Reviews: Anonymous

V-GO's Hotel & Guesthouse

Fethiye, Turkey
74%

This is more of a hotel than a hostel. There were lot of families staying there so the atmosphere wasn't great for a solo traveller and the dinner at night was a bit expensive. Also the cleaning products in the bathrooms had a strong and strange smell that stunk out the dorm a bit. I loved the view from the terrace though and there was a good free breakfast, nice pool area and the staff were really helpful.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Bahaus Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
86%

I loved the rooftop terrace at this hostel, there was a friendly atmosphere up there and it was really easy to meet other travellers which is always a huge plus for solo travellers! The location's amazing (although the terrace has views of the sea not the mosques), the staff are helpful and the breakfast is pretty good despite the lack of fruit. The only real downside for me was that there's no kitchen and the hostel doesn't do laundry. Overall it's a nice hostel, I'd stay here again.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Hikers Hostel Plovdiv

Plovdiv, Bulgaria
77%

A friendly hostel in the heart of the old town. The dorms were pretty average but there's a nice common area with a good atmosphere and the staff are always helpful. I'd stay here again.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Hostel Old Plovdiv

Plovdiv, Bulgaria
83%

Nice quiet hostel in the Old Town. They have a good breakfast and a lovely outdoor area but there wasn't much atmosphere when I was there. Sleeping in beds instead of bunks was a nice change.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Hostel Mostel

Sofia, Bulgaria
94%

This is a great hostel with a sociable atmosphere, comfortable beds with curtains for privacy, a PowerPoint per bed and wifi that worked in the dorm. My only caution would be that the free breakfast and dinner are not included for prices of under €9 a night. These meals are 6lev each extra which I think is worth it for the breakfast (eggs, waffles, fruit) but not always for the dinner (pasta). Overall I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Hostel Mostel Veliko Tarnovo

Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
97%

This is one of my favourite hostels of my trip so far! I enjoyed it so much I extended another night. There's a good breakfast and dinner, a chilled common room and nice terrace which makes it really easy to meet other travelers. The staff are all friendly and helpful and it's within easy walking distance to the main part of the old town. Also, they run a UFO tour most days which is amazing! It was one of the highlights of my trip, well worth the 50lev. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


X Hostel Varna

Varna, Bulgaria
71%

This is a full-on party hostel with a fun atmosphere. It's located between Varna and Golden Sands so you have to cab pretty much everywhere but cabs are cheap so it's ok. The beach is a 20min walk away and there's a shop around the corner. The dinners and events put on by the hostel are very fun but a bit expensive. The staff put a lot of effort in to create a social atmosphere and it's very easy to meet other travelers. I had a great four nights here.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Doors Hostel

Bucharest, Romania
80%

This is a nice chilled hostel in a quiet part of town. There wasn't much atmosphere when I was there and it wasn't very easy to meet other travelers but the chill out section is nice to relax in and the washing service is very cheap!

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


X Hostel Bucharest

Bucharest, Romania
71%

This hostel is very close to the old town and has a pretty good atmosphere. My bed was a bit broken (the mattress lent to one side), the beers at the bar are a bit expensive and the escape rooms cost extra, but overall it was a good stay.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Hostel Boemia

Brasov, Romania
74%

This hostel is very central, has a delicious breakfast and comfortable bunks. I met a few nice people there but the overall atmosphere was very quiet, even on the weekend. It's good value for money though :)

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Citadel Hostel

Alba Iulia, Romania
80%

A nice hostel pretty close to the old town centre and with very friendly staff. There wasn't much atmosphere at the hostel but in a small town like this on a Monday that's to be expected. The beds are comfy and the facilities good. I'd stay here again :)

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Kretan Hostel

Bucharest, Romania
77%

Nice quiet hostel in a good location. There's no kitchen or common room so there's no real atmosphere or way to meet other travellers but for the price it's a good night's sleep. I was the only person in my dorm so I just took advantage of the wifi and enjoyed a quiet night in :)

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Backpackers BCN

Barcelona, Spain
63%

Good location but not much atmosphere for a high rated Barcelona hostel. The building's quite old, the air con is weak and the rooms are next to the common room so it's quite noisy at night.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We could have changed the temperature in the room if you had asked. About the building ... it's not old but if it was, what's the problem? The kitchen and bathrooms are always clean and tidy, the matresses are comfortable, the location and security are perfect. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay like almost everybody does.

Hostel One Sants

Barcelona, Spain
97%

Fun social hostel with great free dinners and free activities each night so you don't need to pay for a pub crawl to see Barcelona's night life. The rooms have good aircon and the roof terrace is a nice place to chill. I'd stay here again.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Albergue Zaragoza Hostel

Zaragoza, Spain
69%

Quiet hostel near the old town with cheap washing and a free breakfast. The extra charge for the sheets is a bit much though and there wasn't much atmosphere.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Way Hostel

Madrid, Spain
74%

Nice social vibe but the dorm beds are old and it wasn't easy to get a good night's sleep here. Good location though.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Ok Hostel Madrid

Madrid, Spain
97%

Nice new hostel with a very social €10 dinner every night EXCEPT TUESDAY. Our 6 bed dorm had a great on suite and the bunks were quite private and quiet and each had a lockable cupboard to charge stuff while you're out, which was super handy! I'd definitely stay here again.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


The Garden Backpacker

Seville, Spain
83%

Nice hostel that's pretty central and has a free sangria hour! Also a good dinner for €6 on Saturday. The pub crawl run by the hostel's pretty fun too, I'd stay here again.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Tarifa Hostel

Tarifa, Spain
97%

Great hostel with comfortable new beds, very modern kitchen and a sociable atmosphere. The owner's lovely and I had such a great time I stayed here twice and would love to go back again.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


86%

Great location near the beach and old town, friendly staff and an easy place to meet other travellers. Nice roof terrace too with views of Africa.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Lights Out Hostel

Malaga, Spain
80%

Great beds with privacy curtains, nice rooftop and very central. The only thing I didn't like is that there's not much atmosphere because the common area is just a small lounge by the reception desk and most people seem to stay in their rooms.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Bed&Breakfast Empire 1970

Trieste, Italy
89%

We had a lovely stay. The rooms are big, the bathrooms are modern and clean and the place is close to he city center. The breakfast was a bit boring, mainly toast, but overall it was good value for money.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Celica Art Hostel

Ljubljana, Slovenia
60%

This hostel was clean but expensive and not worth the money, the 12bed dorm only has room for 10 beds so the last two have been crammed in under low ceiling poles and pressed up against another bed. It was essentially sharing a double bed with a stranger in a mixed dorm. The hostel itself is a cool idea but a bit of a walk from town and didn't have any atmosphere when we were there. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you felt let down by your experience at Celica. It's sure not fun reading this, but appreciate your honest thoughts. The bed policy in dorms depends mostly on »first come, first served« basis and guests choose their own beds at arrival. The late comers have to pick what's left, unfortunately. Apologies for the lack of atmosphere, too. However, there is plenty going on here most of the time. It must have been a strange twilight zone apparently. Wish you all the best,

Jazz Hostel & Apartments

Bled, Slovenia
89%

We had a very pleasant stay in a twin private room. The owner went out of his way to make us feel welcome even after we'd checked out. The kitchen facilities are amazing an the location's half way between the town and castle which was great. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Kipps Hostel Canterbury

Canterbury, England
89%

The owners go out of their way to make this feel like home. They put on an event every night that gets everyone socializing. When I was there it was free quiche dinner, pretty amazing! The beds are comfy, there's free towels and you'll have a lot of fun! I'll definitely be back.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Euro Hostel Glasgow

Glasgow, Scotland
80%

It's a big hostel that feels more like a hotel So there's not muh atmosphere. The kitchen/lounge was always pretty dead which makes it hard to meet other travellers unless you sit in the bar. Quite central, good staff, clean rooms and free breakfast, it's an easy place to stay in Glasgow for a night.

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Budget Backpackers

Edinburgh, Scotland
83%

Right in the heart of the old town with a pub crawl and walking tour the hostel runs itself, this was a great place to stay. Large kitchen, decent bar and a good atmosphere, I'd stay here again.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Inverness Student Hostel

Inverness, Scotland
97%

My favourite hostel in five months o travel! It has a great vibe with very sociable kitchen and lounge areas. It's in the middle of Inverness with friendly staff and comfy beds, I never wanted to leave!

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Paddy's Palace Dublin

Dublin, Ireland
74%

Free airport shuttle and Kilkenny day trip makes this place totally worth it! Hostel doesn't have a lot of atmosphere but the beds are comfy and it's clean. I'm staying there again when I fly out.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Brussels Hostel Grand Place

Brussels, Belgium
94%

Amazing location, almost in the main square! Hostel was clean and modern with an ensuite that had 2 showers in the 10 bed dorm. Great atmosphere and easy to meet people. Nice big kitchen and strong wifi. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Brussels!

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


83%

Big hotel-type hostel but still has a friendly social atmosphere. The girls dorm was spacious and comfortable with curtains and sockets for each bed. Good wifi and breakfast and near a pretty canal. I'd stay there again.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


86%

Cute hotel in the middle of Montmarte, walking distance to cafes, bars, metro and Sacre Coure. Rooms small but clean, street can be very noisy at night though. Good value for money, strong wifi and lovely staff.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


The Tent Munich

Munich, Germany
83%

The campfire at night makes this place well worth it! The big tent is fine but bring your own sleeping bag if you can. Toilets very clean, kitchen makes good cheap dinner and tram close and easy. Nice change from usual hostels, more like camping.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Five Reasons Hostel

Nuremberg, Germany
91%

Had a great stay. Dorm rooms are very spacious and 8bed dorm is separated into two sections so it feels more like a 4. Staff were very helpful, even printed my bus tickets for free. Kitchen is clean and nice to use (but no microwave). Only thing missing is a common lounge area, although kitchen and dining sort of make up for this. Would definitely stay again!

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


One World Hostel

Krakow, Poland
89%

Cute little hostel with a great lounge for meeting people. Nice kitchen, great location and a beer shop right downstairs. I'd stay there again!

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Old Prague Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic
83%

Amazing location, decent breakfast, free sandwich and friendly staff. Only things I didn't like was the wifi doesn't reach the dorms upstairs, it's very noisy in that part of the city at night and the pub crawl's with an outside company so it's not the best way to meet people from the hostel. It's walking distance to everything though so a convenient stay in Prague.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


A&T Holiday Hostel Wien

Vienna, Austria
74%

It's far away from the city center with no hostel atmosphere but it has nice rooms with an ensuite, more like a hotel than a hostel. Close to the metro and decent wifi in the lobby. Ok place to stay.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Red Door Hostel

Belgrade, Serbia
94%

AmazIng staff, free washing machine, free breakfast, close to city centre and train and bus station.. Red door was a great value place to stay. Nice kitchen with a great little balcony, the only negatives were mosquitoes at night and there wasn't a great social vibe because it's so small (17 beds) with quite a few older travellers often staying. I'd say here again.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Hostel Ljubicica

Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina
60%

It's basic, the beds are a little damp and some of the rooms are far away from the hostel in buildings in residential neighborhoods with no hostel atmosphere but it's cheap. I wouldn't stay there again but if all you want is a cheap place to lay your head it's passable.

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Hostel Miturno

Mostar, Bosnia And Herzegovina
94%

Great hostel right near the old part of town and main bridge! Common room could have been a little more social but everything was perfect apart from that. Air con in the rooms is amazing and beds crisp and comfortable.

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Villa Banana

Dubrovnik, Croatia
86%

It's a bit of a walk from old town and a bit expensive but then everything in Dubrovnik is. Dolores was lovely and the pickup from the station was amazing (the walk would have been all uphill). The internet's fast, the views are nice and the rooms are comfy. There wasn't much of a hostel atmosphere but it was an easy stay in a very famous city.

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


SunnyLakeHostel

Ohrid, Macedonia
97%

Great social hostel with a lovely balcony overlooking the lake that everyone used more than the common room. Friendly vibe, perfect location, equipped kitchen and clean comfortable beds. I'd stay here again!

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Shanti Hostel Bitola

Bitola, Macedonia
97%

I loved this hostel! Petar's amazing and goes out of his way to make sure you have a good time in Bitola. He took me and the others out for traditional baked cheese which was incredible! The hostel's right near the main part of town. It's clean, comfy and the included breakfast's a bonus. Also the curtains on the bunk beds is a lovely touch. I highly recommend this hostel and the other Shanti in Skopje, I'll be coming back to stay at both again!

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Hostel Meteora

Kalambaka, Greece
100%

This is my favourite hostel in Europe so far. Dimitris is so welcoming and accommodating, he makes you feel at home and is happy to share his culture with you. It's close to everything and easy to get to the Meteora monasteries from here, Dimitris has all the info on buses and trains to get there. Great value for money, I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)


Santorini Hostel Kykladonisia

Santorini, Greece
80%

Nice hostel very close to town. The courtyard where breakfast is has an amazing view! The staff are very friendly but it's a little overpriced. Clean and comfortable stay in Fira.

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (45 reviews)