Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: PoshLobster

Location Australia, Gender Male, Age 24

  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Sin City Hostel, Las Vegas, USA
7.4
10th Sep 2013

Looks like a run down motel converted. When i was there, there was hardly anyone staying there, so it wasnt great. Wifi is mostly good. It is actually a paun to get to the strip without a car and costs a fair amount if youre catching buses. The area has loads of homeless and beggars.. Didnt feel safe to me. I ended up staying at a hotel on the strip. Staff were really friendly though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Apple Hostels of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, USA
8.6
26th Aug 2013

Staff were really nice to me. Instead of the usual jam and toast breakfast, the hostel did pasta dinner and free alcohol on one night. The atmosphere wasnt great because there were always movies on in the common room.. Not'a great place to talk to people. Wifi was spotty at best and very slow sometimes. Bathrooms are cubicles. Location is perfect, you cant get any better in philly. Laundry cost $5 per load. Everything is walking distance so a subway pass is not needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
HI NYC Hostel, New York, USA
8.9
22nd Aug 2013

Nice hostel 2 min walk to central park, 1 to the subway. Strong consistent wifi, elevator, massive awesome kitchen, really easy to meet and talk to people. Its about 20 mins to times square on the subway. Towels provided

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.0
16th Aug 2013

Its technically a different town from boston, but its about 10 mins on the train, not so bad. Staff are really nice. Wifi in the rooms is not so good so everyone in the common area has their nose in a phone. In a brazillian neighbourhood so theres some nice cafes within walking distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Alexandrie-Montréal, Montreal, Canada
7.1
9th Aug 2013

Quite a nice location. 5 minute walk to the gay street. Wifi only in common area so most people were talking to their ipads instead of each other. The room i was in didnt have a bathroom, so i had to walk outside over a roof into what looks like someones apartment.not the most convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Next2 Metro, Taipei, Taiwan
9.4
17th May 2013

i arrived late at night and left early in the morning, but it was comfortable, clean, and i couldve stayed there longer. the staff stayed up late to let me in, which i am thankful for. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
9.7
7th May 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights in 9 bed dorm. Very comfortable, the curtain on the bunks was nice for privacy/blocking light. I'd stay here again if I went back to Hong Kong.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Lamb Tour House, Taipei, Taiwan
9.7
6th May 2013

unbeatable location. very clean. would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Meeting Place, Taipei, Taiwan
6.3
2nd May 2013

seems like a bunch of people are there long term. very little conversation. theres also a company office that shares the space. This isn't like a normal hostel at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Deejai Backpacker, Chiang Mai, Thailand
8.3
24th Apr 2013

I'd say adequate. easy to break into the rooms through the windows.. wifi doesnt reach many rooms, and because of this the common area is filled with people staring at their laptop screens.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
INBOX Hostel by FWD, Chiang Mai, Thailand
8.0
16th Apr 2013

the vibe was awesome. the rooms were not so clean and quite easy to break into through the window. helpful staff, good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Link Corner Hostel, Bangkok, Thailand
9.7
12th Apr 2013

It was a decent hostel. short walk to MBK and the shopping centres near. not so good for public transport as you need to pay 2 different trains to go anywhere that isnt on the airport line.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
U-Baan Guesthouse, Bangkok, Thailand
9.7
7th Apr 2013

excellent little place. staff were really nice, and the atmosphere very chill. met some awesome people. there was a bedbug scare and the lady running the place was cleaning and killing EVERYTHING. I was confident that no bedbug would ever survive it, which is reassuring. really good place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Siam Journey Guesthouse, Bangkok, Thailand
10.0
3rd Apr 2013

Having stayed at 6 or 7 hostels in bangkok, this is for sure my favourite. The hostel itself is nothing special, but the people who run it, and the kind of guests that come through are definitely what makes this place great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.1
30th Mar 2013

Sick old games/lounge room. the dorms are JUST far enough away that the wifi signal doesnt reach, which is a bummer. comfortable, clean. better than the other hostel i stayed at in hanoi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Street Backpackers Hostel, Hanoi, Vietnam
6.0
28th Mar 2013

I dont know how this place has the ratings it does. The floor has never been cleaned. The common area is several footrests in the reception; not comfortable at all. The internet only lets 5 people join at once which is outrageous. The only good thing is the price and location.

View Property Reply

sorry thomas,what do you need in a small hostel like my,only 3.99$ with breakfast free,wifi,ac in room,locker,free beer and rice wine in happy hour everyday,so anything els you need???

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
HQ Cafe, Nha Trang, Vietnam
10.0
23rd Mar 2013

Awesome hostel. met some awesome people. only thing is that the common area is in the actual room. For us, this was fine, but for some i can imagine this would be frustrating if people are up and you're trying to sleep. I liked it though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Long Hostel, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
8.3
15th Mar 2013

A fine hostel. Hot water, comfortable beds, close to main st, bus stop only 200m away. Only downside was the common room was just a couch in reception, so it was difficult to meet people outside your room. Poor atmosphere if youre travelling alone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Velkommen Backpackers, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
8.6
5th Mar 2013

Its a good atmosphere, easy to meet people for sure. The 10 bed dorm on the top floor is fiendishly hot. The lady who runs the place is a bit touchy feely with rhe guys which i didnt like. Otherwise the food is good and not too unreasonably priced. Location is good. Wifi is only in the common area/bar/reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Siam Journey Guesthouse, Bangkok, Thailand
9.7
22nd Feb 2013

Booked 2 nights and stayed 4 or 5. I enjoyed it. There was a german guy saying that movie night ruins the atmosphere of the place, but the only thing ruining it was his complaints. Good location, close to train and markets which never seem to close. Theres also a train to the cambodian border right nearby that costs only 48 baht. American guys working there are pretty genuine and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Lub d Bangkok Silom, Bangkok, Thailand
7.1
20th Feb 2013

It was ok. No idea why it got such high ratings because its nothing special. The room i was in smelled of sewage.. Not sure if thats to do with the bathroom renovations or not.

View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear that you did not have good stay during your last visit. During that time, we had a bathroom renovation and some smell came out. Now it has been fixed and no smell left. :) We have always worked hard to make our guests' stay better. We truly appreciated your comments. Hope to see you again. Sincerely, Lub d Management

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Pak-Up Hostel, Krabi, Thailand
10.0
17th Feb 2013

awesome hostel. really comfortable. met awesome people. I suggest getting your alcohol from 7/11 and not their bar, as its about 3x less expensive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Zackry Guest House, Langkawi, Malaysia
7.7
14th Feb 2013

average hostel. It's proximity to the beach is what sold it to me. directly over the road from some massive resorts. theres motorcycle rental nearby, as well as some cheap restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Red Inn, Penang, Malaysia
8.6
11th Feb 2013

i have nothing to rave about, but nothing to complain about either. It was comfortable and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
9.1
7th Feb 2013

cool place. awesome people. no wifi in rooms so everyone in lobby has their face in a laptop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.7
4th Feb 2013

really enjoyed my stay here. One of my favourite hostels in SE asia. Very chill vibe. awesome location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • PoshLobster
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
River City Inn, Singapore, Singapore
8.6
31st Jan 2013

comfortable. felt a little claustrophobic, but nothing to complain about. excellent location. clarke quay is the place to be.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.