice, good water pressure and temperature.

Han Tang Inn Hostel

Xi'an, China

Great hostel!! Location is close to Muslim quarter (good food!) and the street from where buses go to the train station. Hostel does free pick up from main train station. We stayed in a dorm, it was really nice and clean, comfy beds and an ensuite bathroom. Staff speaks good English and is very helpful. Great rooftop and common area. Cannot think of any downside for this hostel!


Location of the hostel is perfect. We stayed in a 20 bed dorm and the beds were really comfortable, showers were good as well. Toilets could be a bit cleaner. we only paid 10 yuan per night so basically don't expect much for such a great cheap price :) staff speaks very poor English so we went to Yamen Hostel and Harmony Guesthouse to book a tour and train tickets. Free pick up and drop off at train station! :)

Dragon King Hostel

Beijing, China

Great place to stay!! Staff is super friendly and speaks good English. The dragon king hostel is more like a hotel but with dorm rooms, very clean and comfortable though. There is a nice bar to hang out, although I would recommend to hang out at the nicer bar in their sister hostel Happy Dragon, which is a two minute walk down the street. Breakfast is not value for money though, very small. Location is absolutely perfect.

Golden Gobi

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Nice hostel which is located perfect next to the state department store. Staff is friendly and the place feels like home away from home. Showers are nice and warm, they have free breakfast in the morning, nice hang out room downstairs. They also offer many tours through Mongolia. Only downside is that in the summer time it is chaos busy in the morning when new travelers arive.

Nerpa Backpackers

Irkutsk, Russia

Really nice hostel with a good atmosphere. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Located close to the railway station which is nice, but further away from the city centre, trams go frequently though and only cost 12 rub

Belka Hostel

Listvyanka, Russia

Nice place to stay, has a good feel to it. Kitchen is nice to hang out. Staff is really friendly!! Hostel is located at the end of a big hill so don't plan to walk it too many times. Only downside to the place is that the water pressure is very very low in the shower.


The location is good, only have to walk down the one big road novy arbatska and you walk straight into the kremlin, about 15 min walk. Close to arbatskaja touristic street, which is nice. Staff is super friendly and helpful!! A lot of Russians living at the hostel though but I think that is quite normal for Moscow. Only toilets could be cleaner, was quite dirty when I was there. Showers are good and wifi perfect. Overall it is a fine place to stay.

Welcome Hostel Prague Center

Prague, Czech Republic

Really nice hostel, good location in Prague, it is right in between old and new town and everything is in walking distance. The staff is very helpful and nice!! We had a twin room with our own bathroom and litte kitchen, was great for the weekend. If you are travelling alone and looking to meet other travellers I would not recommend this place because there is no common area to meet others. The hostel is located near to a busy road, so if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs ;)


This hostel is situated in a great street, it is away from the busy centre with touristprices. The hostel is very close to the metrostation and the Sacre Coeur, other than that there are some nice bars and restaurants in the street, with good prices! :)