Reviews: Anonymous

Red Door Hostel

Belgrade, Serbia
89%

Only stayed here one night and the hostel was 4/5 empty, so the atmosphere was rather quiet. But this place has so many other positive points that this hardly mattered. Great location, super close to the train and bus stations and tourist areas, comfortable beds, free laundry (1 euro for detergent), clean and well-stocked kitchen, excellent bathrooms, good common areas. The only negatives I can mention is that the floor in the 8-bed dorm was a bit of a hazard and not all of the lockers worked.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Canape Connection

Sofia, Bulgaria
74%

This was a nice, intimate (ie small) place to stay, but I was expecting more based on its profile/website. FYI - the pictures of the extra wide beds with curtains and reading lights are only found in the 4-bed dorms. If you stay in the 8-bed dorm like I did, you are in the attic, sleeping on a mattress on the floor. It's a spacious attic, but not what I was expecting for my bedroom. No lockers to store anything either. Location, staff, and value for money are excellent. Overall, I'd recommend

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Hedonist Hostel

Belgrade, Serbia
91%

Location, security, staff and atmosphere are all excellent. The beds are comfy and all have reading lights, and a little shelf. The lower bunks have a privacy curtain. Bathrooms are pretty good - small, but private, which is a nice treat when hostelling. The kitchen is not the greatest, and no breakfast is provided, but despite that, the hostel has a very social atmosphere. Overall, I'd recommend it.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Travellers Home Hostel

Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina
89%

Great hostel - rooms are spacious and clean (I stayed in the 8 bed dorm), the kitchen is clean and functional, great location and staff, and good value. The bathrooms are nice and spacious, and great for privacy though you might have to wait to use one in the morning or evening. Big lockers in the room, individual reading lights, and big windows that open and have blinds. I did the day trip around Sarajevo for 60 BAM and thought it was very good value, and super informative.

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Dubrovnik Backpackers Club

Dubrovnik, Croatia
77%

Overall good. I thought the location was really good - it's not in the Old Town, but I wouldn't recommend staying there anyway because it's overpriced and there's not much to see there to make it worth sleeping there. Facilities and staff were very good, and there was a social atmosphere. Really appreciated the staff enforcing the Quiet rules, as I was staying in a dorm room close to the kitchen/porch. Heard really good things about the day trips though I didn't go on one myself.

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


57%

If all you need is a bed in a great location in Split, this is the place for you. The pros of this place are its location and good beds with big storage lockers. If you want anything else, like a warm or hot shower, a towel big enough to cover you, kitchen, wifi internet at night or in your dorm, doors that close all the way and lock, reading lights, conveniently located outlets in dorm rooms, a common area where guests talk to each other, or security, then this is not the place for you.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


The House Hostel Zagreb

Zagreb, Croatia
83%

Only stayed here one night en route between Ljubljana and Split, but it was a very nice place. Great kitchen facilities, common room, good wifi signal, clean bathroom, spacious rooms, comfortable beds. Staff was friendly. Bit of a walk to the old town, but I liked the location because of the proximity to the bus station. Although the toilet and shower have separate doors/locks, people tended to lock (and therefore hog) the entire bathroom, so I often had to wait to use the toilet or sink.

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Vila Veselova

Ljubljana, Slovenia
91%

The rooms here are fantastic - super spacious with big windows, chairs for lounging, drying rack to hang things. The bunk beds all have individual reading lights, drawers/shelves, and a big storage drawer underneath the bed. The bathrooms are clean, though there aren't too many showers, so I had to wait once or twice to use one. The included breakfast has cheese, cereals, apples and bread, so a bit above standard. Tea/coffee/hot cocoa available for free all day. Great overall atmosphere.

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for such a nice and detailed desription of our Hostel. We are glad that you liked it!

JUFA Salzburg City

Salzburg, Austria
66%

The best part about this place is the free breakfast, which includes bacon and eggs, yogurt, pudding, tea, coffee, hot cocoa, different breads and cereals, fruit. Amazing. The dorm rooms are alright - beds are comfy, and have a reading light and shelf, but the rooms themselves are very cramped. There's no storage inside the room - only school-like lockers in the hallway outside which cost 2 euro extra to rent. Location is alright. Staff are friendly, but often too busy to answer questions.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Budapest, Hungary
86%

PROS: great location, clean, spacious rooms, good facilities (laundry facilities, price includes detergent), beds all have a reading light and small shelf, room windows open and have good curtains CONS: wifi cut in and out, and I was only on the first floor, showerhead sprayed all over the place (and this was in more than one room), breakfast not included (and kind of pricey, but you can decide for yourself when you're there) Overall, I'd recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Hostel above club Madrid

Kosice, Slovakia
57%

It's a bed, and a shared bathroom. Clean, well-located, and considering the lack of hostel options in Kosice, this place is perfectly acceptable for a night or two. I stayed in the 8-bed dorm and it was fine, though the 3-story bunk bed was rather scary (no guard rail). Wifi works, no security (no lockers or anything, you don't get a key to any door, etc.) but it's a safe city. Overall, it's fine for a night or two.

  • 26th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Top Hostel

Zakopane, Poland
77%

Stayed one night in the 11-bed dorm, which was split into one spacious 6-bed room and a smaller and cramped 5-bed dorm (with a door separating the two). There was one ensuite bathroom for the whole room, which was clean and spacious, but it also meant long waits for the toilet when someone was showering. Beds were comfy, had individual reading lights and big lockers. Staff was friendly, but the day we arrived, there was a festival going on, so our beds still had the previous guests' sheets.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


One World Hostel

Krakow, Poland
74%

Staff are very nice - willing to pick up empties and garbage left behind each night by all the guests! Small hostel with just one common room, but some of the dorms have couches in them. Very few toilets/showers - often have to wait in the mornings, but aside from that, the bathrooms are clean and functional. I stayed in the 12-bed dorm and it was enormous, with large lockers and big windows. If you're in a room off of the common room, FYI the 10pm Quiet Rule is never enforced. Overall recommend

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Equity Point Prague

Prague, Czech Republic
80%

Great location, price. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Great breakfast. This place loses major points for only having wifi on the main floor, which was super slow and often cut in and out. No wifi in rooms meant everyone was in the common rooms solely to be on the internet or on their phones, so the social atmosphere wasn't great. Showers could be improved - they spray all over the place, you have to keep pressing a hard button to get water, but it doesn't stay on more than 5 seconds.

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Old Prague Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic
83%

Overall, I'd recommend this place. Good price and location, clean, facilities are alright, staff are nice and helpful. The negatives were extremely small cooking/kitchen facilities, and wifi that kept cutting in and out. There's also not too many toilets per floor, so I often had to go downstairs to use the bathroom. The common area/kitchen combo was very small - at breakfast, people had to sit on the floor. It also made it hard to socialize in there, as there was nowhere to sit.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Sleep in Heaven

Copenhagen, Denmark
69%

Copenhagen is expensive, and while this place seems to be reasonably priced, I found there were lots of extra costs that made it not-so-great value in the end. It's close to a grocery store, but there's no kitchen so that limits any cost-saving methods. Breakfast was kind of pricey and was very basic. The bathroom was clean and spacious, but there were long waits to use the toilet, shower, and sink, especially in the morning. 3-story bunk beds did not have safety railing. Staff was pleasant.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Hostel Gamla Stan

Stockholm, Sweden
69%

Good value. The hostel is mess of hallways and stairs - take 10 minutes to explore the other floors + find the other kitchens, bathrooms, and exits as this will improve your stay. Most of the signs/info taped on doors are Wrong (ie, says there are washing machines when there isn't, says breakfast is downstairs too, but it's not) Staff is OK but very busy so they don't have time to help you with tourist stuff. Stayed in the 28-bed dorm and everyone was super quiet and respectful at night.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Hostelle - Female Only Hostel

Amsterdam, Netherlands
86%

Though this hostel is far from the centre of town, it's proximity to a grocery store, metro station and night bus stop make the location super convenient. Loved the common room and the fact that they had a ton of DVDs that you could watch - it was really like relaxing at home. The rooms are a bit tight and there's nowhere to put your big bags other than the floor, so it gets pretty messy and cramped in the rooms if they're full. Kitchen is likewise small and crowded, but it's well stocked.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


74%

I want to recommend this hostel because of its convenient location near a major train station, and short walk to Montmartre, but until the showers are all up and working, I can't. I was on the 3rd floor and there were only 2 showers for all the girls, as the other 2 were still being fixed. The showers flood out into the bathroom within seconds, no matter how conservative you are with water. Breakfast is good, sinks + toilets are clean, comfy and clean beds, spacious rooms. No kitchen or fridge.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Gallery Hostel Porto

Porto, Portugal
100%

I can't think of any suggestions for this place! Lovely stay, really relaxing, nice mix of people and ages, good atmosphere - social, but not obnoxiously so. The hostel offers lots of activities too, so even if you arrive in Porto with no idea of what to do, by the end of your orientation you will have a list of at least 12 things to do. Facilities are all great, modern, clean and well-maintained. Reading light and bedside table - even for the upper bunks! I highly recommend this place.

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


91%

Lovely hostel, it was really a treat to stay here. Facilities and everything are great. Didn't feel it was a very social atmosphere, as most people came as part of a group, and very few people were hanging out in the common room (which was an awesome room with a great view). For me, this was nice and I found it a relaxing place to stay, but for people who are looking to meet lots of new people, I don't know if this would be the place for you.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


The Garden Backpacker

Seville, Spain
97%

Nothing bad to say about the place. Maybe the bathrooms weren't the most modern (they're more like a bathroom you'd find in someone's house), but they did the job, and really, I'm just nit-picking here. Great facilities, friendly and helpful staff, rooms are comfy and spacious, beds have individual reading lights, there are lockers for your bags, good security, breakfast is good, social atmosphere but not too in-your-face. Highly recommend this place.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Living Mad Hostel

Madrid, Spain
86%

Great locations, facilities and staff, very clean, good breakfast. But it is a party hostel, so be aware if this is not why are came to Madrid. There are fewer single travellers compared to other hostels I've been to, lots of people returning from a night out between 3-6am and there are no reading lights in the dorms, just the one ceiling light. The 6-bed dorm was quite cramped, only 1 small window, so when the AC was off, the air would get stuffy, whereas the 4-bed dorms had larger windows.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Lullaby Garden Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
69%

For 2/3 nights, the wifi was broken (and when it works, it's only available in common rooms) so guests shared two public computers for internet access. On the last day/night, there was absolutely no internet access whatsoever - huge inconvenience. Also, no soap/shampoo provided in showers, so people would use up the hand soap in the shower. Dorms on the bottom floor are very hot and stuffy, though roomy. Location is great, staff is friendly and knowledgeable, breakfast is good.

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Vagabonds

Belfast, Northern Ireland
86%

Excellent facilities - showers and bathrooms are particularly good. Location is OK, but not a standout. Staff are fun and friendly, but a bit needy in terms of attention. They seem to like to be in the centre of the show, all the time, which gets a little tiring if you just want to relax. Rooms are spacious and there are underbed lockers. I recommend taking an upper bunk as the bunks are super low, and if you're on the lower bunk, you can't sit up in bed without hitting your head.

  • 13th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked but we thank you for taking the time to write a review, we just felt the need to say that we are very proud of our award winning staff.Most young backpackers enjoy their company and lively and outgoing nature.Perhaps if you had taken the time you would have found them very approchable and also very knowledgable about Belfast.

St Enoch Hotel

Glasgow, Scotland
51%

Staff was unnecessarily rude when I arrived before the 3pm check in, but after that they were pleasant enough. Needed a bed close to the train station, and that´s all this place is. PROS: location, bed made for you, towel and soap provided, TV with cable, kettle and cookies in room upon arrival. CONS: No kitchen, bathroom is noticeably moldy, separate hot and cold water faucets, tiny room, little floorspace, creepy hallway and staircase. mugs provided in room were all visibly dirty.

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Malone's Old Town Hostel

Edinburgh, Scotland
63%

Location can't be beat, but otherwise an average hostel that has potential to be great. Several little inconveniences suggest owner has never stayed in his/her own hostel: beds very squeaky, no reading lights, shaggy carpet in rooms that never get vacuumed, few common areas, no fridge to store food/drinks, no soap/shampoo in the showers, showers are drafty so the curtain is constantly blowing in on you while you shower, bar staff does check-in at night and they don't know when breakfast is, etc.

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Mustafa Pension

Pamukkale, Turkey
63%

Overall, I was disappointed. The location is indeed very close to the travertines entrance, but Pamukkale is a small town so that's true of everywhere you can stay. The room was clean, but the bed was very thin and springy, the pillows were overstuffed and hard to sleep on, we seemed to have a twin sized bedsheet for our double bed, the bathroom was badly lit, and the the shower just drains into a floor drain but there's no mop to clean up the room afterward. Breakfast not included.

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Artemis Hotel

Selcuk, Turkey
71%

Nice hotel, well-placed in Selcuk. Included breakfast is quite good, rooms are clean and small, but everything absolutely necessary is in there (I was in a standard double-bed room with private washroom). There wasn't anywhere to put valuables though, and the room doors themselves felt very insecure. Atmosphere wasn't the best, but people usually stay only a day or two in Selcuk, so it's hard to get chummy with people. Overall, I'd recommend.

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Jordan Tower Hostel

Amman, Jordan
69%

Overall OK. The location is very convenient, and they offer reasonably-priced meals and drinks. My biggest complaint is about the shared bathroom - of the 8-9 times I went to the toilet during my stay, 6 times I found there was no toilet paper. The bathroom has the shower, so in the AM you might be waiting a long time just to pee. Staff is alright, not overly helpful unless they can get a tip. Offered to carry my bag repeatedly, but wouldn't come down to help me communicated with a taxi driver

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
There are 2 shared bathrooms on each floor that serve the 2 rooms without bathrooms so you have 4 others to try... Bathrooms are cleaned every hour. You could have easily asked reception who would have given you a roll. Our staff do not pimp for tips -we have the kindest and most helpful staff anyone could find. Its the job of the staff to carry your bag to the exit door but not to flag down taxis and negotiate fares, however, they would assist if asked .

Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Jerusalem, Israel
91%

Overall great place to stay. Easy to meet people, lots of free activities, and good facilities - lots of bathrooms and showers, big kitchen, good breakfast, locker for your small things, bed lamps and outlets. The only thing I would caution people about is signing up for the tours too quickly, before you research doing it on your own. The tours are priced quite high, and for that price, they often do Not include lunch or the cost of transportation to and from the destination

  • 31st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


60%

PROS: Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Good wifi throughout entire hostel. CONS: Not enough bathrooms or showers for the hostel. Toilet and shower are in the same room, so you often have to wait a long time just to pee in the AM and PM. Showers flood the bathroom, so you have to mop up after you shower, and usually before as well if the person before you was inconsiderate. Dorms lack locks or a place to store small things beside your bed. No bed lamps. Bunks are shaky and not secured to wall.

  • 28th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Lisa. thank you for the review . and for being with us for more over a month. first we have 4 bathroom shower for the dorms. ( two down stairs) I built them with shower/bathroom on purpose,it provide a little privacy for travelers. we clean a few times a day, and it never hurts if travelers wipe after themsleves. no lock in dorm ( we have lockers outside) for noise!! reason that they make at night! and banks are new and strong, but not attached to the wall as we move them for cleaning! R

Piece Hostel Kyoto

Kyoto, Japan
94%

This hostel is conveniently located near Kyoto Station, so it is a great place to stay if you are using Kyoto as your hub city to visit other places (Hiroshima, Nara, Osaka, etc.) but it is a bit of a walk to get to places of interest in Kyoto itself. However, all the buses end up at Kyoto Station, so you can make good use of that fact. However, if you're the type that likes to walk everywhere, you might consider staying somewhere closer to the places you want to visit in Kyoto.

  • 12th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


91%

Great hostel overall. Great atmosphere and a great mix of people. As a single traveller, I found it easy to meet other people. The facilities are excellent - very clean and in good condition. I stayed in the 4th floor girls dorm, and the only thing I would complain about is that the carpet/room smells a bit like feet. But maybe that smell only came out because it was hot and it rained one day.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment!! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here!! We are looking forward to seeing you again!

NapPark Hostel at Khao San

Bangkok, Thailand
100%

I stayed in the female dorm on the 4th floor. I had an excellent stay here, the only thing I would like to mention is that it was a little annoying when girls would go out for the evening and leave their bed lights on - the privacy curtains do not block out the light, and it was hard to fall asleep when they did this. I didn't feel it would be right to climb up on their beds to shut it off myself - perhaps you could mention this on the information sheet you give guests when they arrive.

  • 6th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)