Reviews: Anonymous

Hostel Orquideas

Cancun, Mexico

My only suggestions are that you add some hooks or rods in the bathrooms to place clothing and towels on. When I showered I had to put my clothes and toiletries on the toilet seat, wet sink or on the ground. Also to add a fan to the downstairs dorm area for day time use. Otherwise a lovely facility!


No customer comment

Hostel 3B

Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Ventilation in the rooms is minimal and some of them have a very strong smell of mildew. The 12 bed all female dorm has almost no room for baggage or places to hang wet clothing. Lack of fitted sheets for bedding meant sleeping on the mattress happened nightly. Loved the storage lockers, big and with two locks. Bed were comfortable. Staff was amazing, so friendly, helpful and positive. Excellent location! Roof terrace ROX.

Bavaro Hostel

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

If this hostel wasn´t there, us backpackers wouldn´t have a place to stay in expensive PCana. Plus, it is within walking distance to a nice beach that is even safe to walk to, and be on, at night. This area of the DR is wall to wall resorts and fancy travelers so expect to pay more for everything from motos to food. The staff are very friendly and someone is always around. The kitchen is extremely tiny and a bit grotty, but bathroom was clean.

Hostel Casagrande Santo Domingo

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Due to heavy rains, the dorm rooms on the bottom floor were full of mold and mildew and had no functioning electricity. BUT, the great staff easily moved me to another room. There are a ton of common areas, well lit and functional for groups or folks who need mini work stations. Shared bathrooms are cleaned daily but are each stall is extremely small and could not handle a person with disabilities. Local area is very touristy and prices are high for basics in supermkt and restaurants.

Bethel Court Guesthouse

Montego Bay, Jamaica

Tucked very far away from the Hip Strip but you get a real neighborhood experience instead. I only saw the cleaning guy, other staff was only available by intercom, sort of odd. The kitchen has only the barest cooking basics, but is clean with lots of fridge space and a supermarket nearby. Double locked entry was secure. On site computer with internet access was a GREAT extra.

Reggae Hostel

Kingston, Jamaica

Reggae Hostel is 15 minutes walking distance to the Half Way Tree bus terminal, as well as a supermarket. They are superb about arranging shared taxis for outings and the location in the middle of a residential area is safer than most -daytime hours a woman has no problems walking alone. Easy taxi or bus service to other sights - knowledgeable staff are generous with their time and smiles. The eight bed dorm is tight and very hot with only one fan, get a bed close to it. Clean bathrooms.

Posada San Francisco

San Juan, Puerto Rico

Excellent location in heart of old San Juan. Nearby pricey cafes and supermarkets cater to the cruise ship crowd. More tourists than locals on the streets. Air Con in all the rooms is excellent but configuration of rooms mean some freeze while others bake. Not geared for backpackers, no island travel info, most front desk staff has no experience with cheaply navigating the island and no onsite computers or easy internet cafes to help you plan. Kitchen on dorm floor, lacks basics. Very safe area

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! All of your reviews towards hostels are very below average; maybe you should think about staying in hotels instead hostels; That way you can enjoy your trip more and not affect small business. There is wifi; Starbucks and a internet cafe in corner with computers (3 min walk) Our place is definitely geared for backpackers which stay in the dorms. U returned 2nd stay, we had no Dorms but since you were a past guest we gave you private room with TV for Dorm price. Your very welcome!

Arcadia Hostel

Medellin, Colombia

Do not stay in the cheap dorm. It is a converted garage with no lights in the room, the bunks are three high and the top one you can't sit up on it. The room is so small that you have to keep your bags outside in an area anyone can access without being seen, not secure at all. All but two of the security lockers in the room were broken and there is one shower for 12 people. The other dorms with ensuites are better, and the common area is ok, but the kitchen is totally poky and poorly equipped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
My apologies for the unfinish 12 bed dorm called Ades (were the mortals were going after they died in Greek mythology) but is the cheapest dorm in city & you take what you pay for so you shouldn´t have high expectetions.According to my resarvations there was space to other dorms why didn´t you ask to move?We put a light and a fun and we are working on more details.You were here in the highest season that was really full so everything was too busy.. Also i will equiped better the kitchen :)!

Buga Hostel

Buga, Colombia

So, you probably came to this hostel for the beer, and you won't be disappointed until you find out that their sister bar serves the same beer for cheaper. All but two of the security lockers were broken, all the fans were broken and there are mosquitos at night in the sleeping area. Also, I asked the folks on site to help me book a day hike for the next day and although he had a cell phone in his hand, he said he couldn't do it. I had to wander around at 10pm to try and find a phone, no luck.

The Pelican Larry Hostel

Cali, Colombia

The helpful staff at Pelican Larry make all the difference! Also, it is close to stores, salsa clubs and restaurants of all price ranges. The salsa classes were fun and the teacher was very patient and thorough. I liked the outdoor area for eating and socializing as well. It is a bit run down, but still holds up to lots of use!

Coral Reef Beach Aruba

Savaneta, Aruba

Kim was an incredible host. The semi-private waterfront that is in front of the hotel is sweet. The dogs & cats, friendly communal area, and access to kitchens for self-catering gives Coral Reef the feel of an upscale hostel rather than an unfriendly hotel. It is easy to get around on local buses, although if you are here to party on the 'strip' and you are without a car, it might be hard. This hotel could use some infrastructure work, but otherwise is well appointed and lovely.


Curacao, Netherlands Antilles

I loved Bed & Breakfast 2gether!! From the minute I walked in the door and saw the beautiful art on the walls, sculptures and happy color everywhere, I knew I had landed in a great spot. Astrid happened to be able to take me right to the grocery, and had room in her fridge, so self-catering was very easy and helped with costs. There is a minibus system on the island which stops right outside the door and makes many parts of the island easily and cheaply accessible. A beach is only 25 min away.

Backpackers Ceara

Fortaleza, Brazil

The staff was very helpful, even arranged for a taxi for my 430am pickup to the airport. I arrived in the dark and left in the dark, but the place was basic but worked for me!

Jericoacoara Hostel - TIROL

Jericoacoara, Brazil

The owner and assistants are great, very helpful and friendly! The buggy tour of the two lagoons was a highlight of my trip to Brazil, Gaucho will make sure you get a good driver who doesn´t push and let´s you relax. The 8 bed dorm is cramped and the bathroom is dodgy, but the common area more than makes up for it. Plus it is close to the beach without being noisy and there is a 10$R restaurant closeby. Laundry can be done in-house. Great stay!

Nega Maluca Guesthouse

Salvador, Brazil

No customer comment


Out of the way for walking down to the big beaches, this hostel compensates by easy access to all the major bus lines. They have very helpful tours described in a trip folder and also provide information on DIY adventures. The non-AC rooms were fairly warm in winter, so they might be hard to bear in summer. The mattresses are also covered in plastic which makes for warm sleeping and it feels funky when the sheets slip. But the staff is very helpful and the kitchen is clean and easy to use!

Compay Hostel

La Pedrera, Uruguay

I visited this hostel in the heart of the off season and was the only guest. I think it is hard to really rate a hostel when they are in their down time, conducting repairs and relaxing. The one host was very friendly. The rooms are small and have lots of bunks, and the walls are simple plywood. The bathroooms are basic, but clean and the hot water is great. The walk from the bus stop is well marked by signs on poles and trees and the hostel is close to the beach.