Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Singapore, Gender: Male, Age: 26

Missis Hudson Hostel

St Petersburg, Russia
71%

Good location along Nevsky Prospekt and close to the metro. No lift inside the building however, so heavy luggage might pose some difficulty as the hostel is on the second floor.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


77%

No customer comment

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Hostel on 3rd

San Diego, USA
74%

No customer comment

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Sunstyle Suites

Orlando, USA
60%

No customer comment

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


69%

No customer comment

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Luxembourg City Hostel

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
83%

No customer comment

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Vertigo Vieux-Port

Marseille, France
89%

No customer comment

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Hostel Pastoral

Nice, France
71%

Perhaps the best thing about this hostel is its proximity to the train station. Apart from that, it is pretty ordinary, with insufficiently large common areas (particularly the kitchen) for the number of rooms and hence guests staying there, and a rather poor WiFi connection that becomes very slow when everyone surfs the internet during the evenings. Also insufficient shared toilet facilities: just 2 toilets and 1 shower available.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Albergo Carola

Genoa, Italy
83%

A lovely guesthouse located fairly close to Genoa Brignole train station. I had a hard time getting here, mainly because the train and metro exits on Google Maps were labelled the wrong way around, plus there was a lack of proper signage pointing the directions out of the train station. Nevertheless, the owner was friendly and spoke good English, and the room was comfortable and had its own sink.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Open011

Turin, Italy
74%

This is some kind of student residence, so expect lots of noisy youths at various times throughout the day. Dorm room was very spacious and clean, although the air-conditioning was rattling far too loudly. WiFi coverage limited only to common areas. Breakfast was extra but inexpensive, although fairly meagre. Hostel is very close to the Dora train station, which is good for getting to/from the airport, but the city centre is about a 15min bus ride away.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


71%

This place is exactly what one imagines a modern university student hall to be like: full of noisy students, fairly spartan if comfortable rooms and characterless décor. The breakfast spread was generous, even though it was identical every single day. I paid for an "ensuite" room, but the bathroom was to be found outside my room, across a hallway - the absence of a shower cubicle meant that the whole bathroom became flooded after taking a shower. Air-conditioning in the room was a plus.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


C.C.Ly Hostel

Catania, Italy
80%

A decent hostel which is actually rather close to the bus/train stations. However, the lack of proper road signage in Catania makes whatever directions stated on the website virtually useless - I ended up taking over 1 hour to get to the hostel despite it being less than 500m from the bus station. Nevertheless, clean shower facilities, rooms with individual lockers, and generous breakfast spread.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are sorry you took that time to find us, but generally it's enough ten minutes to find us from the bus station which is, not seems, 500m from us, you check the map we sent you

Hostel Taormina

Taormina, Italy
77%

Decent hostel run by very friendly and helpful staff. Fairly clean in general, although slightly cramped, perhaps because of too many guests. There are great views from the terrace, although one has to walk through a dorm room to access it, which is rather strange and slightly annoying to those occupying the room.

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


B&B Al capitello

Palermo, Italy
60%

Not a real B&B at all since there was no breakfast served in the morning! This place has literally only 2 rooms, and there is no manager on-site. Rather difficult to find given the lack of proper road signage in Palermo and the warren of dark, narrow and unsafe-looking streets in the area. I had to wait outside for over 30 minutes, because the manager arrived late. Laundry facilities were advertised on the HostelWorld website, but I was not allowed to use them, which was annoying.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


89%

This guesthouse is situated in a historic quarter of Berat, which made it extremely difficult to find upon arrival due to a lack of road signs or landmarks. The owner speaks some Italian, French and German, but unfortunately not English, so it was quite futile even to call to ask for directions. However, the accommodation itself was good: great view over the river, spacious and clean room in a traditional style, and generous breakfast served by the owner's wife. A very memorable stay indeed.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


83%

Accommodation here is literally in the owner's own house. The owner wasn't in town during my stay, which caused a few minor problems when checking-in. Rooms are located on the second and third floors of the house i.e. need to haul luggage up narrow flights of stairs. No towels provided nor shower curtains in the bathroom. However, I was given a very spacious room with its own kitchen area. I suppose the low room rates make up for any inconveniences.

  • 15th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Shanti Hostel 2

Skopje, Macedonia
77%

A very budget-friendly hostel situated close to the Skopje bus/train stations. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Furnishings in the rooms are common areas were unexpectedly clean and modern; each bunk bed even had its own curtains, which was useful when other room-mates switched on the lights at random times during the night. The main area of improvement would be security: the front gate could be opened by anybody, while room doors cannot be locked.

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


City Hostel Prizren

Prizren, Kosovo
71%

A decent place located within walking distance to the bus station. Room was spacious and clean, although there was a rather strange-smelling odour emanating from the ensuite bathroom. A fairly comfortable, if unmemorable stay.

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Central Station

Milan, Italy
51%

There is no other reason to stay here apart from the fact that it is located near Milan Central Station. It is very spartan with no kitchen facilities. There are individual lockers in the rooms, but room doors cannot be locked. Hostel appears to be run by China girls who don't have very good English and aren't exactly very friendly or helpful.

  • 12th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Deja Vu Hotel

Cluj Napoca, Romania
91%

A comfortable and well-maintained small hotel located in a residential part of Cluj-Napoca. It is a considerable distance away from the city centre, but still walkable. Polite staff and generous breakfast spread. The only downside was that the shower area in my ensuite room had no door or shower curtain, so the entire bathroom became rather wet after taking a shower.

  • 9th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


The Legend House

Sighisoara, Romania
86%

A clean and well-kept guesthouse with plenty of character! All of the main attractions are readily accessible from its central location in the heart of Sighisoara's citadel, but this also means a steep uphill climb to get there when arriving from the train station. The common room was not open to guests, however, and there was no WiFi access in the rooms. Apart from that, a pleasant and memorable stay.

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Pension Zanzi

Sibiu, Romania
94%

This guesthouse boasts a great location, in between the railway station and Sibiu's old town centre, making it very convenient to get around. The single room I stayed in was incredibly spacious and comfortable. Although breakfast was extra, it was tasty and the service was highly personalised - furthermore it was served in a really quaint dining room! Overall, a very memorable stay for all the right reasons.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Casa Terezia

Brasov, Romania
91%

A very pleasant guesthouse situated close to the centre of Brasov's old town. The room was squeaky clean and the free coffee/tea was an added bonus. Terezia, the hostess, was polite, friendly and welcoming. Certainly a recommended place to stay in Brasov.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Birmingham Central Backpackers

Birmingham, England
66%

Perhaps the only reason why anyone would choose this hostel over others is its very close proximity to Birmingham coach station - other than that it's a rather ordinary backpackers hostel.

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


94%

A great all-round hostel with good location (close to the train/bus stations), generous breakfast, friendly staff and nice, well-appointed rooms and toilets. Would definitely stay here again if ever back in Cardiff!

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Reykjavik, Iceland
83%

A well-maintained and newly-furnished hostel with clean and spacious dorm rooms and bathrooms. It's located slightly further out from Reykjavik city centre, but conveniently close to the main city bus terminal. The free toast in the morning is great - quite rare for a hostel in a Nordic country! However, I found the lack of pillows/blankets in the dorm rooms strange - shouldn't this be a basic provision in all hostels? Overall, a pleasant and quiet stay.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your time and for staying with us! Bedding is available at extra cost. We do this since a lot of travelers bring their own sleeping bags etc. and therefor it is easier for us to offer lower prices. We hope to see you again!

Atlantis Hotel Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki, Greece
63%

Easily accessible location along the busy Egnatia Street and at a walkable distance from the railway station. This budget hotel has friendly and helpful staff, and clean, well-maintained common areas. I stayed in a non-ensuite room, which felt rather run-down and spartan. The common shower and toilet, while not dirty, felt institutional and were likely to be very cold during winter. The room had no air-conditioning, but at least there was a fan.

  • 21st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Hotel King

Kalambaka, Greece
71%

The actual signboard outside this budget hotel reads "Hotel King" rather than "Epihotel King", which I found rather bizarre. Nevertheless, it was very easy to locate since it is along Kalambaka's main thoroughfare, and is close to both the train and bus stations. My only gripe is that they deliberately removed the remote control for my room's air-conditioner. When I asked for it, I was told that it was too early in the year for air-conditioning to be on, which is utterly ridiculous!

  • 19th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Athina Hotel Delphi

Delphi, Greece
74%

A well-maintained budget hotel located along Delphi's main thoroughfare. The staff were helpful and gave much-needed information about the public bus schedules which were almost impossible to obtain otherwise. The room I stayed in was comfortable and very clean. A value-for-money option.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


City Circus Athens

Athens, Greece
94%

A very nice and newly-furnished hostel located close to a metro station and the main historical areas of Athens. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm room, which had individual lockers and proper air-conditioning. The ensuite bathroom was very clean and had new fittings, which was a pleasant surprise. The staff were friendly and ready to offer assistance to guests. Breakfast was included and was really good. A highly recommended place to stay in Athens.

  • 13th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Pension Rena

Paros, Greece
97%

A very well-maintained guesthouse situated just a short walking distance from the ferry port. The room I stayed in was clean, spacious and well-lit. Complimentary tea/coffee as well as a bottle of shower gel were provided, which was a very pleasant surprise. The room also had a lovely balcony which was great for quiet relaxation after a long day's sightseeing. Rena, the owner, was very hospitable and down-to-earth. Probably the most obvious choice of accommodation in the whole of Paros!

  • 12th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Anemomilos Villa

Santorini, Greece
89%

A well-kept guesthouse with its own swimming pool and jacuzzi! There were ample open-air terraces for guests to relax too. My ensuite room was clean, well-lit and very spacious. The complimentary transfer provided to and from the main ferry port in Santorini was very much appreciated since one need not worry about heavy luggage or getting lost. The only drawback was that the guesthouse was located some distance from the centre of Fira - getting back at night is tricky as street lighting is poor!

  • 10th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Kydonia Rooms

Chania, Greece
60%

Very good location close to the Venetian Harbour and about a 10 minute walk to the bus station. The owner was also nice enough to have waited for my arrival, which was past 1:00 AM in the morning due to a late flight. However, my room, and the hostel in general, was slightly decrepit. There was an air-conditioner in the room, but I was not given the remote controller to operate it, which was rather annoying. The lighting everywhere was dim and the bathroom walls had seriously flaking paintwork.

  • 7th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (58 reviews)


Jazz Hostel & Apartments

Bled, Slovenia
89%

A nice, comfortable hostel with newish furnishings/facilities. I stayed during the low season, so I had the entire dorm room to myself, which greatly enhanced my stay! Jani, the owner, was very friendly and ensured that I was able to check into the hostel even though I arrived past the reception hours. The only drawback is that the hostel is located some distance away from the centre of Bled - the road there is steep and almost completely unlit at night!

  • 19th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Hostel Histria

Koper, Slovenia
63%

The main advantage of this hostel is its good location just inside the old town and about 500m to the bus/train stations. The dorm room I stayed in was spacious and clean (possibly because I was the only occupant), but the common bathroom facilities were lacking in cleanliness and smelt strongly of raw fish. The hostel is unmanned for prolonged periods in the day and it took me several phone calls (many went unanswered) and a 3-hour wait for the manager to arrive to let me in - very annoying!

  • 18th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Hostel Alieti

Izola, Slovenia
91%

Finding this hostel was a little tricky due to the maze-like nature of the old town. Other than that, I had an amazing stay. Because it was low season, I was the only guest, but the manager came around to let me in quickly - she even came in early the next morning to make me breakfast! The hostel is very newly-furnished and the beds, showers and toilets are amazingly clean and new. There is also a lovely lounge area and a nice kitchen for guests to use. Possibly the best hostel in Izola!

  • 17th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


H2ohostel

Ljubljana, Slovenia
71%

Quite a nice hostel with a pleasant location along the riverside. The dorm room I was in was clean, spacious and had characterful décor - there was even a gas stove and pots/pans for guests who wanted to cook their own meals. A lack of privacy was the main shortcoming - the main gate to the hostel was unlocked (even at night) and strangers could potentially enter if one forgot to lock the room door. Also, the blinds had such large gaps that people outside could see right into the room!

  • 16th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Home Made House

Vilnius, Lithuania
80%

This is actually a private house that the owner has turned into a hostel. The two toilets are sufficient for a maximum of 12 guests, but 1 shower is rather inadequate. Well-maintained and clean overall, and has a good location close to the centre of the Old Town and to the bus/train stations. The owner-manager, Lina, was very friendly, helpful and attentive to guests' needs.

  • 26th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Dome Pearl Hostel

Riga, Latvia
89%

Housed in a historic building, this hostel has a great location in the heart of Riga's Old Town. The private room that we were allocated was extremely spacious and had great views over Dome Square. Overall, it was clean, well-lit and airy, and while it did not have a kitchen, the tea/coffee making facilities were adequate. A pleasant stay.

  • 24th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Knight House

Tallinn, Estonia
71%

This hostel is conveniently located in Tallinn's Old Town so all the main attractions are a stone's throw away. However, the quality of the accommodation itself was rather lacking: the rooms and toilets felt perpetually damp, the mattresses had large stains on them, and there was insufficient lighting even though parts of the house were quite dark even during the daytime. At least the manager, Ilya, was friendly and willing to help guests with their needs.

  • 22nd Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Metropol 1-3

Vienna, Austria
80%

No customer comment

  • 13th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Neptune Hotel

Dahab, Egypt
60%

I booked a single room but was given a twin room instead. Overall it was a nice, spacious room, but was let down by dim lighting and a bad toilet. The W.C. could never flush properly and quickly became rather dirty as waste could not be removed. There was no shower curtain either, so the whole toilet became very wet after taking a shower. The hotel did have a nice terrace overlooking the sea, though not much else in terms of facilities.

  • 22nd Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you have not being fully satisfied with your stay. Thank you for your feedback and thank you for liking our terrace Regarding the bathroom, we offer free room service upon request, and every two days we ask our guest if they would like to clean the room, you could ask for room service and we won't mind if you would like to change the room because we are here to please you as much as possible. regarding our facilities, we organize safari and diving trips inside and outside Dahab. but we apologize that our brochures and posters didn't catch your eyes. Thank you also Conrad for your comments, definitely we will take them into our consideration, wish you will be happy every next time you visit us.

Hayarkon 48 Hostel

Tel Aviv, Israel
60%

In terms of facilities, this was a decent hostel with internet access (additional charge), washing machines, kitchen and lounge area. However, the mix of guests in the hostel was terrible - older (age-wise) and evidently long-term guests marred my stay. These men (aged 40 to 50) behaved as if they were living in a private room, shouting at other people who wanted to use the room lights at night to find their belongings and snoring so loudly that sleeping was hard. Such guests should be banned.

  • 19th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


The Jerusalem Hostel

Jerusalem, Israel
63%

This hostel had all the basic facilities and had pleasant and helpful staff. Rooms were fairly clean although power points were in ridiculously hard-to-reach locations. However, this hostel allows in all sorts of guests, some of whom were shady and looked criminal. In my first room, there was a long-term guest who was probably a homeless person and who stared at you from his bed, which was rather disconcerting. I requested to switch rooms and the staff kindly agreed - I felt much safer there.

  • 16th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Riviera Hotel Amman

Amman, Jordan
40%

This is obviously a cheap hotel which was turned into a hostel, hence there were none of the usual hostel facilities like internet access, laundry or even a kitchen. The room smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke, and had only a tiny window which faced a wall. As a result there was poor ventilation and no natural light. Moreover, there was urine all over the W.C. when I checked-in, and it seemed like the staff did not clean up after the previous guest had left. I was only too glad to leave.

  • 8th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Serai Inn

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
60%

It's good that rooms are air-conditioned, given the humid and warm tropical climate, but the rooms need to be ventilated once guests leave - a fairly strong, not-so-pleasant odour greeted me when I first checked into my room.

  • 11th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


77%

Room was very clean and nice. Bedside lamps were useful and helped to minimise disturbance of other guests especially late at night.

  • 2nd Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Extol Inn Youth Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic
83%

This is actually a hotel but offers rooms at hostel prices - value for money indeed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread was very large and delicious. Rooms were spick and span and very spacious. A great place to stay in a generally expensive city like Prague, the only downside being that the hotel is not centrally located, although tram and metro services are within walking distance.

  • 24th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Brama Hostel

Krakow, Poland
83%

Excellent location close to both Rynek Glowny (main town square) and the railway station. Spacious room and good bathroom facilities. No guest kitchen available, but complimentary breakfast is good and buffet-style.

  • 22nd Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Gallery Stay Hostel

Budapest, Hungary
83%

Hostel was extremely difficult to locate. But other than that, it was a very pleasant stay. The hostel had good kitchen and toilet facilities and the room was very spacious.

  • 19th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Astor Victoria

London, England
73%

No customer comment

  • 13th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Sleep Well Youth Hostel

Brussels, Belgium
87%

I liked the fact that they had storage space incorporated into the double-decker beds, and that there was at least a sink in the room. The rooms are generally very spacious and clean.

  • 17th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Rivoli Cinema Hostel

Porto, Portugal
93%

Rooms were a bit cramp in this hostel, but were nevertheless clean and had individual, lockable cupboards for guests to use. Common toilets were new and nice.

  • 12th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Yes! Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
97%

Definitely the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The room was spacious, clean and had a great bathroom. There were even curtains around the beds to keep the light out when other guests returned late at night. The individual lockers were pretty hi-tech and easy to use. The hostel lounge area was extremely noisy but fortunately the noise did not reach the rooms. The breakfast was very generous. Excellent value for money.

  • 10th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Samay Hostel Sevilla

Seville, Spain
90%

The ensuite room was nice, new and clean. There was a nice terrace area for guests to hang out. The hostel also owned another property a short walk away from the main site: the room there was equally nice and clean. It was peaceful and quiet at night. However, the air-conditioner did not seem to be working properly and part of the lobby was undergoing renovation so the computers were not available for use.

  • 5th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Hostal Alcazaba

Granada, Spain
73%

More like a cheap hotel than a hostel. Nice room with a television and free towels provided. Small balcony also a nice addition. However, there is no breakfast or any other facilities e.g. computers to speak of. Our bags were removed from the room even though we returned back only shortly after the check-out time.

  • 4th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (58 reviews)


Hatters Hostel- Liverpool

Liverpool, England
70%

The 4-bed room felt rather cramped and the ensuite bathroom was drafty at night.