Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Caballo Loco Hostel, Montevideo, Uruguay
8.3
14th May 2017

The hostel was okay. My bed was fine and there is a nice area to hang out. The bathrooms weren't always the cleanest and the toilet paper bins need to be cleaned out more! They're almost always overflowing. That was gross! Other than that, it was pretty standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Sabatico Travelers Hostel, Buenos Aires, Argentina
9.4
2nd May 2017

I spent over a week here and loved it. The staff was wonderful- they gave me great recommendations and were nice to hang with. Breakfast was really good too. My only negative really is that there were only two plugs in the four bed dorm. I would go back here though if I were returning to BA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Babilonia Hostel, Cordoba, Argentina
8.9
27th Apr 2017

This place is great, except for one thing: there really aren't enough bathrooms, even when it's not that busy. There are three single use bathrooms for the entire place. You better hope you don't have stomach issues here! Even knowing that though, is probably still go back if I return to Córdoba. And if there's an asado night while you're there, do it!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Punto Urbano, Mendoza, Argentina
6.0
23rd Apr 2017

I don't recommend staying here. When people say it's a little run down, that's too generous. Things are broken: the light in one bathroom, the soap dispensers in some bathrooms, things all over are half broken. My locker turned out to be one of them! And someone broke it open and stole money. The police think it was a staff member since they must have known the condition, and the owner was not helpful. They have a ton of people living there for cleaning too, but they don't seem to clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Magallanes, Punta Arenas, Chile
8.9
15th Apr 2017

Super comfy and the staff is amazing! The negatives are that there are no lockers and laundry is rediculously expensive!! Also, I returned in census day where restaurants and the grocery store were closed. I wish they had told me when I made the reservation or had an option for me. Instead I was left struggling for food. Good thing breakfast there is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Providencia, Santiago, Chile
9.1
2nd Apr 2017

I like it here. I've stayed twice and will go back again. The beds are comfy, the staff is great, and breakfast is amazing!! My only complaint is that it can be kind of loud throughout the night, especially if you're near reception.

View Property Reply

We appreciate a lot your evaluation and comment. Thanks for helping us to improve our services. We are glad to know that you're coming back, and we will work to give you an even better experience. Thanks! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Aji Hostel, Santiago, Chile
8.0
31st Mar 2017

It's an all right hostel, but not that great. Free breakfast and dinner is nice, but on fridays, the dinner isn't free and it's expensive!! (But it's really good). The floors creak loudly, so it's loud in the hostel all night long. Also, our toilet broke and no one cared to fix it. They kept saying they'd be upstairs to take care of it and didn't come. And hot water is lacking. But the atmosphere is good here because the dinners get everyone together.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Escarabajo Hostel, Valparaiso, Chile
8.3
27th Mar 2017

The hostel was pretty good. The floors though are terrible and squeak like crazy with every step. I didn't get a good night sleep here at all because of this. Also, the kitchen is kinda small. The staff was great though and always tried to include everybody socially.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Michel, Vicuna, Chile
8.0
26th Mar 2017

It's was clean, and in a good location in town. There was only one bathroom for the dorms, which could have been a problem if there were more people. The staff member who checked me in talked a lot! She had a plan of what the best things to do with your time are. I didn't want to rent a bike (and do her plan), and she got upset with me. Kind of strange. Also, the hostel definitely caters to french travelers. I don't speak french, so that was a problem socially.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal El Arbol, La Serena, Chile
9.1
24th Mar 2017

The hostel was pretty nice and breakfast was great. It was convenient and neat the bus stop, downtown, and a huge supermarket. The only negatives are that there isn't too much space to hang out in (but there is some!), and the space between bottom and top bunks was scary- about a foot! I had to shimmy to get into my bottom bunk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers San Pedro, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
7.1
21st Mar 2017

The hostel itself is fine, though nothing special. The staff was rude! I dealt with a few different people there too. I wouldn't go back or recommend it for that reason alone. But it was also pretty far out and hard to find. I'd stay somewhere in downtown if I were to return. Also, the pool was closed when I was there because it was too dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Buen Pastor, Nazca, Peru
9.4
7th Mar 2017

I really liked it here. The owners were very helpful- I even got a recommendation for a haircut that was great. I did have to move after one night, though I'm not sure why. I didn't ask. I had hot water in the first room, but not the second. Also, it's really hot in Nazca, and it gets really hot in the rooms. I was happy i stayed here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Brisbane City YHA, Brisbane, Australia
8.0
14th Dec 2016

It's a nice, clean, and comfortable hostel. One man at reception was really rude, but the others were friendly and helpful. If I were coming back to Brisbane, I'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cape Byron YHA, Byron Bay, Australia
8.3
12th Dec 2016

Not a bad hostel at all- has some long termers, but that's every hostel in Australia and comes with its problems. The staff were great and the location was awesome. I'd go back if I were returning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
790 on George, Sydney, Australia
6.6
7th Dec 2016

There are a lot of "long termers" living there, which is awkward, and the staff caters to them. They were pretty dirty and cliquey and made it uncomfortable for those of us who are traveling. None of the hostel rules are followed by staff, leading to a free for all by those living at the hostel. I heard much better things about the YHA next door. I don't recommend this place- it's dirty and gross and run by a bunch of 19 year olds who live there.

View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback; we take all feedback on board to better our hostel. At the moment we don't actually have long term guests at our hostel. We have guests that pay weekly but have a 28 day max stay policy. It has recently come to my attention that guests that do stay a few weeks tend to write "long term" when labelling their food in the kitchen, this may be where the confusion has come from. I understand where you are coming from when you say guests are 'Cliquey'. Our entertainment schedule is currently undergoing a revamp so it does make it slightly more difficult to meet new people! I really feel like you are talking about a different hostel when you say its run by a bunch of 19 year olds. As much as I and other management wish for the days of being 19 again, unfortunately these days are far and long behind us Again, thanks for taking the time to leave us siome feedback and we hope to see you again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Soni's Backpackers House, Ubud, Indonesia
8.3
16th Nov 2016

The hostel itself was fine, but no real area to hang out. I was the only one in my dorm for three nights. The room itself was fine, but the toilet seat was broken. The pool is cold which is great but there is no space really around the pool to sit out. The staff were very friendly. The location is pretty far but walkable. The shuttle was nice but they wanted me to call for pickup. That would work if I had a phone sim. The airport shuttle only runs in the morning and at noon. not good for night d

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
M Boutique Hostel Seminyak, Seminyak, Indonesia
8.0
9th Nov 2016

Pool was nice. Overall it was a fine hostel. When I booked, I didn't see an option for a female dorm, but they have one. I switched when I got there which was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mercy Hostel, Chiang Rai, Thailand
9.4
13th Sep 2016

Good hostel. Clean and very clean bathroom. The pool wasn't really a pool- it's maybe one foot deep. Maybe less... But I was happy with my stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Lub d Bangkok Silom, Bangkok, Thailand
8.3
4th Sep 2016

Everything was pretty good, clean, and comfortable. My only real complaint is the guy who works the tourism desk. He was just rude. He'd make sarcastic comments about every question I asked and made it very uncomfortable to get info. The front desk people were all great, but they refer questions about the area to the other guy. He only gave one suggestion of things to do in the city other than shopping and had a nasty attitude. I do plan to stay here again when i return to bangkok though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Santander Central Hostel, Santander, Spain
8.3
10th Aug 2016

It was a fine, though cramped hostel. I'm not sure how long it took them to figure out how to squish so many beds into one room. It didn't help that the girls on the bed under me (that's why I marked down on security cause they clearly didn't know there were two people sharing a bed) took up so much space with all their stuff and didn't leave any for me. It's also hard to see from the street as the sign is so small. I also had to pay for luggage storage, though I didn't see the

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel London, London, England
8.0
28th Jul 2016

it was a fine hostel. Not the most amazing I've seen and kind of pricey, though I'm sure that is just London. I don't really have any complaints, but I also wasn't wow'd by it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.9
31st Jul 2014

Andrea was very helpful and even gave me a free room upgrade from a private without a TV to one that had one after I shared my plan to just relax all day. Also she shared with me some bananas from the tree outside that had just ripened_ delicious!! Be aware of the fine print for the private rooms as ac is available, but not included in the price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mamallena, Boquete, Panama
8.3
28th Jul 2014

The hostel was okay the beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in at a hostel. The WiFi did not work well in most of the hostel. Also, they charged me the full amount even though I paid my deposit through hostelworld. I didn't realize until after I left though, so I guess that's my fault. Its still a bit shady though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Maracuya Hostel, San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua
8.3
20th Jul 2014

The hillyou have to walk up to get thereis a little annoying. The hotel itself was fine, but for that price, I expected more.

View Property Reply

Hi Mindi, we try to provide the best service to our customers, I hope you visit again the hotel and maybe we can fill your expectations . We work every day to be better. best regards.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Milan, Alicante, Spain
3.1
11th Jun 2013

In two words: BED BUGS!!! And then they refused to give me my money back for the rest of my stay, as I left after one horrible night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Vertigo Centre, Marseille, France
7.4
8th May 2013

I had a fine stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Costa Verde Gijon, Gijon, Spain
8.3
12th Apr 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.4
11th Apr 2013

It was very dark in the room- I only had one tiny lamp. I had to put the bathroom light on to be able to see.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.6
31st Mar 2013

It was a fine hostel, very clean. I liked it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Shelter City, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.0
27th Mar 2013

It was a little awkward feeling like my religious beliefs were being judged.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Happy Hostal Carrales, Burgos, Spain
8.9
23rd Mar 2013

It was a nice place. I was happy there. I had a shared bath room, but did have a sink and shower in the room. Although I would have preferred a toilet, it was a pleasant surprise. I would go back there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Globe Trott Inns, London, England
2.9
23rd Feb 2013

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed it!It was dirty and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. It was not only far from London, it was quite a long walk from the metro stop, and in a sketchy neighborhood, not a walk was comfortable doing at night. Also, the man working at the hostel threw an all night party in the common room- it was so loud! I couldn't sleep! And since the only person to complain to was also the host, there was nothing I could do. I would never stay here again!

View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write this review. The entire hostel is cleaned on a daily basis and the bathrooms are then maintained every 2 hours. Our location is clearly indicated on the map. It takes 35 minutes approx. to the centre of London. Hostels located in the centre of London charge a premium on their rates and even with the travel costs involved we still work out cheaper and much better value with free towels, free WiFi, free breakfast etc. The tube station is less than 5 minutes walk away. The hostel is not located in a 'sketchy' area. Many hostels find this a common complaint from guests visiting from the US regardless of where they are. You booked a hostel aimed at backpackers aged 18-35 and were surprised to find staff entertaining guests with a party! I would like to apologise if your sleep was disturbed. It's not something I like to read or hear about, but for future reference if it happens again at another hostel please just speak to whoever is working; they will help as we want everyone to be happy and to enjoy their stay. It's much better to do this rather than wait a week to vent as no hostel wants to be receiving reviews like this. Can I just point out to others reading we do have a quiet policy after 11pm. Take care and enjoy the rest of your trip.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pella-Inn, Athens, Greece
7.4
14th Feb 2013

It was adequate. Safe enough that I felt comfortable as a female alone, but I didn't go out past 8. I got what I expected for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Alda Centro Salamanca Hostel, Salamanca, Spain
8.0
6th Dec 2012

It was a great location! The breakfast consisted of bread and jelly, so that was disappointing. It was a fine hostal, but nothing I would rush to stay at again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.