Reviews: boyontheroad

Location: England, Gender: Male, Age: 29

Hostel Utopia

Amsterdam, Netherlands
69%

Had a great couple of days at Utopia Hostel. Rooms are fine though basic. No social area just a coffee shop downstairs. Staff ok, price good! Don't expect much, but it beats others on location and cost. Would probably stay again

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)


Anzac Backpackers

Cape Town, South Africa
74%

Had a good stay at Anzac. Easy walk into town, but a few shady characters hanging around in the evening. Room had great view of table top, shared bathrooms were nice, kitchen good. Good value for money


Backpackers House

Nha Trang, Vietnam
69%

OMG....noisy, drunken, trainwreck of a guesthouse but had a great time. Always the best social scene in Nha Trang, with a great bar downstairs and some good options for the free breakfast. This is not a place to relax, it's only aimed at truly fun-loving travelers. Stayed in the dorm (which didn't actually lock), though lockers provided. Shared a bathroom with about 20 other people. Despite the chaos, buckets, brawls and drama, this is THE place to stay in Nha Trang...enjoy the hangovers..!

  • 24th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)


Sunflower Hotel Hoi An

Hoi An, Vietnam
89%

The best breakfast yet.. A nice little pool with some slightly unusual music playing - think Kylie Minogue covers and some pretty terrible Vietnamese rock...!! However, nice atmosphere, accommodating and welcoming staff offering refreshment on arrival. Rooms were clean and comfortable, though balcony actually overlooked next door's wall...!! No glass in windows, just wooden shutters so slight mosquito problem. Great location however, and a good social scene with some nice restaurants nearby.

  • 21st Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)


Lam Bao Long Hotel

Hue, Vietnam
80%

A simple and clean hotel on the main street in the main tourist area...not much atmosphere - only a few travelers stayed there. Nice service at the front desk, and all the usual facilities...free internet etc. You'll only probably stay in Hue a couple of nights anyway, though many tours are offered by the hotel. Rooms are not bad for the money.

  • 19th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)


Bodega Hostel Hanoi

Hanoi, Vietnam
100%

As soon as we arrived in Hanoi, the staff jumped out of the hotel to welcome us, and help us across the busy road. The staff really make this place, offering all sorts of useful services and giving advice. They helped book a train for our onward journey, and even took us to the station for free...! Nice dorms, good location and with a nice breakfast included a nice little stopover for a couple of nights in Hanoi.

  • 16th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)


97%

We only needed to stay in Nanning for a couple of nights, simply to arrange the visa for Vietnam. The fluent English-speaking staff were very happy to help us with the visa, arranging it in 24hrs. The hostel offers good food, cheap drinks and a large communal area with pool table, free internet etc - a nice little hangout. The entrance to the hostel is a little obscure...you wouldn't be able to tell it was a hostel..upstairs off the street however, it's a little haven.

  • 14th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I'm very sorry that we didn't let you fully satisfied. Your feedback reminds us that we need to continue to improve service quality. If other guests have any dissatisfaction, please let us know. Of course, if you have proposals, you can also tell us. Your suggestions are very important to us.- Silven

97%

I enjoyed just under a week at Godot Hostel...it's a short walk from the main West Street area, but avoids all the late night noise. The rooftop has super views over the river and nearby mountains and is a great place to chill in a rocking chair with a drink. The English-speaking staff are some of the friendliest I've encountered in China; always happy to give advice and bring over a beer. The dorms are good value, and the overall facilities are pretty good. I would definitely stay again.


Green Forest Hostel

Guilin, China
97%

Green Forest in Guilin is a quirky little place with fantastic value rooms, super friendly and helpful staff, and a sociable vibe. It is only likely you will stay here for a night or two en route to more glamorous areas nearby, but the staff here are able to provide lots of tips on local trips and arrange travel to further destinations. They also offer pretty good western breakfasts.....!!