Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Male, Age 21

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Loft Hostel Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
10.0
24th Sep 2016

Amazing hostel. It feels like a big house more than a hostel, and its so easy to meet other interesting travellers. The staff are also great -helpful, friendly, and social. Despite the social atmosphere, people are respectful so it was also quiet at night and easy to sleep. If you're in Budapest, you really should stay here! Thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Showashinzan Youth Hostel, Hokkaido Lake Toya Showasinzan, Japan
8.0
23rd Jun 2016

This is the cheapest place you can find in the Lake Toya area, and its located right on the lake. The rooms are basic but clean, and the facilities are nice. The little onsen is also a nice amenity which you wouldn't expect to find in a hostel/guesthouse. But the owner is pretty unhelpful and grumpy (even when we spoke in Japanese). The location is good if you have a car, but it is a bit of a ways outside of the town so without a car I wouldn't recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.7
13th May 2016

This is a great place to stay if you're visiting Zhangjiajie. Victor was incredibly helpful in giving recommendations on where to go in the national park - he knows the best places to escape the crowds and have a nice hike - and the hostel had everything you could need and was in a pretty central location. Rooms were pretty standard but clean, the bathroom and shower is not separated (like many places in China), but it was fine. My only complaint is the first floor toilet, it was pretty gross.

View Property Reply

Hi I'm Victor Tks for your stay and very happy you have good time here welceome to here next time. Have a good day

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Akane-yado, Hokkaido Furano, Japan
10.0
10th Oct 2015

We had an amazing stay at Akane-yado. Joe-san was an amazing host and the property is in a beautiful, remote location. The homemade meals (both dinner and breakfast) were fantastic and great value for money. We had a car and had no difficulty finding the place using the GPS location number provided by Akane-yado. If you don't have a car I think they offer limited transportation options. Highly recommended!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Ali's Guest House, Goreme, Turkey
10.0
10th Sep 2015

I had a great stay at Ali's Guest House. Rooms are spotless and very cozy, the outside lounge area was wonderful, and the staff (especially Ali and Ali, who of course own the place) were very helpful in recommending tours and helping guests get to know the area. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Trans-Sib Hostel, Irkutsk, Russia
9.4
23rd May 2015

I had only a short stay in Irkutsk and I arrived by train from Mongolia. This is a great hostel for those taking the Trans SIberian (hence the name..). Its a short walk from the train station and was cozy and clean with all necessary facilities. However, the hostel is NOT located in the city center; the train station and the hostel are on the other side of the river and a short and cheap bus journey is required to the center. But if you prefer proximity to the train, stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Golden Gobi, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
10.0
17th May 2015

I can't recommend Golden Gobi enough, the hostel is the perfect place to base oneself for trips all around Mongolia. The free pickup at the train is a wonderful amenity, and the hostel is clean, cozy, and the breakfast was very good and free! Staff go out of their way to help you - they even picked up my train tickets while I was on a hostel-arranged Gobi tour. And on that note, their tours are top-notch. I had an incredible 5 days in the Gobi with 3 other travellers. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Happy Dragon Hostel, Beijing, China
9.7
14th May 2015

This is a nice place to stay in Beijing. Pretty standard hostel, but location is very good, a few blocks from the metro, and the hostel was very clean. For a very small fee, they were kind enough to store my luggage for a week while I travelled further afield.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.7
11th Apr 2015

This was a great hostel in Chengdu, although its not right in the city center its very close to the north railway station and the rest of the city is easily accessed by walking or subway. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful with everything from restaurant recommendations to booking tours for us. Lots of showers so no waiting, and the rooftop garden is a great place to hang out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Han Tang Inn Hostel, Xi'an, China
10.0
7th Apr 2015

Great stay, very helpful staff and clean rooms. the rooftop lounge was great. highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
365 Inn, Beijing, China
9.4
2nd Apr 2015

This is a good hostel to stay in Beijing which is very near to the main attractions. The in-house restaurant and bar was pretty good (although the shisha was terrible!), but they allow smoking inside, which was a bit gross considering that's the only common area for guests to sit in and the guest rooms were not far from the bar. Rooms were clean and facilities standard. Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
10.0
23rd Jan 2015

We had a great stay at Wada in Yangshuo. The hostel is brand new - very modern and clean, and a refreshing change from many hostels in Mainland China, and we met some very interesting other travellers, and the staff were all incredibly nice and helpful. Also, the location can't be beat - its just off the famous west street, which means its on a quiet street, but 2 mins away from all the action. Highly recommended hostel!

View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your support! We always love to hear that we're a refreshing change from their last visit. And thanks for boasting about our location. =) We do believe our location is the most convenient in all of Yangshuo being close to all the necessities and a perfect starting point for any adventure into the countryside. Team Wada

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Wada Hostel in Guilin, Guilin, China
9.7
22nd Jan 2015

We had a great stay at Wada, I travelled with 2 others and we were very happy that there was a 3 bed room available. The staff were all great and incredibly helpful in planning our time in Guilin and onward journey to Yangshuo. The location is out of the city center which was the only downside, but its really near the train station and getting to the center was simple and cheap on the bus. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Knight House, Tallinn, Estonia
9.7
17th Apr 2014

This was a great hostel - facilities were excellent, staff nice, and location couldn't be better on a beautiful side street in old town. However, be aware that this is NOT a hostel for solo travels to meet others; its a very small and quiet place with a lot of private rooms in addition to the dorm. The same guy owns a couple other hostels in Tallinn though, and the staff will point you in the direction of the next pub crawl, etc. Overall great stay, but not good for meeting people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.7
14th Apr 2014

Really nice hostel, clean, and the rooms are separated away from the party area, so you have the choice to get a good night's sleep or go out, which is a rare combination! Plenty of showers and restrooms so never had to wait, perfect location, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Home Made House/Hostel, Vilnius, Lithuania
9.4
12th Apr 2014

The location is perfect, located in old town, but only 5 minutes from the bus and rail stations. The owner is great, and took us out to her favorite restaurant one night, and hung out with us on other nights. The place is very small, so by the end you get to know just about everyone staying, which is how a hostel is supposed to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
#bunk taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
9.7
11th Apr 2014

This hostel opened just a few weeks ago, and its clear how much money they put into the place. Everything is very modern, and spotlessly clean. The lobby actually feels like a nice hotel more than a hostel! Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the city as well. When I was there, they were still doing some construction, but they said they would be finished soon. I did not find it to be a disturbance, however.

View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the whole #bunk experience. We are glad to say that construction has now finished and pleased it did not have a negative impact on your stay. Ben Carrington Partner/CMO

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Yellow, Rome, Italy
8.9
12th Dec 2013

Facilities pretty nice, and location is great, just a couple blocks from Termini. It can turn into a party hostel very quickly, but its kind of marketed for this crowd anyway (in particular, there were many 18-20 year old Americans visiting Europe and drinking seemingly for the first time...). But the rooms are separated from the bar and common area, so I was able to sleep without being disturbed. Facilities nice, but nothing spectacular. Pretty typical hostel facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.1
8th Dec 2013

For Paris especially, this hostel is really excellent (not many good Paris hostels...). The location is very different, located in Belleville, which is a very interesting mix of Chinese, Middle Easterners, and hipsters. Its a bit far from the tourist attractions, but with the metro location a few minutes away, I found it very easy to get around. I also appreciated being in a more 'real' part of Paris and away from the tourist hordes. Facilities were excellent, and staff helpful. I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
U Hostels, Madrid, Spain
9.1
4th Nov 2013

The location is pretty good, and just a block from the metro station, making it easy to get just about anywhere in Madrid. The facilities are top-notch, with plenty of sinks, toilets, and showers on each floor so I never had to wait once. The kitchen and common area are also very modern and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
10.0
19th Jul 2013

This is a great Tokyo hostel, the staff is really really friendly, and the facilities very clean. The common room is one of the best I've been to, very easy to meet people here (I was travelling alone). The location is not exactly central (but Tokyo is so enormous that central doesn't really mean anything anyway), but its a nice quiet area right next to the Kuramae subway stop which can get you anywhere in the city, so I was very happy with the location. Highly recommended!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hiroshima Hana Hostel, Hiroshima, Japan
10.0
16th Jul 2013

This is a great place, the staff are so helpful, the dorm rooms are really good (each bed has curtains for extra privacy which is always a welcome addition), and the location simply can't be beat. Its 5 mins to the train station, and just down the street from the baseball stadium (highly recommend going to a game, even if you're not a baseball fan). And the peace memorial is a short tram ride away. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
BackPacker's Republic, St Petersburg, Russia
9.7
21st Jun 2013

This brand new hostel is excellent. All the staff (as well as the owners) were extremely helpful and very fun to be around. The facilities are good, clean, and what you'd expect from a good hostel. Full kitchen too. And location is very good, not on Nevsky, but walking distance, and near a metro station, as well as tons of trolley buses going everywhere. But don't take the dinner they offer every night, its far too expensive (250 rubles) for what you get. Highly recommended hostel though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
TIU Kreschatik, Kiev, Ukraine
10.0
8th Jun 2013

Amazing hostel...great atmosphere, and the location is literally in the dead center on the main street, Kreschatik (hence the name). Very small (I think just 13 beds), so you get to know everyone, and Olga is the best host one could even ask for. Just stay here...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Old City Hostel, Lviv, Ukraine
9.7
3rd Jun 2013

Amazing location (literally in the dead center, and right along the tram line from the train station), and amazing staff. They were both fun to talk to, and very helpful with any questions about the city. And beds were very comfortable. Only complaint is that there's not a full kitchen. So no oven or stove. Just microwave, fridge, and kettle. But puzata hata nearby is cheaper than cooking anyway!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
TIU Chernivtsi Backpackers, Chernivtsi, Ukraine
9.7
31st May 2013

Really good hostel, the only one in Chernivtsi I believe. But there's no reason to go elsewhere anyway. The owners are great, and gave me an awesome tour of both the city and the nightlife, and were generally very helpful. No complaints, great stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Cozyness Hostel, Bucharest, Romania
10.0
28th Mar 2013

Really great stay here, both other guests and staff (ie Marius) were great. Really small, and the name really fits...its a very cozy place, occupying just one flat on the sixth floor of an apartment building. But facilities are all great, everything is clean, etc. I just wish I could have stayed longer than one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hedonist Hostel, Belgrade, Serbia
10.0
23rd Mar 2013

Without hesitation Hedonist was the best hostel, and the most fun I've had in 2 months of traveling. The staff (Anja, Katarina, Marjan, Miloš, Elena) were are superb. Anja even made us crepes the first night! Facitilies are great, common area/kitchen ideal for meeting other travelers, and the location just a few minutes from the walking street can't be beat. Thanks Hedonist!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mostel, Sofia, Bulgaria
9.7
21st Mar 2013

This a very large hostel, especially by Eastern Europe standards. This is fine, except that the common area was very crowded and the atmosphere was not very good for meeting people not staying in your dorm room. But besides this, Hostel Mostel is excellent. Amazingly cheap, very clean, secure, and staff very helpful. Highly recommended in Sofia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Shanti-Hostel, Skopje, Macedonia
10.0
19th Mar 2013

Really great hostel, as the reviews suggest, this is far and away the best hostel in Skopje for many reasons: extremely close to the bus station, and just 5-10 mins from city centre. Also, the staff were amazingly helpful and the atmosphere was great for meeting people. Also the curtain for each bed is a welcome addition that few hostels have, but grant extra privacy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
SunnyLakeHostel, Ohrid, Macedonia
9.1
18th Mar 2013

Sunny Lake is the best hostel in Ohrid, no question. The staff are so cool, and are happy to hang out with you or point you in the right direction to any of the sights. But this is definitely a summer hostel; the only heat they have are space heaters in the rooms, so hallways are absolutely freezing, and the hot water lasts 10 seconds if you are lucky. But I had a very nice stay, and they let me check in at 5:30 am and sleep without paying an extra night. So I can't complain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Villa Angelina Old Town, Dubrovnik, Croatia
9.4
14th Mar 2013

Probably the best location in Dubrovnik in terms of hostels. Very few within the city walls. Naturally its more expensive than Croatian average, but what isn't in Dubrovnik. Great kitchen and common area, comfortable rooms, and no bunk beds. Highly recommended. Only problem is the number of bathrooms; if it was full in high season I could see that being a problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.