Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Mexico, Gender Male, Age 32

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
BotaHostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
4.9
30th May 2016

We stayed there for a week in a private ensuite double bedroom. PROS - Close to Metro, exec bus stop (to/from airport) supermarkets and places to eat/drink. Walk to Sugarloaf & Copa. CONS - the place is dirty, mouldy & cramped. Breakfast was crappy. In six nights they only "cleaned" the room once & it stank of dirty mop when they did. We asked to change towels & linens due to humidity but were only offered fresh towels (on the 5th day). Would NOT recommend. Pictures are MISLEADING.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment, it is important for us to always improve. We are glad you enjoyed our location. We are sorry about your unpleasant experience in our hostel. Regarding the cleaning, we asked you to clean your room one afternoon, and you told us that it could be done the next day. Our suites are clean daily. It is important mentioning that we are a hostel and so our services are different from a hotel, which has much higher daily values ​​in the city. We do not change the bed linen or towels daily, for environmental and economic issues. But we do it whenever requested by the guest. Our breakfast is directed to the backpacker public, and according to our staff, you for two nights you had breakfast after it was over (after 10 am), in which it is often arranged on the table, but the products not replaced anymore. To have full access to it, you could have breakfast between a specific time (8am to 10am), which is informed during your check in. Cheers from all BotaHostel team.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
4.6
22nd Jun 2015

I have stayed in many hostels, but none as deceiving as this "boutique" hostel. The positives: its very close to the metro, easy to arrive from CDG, Orly and several Gares. It has free continental breakfast and wifi that works. But also has a lot of negatives: The rooms are old, the ensuite showers minimal, the plumbing in need of repair, the staircases to reach the lower floors look derelict and it is very "quintessentially french" (in a Chevy Chase´s European Vacation sense).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
7.7
16th Jun 2015

Great looking hostel! Nice bar and club for those who rather stay near their beds. Security is lacking since anyone can just come in and out, but rooms have key cards so not easy to break in. Nice under-the-bed lockable luggage bins plus other smaller lockers in rooms. They seem not to tell people to pick up a set of sheets before going to their bedrooms so might end up sleeping on a plastic sheet. Luggage storage costs per hour and require coins to operate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Czech Inn, Prague, Czech Republic
9.7
14th Jun 2015

Seems like the dream hostel when you look at the pics. But most rooms are not as impressive. Revelers can be quite loud at night and have the police called upon. Its literally in front of the tram stop which combined with the metro can take you anywhere within 15-20mins and they take the hassle of buying tickets in the stupid little yellow machines by selling them to you over the counter. Same price. Hard to find anywhere to eat in the area past 10pm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Ca' Venezia, Venice, Italy
6.9
11th Jun 2015

First of all, thank you Amran for being so acommodating and upgrading us from a 6 bed dorm to a 4 dorm with a view. Since there was 4 of us this was very neat. Second, well, I must say that his suggestions about food or places to eat/drink were rubbish. Specially that place Vittorio's at the grand canal. This happens often, when people don't actually eat at those places but are still willing to point them out to tourists. The showers and wc need to be tended more often.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Lemon Spirit Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
7.4
3rd Aug 2013

Directions on their website are very clear, however if you lack Internet connection and need to actually speak to someone in reception, chances are nobody will pick up the bloody phone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Bee.W Hostel Bar, Sao Paulo, Brazil
9.7
8th Jul 2013

Brand new. Very Eco trendy place. Bar serves food (the burger is awesome) at night. If a bit pricey when drinking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
India House Backpackers Hostel, New Orleans, USA
7.4
8th Oct 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.