Reviews: Anonymous

Cinque Terre Holidays

Cinque Terre, Italy
63%

No wifi in the room!! It was really well located, on the main street of riomaggiore, however it had very bad conditions. The room was basically an old apartment, but what was really awful was the wrecked building it was in. It had a kitchen and a decent bathroom, and it would be all ok if it was a cheap hostel, that way the conditions wouldn't be the best but it would be a decent value for money, but the truth is I thought the hostel to be a bit expensive for the overall experience.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


Hotel Alba

Milan, Italy
86%

There was no kitchen and location was a bit sketchy at night, but nothing out of the ordinary. There was a slight problem with a second booking but the staff was very helpful in solving it. Overall I think it was a very good value for money, except for the fact of the kitchen.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


Hotel des Olympiades

Paris, France
83%

The hotel was a bit old, and it was very difficult to find it. The rooms were good, and we had everyday cleaning. And it was located very near a metro station, and the neighbourhood didn't look dangerous at night. The staff was helpful. The atmosphere wasn't great, because this wasn't a hostel, so we didn't really see other guests.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

Brussels, Belgium
83%

The neighbourhood were the hostel was located looked safe and there was a metro station nearby. We didn't have wifi in our room, but there was wifi in the rest of the hostel. The rooms were not fantastic but they were good enough, and clean. The breakfast was included and it was good and we had a free pool table. Overall it was a good hostel to stay in.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Amsterdam, Netherlands
97%

Best hostel we have been in the whole trip, everything was fantastic, great atmosphere and staff. The only problem was that it was near amsterdam's second most important station, so we had to get a train to amsterdam centraal and since there aren't any trains for 6 hours at night, it is difficult to go out at night, unless you are prepared to go out all night and only come back at 5 or 6 a.m.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


83%

The hostel was great and well located. The staff was the rudest we encountered the whole trip, especially the one named Anika, which was probably the rudest person we talked to the whole trip. We were informed as we made the reservation that the payment would be withdrawn from our bank account before we arrived at the hostel, however when we got there we were asked to pay and the staff simply told us (in a rude way) that they could withdraw the money or not, so we just had to pay.

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment! Your honest feedback gives us the possibility to identify things which we have to improve. We really appreciate it. We are very sorry that you have had the impression that our staff was rude. I will double check with my colleagues what happend during you stay. We hope that you will give MEININGER a second chance and we would be happy to see you again in one of our Hostels ;-) Greetings from Berlin.

89%

The staff was fantastic and very helpfull, and it was one of the best hostel we have been to, however it was far from the train station and we could only check in at 5 p.m., but we were allowed to leave our bags inside.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


80%

The atmosphere was fantastic, it had a nice bar and everyday at 19h the movie "sound of music" is shown in the common room. The staff wasn't nice at the time of checkout, and at dinner time because meals wouldn't be served past 10 p.m. and the staff refused to serve us anything other then pizza at 10:03 pm, while we were waiting for her to finish chatting with her collegue in the kitchen for about 5 minutes. They were helpfull for the rest of the stay.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


Do Step Inn

Vienna, Austria
97%

Very good hostel, the rooms where not in the reception building but everything was visible. One of the best hostels we have been in.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


Hostel Sunce

Stari Grad, Croatia
71%

There were two parts of the hostel, one was new and had very good facilities and rooms, the other was old and had really poor bathrooms. Unfortunatly we were in the old part. There was no wifi connection anywhere in the hostel, only in the reception. There were no curtains in the rooms, so after we complained the staff hanged a sheet to block the sun. We found bugs in the room, and two of our group were heavily bitten. The bathrooms were really bad in our part of the hostel.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


Ostello S. Fosca

Venice, Italy
91%

The curfew was a bit too early at 00:30, although everything in town closed by midnight we got lost on the streets of venice and almost couldn't make it in time. Very good conditions.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


Hostel Veronique

Florence, Italy
74%

The bathroom was way too small and always occupied. There was no kitchen or common room, at least on our floor, only a fridge. There was no place to meet the other guests. The staff was nice, and the location was very central but not very close to the railway station, about a 20 minute walk.

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)


Overseas Two

Rome, Italy
77%

The stove and oven weren't working, there was only a mini bread oven available. Everything was fine, breakfast was good enough. It was very close to the termini station, but at night you could see many homeless and strange people on the street so we didn't always feel secure, although we had never any kind of trouble. The staff was very nice.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (13 reviews)