Reviews: Anonymous

Hostal Licanantay

Valparaiso, Chile
34%

The place was dirty, everything needs cleaning and a new lick of paint. They give a key to the front door to everyone so it's not secure at all. There's no staff at night so no-one to prevent unwanted guests. The living room is a smoking room- it stinks. The staff don't know the town well, are not friendly and are generally very immature. One has to light the boiler with a match to turn the hot water on. They have speakers all around the hostel and blast the music at all hours of the night.

  • 15th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (2 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
1) The hostel is been cleaned every day and we try our best to maintenance the cleaning during the whole day. The day that you were in the hostel we had some problems with the tap in the kitchen which we resolved quickly. 2) I can assure you that only guests of the hostel have key to the front door! I don´t know how you got the impression that we give our key to everyone. How stupid are we to risk the security of our guests and the security of the hostel? 3) Obviously you are the only one that didn´t like our staff - we have a 90% in hostelwolrd. The girl that did the check in with you is new in the hostel so it is normal that she doesn´t know the city so well so far - apart from the fact that she is a foreigner as you. The other girls that work in the hostel know really well the city, they create friendships with the guests and many times they go out together to party. Also they live in the hostel so as to control it 24h per day...well we can´t really been liked by anyone right? 4) We are a smoking friendly hostel. The only place that it is permitted to smoke is in the living room where there is always a window open. Seems that the majority of our guests like that this is why we keep the same policy with smoking. 5) We did not tell you that light the boiler is a part of your chores as a guest in the hostel. We told you that in the case that it is closed we can turn it on for you and we showed you how to do it just in case we are not around. 6) The music from the speakers creates a relaxed ambient in the hostel. The music stops always at night and we are always willing to close it if any guest complains. Until now you seem to be the first one.