Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Brussels 2GO4 Quality Hostel, Brussels, Belgium
6.9
26th Apr 2015

not bad but not amazing. nice common area but bathrooms could have been better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Lybeer Travellers' Hostel, Bruges, Belgium
8.9
24th Apr 2015

really liked the hostel - especially happy hour. could maybe dos with better directions to the hostel.

View Property Reply

hi there, thanks for your comment, we liked you too! :-) You could have read our excellent directions on our website, hostelworld profile, your booking confirmation, facebook page, etc... Only 10 minutes walking from train station, super easy to find. Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Station Hostel for Backpackers, Cologne, Germany
8.0
23rd Apr 2015

great location so close to station and cathedral. drawback - no WiFi in rooms. nice bar next door made up for lack of atmosphere in hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
EastSeven Berlin Hostel, Berlin, Germany
7.7
21st Apr 2015

average hostel but clean and near tube station. stayed in a double bed which oddly had 2 single duvets. surrounding area ok but tended to venture into other areas

View Property Reply

Hi, it is nearly impossible to meet all demands. One duvet creates complaint, 2 as well. What can we do. Have a nice trip

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Euro Youth Hostel, Munich, Germany
9.7
18th Apr 2015

Really nice hostel in a good location with a great bar. staff even returned my necklace after I thought I had lost it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.1
14th Jul 2014

The location is excellent although far from the airport. The facilities were limited and the lockers small. Bathroom was nice though. To be honest you stay here for the location and its not a terrible hostel. No air conditioning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.7
8th Jul 2014

A good hostel to stay before/after your trip to the islands with a nice pool and right on the beach. A cafe attached did good food although breakfast was not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Oaklands Lodge, Auckland, New Zealand
8.6
5th Jul 2014

A nice hostel in a nice area if a little outside the main area. The local area is really good though with the mount eden close by as well as good shops/cafes. Not bad value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo, Waitomo, New Zealand
8.9
3rd Jul 2014

Really nice hostel with good staff and during winter a nice fire in the living room area. With limited competition in the area (Waitomo is small) its a bit expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ, Rotorua, New Zealand
6.9
28th Jun 2014

Location and security were good but whilst the kitchen was clean the sheets on the beds were not particularly clean. There was also no oven in the kitchen which seemed odd. The added bonus of the rock wall was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Tiki Lodge, Taupo, New Zealand
8.3
27th Jun 2014

Tiki Lodge was a nice if quiet place to stay in Taupo (though considering its winter, was understandable). Great location near the lake and town, though the staff wouldn't let stay in the common room after we checked out, which was annoying as we had a bit of a wait till our bus and it was quite cold outside. The toilet floor was also always wet, which seemed a bit weird.

View Property Reply

Thanks for feedback. As explained to guest - due to our 11am checkin policy - guests checking out are asked to vacate these areas to allow efficient cleaning of the lodge. It's difficult enough to work around current guests, constantly (politely) asking them to move so we can clean particular areas - let alone working around luggage/extra guests. The guest was offered to come back after cleaning and their luggage was stored for free. Toilet floor wet = guest with poor bathroom manners.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Dwellington, Wellington, New Zealand
6.0
20th Jun 2014

A big let down, this hostel is located quite far away from central town and had terrible wifi which constantly cut out through our time there. The staff were very unprofessional, as when we first turned up the receptionist was too busy to greet us as he was drinking with his mates. Reception was usually shut throughout the day, when some information on the local area would have been beneficial. This seemed more like a place for long term stayers, though a plus was the big supermarket next door.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Fish Tank Lodge, Kaikoura, New Zealand
9.1
18th Jun 2014

A very nice hostel, right on the coast with the added bonus of the coach stopping off right outside. Interesting decorations inside and very nice staff, though it was a bit quiet. Free Wifi was a nice touch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand
8.0
15th Jun 2014

This hostel makes for an interesting stay, though Christchurch itself was less interesting. Not much to do in the town, but if you are going to stay here, then Jailhouse is one of the better places to stay. It is in a nice location in Addington, though it can get pretty cold during the winter here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
YHA Franz Josef, Franz Josef, New Zealand
7.7
13th Jun 2014

A fairly good hostel to stay in Frans Josef, though not much competition in the area. The staff could have been more enthusiastic behind the counter but no major problems.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Adventure Queenstown Hostel, Queenstown, New Zealand
9.7
9th Jun 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Though it's not the cheapest, they provide free wifi (rare in NZ) great themed nights (e.g. mario cart tournament) and very friendly staff. There was mix up when booking skiing equipment, but they apologised immediately and refunded us the money back so no harm there. Is located right in the centre of town and I would definitely recommend to any people travelling to Queenstown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers HQ, Sydney, Australia
6.3
6th Jun 2014

An okay hostel, though the bathroom was tiny for a 10 bed room. Was rather unclean as well, though if your going there to party it is right near some good bars and has a good atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Dreamtime Travellers Rest, Cairns, Australia
8.9
22nd May 2014

The rooms and bathrooms were clean although our bathroom had a window that people could see through. The hostel was close to the centre of town and had a mall very close by. All in all a nice hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Tanaya Bed & Breakfast, Kuta, Indonesia
9.1
18th May 2014

Tanaya B&B was a really comfortable place to stay in Bali. Roughly 10 mins from the beach and with a great range of bars and restaurants on the same road. The staff were really nice as well, although if your looking to meet other travellers, this place probably isn't for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Nick's Homestay, Ubud, Indonesia
8.3
15th May 2014

A unique place to stay in Ubud. The garden surrounding the rooms is beautiful and creates a really nice atmosphere. It is also located very close to the monkey forest and a few shops and restaurants. There is no Air-con, though that seemed a regular trait throughout Ubud, and it could be annoying trying to locate the staff as half the time there was no-one at the desk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The InnCrowd Backpackers Hostel 2, Singapore, Singapore
8.9
7th May 2014

A fun hostel, with a large common room that holds a friendly atmosphere. Is located right in little india and is surrounded by good bars and restaurants. The only negatives are the bathroom which is full of bugs and the lack of wifi in the bedroom. A big plus was the free scooter tour; was really fun and got to see a lot of Singapore.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
BackHome Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
8.9
2nd May 2014

A big hostel that provided a good free breakfast and was very clean. The staff could have been more informative, but overall this is a good place to stay in KL. Located near china town which was useful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Kimberley House, Penang, Malaysia
9.1
29th Apr 2014

A nice hostel, with friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Pak-Up Hostel, Krabi, Thailand
7.7
25th Apr 2014

An underwhelming hostel in an underwhelming town. The staff were rather uninterested eventually booking us transport to Malaysia which didn't even drop us off at the right location. Despite the hostels flaws it was probably one of the better hostels in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Boardroom Beach Bungalows, Koh Samui, Thailand
9.4
21st Apr 2014

Some great bungalows right on the beach. The surrounding area isn't great, so you have to decide whether you want a relaxing stay on the beach, or the more busier touristy area. The owners are really nice and helped to create a good atmosphere, even offering to help bake a cake for my birthday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Koh Tao Central Hostel, Koh Tao, Thailand
6.0
18th Apr 2014

A poor hostel in a great location. Right near the pier and surrounded by good bars, restaurants and diving instructors. The rooms are too dark though, there is no sort of atmopshere, the bar across the road was pretty poor and the showers and toilets were horrible, regularly full of bugs and very smelly. If you don't mind where you are staying its probably a good option for koh tao given the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Slumber Party Hostel, Koh Phangan, Thailand
9.7
13th Apr 2014

Great option if you are up for partying, there is a fun atmosphere and when we turned up during the thai new year, they had tanks of water and water guns set up so everyone could have a water fight, If you are just looking for somewhere to sleep it probably isn't for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Green Tulip House, Chiang Mai, Thailand
9.4
6th Apr 2014

The staff here made it a really fun place to stay in Chiang Mai, creating a good atmosphere and having great knowledge of what to do in the area. The location was a bit out from the nightlife area, but as the main attractions are outside Chiang Mai, it doesn't matter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Lub d Bangkok Silom, Bangkok, Thailand
9.4
2nd Apr 2014

A great place to stay in bangkok, has a fun communal area and great facilities. The only criticism I would have is that the staff didn't have much useful knowledge of the area or bangkok really.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bou Savy Guesthouse, Siem Reap, Cambodia
6.3
30th Mar 2014

First place of stay on our RTW trip that we didn't like. The staff seemed to want to overcharge whenever they could, while we weren't told beforehand that a room with AC would be a much higher rate than the one quoted on here. There was a lack of any atmosphere and the tour for the ankor temples was poorly planned out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Mad Monkey, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
8.9
28th Mar 2014

A great hostel, with an excellent restaurant opposite the street and a good atmosphere for the guests. It is let down by its location (not really near the big sight seeing locations) and staff in the hostel, who were rather lifeless whenever I saw them (polar opposites of the restaurant staff it should be said).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Diep Anh Guesthouse, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
8.6
24th Mar 2014

This is a nice guesthouse, with some friendly staff. It isn't too far from all the centre of the city and is near some good bars. We had a bit of an ant problem in our room and didn't have our towels changed while we were there, but a nice cheap option for ho chi minh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Mojzo inn, Nha Trang, Vietnam
10.0
21st Mar 2014

One of our favourite places we have stayed at so far on our RTW trip. The staff are so friendly and energetic and the breakfast is well worth getting up for, with the poached eggs topping the list. Very cheap place to stay as well and is literally down the road from the beach :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hoa My Hotel, Hoi An, Vietnam
9.1
16th Mar 2014

A nice hotel, very cheap with a good location opposite a great place to grab a bite called cafe 41.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Valentine Hotel, Hue, Vietnam
9.1
14th Mar 2014

A good hostel in a great location for places to eat. The staff were very helpful in setting up a tour for us and giving us local information on where to go. The breakfast could be more varied, but i'm just being picky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hanoi Serendipity Hotel, Hanoi, Vietnam
9.7
8th Mar 2014

A great budget hotel to stay at. It's cheap, has a very good free breakfast and large rooms. The only thing we found was that the staff tended to try and sell you a lot of stuff, otherwise it was a very enjoyable experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.9
26th Feb 2014

A very good hostel with a cool bar attached. It had good showers and was bang in the middle of where you wanted to be in Shanghai. The staff were pretty stand-offish, but then we didn't really need them to be fair.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.7
21st Feb 2014

We had a great time in Beijing at this hostel, it had a good location and felt very secure. The hostel staff even sent on my phone (after I forgot it) to the next hostel. The only criticism would be for the bathroom which had a weird layout and never seemed to drain properly, leaving a wet floor almost constantly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Barcelona Central Garden, Barcelona, Spain
8.9
20th Apr 2013

I thought the staff were really helpful, they gave us some useful hints of where to visit and what bars to choose, while they were always open to questions. I would recommend to friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.