Reviews: Anonymous

Location: USA, Gender: Male, Age: 28

Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel

Phuket, Thailand
71%

Security is very good with three layers between the outside and your bag. If you know you're staying in Phuket Town, then the location is considered good with only a 5 min walk to the main bus stop and 10 to the local bus stop. There's a number of great temples within 15-30 minutes walk radius as well. Staff is nice, but English is not fantastic (which is okay). Atmosphere is almost non-existent with hardly anyone choosing 2 stay in Phuket Town. Relatively clean 'cept the sheets. Overall, decent


Aura Thematic Hostel

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
86%

Very good hostel. Security is pretty good except the one side entrance that's insecure. Location is great; close to many sites. Staff is relatively friendly and helpful. They have events many of the nights including free fries on Friday and I met many great folks here. Things are mostly clean though the aircon areas still allow mosquitos in which is VERY annoying. Good value for money and decent facilities. If they can seal off the aircon areas better, they'd have an even better rating.


60%

Not the best hostel ever. Despite the look of it on the map, its near a good number of food places and with jeepneys everywhere, it is cheap and not too long to go to the pier or other places. The bathroom was a bit dirty feeling. Not much in the way of facilities. Staff using the TV for themselves to hang out basically. They were nice, but sometimes a bit uninterested in guests. Atmosphere was non-existent. No screens on the window sin the room and even with aircon, mosquitos got me at night.


Cozee Monkey Backpackers Manila

Manila, Philippines
74%

Nothing superb about this hostel, but it has a good price point. Security is lacking with only lockers to protect your stuff. Staff was friendly. Location is close to the airport which is a good. There's not much in Manila to be close to anyways (besides Old Town). Atmosphere was good. With more people, maybe better. Could've been cleaner, especially the kitchen. Value for Money is worth it and the facilities have places to chill, work, watch TV and even foosball. Beds comfy enough. Fans work.


Our Melting Pot

Manila, Philippines
74%

Security could've been improved with locks on the room doors. Someone always on duty though. Location is by restaurants and bars but FAR from Old Manila. Given everything is hard to get to, its not good to be far from the sites. Staff is very nice, helpful and generous. Atmosphere is good at breakfast. They try to make breakfast a little more special, but I prefer endless toast and toppings because I left quite hungry given the limits. Average value for money, a little high. Facilities alright.


PODs The Backpackers Home

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
86%

A solid hostel. Location was great being right next to KL Sentral, the hub for local and distant travel. Security was pretty good, but locks on the doors would be better. Staff was generally friendly. Atmosphere was good for meeting people, but there weren't many activities going on as seems normal in SE Asia. Pretty clean except the bathroom sometimes. Toilet. Good value for the money for sure. Facilities have laundry machine, but dryer was pathetic. Had to hang dry. Cafe is nice. Food decent.


PODs The Backpackers Home

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
83%

No customer comment


5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2

Singapore, Singapore
71%

Location was great; best part. Security was solid as well with swipe cards. The staff seemed a little uninterested in guests; that's disappointing in a hostel. The atmosphere was mostly non-existent and there were too many working people and families. Not a great option if you're looking to hang out with people in a common area. Cleanliness was average. Walls moldy. Should fix that and repaint. Rooms were awkwardly arranged such that there was little room. Upstairs was scorching hot at times.


80%

Security was great with two security points to get to rooms. Lockers in the rooms as well. Location wasn't spectacular, but taxis are so cheap it barely matters. There's a few nice places to wander and eat nearby. Atmosphere was lacking; no one seemed interested in hanging out and chatting or playing cards anywhere in particular. In general, that doesn't seem to be a thing in SE Asia. Relatively clean and a very friendly staff. I'd recommend this place and would stay again.


Laura's Backpacker 523

Yogyakarta, Indonesia
80%

Security could be better. The doors to the rooms weren't even locked. Small lockers for valuables though. Staff was great and there was a lot of socializing in the front area so good atmosphere. Cleanliness was average for SE Asia, but felt uncomfortable at times. Facilities were fine with privacy curtains around the beds and a kitchen. WiFi was relatively stable. All in all, work can be done, but a solid hostel.


Bali Caps

Kuta, Indonesia
86%

VERY clean, staff VERY friendly and helpful and the security is great (though I wish the elevator was locked. The atmosphere isn't great cause no one hangs out in the common area and it IS true that is far from the action. Even with the free bus (once a day to the beach, twice to the airport), it is still a hassle. Great place to recuperate from the "elements" of Indonesia (heat, humidity, dirty). Good value for money and facilities are quite nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us. Soon we will install a partition door into the aisle of the bedroom's area to build more security, the access is only with key card - it will accommodate your concern to have the elevator locked. See you in another journey. Thanks for being Bali Caps' friend.

In Da Lodge

Ubud, Indonesia
69%

Security was average with only lockers to lock stuff and none on the doors to rooms or the entrance. The location is relatively walkable to the main center of Ubud. Staff seemed nice and decent enough at English. The atmosphere seemed like it could mean meeting new people, but everyone kept to themselves when I was there. Not very clean. Bathrooms were a bit dirty though I might say average for Indonesia. Different place. Average value for money. Facilities had a pool, bar and food, so good.


Bunk Backpackers

Brisbane, Australia
86%

NOT REALLY FREE WIFI! Only 30 minutes which I think is misleading. They should change their marketing. Great security and 24 hour staffing. Location a 15-20 minute walk from South Bank but area has cheap food and places to go out. Staff was a mixed bag; they didn't all seem fully aware of their own events and their time, and caused me and a ton of others I spoke to to miss things like free food which every backpacker knows is key! Atmosphere was great for meeting people. Cleanliness also great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We recently changed our free Wifi policy as when we gave free internet the whole time we got a lot of negative feedback about the speed and that it was negative for the atmosphere. Now you get 30 minutes of high speed wifi every day (not just 30 minutes for your stay) and we have halved cost of the paid internet in the last year so it is just $2 for 24 hours or $10 for a week of unlimited super fast awesomeness! Hopefully we will see you again soon!!!

1770 Beachside Backpacker

Agnes Water - Town of 1770, Australia
60%

Security was average. Not 24hr reception, so can just walk in and back to the rooms which had handles that seemed flimsy and didn't always lock fully it seemed. Location was fine for the small city and near the beach and the staff was welcoming and picked me up late even without request. Atmosphere was a bit quiet though perhaps that's the city. Mostly hostel workers really. Cleanliness was not great with the hostel worker leaving his suit in the shower, sand everywhere and mattresses stained.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we don't have a 24hr reception just as any other hostel in this safe small and friendly town. Anyway to make our customers feel even safer we provide lookers in every room. It's unfortunate that you didn't enjoy our chilled atmosphere, we love the nature around us and we find it so relaxing! None of our staff sleep in the dorms as we have separate staff rooms, so whoever was in your room, was not a staff member. Cheers

Aussie Woolshed

Hervey Bay, Australia
57%

Wasn't a particularly outstanding (bad or good) hostel. Location required a 5-10 minute walk to any sort of food or drink and the atmosphere wasn't quite conducive to really meeting people. People kept to themselves. Security was only at the door to your room which seemed flimsy; at least had lockers in the rooms. Staff were fine, but sometimes unhelpful or unwilling to help I felt. Storage after you check out costs if you didn't book a tour through them; not very hostel-like. Facilities average


Sleeping Inn Backpackers

Surfers Paradise, Australia
83%

All in all, a solid hostel, but wouldn't rate it top notch. Security was good, but easy for things to be left open. Location wasn't too far from the beach (among other hostels). Was pretty clean except the bathroom in my room was rank even after being cleaned. A pool table, benches, pool and movie/TV room made for a lot of space to hang out, but would be nice to have somewhere to sit at a computer (that wasn't a bench in the sun). All in all, would recommend for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Sleeping Inn. I have taken your comments in consideration and very much appreciate your feedback. We hope you have a blast on the rest of your travels! The Sleeping Inn Team

Byron Bay YHA

Byron Bay, Australia
77%

Good almost across the board. Security and location were typical. Staff was generally nice but sometimes seemed strangely impatient with guests. The atmosphere chill but fun. A good balance. Cleanliness was average. The amount of sand on the floor in my room was a bit much. Had a pool. Have to pay for luggage storage after you check out. Hate that. Very against the spirit of hostels.


Central Backpackers

Coffs Harbour, Australia
60%

Nothing excellent the hostel. The location is far from the beach and the atmosphere is definitely lacking. Room was greatly in need of a vacuum it didn't seem to have gotten in days. Staff was nice and security is relatively good. Value for the money is average and while there was a restaurant downstairs, there wasn't much else besides the kitchen. :/ Also, the deals advertised have expired...9 months ago. They need to be taken out of the pictures. All in all, luke warm recommendation.


Warrnambool Beach Backpackers

Warrnambool, Australia
83%

All in all, very satisfied with my stay. Back door was unlocked which wasn't ideal, but the rooms locked individually. Came in late, but they left a note for where to go. Wasn't around to experience atmosphere but there was a large common room for hanging out in. One of the cleaner hostels I've stayed in lately.


Uenuku lodge

Auckland, New Zealand
54%

The front door was propped open late. The bag "storage" during the day was the bags sitting out in the open in an office the owner occasionally stepped out of. Location is MARKED WRONG on Hostelworld which meant extra travel time; however, area had a lot of good restaurants and bars. Owner wasn't in the office during office hours and took 15 minutes to track down. Didn't answer posted phone number. Cleanliness was a little lacking with carpeting over a hole in the floor (yes...). Don't recommend


Crash Palace

Rotorua, New Zealand
80%

Atmosphere seemed a little lacking and the facilities were just a little above average. Cleanliness was lacking a bit in the cramped shower space but the rooms were clean and elsewhere. Didn't use the kitchen. Staff was nice but limited desk hours. Overall, would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
merry christmas !

Taupo Urban Retreat

Taupo, New Zealand
80%

Security: locks didn't work on room doors. Facilities: a little small and stark common area, desk not 24hr. Good location and I think mostly with the money.


Hostel Van Gogh

San Jose, Costa Rica
69%

Though others could let people in, the owner was pretty much always there, so relatively secure. The latest check-in is 10PM (though he can be a bit flexible); however, it means no late nights. Location is relatively close to the pedestrian areas and the museums. Atmosphere is lacking; the owner is nice, but it doesn't feel like a hostel to meet new people (more a place to sleep). Mostly clean throughout. Value for the money is average. Beds are a hit or miss and internet is poor at best.


Arenal Backpackers Resort

La Fortuna, Costa Rica
94%

Great hostel. Main entrance is buzzed open at desk only + there's a security guy always hanging around. LOCKERS ARE IN THE ROOMS except for the tents which have lockers elsewhere (some reviews said they didn't exist; they are flat out wrong). Staff are friendly for the most part; seem a little disinterested in the guests. Atmosphere is great; lots of cards, drinks, and meeting new people in the common space. Pretty clean throughout. No kitchen, but the "restaurant" food is great. Solid hostel.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (37 reviews)


Hostel Villa Vento Surf

Panama City, Panama
66%

Lockers in lobby and pretty small and limited; front door closed and locked at night (in a seemingly safe area). Location was a bit far from the things there were to do but close-ish to a metro stop. Staff were nice and welcoming. Atmosphere allowed meeting new people, but not spectacular (rated: Good). There were two showers and they didn't feel clean; never warm water. Pretty average value for the money and the facilities in general were pretty average. AC run at night.


HI San Francisco - City Center

San Francisco, USA
86%

Security was fine. Checked at the front door and keys to rooms. The location was central to many places you can go, but not the best neighborhood by any stretch of the imagination. Staff and Atmosphere were great. Pretty clean, but a little smelly at times. Showers were a little inconsistent on temperature, but tolerable. Overall, facilities were nice. Need better wireless signal and speed.


Lullaby Rambla Catalunya

Barcelona, Spain
57%

The security was fine & the location was on the outskirts of the old city (which is good). The staff were average (friendly but didn't feel like family like some places). The atmosphere I rated Poor first, but up'd to Average, to be fair, since I didn't spend much time there. Bathrooms & my linens were DIRTY & my bedside desk (sticky stains and dirt). The cost was way above what I was getting. Facilities: the light to my room was outside my locked door (weird) and my room felt like a jail cell.


Urbany Hostel BCN GO!

Barcelona, Spain
97%

All in all, probably the second best hostel I've stayed in. Security was great as was the front door staff. The location was only SLIGHTLY outside the main old city, but not terrible to get there (5-10 minute walk); if you're gay, its right in that area, so short walk to go out until 5AM like the other Spaniards. Atmosphere was great/amazing and the bathrooms (in the rooms) felt VERRRY clean as was everything else. Definitely got my bang for my buck. Also, facilities were great; lots of options.


The Garden Backpacker

Seville, Spain
83%

The security was fine; the front door only opened via the front desk and the rooms had locks and lockers. The location was a bit far from the main attractions, but only a 15 minute walk (if you didn't get lost...which was due to the city, not the hostel). The staff was great as was the atmosphere with sangria (free) and dinner (cheap) every night. The bathrooms weren't the cleanest I've seen. Value for my money was definitely acceptable and the facilities were decent. I would recommend it.


Room007 Chueca Hostel

Madrid, Spain
91%

All in all, I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely recommend it to other people. I rated it "Excellent" in everything except Location, Atmosphere and Facilities which were all "Good". Location is only because it wasn't in the heart of everything (but close). Atmosphere was Good because, while there was a common area, it didn't seem many people were using it. Facilities was also Good because, beyond rooms and one common space, there didn't seem much else. Very clean, great value, great staff


Hostal Miralva

Madrid, Spain
63%

All in all, while I did think my stay here was pleasant enough, it isn't one of the better/best hostels I've stayed at. The security and location were good, but the atmosphere was almost non-existent and the owner was neutral. The bathrooms weren't disgusting but not super either. Overall, I give the hostel an "Average" rating.


Pensione Giamaica

Rome, Italy
74%

Everything was pretty good except the atmosphere as there was much as far as hostel-bonding and meeting new people. Close to train station and Metro, staff was nice and accommodating (except for they wouldn't hold stuff past 1:30 PM). Would recommend in general. Solid enough.


La Pescheria Backpackers

Venice, Italy
57%

Security was alright (entry door never closed all the way), so room lock was only layer of security (no lockers). Location was pretty good (close to Rialto and 10 mins to going out area). Staff was fine, but not spectacular. Atmosphere was absent; same as hotel. Cleanliness was alright. Not super clean, but not noticeably dirty.


Palazzo Sant Ursula

Valletta, Malta
74%

Make sure you have the address as it is not labeled on the outside of the building/can be hard to find. Security-wise, it is pretty secure except if you're on the ground floor, there's a little window people can open from the outside and look in (they can't GET in). Location is mostly good (close to the bus hub), but ,as stated, a little hard to find. Staff is great. Atmosphere is not better than a hotel really. Cleanliness is lacking in bathroom. Value is average and facilities were acceptable.


66%

The location (simultaneously close to the train station as well as the downtown scene) and security (multiple layers) were great. The service and atmosphere were fine, but nothing special (no complaints though). The biggest downsides were the facilities/cleanliness (the bathroom in my 10 bed room was not that great and the shared bathroom on the first floor was filthy), and the value for money (record high hostel prices...I know its Nice which is close to Monaco, but lower the prices a bit).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Our business is seasonal, so whereas our prices are high in summer, they are some of the lowest in Nice over winter. All our guests benefit from our excellent services once they are here. Among them are free internet, free breakfast, free pasta dinner in the evening, free Gym, free sauna, €1 beers at the bar, free city walking tour and much more.

Home Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
97%

No customer comment


New Backpackers

Istanbul, Turkey
54%

No customer comment