Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location England, Gender Female, Age 31

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Kinlay House Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
6.9
21st Jul 2016

It was as expected. Major down side was how hot the dorms got. Only tiny windows too so no real way to improve the situation. Wi-Fi couldn't be accessed in the rooms Power sockets in the rooms were few and far between. No large lockers available anywhere (seriously guys, get under bed cages; you're not using that space for anything else). Breakfast was good but the room is too small to fit all guests in so ended up being really crowded. It was very clean though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
City Travellers Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
5.4
17th Aug 2013

The sheets were stained and had holes in them. My room was freezing. the lock on the closest shower door was broken meaning i had to go further away from my room because of poor maintenance. The showers were dirty but they were hot. Staff member was nice though and let me leave my bag there for the day before my bus trip. I wouldn't stay again at City Travelers, I've stayed in better hostels in Auckland.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
YHA Whangarei, Whangarei, New Zealand
7.7
14th Aug 2013

No lockers in your room which was a bit of a pain as the only Lockers are outside the building and 2 dollars to use. Kitchen is good. Video room is good. Reception hours are annoyingly short though. Not a bad hostel. The hill to get up it is massive though so be forewarned. It wasn't fun lugging my backpack up there. Unless you're fit and/or intrepid, take a cab.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Newton Lodge, Auckland, New Zealand
8.9
7th Aug 2013

Not a lot of atmosphere but nothing really wrong with the place. Lockers in the rooms with keys provided, study beds, good showers and toilets, clean everywhere, excellent free wifi and computers. Bit of a walk to the supermarket and cbd but nothing major and there are bus stops really close to the hostel which will take you to the centre. About 30 min walk from hostel to Harbour. I'd go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Asylum Cairns, Cairns, Australia
8.0
13th Jul 2013

I can't really decide if I liked asylum or not. Definitely a fun hostel to stay in but I think it just wasn't 'for me'. The Monday party is actually a Sunday. The free Internet is a computer you book in 15 minute slots. The kitchen is decent but none really washes up after themselves so the sinks are always full of pots but I guess that's what you get when you pitch at the clientèle asylum does. Wouldn't stay again but nothing really wrong with the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Palms Backpackers, Sydney, Australia
9.1
29th Jun 2013

Had a great stay at the palms. When breakfast is gone, it's gone so don't bank on there being bread left at 10. Kitchen gets busy and dirty in the evening, get in there before 7. Reception hours are short so check your arrival time against reception time. Very social hostel and for $15, excellent value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Fernloft KL @ Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
10.0
19th Jun 2013

The 24 bed dorms are huge and the airCon doesn't really get them Cool.

View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your compliment. We, Fernloft Chinatown KL Team is glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Old Penang GuestHouse, Penang, Malaysia
8.9
13th Jun 2013

Stayed 4 nights in the end. Lovely showers, decent breakfast and friendly staff. Next doors music did blare until midnight each night though. Shame there was a spate of money theft from the dorm but I should have kept it in the lockers, it's what they're there for! My own fault and staff were helpful as could be expected about it. Not hostels fault at all but just be sure you use the lockers if you stay. I would still recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Deejai Backpacker, Chiang Mai, Thailand
8.3
25th May 2013

Enjoyed my stay. Clean dorm. Clean bathroom. Good social area and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Easy Go Hostel, Vang Vieng, Laos
5.7
18th May 2013

It's what I expected for the price but I was a bit unhappy when my room leaked during rain and also when I saw a rat run over the ceiling beams above my head. Generally unclean everywhere. No way to lock door. But for 25000 a night, it was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sihome Backpackers Hostel, Vientiane, Laos
10.0
17th May 2013

Not a bad word to say. Clean, comfortable and friendly. Awesome showers. Brilliant staff and a movie room. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Street Backpackers Hostel, Hanoi, Vietnam
9.7
9th May 2013

So lovely. Booked all my tours and transport through the hostel and had a great time. Even let me store my big backpack whilst I was on short trips ans nap in spare bed after a tiring Sapa trip. Could not ask for more. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hue Backpackers Hostel, Hue, Vietnam
9.7
8th May 2013

Happy hour is fierce. Dorms were clean with huge lockers. Breakfast was also awesome. Great stay. Thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Mojzo inn, Nha Trang, Vietnam
10.0
5th May 2013

I loved this hostel. Nicest staff ever, excellent breakfast. Brilliant common area. Good wifi. 5 min walk from beach. Just amazing. Would 100% stay again. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
NgocThao GuestHouse, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.1
1st May 2013

Staff are so lovely and helpful. Dorms clean. Bathrooms clean. What more are you after?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Khaosan Road Rainbow Hostel, Bangkok, Thailand
5.4
16th Apr 2013

No individual keys to the dorm so it was basically unlocked all the time. Staff were OK but nothing special. Bathroom on 1st floor not acceptable, no way to keep anything dry. 3rd floor bathrooms better. Mattress really is hard as a rock. Beds are noisy and sway whenever top bunker moves. Electric points verging on dangerous. Would not stays again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Ace Inn Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
8.9
7th Mar 2013

The 'pod' beds are really novel. The only downside is the lack of power sockets in/near the pods. There's plenty of sockets on the 9th floor common area or you can leave your stuff behind reception charging but it's not that convenient. That genuinely is my only complaint about the hostel. Everything else was great. The place was sparkling clean, the showers were good and the computers in the lobby were fast. Location is walkable for most tourist places. Definitely a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Parachute Hostel, Taipei, Taiwan
10.0
16th Feb 2013

The only thing I can fault were the matresses. They were very thin which, I can imagine for a longer stay, would get very uncomfortable. Otherwise, everything was amazing. I could not have asked for more. An amazing common area, free washing machine, free toast and jam, clean toilets and showers and seriously helpful staff. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Colorful Taiwan, Hualien, Taiwan
4.3
14th Feb 2013

The staff at spoke poor to no English. Weeks in advance I had emailed and booked a full day tour to Taroko. When we arrived, we were told this wouldn't happen due to Chinese New Year. The bathroom smelled disgusting as there was no ventilation and it got very damp. The paint was actually peeling off the ceiling. There were key surcharges not mentioned at booking. We were asked to close the security shutter on leaving as it was too early (8:30am) for anyone to get up and check us out. Bad service

View Property Reply

Dear Emma, Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry that you find our service unsatisfactory. We always endeavor to ensure our customers are happy when they stay with us, but due to certain reasons this time you do not find your stay pleasant, we are deeply regret. We have already replaced our staff. The current staff can speak fluent English. We believe this can solve the language problem that you encountered. As for the trip to Taroko, it was indeed unfortunate. The restriction announcement came with short notice. We were being informed only shortly before the Chinese New Year. We sincerely apologize for not be able to inform you earlier about this arrangement. Upon receiving your complaint regarding the toilet, we have already paid more attention to the hygiene. We will endeavor to ensure the hygiene of each toilet will live up to a satisfactory level. As for the key, the NTD 200 supposes to be a deposit which should be refunded to you when you return your key before you leave. We wonder if our staff has forgotten to do so. If yes, and please kindly let us know your paypal account number so that we can pay your back. Our apology for the inconvenience so caused. We are a small hostel which means to provide clean and comfortable accommodation for traveler with limited budget. With limited resource, we are unable to provide 24 hours stand-by service. In some case we may ask our guests to see themselves out if they travel outside our general working hour. We hope that you can understand our limitation. We very much valued your comments and have addressed to the issues that you have raised as our best capacity. We hope that we will still have the chance to serve you in the future.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Bike Kaohsiung Hostel, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
10.0
12th Feb 2013

Very welcoming, clean and bright. Paul is brilliant as are the other staff at the hostel. Showers and toilets were clean, water was hot, kitchen was well equipped and basically could not have asked for more. Loved the decoration of the hostel and the liberal use of memes. Close to a great night market, 7-11, Family Mart and general food places too. Wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommended from me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.