Reviews: Anonymous

Samesun Venice Beach

Los Angeles, USA
83%

Great place close to the beach. Very clean, great wifi, helpful staff. Only problem was there were only two bathrooms on each floor causing a lot of waiting to use them.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Los Angeles, USA
94%

Great place to stay, great parties, super close to everything in Hollywood.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Miami Hostel

Miami, USA
34%

This hostel has the potential to be really great but they are missing any motivation or desire to help the people who are paying for rooms. Not a single staff member had an idea about miami, asking about tourist things to do, like tours of downtown and the everglades was pointless as the wouldn't know or would blantly give you wrong directions to make you go away. This happened to my group too many times to be tolerated. Not clean, crappy wifi, bad location, grumpy staff.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You came for the 4 of july holiday,we had a special friday BBQ we had the jakuzzi,we had beer pong,we have billard.About how bad our location is we are located 10 mnt walk to the beach and in the heart of south beach.We are so sorry who ever you ask for directions didnt give you good answer any ways we are just a front desk hostel we are not miami turism information desk.We have excellent wifi.We have daily house keeping services,Our staff has alot of tolerance for the huge diversity of guests.

B Hotel & Hostel

New York, USA
80%

Great location for hostel close to the metro to get to manhattan or for walking around Brooklyn. Really clean, good wifi, nice bathrooms. Only one complaint is that we booked a 4 person dorm and ended up having two 2 person dorms, as it seems they only have 2 person rooms. The place also runs as a hotel so it has a more hotel atmosphere but that is nice after a long busy day sightseeing.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


57%

Very basic hostel that needs to be done up to be considered good. No aircon or blinds which was troublesome for sleeping. Bathrooms could use a good clean and taps that work properly. However the hostel does have great activities and Margaret is an amazing your leader, finding the best spots in Hawaii.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


83%

No customer comment

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Ikoi-no-Ie Kyoto

Kyoto, Japan
77%

They have a great jPanese breakfast that can be ordered additionally. It is really worth it! The house we stayed in was a bit too cold in the communal areas but the room had a heater so it wasn't too bad.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Castle Rock Hostel

Edinburgh, Scotland
91%

No customer comment

  • 11th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Inverness Tourist Hostel

Inverness, Scotland
51%

Nice enough hostel to sleep in, but don't expect any more than a bed. Staff were too busy chatting to provide advice and when they did it was incorrect or not even helpful. Lots of people living there full time which always creates a weird atmosphere! Security was pathetic with one front door code and a key lock to the room, except all the room mates never locked our door! All the lockers were broken too. However the city itself and the countrysides surrounding is definitely worth the trip!

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry your stay was not as you hoped. The staff try to be as accurate with advice but genuine mistakes can occur. We only have 3 long-term stayers out of 54 beds but we do have guests who arrive & like the place enough to extend their stays beyond their original booking. All lockers work but many guests bring their own padlock or dont feel the need to lock things up. Your fellow guests not closing the front door properly is beyond our remit. We can only remind them, as could you.

Blue Sky Hostel

Glasgow, Scotland
71%

No customer comment

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Kinlay Eyre Square Hostel

Galway, Ireland
100%

Amazing hostel! Beds were comfy, had great wifi, awesome common room and kitchen, most helpful staff I have ever met, and an amazing breakfast. Galway is also a super Irish place to visit, exactly what you imagine Ireland to be like! Loved every bit of my stay!

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Four Courts Hostel

Dublin, Ireland
54%

This hostel (like many others in dublin) has high amounts of long term residents. This makes the atmosphere really strange and unfriendly especially for a solo traveller. Wifi only worked downstairs (if it did) meaning everyone was face to screen all day and night. There was also very few awkwardly placed charging points! In a 16 bed dorm there were only 2. 2 rooms of 16 also had to share 2 showers and toilets which was chaotic at quite times. Overall very strange hostel, could be improved.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
As a capital city you get students that are here to study for a couple of weeks, Guests that want to get a job and a flat and stay a while hoping all will work out and then you get the backpacker that drops in and drops out bringing and taking memories. It should be a great mix with each group offering something to the other. Internet has killed a lot of social interaction but we limit it to downstairs so you can make friends with your room mates. Free walking tours/nightly pubcrawls also help.

Vagabonds

Belfast, Northern Ireland
100%

Awesome hostel with a bunch of really cool people! Everyone is super friendly and they have amazing dinners every night where you can meet heaps of other travellers. They also organise pub crawl kinda things every night which is awesome for exploring a city! Best hostel ever.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


89%

Awesome hostel just opposite Sacre Cour and super close to a metro line. It was nice and clean and safe and our group even got upgraded to a smaller room which was amazing. There is a good kitchen and cheapish laundry. But overall the staff are super helpful for everything, directions, eating suggestions and even helping to print tickets. Would stay here again if I visit Paris!

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Central Station Hostel

Amsterdam, Netherlands
54%

This was a very unique hostel. When we checked in at 6pm our room was a mess and all the beds weren't made. The bathroom was disgusting an clearly uncleaned. The hostel staff also kept walking in and out of our room out entire stay which was odd. There were lockers but half of them didn't work. Lastly I know it's Amsterdam but twice when we return to the room someone had clearly been smoking weed in there which wasn't fun when you need a break from that. You are paying for just a bed in a room.

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Aruba
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


St Christopher's at The Winston

Amsterdam, Netherlands
83%

Awesome location close to dam square and central station. Clean rooms and bathrooms, bar was lively every night. Wifi was patchy but that is expected in such a huge hostel. As always breakfast was amazing!!

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Snuffel Backpacker Hostel

Bruges, Belgium
66%

My one problem with this hostel is that to access the showers you have to walk through a bar, then a kitchen, then an outside courtyard. Not so convenient at any time especially on a Saturday night when the bar is super full of people. The bathrooms were pretty grimy as well. An update to this hostels facilities would make it an excellent place to stay.

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Brussels Hello Hostel

Brussels, Belgium
74%

No customer comment

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Jetpak Alternative

Berlin, Germany
97%

Awesome location to base yourself in for exploring berlin! Super social hostel with amazing staff. For any Aussies, they have vegemite for breakfast!!!!!! Amazing place to stay.

  • 9th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


The MadHouse Prague

Prague, Czech Republic
94%

Awesome hostel to meet people and explore Prague. Awesome facilities and great location, you can walk everywhere. Every night they organise awesome activities like beer pong and pub crawls. 12:00 check out is also great!!

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


83%

Very nice, clean and safe! Loved the sound of music movie every night. Kitchen could be a bit better (only a microwave) but its better than nothing. Washing is super cheap €2 for a was and €2 for a dry. They have so many activities on offer at the reception and the bar had some great meals.

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there. thanks for the feedback. save travells :)

Home Made Hostel

Budapest, Hungary
100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed at. Awesome chill vibe, super friendly people, amazing staff, cool quirky rooms. Really well thought out hostel, and super close to the cool ruin bars and other Budapest nightlife. Highly recommend.

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


86%

No customer comment

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


PLUS Camping Jolly

Venice, Italy
86%

Great campsite, bus transfers make it easy to get to the city of Venice. Awesome parties and huge pool to chill by.

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Sleep Easy Hostel

Verona, Italy
74%

Nice hostel for a quick stay in Verona! Excellent location to the city and rooms were big and no bunks. Wifi worked in the rooms.

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Zebra Hostel

Milan, Italy
71%

The hostel was in an alright location, it was possible to walk to the main city and catch the tram to navigli right from the door. The security was a bit strange with a swipe key in and out of the bar/common room but no locks on the doors to the rooms. The wifi only worked in the bar which was annoying if you wanted to Skype because the Music was loud after 7ish. But it was an awesome place to meet people, they had a great free breakfast and the €5 dinners were pretty good with the cheap drinks

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Emerald Palace

Florence, Italy
89%

The hostel was amazingly clean and spacious and well thought out. No bunk beds which was awesome!!!! They had a light breakfast included and all the staff were lovely especially the nonna who was so cute and friendly. Only two downsides ; one being the frightening loud church bells from the duomo opposite at 9 am, no sleeping in here, and also the 11-2 lock out which can be incovienent if you need to grab something you forgot. Other than that amazing hostel in a great city.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


The Yellow

Rome, Italy
83%

Great hostel for meeting people! Rooms are nice and lockers are huge! There is no breakfast included but the options available at the bar are awesome and cheap! One downside is that in the girls dorm there was only 2 bathrooms for 4 rooms! Long lines in the mornings were not fun! I recommend doing the walking tours they advertise at reception, so much fun and really interesting!

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Cocoon Hostel

Dubrovnik, Croatia
80%

This is a nice peaceful hostel about. 30 minute walk away from old town! The walk is a nice stroll and doesn't seem far at all! It also helps you to escape the expensive restaurants in old town! The hostel is nice, clean and has huge lockers for your things! The kitchen is small but has everything you need! Most of all the staff are super helpful and friendly and make you feel right at home! Great hostel!

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Purple Nest Hostel Valencia

Valencia, Spain
77%

No customer comment

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Urbany Hostel BCN GO!

Barcelona, Spain
100%

One if the best hostels I have stayed in! Great location away from the touristy and expensive la ramble but still close enough to walk there! Super safe and awesome common room for meeting other travellers. Breakfast for 3€ was amazing!

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Altea Hostel

Nice, France
57%

Hostel was average, only a place to sleep essentially. So many rules it felt like you we're back in primary school. Can't do this, can't do that. There were no lockers in the rooms which was annoying because it felt unsafe leaving passports or valuables in the room when you wanted to go to the beach. The only great thing about this hostel is that they had a cute dog who hung around the reception and the kitchen.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Hostel Smith

Nice, France
40%

One of the worst hostels I have stayed in. Perhaps someone should tell the owner to finish constructing the building and facilities before opening it up as a hostel. The place was damp, mouldy,not very clean and the beds felt like there was earthquakes all night. Terrifying! The organisation was also pathetic with so many people sleeping on the floors or in the kitchen because the place was overbooked! Avoid at all costs.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


51%

This hostel is in a super dodgy area. When walking to the supermarket around the corner so many guys harassed me and followed me. I felt super unsafe walking the streets even before it was dark. The hostel is out of the city centre, but the city is small enough to walk everywhere. The hostel itself was ok, little shabby and lacking power points to charge things.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


St Christopher's Barcelona

Barcelona, Spain
89%

A really big impersonal hostel, but the bar downstairs makes up for that. Awesome place! Super safe and secure. Downside was paying for lockers to store your bags if you arrived early or after you checked out but with so many people I guess it is safer that way. The breakfast was awesome!!!

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


80%

The activities here are awesome! There are so many you definitely need more than three days to do them all. The activities organisers are super cool too and for once you definitely were not getting ripped off by paying for tapas tours or pub crawls. The hostel could use air conditioning considering how hot it gets in summer, but other than that no issues.

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


89%

Great hostel. Awesome sun deck on the roof with a bar and the pool to chill in. Would be better if breakfast was included but it was good considering it was only €2.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Gold Coast

Lagos, Portugal
80%

No customer comment

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Yes! Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
100%

Best hostel ever! They have great dinners and events and every stafff member is helpful and awesome! best hostel so far!

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


U Hostels

Madrid, Spain
97%

Awesome hostel with great events and awesome staff! The dinners every night are awesome an super cheap!! Love t! best hostel ever!

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


360 Hostel Centro

Madrid, Spain
94%

Great hostel right in the middle of sol which is definitely the place to be. Great facilities and staff are super prepared to help! Great hostel

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Ganbara Hostel

Bilbao, Spain
91%

No customer comment

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Mountbatten Hotel

Sydney, Australia
83%

This hostel was quite nice, rooms were spacious and open. Location was great, near Central Station and attractions.

  • 31st Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)