Reviews: Anonymous

Location: England, Gender: Male, Age: 19
94%

Very well located hostel in the centre of Miraflores, which is definitely the location to stay while in Lima. Facilities were excellent and staff very friendly. Food a little expensive and drinks are not that cheap either. Showers were warm but could have done with being slightly hotter. Unfortunately our nearest bathroom smelt a lot like cigarette smoke which was a tad offputting. However, we had a great stay here and would definitely return to this hostel if we came back to Lima.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


94%

Had a great stay here. Location could not be better. The restaurant at the front of the hostel is sublime, prices are a little steep but the food and service is well worth it. Hostel also offers a decent sandboard and dunebuggy tour for a fair price. Showers were warm and bathrooms were cleaned each morning. Rooms were spacious and no fault here. If we came to Huacachina again we would definitely stay here.

  • 28th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


97%

The staff here could not be more friendly and helpful and always have a smile. Everything is very clean and feels homely. Breakfasts are good, we were even given homemade pancakes one morning of our stay. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean and showers are top quality. Located a little far from the centre but it is only a 5-10 minute walk. Would definitely come back to this hostel if we return to Cusco, there is nowhere else better. One of the best hostels we have stayed in in South America.

  • 16th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


The Adventure Brew Hostel

La Paz, Bolivia
89%

Overall very positive. Showers and bathrooms are great. Pancakes for breakfast are fantastic. Glass of free beer each evening. Organises tons of tours for you, including the Death Road bike ride which was fantastic. Hostel does a good job of organising activities each night. Only slight complaints are the number of hippies staying here wearing those godawful pyjama trousers. Also, internet is quite dodgy, some times it does not work at all. We would definitely stay here again though.

  • 9th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


Pirwa Hostel La Paz

La Paz, Bolivia
89%

Only was staying here for one night. From what we saw it was a top hostel, great facilities and has a nice feel to it. Good central location near to the bus stop and San Francisco Square. Offers all the tours that you may want to do. Would stay here again.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


74%

This hostel was fine. Nothing special about it. Room was very small and showers were sporadic. Hot water was not working after we returned from the mine tour so we were not too happy about that. It seems the hostel is left to be run by a 12 year old boy during the day who has little idea of what is going on. Wifi was very poor, only worked in a 3 metre radius from the router. However, the owner was helpful in organising our tour and onwards travel, shame he seemed so bored most of the time.

  • 6th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


89%

We had one night here after our 3 day salt flat tour. We were in desperate need of a shower and this hostel did not disappoint. The showers were top quality, a little difficult to get the correct balance between hot and cold but after 3 days out without a shower you do not care. Location could not be better, right in the centre of Uyuni with countless restaurants 30s walk away. Rooms were a good size and enough blankets were provided for the freezing nights. Definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 5th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


Hostal Talar

San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
89%

We had a great stay here. Jessica is the loveliest woman you can meet. She organised our tours around the Atacama desert and our 3 day salt flat tour to Uyuni. She was always welcoming with a smile on her face. She even cooked our supper one night! Hostel is located a little outside of the centre, however, San Pedro is tiny so it doesn't matter at all. Showers were average, one was broken but it got fixed quickly. Would definitely stay here again if i came to San Pedro.


Casa Fischer Hostal

Valparaiso, Chile
80%

Everything about this hostel was great. apart from one big factor: the hostel did not feel welcoming at all. Our host struggled to smile once and gave us very little advice on what there is to do in the city. Also, you get charged a half day's rate if you want to use the facilities after you've checked out. Wouldn't stay here if you have a late transport from Valparaiso. This was unfortunate as otherwise everything was fine. The rooms were big, solid breakfasts and decent bathroom facilities.


Hostal Forestal

Santiago, Chile
91%

Everything about this hostel was fine. Good character and location, friendly guests and decent facilities. Everything you expect from a hostel.


Hostal Víctor

Pucon, Chile
94%

We arrived very late at night and were very warmly greeted by Victor and Rosa with a glass of Pisco Sour. They also immediately helped us book ourselves onto a tour up the Volcano the next day. Location is perfect, right next to the bus stations and only 2 blocks away from the main street. Only negative was the 3-bed room was quite small and a little dark. However, overall a very enjoyable stay here.


Alaska Hostel

Bariloche, Argentina
91%

We had such a nice stay here that we decided to extend our stay by one night. Very clean, Javi, Naty and Pame were all brilliant hosts. Very nice feel to the hostel, very similar to a ski chalet. Rooms were always warm and were cleaned daily. Breakfasts were also good. Only downside to the hostel is the location. It is a good 20 minute bus journey to the centre and also 20 minutes to the Circuito Chico bike route. However, this means the hostel is very quiet and calm, which was perfect for us.

  • 17th Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


America del Sur Hostel

El Calafate, Argentina
94%

Had a fantastic stay here. Our room was perfect, bathroom was very clean and the shower was top notch. Nadia was very helpful in organising our trip to the glacier and also our onwards bus journey to Bariloche. The hangout area is really chilled - has a chalet feel to it. Only downside is that it is a little far from the centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your words! Hope you enjoyed Bariloche and Argentina!!! Big hug

Hostel Suites Florida

Buenos Aires, Argentina
97%

Had a top few nights in this hostel. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, not just for organising our time in Buenos Aires but also our onwards travel to El Calafate. Went on the organised pub crawl which was a lot of fun - the hostel has a constant stream of activities which they lay on for the guests. Location is excellent, on the bustling Av. Florida, and easy to walk to Cemeteria de La Recoleta. Our bedroom and bathroom was cleaned and bed mades every day, felt very relaxed here.


Marcopolo Inn Iguazu

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
83%

Staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially in organising our day trips out to the falls on the Brazilian and Argentine side. Location could not be better as it is opposite the station where the buses go to the falls. Hostel had a very nice motel feel. The bar at the front is also a great for meeting other travellers. Only problem we had was our shower door was broken and the drain was blocked which meant the water overflowed and turned the rest of the bathroom into a swimming pool.


60%

Had an enjoyable two nights at this hostel. Staff were friendly, and location is good, close to a metro station and nightlife. However, there were some issues with this hostel. We stayed in the room below the balcony. The room had no privacy or security. The toilet next to the bedroom was very dirty and smelly. Also the shower room had only one hot shower. Strangely, as this is a football hostel we were unable to watch the champions league and the staff had no idea of the dates of the World Cup


Vidigalbergue Rio Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
71%

Showers were very poor with little hot water and they seemed very dark and dirty. Location is quite far away from central Rio. Staff were excellent. Although we were in a favela we felt very safe as there was a constant police presence. However, the lockers provided were far too small, you'd struggle to keep a laptop in them. Would probably stay more central next time, however it is cheap and does have amazing views out over the ocean.

  • 1st Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Ben, Yes, when you use the eletric shower, you have little water ! we are looking for the " dark and dirty " !! In Rio you have a lot of Hostels...central, in the beach, downton, Lapa, Santa Teresa..and in the Favela with the best view in Rio... The lookers ou can put one Laptop !! Thanks fot the " Staff Excellent " ! We tray to make the best all the time ! regards Luis & Andre

Solar Chacara Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
94%

Three lads travelling to Rio, had an amazing experience at this hostel. Extremely friendly owners with a very secure location. Conveniently located only 5 minutes walk away from Ipanema beach. Very spacious rooms and bathrooms with hot water. Only small problem was that there was not much tourist information given, we couldn't find a map in the hostel. However, this was a minor inconvenience and we will definitely return to this hostel if we come back to Rio.

  • 28th Mar 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (19 reviews)


Vidigalbergue Rio Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
74%

This hostel has a great atmosphere, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially Luis, the owner. Great view over the ocean from the hang out area where Caipirinhas are constantly flowing. I stayed in the 12-bed dorm - there was little floor space, especially when 12 people have their big suitcases in the room. The bathrooms, although clean, were a bit cramped. The hot water was very sporadic - one of the showers had no hot water at all. However, had a very nice stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Ben , we try to make the best when you came back :) We changed the sistem in the bathrooms ( hot water ) See you regards Luis