Reviews: Anonymous

46%

The wifi was patchy at best, and barely worked in the common area(the only area it's available). The hostel didn't say it was an international youth hostel, and the staff did not ask if we were members, as such we missed out on our member benefit. All the food and drink was overpriced, in a city where everything is overpriced. We contemplated getting the fast train to Beijing just to avoid the hostel and Shanghai in general. They couldn't guarantee the same room for groups in dorms.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (6 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our hostel. 1. We only provide wifi in the common area for dorm and there is private wifi in the private rooms. 2. We have Hosteling International Sign out of the building,even though it is quite small. 3.Hope you understand of the price like you understand the price of Shanghai. 4. Most of the time we put groups in the same room like you and your friend did. In the busy season it might be difficult for us to do that but we will still do our best.

Yan Yan Guest House

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
20%

I booked a double room and the bed was the size of a regular single bed. We complained, the first person didn't care. The 2nd person said it was a "mini double bed" and he might move us to a bigger room the next day - we looked at the bigger room and it was just as small. The bathroom leaked and they didn't care about that. 2 people couldn't have shared this room. We didn't stay here. We found a nicer guesthouse for a similar price elsewhere in Chungking mansion. If only we could r

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (6 reviews)


Nomads All Nations

Melbourne, Australia
74%

It was noisy, but that is to be expected in a hostel. The major issue I had was the fact that the room was so incredibly hot, even with the window, fans and door open all night, it was just too hot to sleep in the room. Otherwise I found the hostel to be fine, very convenient location. The free pasta and rice was great. Would have been nice if the wifi was free.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (6 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your review. We are glad to see you had a pleasant stay with us while you were in Melbourne. The weather her is so unpredictable and we only ever have heat waves 2-3 times a year. Most of the time the weather is bearable and fans and windows keep the rooms at a suitable temperature for all. We are glad to hear the free pasta and rice was of use to you - all of the backpackers love it. We hope to see you again and hope the rest of your travels are well. SJ

Bendigo Hotel

Melbourne, Australia
74%

No customer comment

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (6 reviews)


Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Shanghai, China
77%

Great location! Despite the other guests in my room not helping keep the room tidy the hostel was very clean. The only downside was that it wasn't very social. The only social spot was the computer room and other guests got very annoyed if groups talked above a whisper. The hostel really needs a bar/restaurant where guests can socialise with each other. However if you're only looking for a cheap and convenient and clean place to sleep then this hostel was great!

  • 20th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (6 reviews)


63%

It was a convenient place to stay whilst in the park. The 8 bedroom dorms were very very cramped though! Also I thought the bathrooms could have been cleaner but overall it was a good place to crash after a day of walking around the National Park.

  • 16th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (6 reviews)