Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Ireland, Gender Male, Age 38

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Split, Split, Croatia
9.4
29th Jun 2016

If passing through Split this is an excellent hostel for a night or two. As it has no common room it might be better to choose elsewhere if you're looking to meet people a lot of people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Villa Skansi, Hvar, Croatia
9.1
27th Jun 2016

Bit annoyed with the occasional cold showers, poor wifi, the abrupt reception girl and expensive bar for a hostel, but the excellent bar girl and staff doing the pub crawls were brilliant and made up for the flaws. The most important staff in any hostel; keep up the good work. Free pizza was excellent. Hvar and the surrounding islands are a good spot for a few days and this hostel is a good choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Dubrovnik Sunset, Dubrovnik, Croatia
10.0
22nd Jun 2016

All the staff here are top guys and make the place what it is; an excellent hostel. Had a great stay and extended for two extra nights. Swimming pool, cheap tours, cheap shuttle bus and excellent value for money for Dubrovnik. Amazing view from the dorm. I wont mention the brandy after Ireland beat Italy! Keep up the good work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Old Town Hostel East Wing, Kotor, Montenegro
10.0
19th Jun 2016

Fantastic hostel. Kotor is one of the best places to visit in the Balkans and this hostel was also one of the best I've ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Salford Arms Hotel, Manchester, England
10.0
3rd Nov 2015

For the price you pay this place is great. Walking distance to city centre, clean, great shower in the room and very good staff. Enjoyed the mango cider in the bar which does good nightly events. Would make a great hostel instead of a hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel London, London, England
8.0
8th Feb 2015

Very poor sleep quality and one of the worst beds ive slept in. A common complaint in other reviews. They use second hand, dirty and very uncomfortable matteresses on weak wooden noisy bunks. £3.50 for breakfast that is free in most hostels. Brilliant social bar. Strong security. Poorly connected location but great for walkers. Loved the showers. Inhospitable reception staff Sunday night. Friendly bar staff with great choice of music.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, London, England
10.0
2nd Dec 2014

Excellent location and great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Way Hostel, Madrid, Spain
10.0
16th Nov 2014

Brilliant hostel with excellent staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel el corazon, Cancun, Mexico
5.4
13th Nov 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hatters on Newton Street, Manchester, England
5.1
7th Oct 2014

No hot shower water at 7.30am in the morning and no heating all night. Would be a good idea good for such a well established hostel to try and get the basics right.

View Property Reply

Apologies for any inconvenience, the final stages of construction of our new bar, Holdfast, saw strange things happening to our heating and water, but we can assure you that things are now wet and warm in the appropriate places.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown, Mexico City, Mexico
10.0
18th Mar 2014

Fantastic Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún, Cancun, Mexico
10.0
13th Mar 2014

Nice hostel

View Property Reply

Yeahh¡¡¡ Thanks for your comments.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Smart Sea View Brighton, Brighton, England
6.6
8th Mar 2014

Nice location near the sea front

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Sky Backpackers, Dublin, Ireland
10.0
22nd Feb 2014

Great Place

View Property Reply

Thanks for the wonderful review! Carla - Manager

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Volver Beach Hostel, Gran Canaria, Spain
10.0
18th Dec 2013

The outside bed on the terrace is easily the best hostel bed in the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Corner Hostel Malta, Sliema, Malta
8.6
26th Oct 2013

Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Salford Arms Hotel, Manchester, England
10.0
19th Jun 2013

Very nice staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
La Banda Rooftop Hostel, Seville, Spain
10.0
23rd May 2013

Easily the best hostel in Seville and one of the best around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Amistat Beach Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
10.0
18th Apr 2013

I've stayed in 100+ hostels, so I know a good hostel when I see one, and this is one of them. It’s so close to the beach with the naturist beach being the closest, which is probably unique for a hostel. Common room, kitchen, TV lounge are all perfect and designed to be sociable, along with the best WiFi ever. Excellent staff (who remembered my name). A very environmental hostel and I loved the automatic minimal lighting overnight. Very easy to get too from the centre and Poblenou was very nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Phoenix Hostel, London, England
6.9
13th Apr 2013

Whoever invented the triple high bunk should be shot. But other than that this is a good hostel and well worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.9
11th Apr 2013

As a rule I try not to pay more than £15 to stay at any hostel, but I would happily pay £25 again to stay here. Cleaner than a hospital and I probably had the best sleep I've ever had in a hostel. Loved the huge common room, very well thought out and laid out. If you want to mix we others you can, if you want to spend some time on your own you can. Only let down by its staff who would not even look up to say hello everytime I walked past reception to leave and enter. Criminal that for a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Miles, Prague, Czech Republic
10.0
8th Mar 2013

Excellent hostel in a brilliant location. Ticks all the boxes and amazing value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Check In Hostel, Berlin, Germany
10.0
6th Mar 2013

Thank you so much for letting me go to my room early and then opening the room door for me as I couldn't do it myself after a big night out in Berlin. Top customer service that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Travel Joy Hostels Wimbledon, London, England
10.0
29th Nov 2012

Excellent value for money in a very nice area. Really good free breakfast. Top hostel.

View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your very kind words and your 100% rating. Travel Joy Hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea, London, England
4.0
27th Nov 2012

You walk in and think "christ, another dying London bar masquerading as a hostel".A microwave in a corner is not a kitchen, its not even a kitchenette. Surrounding two dominant TV's with chairs do not create a social atmosphere.They kill it. Whoever invented triple high bunks should be shot. Putting two into a 10'x8' size room is just greed. £14 for 2 nights is just acceptable, do not pay anymore. Dirty manager=dirty hostel. Save yourself travel time and money and book a genuine hostel elsewhere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Caledonian Backpackers, Edinburgh, Scotland
6.0
15th Oct 2012

Can't believe the same staff work it since my first visit two years ago. And it really shows in the atmosphere which was dire. Very fast wifi but everyone spends most of their time on it. Better value, better located and (apart from the bar staff ) much better staff in other hostels in Edinburgh.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group,
  • Globetrotter
Blue Sky Hostel, Glasgow, Scotland
10.0
20th Sep 2012

A proper hostel - clean, cheap, fun staff and guests. Now name another hostel in Glasgow with an outdoor jacuzzi? Exactly you can't and for that alone this place gets top marks as it tells you the hostel wants its guests to have a fun time ... which we all did. Will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group,
  • Globetrotter
ACBB Hostel Niagara, Niagara Falls, Canada
10.0
6th Sep 2012

Forget about what the Lonely Planet say about Niagara Falls, there’s so much more to it than just the main strip and Patrick and his staff will guide you to it. Excellent hostel and cant rate highly enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Clarence Castle, Toronto, Canada
8.6
3rd Sep 2012

Very good location as it’s quiet at night even though right in the city centre and my bunk was brand new, very comfortable and I slept like a baby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland
10.0
29th Jun 2012

Best looking hostel staff ever

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland
10.0
30th Apr 2012

Dont bother with any of the local sights, this hostel has them all working for them. Stayed in a lot of hostel but never one where all of the female staff where that hot. Ill be staying again just for the view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
YHA Oxford, Oxford, England
8.3
1st Apr 2012

Compared to the other two hostels in town which I stayed at this is the by far the best value for money, but my god the staff on reception were poor. The most unenthusiastic i've come across, I actually felt unwelcomed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.7
30th Mar 2012

Very good staff and way better than my last visit 6 months ago. Very near to Victoria train and rail station so if you just need a bed for a night or two in between journeys you cant go wrong here. The 8 foot high triple bunks are a bit much though, especially if on the top and a young couple are fornicating on the bottom; I'm not joking, I was actually holding on for my life and almost got sea sick as well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Astor Victoria, London, England
8.6
29th Mar 2012

Excellent location and Pat on reception was great, gave me a little tip that saved me a couple of quid and really appreciated. Good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male,
  • Globetrotter
The Comfy Hostel/Studios, Corfu, Greece
10.0
24th Mar 2012

Excellent value for money as your getting a twin room for the price of a dorm bed and free WIFI as well. Thelma & Spiros are very nice hosts, and got me a very good deal for a scooter with a local rental company too. Near a swimming pool and very close to the beach, shops, tavernas and bars. An excellent location for summer and very easy to get to from the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male,
  • Globetrotter
Corfu Backpackers, Corfu, Greece
9.1
19th Mar 2012

Not my idea of a hostel as the place is huge and very much a money trap and at times I felt I was in a sales environment. But if your wanting to splurge and enjoy a bit of debauchery during the summer go for it as you can't go wrong (jizzcuzzi!) Rent a scooter and explore the area as the hostel is located in the better part of the island; some excellent beaches and villages short drives/hikes away. Some nice staff here and their cook does magic as the food was excellent. Friendly dogs too

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Belford Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
10.0
15th Mar 2012

Good staff, good hostel and excellent value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Inverness Tourist Hostel, Inverness, Scotland
10.0
15th Jan 2012

Clean, cheap and with a very very good atmosphere created by the staff who were brilliant. Lots of stuff for free and the games room is brilliant. I really wasn't expecting much when I booked, but staying here has been one of the highlights of my trip so far. A hostel is more than just a cheap place to stay and this place really gets it. Good times and thanks for the memories guys

View Property Reply

Wow, we couldn't have said it better ourselves. Thanks for the review and take care.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.7
18th Dec 2011

Good hostel, comfortable beds and excellent value for money. Central location but suffers because of this as my room was over a very busy and noisy road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Inverness Tourist Hostel, Inverness, Scotland
10.0
12th Sep 2011

A proper hostel that understands what backpacking and hostels are all about, which is becoming more & more rare these days. The location, price and atmosphere are excellent. People were playing the piano and guitars and then we all headed out on a pub crawl. My second stay in two months and the new staff have the place really clean now.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Birmingham Central Backpackers, Birmingham, England
10.0
21st Aug 2011

A proper hostel that understands what backpacking and hostels are all about, which is becoming more & more rare these days. Cheap, clean, free breakfast, free evening snacks, free computers & wifi, free towels & something on every night ... the list goes on. Brilliant location as well and very near the bus/train stations and the Bullring markets where food is extremely cheap. Stayed at the other hostel in Birmingham and really regret that now as it just doesn't compare to this place.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Belford Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
10.0
29th Jun 2011

Proper old school hostel

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Belford Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
10.0
28th Jun 2011

Proper hostel

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
The Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
5.3
31st May 2011

Sterile hostel and was happy to be moving on. Too many signs all over the place with instructions or rules, old worn uncomfortable mattresses in my dorm, poor showers and just a general feel that the place was not customer friendly. Staff wouldn't do me any favours with getting my laundry done(extra mile?), asked for the wifi password I get a finger that points to another sign, no power points in room(for safety!), no night staff ... everything on their terms and that's it. Horrible place.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Ashton House Hostel, Manchester, England
6.7
29th May 2011

Very nice and helpful lady on reception, very good security, cheap stay and breakfast included. Showers, toilets and common area were very dirty during my first night stay. Showers were not cleaned at all during my whole stay and the same dirty underwear, towels and empty shower gel bottles were still lying around. Nice sit down showers but the water doesn't drain so your left with someone else's dirty water all over the place. No heating in dorm or common room.Good convenient location.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Astor Hyde Park, London, England
6.7
28th May 2011

You could tell the staff all lived there and had "I hate my life" written all over their faces. So uninterested it was comical. But £24 in a 9 bed dorm is excellent value for a Saturday night on a bank holiday weekend in London. A clean hostel. Very hot in my room even with the windows open and a fan on. Excellent kitchen and lounge. In a leafy, clean area of London, and you can smell the money in the air, but boring and you'll be spending cash to get the Tube to go to other places.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
6.3
26th May 2011

Good hostel to use for one or two nights as very close to Victoria station. I hope the key codes for main door and rooms are changed regularly as it is very easy to get up to the rooms through the bar; seven times I walked through with no questions asked or even a look, so use the lockers. Sleep disturbed a lot as triple high bunks were noisy and moved a lot. Room had no place to hang towels, clothes etc. Very clean showers & toilets, even on a busy weekend. Night porter needs a holiday.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.0
10th Jan 2011

Comfortable bed and second time staying in a week, but do something with the guy working in the bar. Always a hassle trying to get served and when you do he just holds up two fingers to indicate the price, no please no thanks you and not just to me either. Split a full drink over a long term guests mobile phone, hilarious as it brought him right down to earth, but he didn't even apologise, just gave her a cloth to clean it up and carried on trying to look good?! Shame, as rest of staff are good.

View Property Reply

Hi thank you first of all for your positive feedback on our work here at our hostel,...we always aim to give you the best we can, as far as the barman is concerned a warning has been issued to be more friendly during our busy periods, failure to do so will result in his hair gel being confiscated.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.3
2nd Jan 2011

Great bunk beds, quiet, dark and comfortable. Unfortunately no proper cooking facilities, just two microwaves and a toaster! Trying to force you to use the restaurant and what it serves up for £5 is poor. Charging me £1 because I paid with my UK debit card is a total rip off and just greed as no way a hostel of this size and business is being charged that much by its bank.

View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time and writing us a feedback. Unfortunately the lack of space did not allow us to provide a self catering kitchen which we try to compensate with the cheap dinner that we offer. We are sorry if you found the menu poor. As per the charge for the card payment, it is a practice in most places as we do get charged by the bank. I am afraid it does apply to any type of card. We understand that it can cause inconvenience. We hope that besides the above you will still return to Palmers Lodge in the near future. Palmers Lodge Team

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
007 Bristol Hostel, Bristol, England
4.3
4th Oct 2010

Good option if you're arriving late from the airport as its on the airport express route (get off at west st/bedminister) or on an extremely tight budget, but that's it. Too far outside Bristol centre to use as a base for longer stays. Woke up cold in the middle of the night in the deluxe room and toilets/showers were not cleaned during the night. More halfway house than backpackers.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Kitsch Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
9.7
28th Sep 2010

Really good hostel atmosphere. Excellent value for money at €10 a night & in an excellent location. Staff are very nice & helpful (and the females were all very attractive) but let down by one who couldn't remember how to get to Costa de Caparica even though she said she'd been too it lots of times. Instead of helping me she directed me to the tourist info office to ask! Very lazy. Very clean toilets & showers. Breakfast was very good; cereal, fruit, juice, freshly cooked buns and croissants.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Alfama Patio Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
9.7
26th Sep 2010

By far the best location in Lisbon as the Alfama district is the best in the city. The hostel tries very hard to entertain its guests and has something on everyday and night. I just love the relaxed atmosphere about the place and instantly made friends and felt at home. Would return again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Rock N Bowl Hostel, Bristol, England
6.3
4th Aug 2010

Great kitchen,location,common room and staff but not enough of them and because of this security is an issue. I hate advertising this but the hostel reception is not staffed 24/7 as staff are doing other duties, leaving the front door wide open. Anyone can and do just wander into the hostel as it�s on a busy street. It�s made even worse as the doors are key-coded and never changed. It�s a total disregard by the owners for the safety & security of the guests

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Litton Lane Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
9.0
16th Jul 2010

Cheap, great location and excellent staff

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Isaacs Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
9.7
22nd Jun 2010

Wow, very very impressed by this hostel. I've stayed in about 40 to 50 different hostels but this must be one of the best. Great location, lots to do, very clean, excellent kitchen, comfy dorm beds, free sauna (should be 24hours and not just between 6-9pm), fantastic common area's especially the cellar area, relaxed atmosphere and most important of all its very cheap. The hostel celebrates its 25th year in June and if they keep up the good work will definitely make it to 50 years. I'd stay again

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Rethymno Youth Hostel, Crete, Greece
7.3
7th May 2010

Wifi is not free and costs �3 a day. There\'s loads of free wifi hotspots along the sea front. Temporary manager needs to brush up on his manner.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Journeys Brighton Hostel, Brighton, England
7.3
17th Jul 2009

Stayed in all of the hostels in Brighton over the last two years and this one is head and shoulders above the rest for location and cleanliness.Baggies and Grapevine have more character.Excellent toilets,kitchen,breakfast and bunk was so comfortable i over slept.Security was my only issue.I was checked in without showing any id and its very easy to just walk into this hostel during the day and night time.Rooms have keycode entry but once you get into a hostel its very easy to get into a dorm..

View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comment. We are trying to more the hostel secure by installing a front door code for late night entries & exits and set up systems for better security at check in. Thanks again for your comments and look forward to seeing you back in Brighton soon. Journeys Brighton Team

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
City Public Hostel, Copenhagen, Denmark
8.7
25th Aug 2008

Cash only and has its long termers so you can pick up on the info your not going to find online or in books. Have read other comments about the beds but mine were fine and pretty standard for a hostel. Showers are clean and available 24 hours like reception. Kitchen is as good as they get.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Greenwich, London, England
4.0
24th Feb 2007

Worst of the St Christophers

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
8.3
23rd Feb 2007

Can�t believe how cheap this hostel is. Such a nice place and the dorms are fantastic. Free internet on new computers is a first for me. Free wifi for laptops too. Not a party backpackers at all so if that�s what you�re looking for go someplace else. Good free breakfast.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
7.7
16th Feb 2007

By far the nicest dorms i have ever been in, 3 star hotel standard really. Spot on location in a safe part of London. Staff was very good, professional and genuine. Toilets and showers are very small. Has only one microwave for guest use. Cannot understand this as the hostel is excellent in every other way. The bar is small and only has a bar snack menu. Breakfast is good. This is a hostel where you have to make your own fun as it does nothing to entertain the guests. If they can get this and the kitchen problem sorted this would be the best hostel in London

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Globetrotter Inn London, London, England
4.7
25th Jan 2007

Another hostel let down by its staff. Bar is very expensive for a hostel. You can have a good time here but I did notice one set of rules for guests and none for staff. Food is also expensive but is of a very high standard and you get a lot on your plate. Place is clean to for a large building. Gym was impressive.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
7.3
18th Jan 2007

Great reception staff. A breath of fresh air really. Not just a bunch of backpackers passing through but full time professionals. For me I felt the location was spot on. Swiss cottage is a nice area and has some nice bars/shops very close by.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.