Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 27

Hotel Touring

Bordeaux, France
69%

To be honest, a strange little hotel. I wasn't sure if my room/sheets were entirely clean and I wasn't provided with a towel. Security is non existent. Anyone could have walked into my room through the door or from the balcony. Tv didn't work at all and there was an issue with there not being enough toilet paper in the communal bathrooms. Staff spoke limited English so it was slightly difficult to find things out. Wifi is terrible. If you're after a quiet room to yourself though...

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (55 reviews)


Olga's Place

San Sebastian, Spain
80%

Staying at this hostel was like being at home with the family. Everyone was so lovely and friendly, we didn't know each other for a long time but we had a great time together. Lei was excellent in taking everyone out for different activities each night. A relaxed place in a great location! I'll be back.

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Cordoba Bed and Be

Cordoba, Spain
100%

LOVED this hostel. Without a doubt the only place to stay in Cordoba. Wish i had stayed longer, there is actually a lot to do in this town despite what the guidebooks say. I loved the bike and tapas tour, it was so much fun. All i of the facilities are well appointed, the kitchen and breakfast are excellent. I'll be back in Cordoba just to stay here. If you don't book here you're truly missing out!!

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


The Boutike Hostel

Seville, Spain
100%

An excellent hostel. One of the best I've stayed at in Spain. Facilities were great and the kitchen was well equipped. Staff were excellent and helpful. Breakfast was wow excellent. I had to leave quite early one morning and was provided with an early breakfast which I've seen no other hostels ever do. I definitely recommend this place!!!

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Granada Inn Backpackers

Granada, Spain
80%

'Apartments' were really just bigger dorm rooms, and not worth the additional money. I found the man who works the afternoon shifts at the hostel to be rude and unhelpful. Everything seemed to difficult and he was always 'going to be a while'. Other staff were friendly. Good breakfast, good location.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


U Hostels

Madrid, Spain
83%

Actually a pretty decent hostel for such a big hostel. Very clean and the facilities are second to none. My only complaint is this- you have many large groups staying at the hostel, like busabout and topdeck. Most buses leave at 8am and breakfast only starts at 8am. How difficult is it to start giving people two pieces of bread and a cup of juice at 7:30am? Especially when there is no toaster in the kitchen, so guests can't make their own breakfast. The staff who ran the breakfasts were rude.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Purple Nest Hostel Valencia

Valencia, Spain
89%

Clean, well located hostel. Great that it's only €2 for laundry. Kitchen was excellent, although no oven which was a bit of a bummer. Thought it strange that a whole group of young school children stayed here for a few nights...

  • 14th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


74%

Good stay at this hostel - good facilities, helpful staff, nice breakfast. Expected nothing less from this chain of hostels. My only gripe is that it is quite an expensive hostel. Understandably this is Paris and things are expensive, but I don´t think that an 8 bed dorm is worth almost 40 euro a night especially now that peak season is over.

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue - it really helps us to improve on what we do. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the friendly and efficient service of our staff. We do understand your gripe but you have to know that most of the time hostel or hotel prices depends more on occupancy than peak season which by the way is not over yet. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards,

Be Sound Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
80%

Good hostel in a decent location. Staff are very tolerant and helpful. Facilites are good and clean. Unfortunately the airconditioning in the common areas could have been better, it was like a sauna in the basement. Aircon in the rooms was good, making for a nice nights sleep. It was quite loud when people returned early in the mornings though. Overall a good stay.

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Pop' Hostel

Avignon, France
77%

Nice Hostel in the centre of town. Good atmosphere and happy hour specials are great. Love the privacy that the curtains across the bunk beds offer. Very hot in the rooms at night if the doors are not left open, but it is also very noisy from the street. Bathroom facilities need to be cleaned more than once a day, given that there a few facilities and so many people using them. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Hostel Pastoral

Nice, France
80%

This Hostel should have a better rating. It´s small, but large and friendly enough to make lots of new friends. Facilities were clean and kitchen was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. a nice little place with good value for money close to the train station.

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci Leith

69%

Unfortunately the wifi is not good, and the staff were unwilling to provide any helpful information on the lake como area. There were also no relevant brochures. Futher, the beds are tiny (if you are on the bottom bunk). I had to army roll into the bed to be able to bet into it. There is also a large collection of peoples hair in the springs of the bed from where people were hitting their heads. Booked a 6 bed dorm and was put into an 8 bed room. The room was too small and very hot.

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Ostello Bello

Milan, Italy
100%

Wow. Without a doubt one of the best hostels I have stayed in in the last 6 months. The staff are absolutely outstanding and will go out of their way to help you. Atmosphere was great. Free breakfast was awesome. I recommend the homemade chocolate muffins as a snack - delicious! A really outstanding hostel.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Ostello Corniglia

Cinque Terre, Italy
80%

A great little chilled hostel in the centre of 'town'. Very clean, wifi was good, really easy to make friends if traveling alone. Would be great if breakfast was included or if you didn't have to give advance notice to purchase breakfast. Otherwise a lovely stay.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


PLUS Florence

Florence, Italy
71%

This hostel is too big for the staff to cope with the amount of people. As a result it was extremely busy all the time, and staff were rude, short, and didn't really provide any other advice and only helped those checking in. Wifi was very bad. If you're a solo traveller stay else where. No chance of making friends here.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


PLUS Camping Roma

Rome, Italy
63%

Facilities for the campsites and tents were good. Floors of the permanent tents could do with a good clean. Campsite is ridiculously far out of town - even though it's cheap here consider public transport costs because you'll get a better deal in town. Very loud at night with large groups of school children.

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Florida Hostel & Hotel

Sorrento, Italy
66%

If you're a genuine backpacker stay elsewhere. This is a hotel with bunk beds in some rooms. There is no age limit on the dorm rooms, so I ended up staying in a room with a family and their children. Completely unacceptable. Difficult to make friends if a solo traveller, and aside from wifi and a pool no other facilities that you would get at an actual hostel. Disappointing.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Legends

Rome, Italy
83%

A neat little hostel within walking distance to all the major tourist attractions in Rome. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel was very clean. Easy to meet others if traveling alone.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Hotel Varonos

Delphi, Greece
63%

Not the best hostel I've stayed in but also not the worst. Breakfast was non existent. You have to pay extra to use the cooking facilities, which I have not seen anywhere else. The facilities were well in need of a clean. The owner is quite helpful in providing information about the local area.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Hostel Meteora

Kalambaka, Greece
63%

Not the best hostel I've stayed in but also not the worst. Breakfast was non existent. You have to pay extra to use the cooking facilities, which I have not seen anywhere else. The facilities were well in need of a clean. The owner is quite helpful in providing information about the local area.

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Little Big House

Thessaloniki, Greece
97%

Great little hostel. Staff were very helpful. Clean, quiet with a chilled atmosphere and excellent facilities. Wish that I could have stayed longer.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Old Town Hostel

Dubrovnik, Croatia
83%

Great location right in the middle of old town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Kitchen was a bit dissapointing with only one electric hob and no toaster. Breakfast was just okay, a bit of bread/toast would have been nice. Rooms on the first floor were really noisy from the street. Otherwise a really good stay.

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


86%

Really friendly, sociable hostel. Free BBQ was awesome and the pick up from the boat port was also good. Staff are very friendly and knowledgable. The overview of the hostel says that there are three kitchens, however I only really saw one communal kitchen. There were kitchens in the rooms, but we were only allowed to use the fridge and not the other facilities. Dissapointing that the communal kitchen didnt have an oven.

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Old Town Hostel Split

Split, Croatia
94%

This is a really great hostel. Great location in the Old Town, really friendly, helpful staff and great facilities. It is very clean. Great common area for meeting other travellers, and the atmosphere is relaxed. The kitchen is also very well equipped for self-catering. Great stay!

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


PLUS Camping Jolly

Venice, Italy
63%

This campsite is a far way out of the city. However, the prices are very reasonable. Unfortunately the shuttle service provided by the hostel is poor. After arriving at the train station and having contacted the hostel to advise that I would be taking the shuttle, there was no room on the bus for me because I had not pre-purchased a ticket (which was impossible having not been at the hostel previously). I then had to go back into the city and take the public bus - which is cheaper and reliable.

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


The Apsley Ski Lodge

Wildschonau Valley, Austria
77%

Clean and comfortable place to stay. Breakfast was ok. Wifi connection was slow but usable.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Wombats City Hostel Munich

Munich, Germany
83%

This is a nice hostel - clean and central. Although would have been nice that the room with the fridge & wifi was opened earlier in the morning.

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks heaps! But are you sure you write about the right hostel? Because we don`t have a room with a fridge. I mean there are fridges reserved for our breakfast and one more for the staff. In important cases (e.g. medication) we let people put something in there but then it would be accessible 24/7 since there is always someone at reception. Also our wifi SHOULD be working 24 hours a day. If it doesn`t please report to front desk as well so they can fix it. Thanks aga-Oops! Lack of wo

69%

This is an average hostel. The'kitchen' is only a microwave, fridge and kettle and doesn't open until 11am giving most backpackers no option but to purchase breakfast at the hostel which is poor. The rooms are also incredibly hot making for a difficult nights sleep.

  • 12th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there. thanks for the feedback. the kitchen is defined as tea-kitchen with all its official standarts. we can understand that the rooms were hot, but also you have to understand that we almost had 40 degrees in salzburg in this week...save travells :)

The Treehouse

Grunau im Almtal, Austria
89%

As soon as I arrived at the hostel I knew I never wanted to leave. I actually ended up staying longer than originally anticipated. A great little hostel, quiet but great atmosphere, spectacular location. Breakfast was excellent and Gerhard's home cooking was so delicious - who needs a kitchen! Had a great stay and without a doubt will be back again!

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


83%

No customer comment

  • 9th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Youth Hostel Melk

Melk, Austria
83%

This is a great little clean hostel. Perfect for a quiet stay. Staff were very friendly and informative. Breakfast was great! The location is within walking distance from everything in the town. The outdoor courtyard area is great for relaxing in the sun. The atmosphere was lacking, but have found this to be the case with most other HI Hostels. An excellent hostel, will definitely stay here again.

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


86%

This is a good hostel, close to the city centre. It is clean, wifi in the rooms and the free drink on arrival is a great way to ensure that the atmosphere is good. Staff were friendly and informative.

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Hostel99

Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
80%

The location of this hostel is excellent - walking distance to everything. The facilities are also good. The staff who work at the hostel are friendly and knowledgable. I stayed here during the flooding and was given a discount on account that the gas was not working and there was no hot water, laundry or cooking facilities working. The gas came on late in the night and the manager/owner demanded further money from us. She was very unfriendly, rude and brings down an otherwise good hostel.

  • 3rd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize but we are happy you like the hostel ans the staff :) Zezo Duarte

PLUS Prague

Prague, Czech Republic
66%

It's a bit rich that this hostel makes guests pay for the 'Use It' city maps (on the basis that they are the ones printing the maps - yeah right!) when it specifically states on the map that they are 'Not For Sale'. They have been free to guests at all other hostels I've stayed at.

  • 2nd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry for the misunderstanding...we only ask for a donation to offset our purchase cost from Use It, a non-profit org. Because they're cooler maps with tips from locals and zero advertisements, and how many guests want them, the # of free maps that all hostels get just don't last long here! We still want to offer the maps and support Use It, but I'm sorry if you felt pressured to give the optional donation. We also offer ad-filled maps that are absolutely free ;)

Carpe Noctem Vitae

Budapest, Hungary
83%

I never usually stay in party hostels, however this was the exception. Great location, great friendly staff who go out of their way to help and make sure you are having a good time. I had an excellent time in Budapest because of the activities and social events organised by the hostel. The only downside was that the overall cleanliness of the hostel was not great, but to be expected from a lively party hostel.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


PLUS Prague

Prague, Czech Republic
63%

All round an average hostel. The location is a bit out of town, but thankfully public transport is decent. No kitchen, but breakfast for €5 was a good deal. Warm water showers only which was dissapointing when you expect to receive a decent shower when staying in hostels. The whole place smelt damp from the pool. Further, only a small light blanket was provided for the bed when it was quite cold inside - one wonders how often these blankets are washed.

  • 27th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Hostel Mondpalast

Dresden, Germany
74%

Clean place to sleep and good facilities available for self-catering. Good location. Lacked atmosphere in the hostel itself, but don't let that stop you from going to the bar downstairs.

  • 25th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Mosquito Hostel

Krakow, Poland
100%

As soon as I walked into this hostel I knew I never wanted to leave. The best hostel I've stayed in in 2 months of backpacking. Excellent knowledgable local staff, organized activities nightly and dinners included. Don't stay anywhere else in Krakow!

  • 18th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


The Warsaw Hostel

Warsaw, Poland
60%

This hostel was drab and boring - absolutely no atmosphere. Not a good place if you are a single traveler and want to meet other travelers. I agree with other reviewers re cleanliness - did not seem that the facilities were cleaned the 3 nights I stayed. Minimal security. Good location, comfortable beds.

  • 15th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Hostel Happy Seven

Gdansk, Poland
91%

Excellent stay - helpful knowledgable staff, good breakfast, decent wifi. My only issue is that under the beds where the luggage is stored is really dusty and my bag was covered in dust. Otherwise an excellent stay!

  • 12th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Flying Pig Uptown

Amsterdam, Netherlands
94%

No customer comment

  • 6th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Stayokay Den Haag (The Hague)

The Hague, Netherlands
91%

This was the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful. Atmosphere was a bit sterile, but this is usually the case with the HI Brand.

  • 5th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Hostel ROOM Rotterdam

Rotterdam, Netherlands
77%

The self-catering kitchen was absolutely rubbish - dirty and useless appliances. Having said that the breakfast was good, Wifi in the rooms, and good location. Helpful knowledgable staff.

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the feedback about our guestkitchen. Just to let you know that we have re-stocked all the necessary applicances! Clean and ready for you to prepare some culinary masterpieces! Hope to see you back someday! Cheers!

Flying Pig Uptown

Amsterdam, Netherlands
97%

Was actually hesitant about staying in this hostel due to its 'smoking room'. However, it is a safe place for guests to enjoy their time in Amsterdam. The hostel is in a great location, the atmosphere is awesome and so was the breakfast. Surprising very clean for such a large hostel. The only issue I had was that the wifi was absolutely terrible - I had to go to a cafe to get some Internet. Aside from that, a great hostel!

  • 1st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Abhostel

Antwerp, Belgium
94%

This is an excellent hostel - like coming home. A great relaxed atmosphere, easy for meeting other guests. Loved that breakfast was available for you whenever you got out if bed and there were eggs!! Would without a doubt stay here again!

  • 27th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we hope to welcome you again, some day!!

Generator Hostel Dublin

Dublin, Ireland
66%

This hostel would be great if you were having a weekend away with friends. However, if you are a seasoned backpacker stay elsewhere. This is a huge hostel, the atmosphere is cold and it is difficult to meet new people. The kitchen was merely hobs, plates and cutlery. No sharp knives or cooking utensils, no microwave or toaster. The kitchen only opens at 5pm and only a bar fridge for your food. Ridiculous! It is a cheap hostel but expect to pay for everything!

  • 14th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Vagabonds

Belfast, Northern Ireland
94%

Loved my stay at this Hostel! All of the staff were friendly and helpful, it was clean and the bathrooms were excellent. Without a doubt the best Hostel I have stayed in in Ireland. The only issue was that you need cash to pay for your stay as there are no Eftpos faciities which is slightly annoying.

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Paddy's Palace Hostel Derry

Derry, Northern Ireland
97%

Honestly cannot fault this Hostel. I absolutely enjoyed my stay here. The atmosphere was excellent, and the staff were very friendly and spent time socialising with the guests. The kitchen was well-equipped, and the breakfast was good. Very centrally located and clean.

  • 9th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Harbour House

Sligo, Ireland
57%

This hostel was drab and boring. It has all of the basics you need like a well-equipped kitchen and large dining area, however, there were no security lockers and the showers were awful. There was absolutely no atmosphere in this dark little place. Needs a re-vamp.

  • 8th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Kinlay Eyre Square Hostel

Galway, Ireland
100%

Excellent Hostel - Great breakfast; clean rooms; awesome atmosphere; very friendly, competent staff.

  • 6th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Rowan Tree Hostel

Ennis, Ireland
86%

I stayed here during the week, so perhaps it wasn't as 'happening' as it would be on the weekends. Very clean, excellent bathrooms, good breakfast. Downside is that you have to pay for lockers. Great hostel overall though.

  • 4th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for you lovely review, our housekeepers do a great job in keeping the hostel spotless and were glad you enjoyed the free light breakfast. Our lockers are free to use but we do take a €5 deposit for the key which we return when the key is returned. Thanks again from all the team @ RowanTree

66%

This Hostel is about 6km out of town, so if you are a solo traveller with no car then don't bother staying here - the public transport is not good. If you have transport this is a decent place to stay with generally pretty good facilities. The con is that there are alot of school groups who stay here.

  • 1st Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


57%

No customer comment

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)


Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Kilkenny, Ireland
94%

This is a great hostel. Small and cozy - it is a home away from home. Excellent facilities, excellent staff.

  • 27th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (55 reviews)