Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Mediterranean Youth Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
8.9
30th May 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in a private room. The room was very clean and had a beautiful view of the street. The room was peaceful at night and we had a good sleep. Staff are great here! Breakfast isnt included here, which it could be considering the prices (Airbnb is about 30€ cheaper per night). But its a good place to meet people! There was a dinner on each night for 6.50€ and pub crawls on offer every night for 13€. Overall, it was a nice place and I would stay again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Union Hotel, San Francisco, USA
6.6
4th May 2016

The staff here are absolutely lovely. The location is great. The place itself is not luxurious by any means and the room was rather small. But I suppose this is to be expected from budget accommodation in an expensive city. No complaints! Reasonable budget accommodation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Grasshopper Hostel, Cusco, Peru
7.4
10th Apr 2016

A basic place. Staff were lovely. The room was cold and made entirely from concrete. The hot water didnt work most of the time. It worked on the last night we stayed. Breakfast was simple; white bread and butter. There was some puffed corn also. It was cheap, and overall I would say it was good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Casa Agua Canela, Quito, Ecuador
10.0
25th Mar 2016

We had a delightful time at Casa Agua Canela. In fact, this may have been the best place we have stayed in South America so far. The host David was extremely kind and helpful. He was always wanting to help and had great recommendations for us. The place itself was beautiful and extremely clean. The wifi connection was excellent. The location was extremely convenient and easy to find, yet quiet. We had a great sleep. I highly recommend staying here and wish I had been able to stay longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Portal del Sur, Buenos Aires, Argentina
8.0
5th Mar 2016

I loved this place and would definitely stay here again! It was in a beautiful old building. The rooftop bar was nice and we met lots of people there. Staff were very helpful. The main downside was the wifi which was lacking in many parts of the building, and often cut out. We couldnt use it in our room which was disappointing as we paid for a double room (which was otherwise lovely).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostal Providencia, Santiago, Chile
8.9
3rd Mar 2016

Great staff! They are really helpful and all apeak English. The travel desk is particularly helpful. The location is excellent and my room at least was nice and quiet. Its also party hostel with cool events each night. Downsides- the place is massive and seems to attract large groups as well as many seeking to relocate to Chile. Not ideal for solo travelers. Average age of people staying is a bit younger here than average (early 20s)

View Property Reply

Hey! And thanks a lot for the review! Glad you enjoyed our cool events! We rely on cool people coming to make them any good - so really we should be thanking you! We do receive all types of people here in the hostel; the majority are backpackers, but also holidaymakers, students, workers and families - you can practice your Spanish with locals, find out what it's like being a foreign student in Chile, or find out why so many Brazilians come here on holiday! We have a bar and have plenty of fun, but we're not a full-on party hostel at the end of the day. We do have promotions for all the guests at some cool bars and clubs - ask about free entry and drinks at reception next time you're here! Travel safe, hasta la proxima.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hospedaje Costanera, Punta Arenas, Chile
10.0
29th Feb 2016

I can honestly say, this is by far the best hostel I have stayed in all of South America. Staff were lovely and helpful the place was gorgeous. I had a heater in my room. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
H Rado Hostel, Santiago, Chile
8.9
20th Feb 2016

The staff are amazing, breakfast was great and there is a friendly social atmosphere. Good for solo travellers or otherwise. The only downside which is not the failt of the hostel is that this is the noisiest place I have ever stayed in. There was a hot dog vendor next door playing music so loudly that my room was vibrating. I thought there was a concert going on. The music was on from avout 11pm to 6am every night (I stayed 3 nights).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
8.3
18th Jan 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
St Christopher's Village, London, England
5.7
12th Jan 2013

Nothing is free - lockers in rooms do not have locks. WiFi is really slow, internet you have to pay for and its slow. The crowd is really young - many 18 year old first time travellers. There was even a group of school kids here. This place calls itself a party hostel but there are no parties. It just happens to have a pub attached which isn't the greatest. I went here because I wanted to meet people but it wasnt the best. Not the worst hostel but certainly fell below expectations.

View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to see you didn't enjoy your stay as much as you should have. We provide a range of free items: DVDs to watch in our Cinema Room, breakfast, earplugs, magazines, city guides and WiFi. We apologize if you experienced some slowness with our WiFi. We do not have the facilities to provide free luggage storage and moreover we do not think it is safe to allow our guests to deposit their belongings in an unattended luggage room. They can use instead one of our lockers for a very cheap price. The age range of our guests is 18-30 as you pointed in your review, they are generally backpacker travellers. We are proud to label our hostel as a 'party hostel'. Very often we run events to entertain our guests and we encourage them to party while hanging out around the hostel: they can use the common spaces such as the chill out room, cinema room or our rooftop terrace. If no event is going on in the hostel our guests can still have a great time in our attached bar, Belushi's: there is a different theme every night of the week as well as cheap drinks and special deals. To make sure our guests have more than one possibility to enjoy themselves we also have partnership with nearby clubs and also sell discount tickets for pub crawl. Kinds Regards, St. Christopher's Village Team.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
My My Arthouse, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.4
28th Dec 2012

This hostel was amazing! The tours were cheaper than any of the travel agents or competitors. The staff were brilliant! Kim especially was so helpful! Good place to meet people also. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Mojzo inn, Nha Trang, Vietnam
8.3
24th Dec 2012

Fun hostel! Great breakfast and really nice staff. Only downside is the shoes off rule. The floors are always sandy and you have to walk around barefoot. Either clean the floors more regularly or change the rule.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sunflower Hotel Hoi An, Hoi An, Vietnam
6.3
21st Dec 2012

This isn't a very good hostel for meeting people. It is also a fair walk from the city. Staff don't speak the best English. The breakfast was great but otherwise the place was pretty average.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
10.0
15th Dec 2012

This was one of the greatest hostels I have ever stayed at!! Awesome staff. Really easy to meet people. Castaway tour was absolutely brilliant!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.