Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Ireland, Gender Male, Age 26

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Udee Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
7.7
22nd Oct 2016

Very modern hostel, but a little bit out of city center and tourist sites. Skytrain to shopping areas as well as taxis to Grand Palace or Khao San road are quick and cheap (100Baht to Khao San Road). Hostel was quiet when we stayed. Private room for 3 was spacious and very clean with excellent wifi and AC. Nice breakfast included too. Girl on reception was also very helpful with any questions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Udee Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
7.7
20th Oct 2016

Nice clean new hostel but quite far from tourist sites and city shopping area. Dorms are very nice with excellent wifi and AC. Bathrooms always clean and rooftop area nice to relax. Breakfast was a good buffet style. Didnt meet anyone else in this hostel for 5 nights and was quite far from everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Song of Travel Hostel, Inle Lake, Myanmar
8.6
14th Oct 2016

Really good hostel. Arrived on a night bus and we were able to sleep in their Travel Dorm for a few hours. Dorms are really good. Beds are pod style with large bed, shelf with reading light and plug socket. We done the sunrise boat trip on the lake and it covered a nice mix while seeing the lake. Also ate the Family dinner on the rooftop on Saturday night. Good food and a chance to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ostello Bello Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
8.6
10th Oct 2016

High standards with high prices... An excellent hostel in New Bagan with modern dorms, clean bathrooms and loads of little perks to staying here, like organised tours of the temples, snack portions of pasta through the day and a really good atmosphere. The hostel is expensive with an 8 bed costing $20 per night and the bar food and drinks slightly above average prices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yoe Yoe Lay Homestay, Mandalay, Myanmar
8.0
7th Oct 2016

Good hostel in Mandalay. Family run place with very friendly staff. Good breakfast included and wifi is good by Burmese standards. 6 bed dorm felt slightly small when full but has great aircon and was quiet to sleep. Lockers provided do not use guest's own padlock. Can order pizza to the hostel and enjoy their cheap beers. Good as location is outside downtown Mandalay. Overall, I would recommend this place!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nonni Guesthouse, Chiang Mai, Thailand
8.6
2nd Oct 2016

Good guesthouse beside Chiang Mai Gate. Private room was nice and had very good AC and a fridge. Allan the owner was very helpful with booking our elephant sanctuary trip and cooking class. Nice reception and outdoor area to sit and relax. Used this a lot as wifi did not work in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nonni Guesthouse, Chiang Mai, Thailand
8.6
1st Oct 2016

Good guesthouse beside Chiang Mai Gate. Private room was nice and had very good AC and a fridge. Allan the owner was very helpful with booking our elephant sanctuary trip and cooking class. Nice reception and outdoor area to sit and relax. Used this a lot as wifi did not work in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
DownTown Backpackers Hostel, Luang Prabang, Laos
8.0
25th Sep 2016

Good hostel in Luang Prabang. Clean, new hostel but dorm room was small. Breakfast was average but free coffee all day is a nice touch. Went to Kuang Si falls with minibus from the hostel. Nice amount of time at the falls and good to meet people. Booked our bus to Huay Xai on the Thai border at reception. A very disapointing service. Very old, uncomfortable bus without AC and a mad driver.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.1
23rd Sep 2016

Good hostel in Vang Vieng. Spacious 6bed dorm with good lockers and aircon. Place was kept clean constantly and breakfast was average. Good reception area with pool table and always people sitting around to chat.

View Property Reply

thank you for the feedback. us very nice your review mate have a safe travels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.0
21st Sep 2016

Decent hostel for the money. Good location beside few other hostels and resturants. Dorm rooms are spacious and have good lockers under the beds. Wifi was typically Laos slow. Nice seatinf bar area at the front to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Royal Hotel Battambang, Battambang, Cambodia
8.3
14th Sep 2016

Good value hotel in Battambang. Private room was nice and well furnished. Bathroom was average. We were at the front of the building with a lot of noise from the street. Very good wifi by Cambodian standards. Nice location beside market and some good resturants (Nary cooking school was excellent for dinner). Not the most friendly receptionists we have dealt with in Cambodia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Driftwood Hostel, Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
8.6
11th Sep 2016

Very different and cool hostel on a private beach!! Needing to take 02 boats from mainland was worth it. The hostel is recently opened and is very much a work in progress, but has great potential to be a real island paradise. The beach is fantastic with clear water. The main building is like a massive tree house with a bar, good value food and loads of space to relax. The dorms are a few minutes walk down the beach, but have comfy beds and good mosquito nets. Would love to stay here again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kool Kampot, Kampot, Cambodia
8.0
9th Sep 2016

Nice hostel a short walk along the river from Kampot town. Lovely new building with loads of areas to relax or watch the sunset from the rooftop. Both Jeff the owner and the local guy working here very helpful, even helping us plan our own visit to a pepper farm and Bokor National park. We stayed here for 2 nights, but no atmosphere. Good to chill out but no a great place to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Happy House Zone, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
8.0
6th Sep 2016

Decent hostel in Riverside area. Deluxe private room comes with AC and bathroom, but no external window. Hostel is in a good location not too far from the Royal Palace and river. Food is good value and tasty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
New Saigon Hostel 2, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
8.6
2nd Sep 2016

Average hostel in Saigon. Stayed for 2 nights before moving to Long Hostel. Room was very nice and clean with good wifi and AC. Very good location minutes from everything in city. Breakfast is good and served in seperate hostel few doors up the street. No atmosphere in this hostel though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Long Hostel, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.7
29th Aug 2016

Superb hostel in HCMC city center. Stayed before a Mekong delta tour and we were happy to come back. Very nice, modern room with good AC. Breakfast each morning was very nice. 2 free beers each evening is a great way to meet other people and get chatting. Would stay again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel, Mui Ne, Vietnam
10.0
24th Aug 2016

Firstly, we got upgraded from Budget hostel to Bliss hotel on the hill opposite the budget hostel.. and never needed to leave after that!! Could not fault this place at all. Room was beautiful with a massive balcony with a great view, good wifi and a minibar. 02 very nice pools with plenty of loungers. The food from the Breeze restaurant is tasty and good value. Good poolside bar open at night too. Booked Mui Ne jeep tour (80000vnd) through hotel. Cheap but good tour to see the dunes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Truong Giang Hotel Nha Trang, Nha Trang, Vietnam
9.1
15th Aug 2016

Very nice hostel in good location in Nha Trang. Close to beach and good restaurants. Very good value but no breakfast included. Good wifi and AC in room. Staff very helpful at reception, especially the young girl in the evenings!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.9
4th Aug 2016

Good hostel in Hue. Just off main street so quiet at night. Very good value considering decent breakfast and bike hire included. Good wifi and AC in room. Booked motorbike for Hai Van pass at reception and our bags were sent to our hotel in Hoi An. Very good price and hassle free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.9
26th Jul 2016

Good hostel in Hanoi old quarter. Nice breakfast included. Reliable but average strength wifi connection. Good airconditioning. An at the travel desk was very helpful booking onward tickets and for general info. One complaint would be after our Halong bay tour, we were on the 7th floor right under the bar. Quite noisy. First few nights on the 3rd floor were prefect.

View Property Reply

Hi dear, Thanks for taking time to review our place! We glad to know you had a great time at our hostel, enjoyed our helpful staff and the services we offered at hostel. We also really sorry for the noisy from the bar but we hope you will forget that cause our bar shutdown by 10:30pm. Take care and safe travel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
TR3ATS Guest House, Cebu, Philippines
7.7
18th Jul 2016

Good hostel in Cebu city. Good location 15 minutes walk from Robinsons Fuente mall. Clean and modern rooms with good wifi. No atmosphere as there is no common area and hostel is on 3rd floor with no lift. If staying here, would also recommend Yakski BBQ nearby..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sheebang Hostel, Puerto Princesa City, Philippines
8.3
11th Jul 2016

Good hostel to use a base in Puerto Princessa. Private room with ensuite was nice. Wifi was excellent. The bar and restaurant were very good with most guests staying there for the evenings. Also booked our underground river trip with the guys and was a very good tour.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Candidasa Backpacker, Candi Dasa, Indonesia
8.6
13th Jun 2016

Beachfront resort for backpacker hostel price!! Stayed an extra night we like it so much. Hostel is outside Candidasa town, but a free shuttle bus runs every 02 hours. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Beautiful gardens, nice pool, and private staircase to the sea overlooked by excellent daybeds. Only small complaint was that our room (#21) was right by the reception desk (less than 1 meter away) and could be quite noisy from early morning.. Overall a very good place to stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pondok Permata Homestay, Ubud, Indonesia
8.9
7th Jun 2016

Beautiful homstay in Ubud!! However, a little bit outside the town center. A 20-25 minute walk to/from Ubud Palace or a 40k Rp taxi. Other than that, a lovely homestay run by a very friendly and helpful family. Our en suite room was fantastic. Breakfast was included and served on our balcony each morning. Booked our Mt Batur sunrise trek through Putu at reception and was fantastic!! Stayed for an extra night making 6 nights total and would recommend to anyone staying in Ubud.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Empire Hotel Backpackers, Oamaru, New Zealand
8.6
7th Apr 2016

Lovely old builing right on Main Street in Oamaru with free parking at rear. Rooms were ok. Kitchen was small but clean and well equiped. Nice dining/common area with big fire to chill out in the evening

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
On Top Backpackers, Dunedin, New Zealand
9.1
4th Apr 2016

Cool hostel seconds walk from the Octagon. Good bathroom and kitchen facilites. Free pool and discount drinks in bar downstairs. Closed by 2230 every night we were there though. Common area has cool TV and massive selection of dvds too!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.9
6th Dec 2015

Really nice hostel in Miaflores. Guy working on reception was fantastic and helpful (Cannot remember his name). Cool common area to relax and dorm rooms were huge. Bathrooms were a bit outdated but generally clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yellow HouseHostel, Medellin, Colombia
8.3
27th Nov 2015

Cheap hostel in Medellin. Very close to metro station and street of shops/bars/resturants. Very friendly dogs welcome you at the gate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Siriri, Panama City, Panama
8.0
11th Nov 2015

Stayed 02 nights in a private room. Very simple but nice room with pool view. Hostel is in a good location near markets and other hostels. Kitchen is not so good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Siriri, Panama City, Panama
8.0
10th Nov 2015

Very good location near cool resturants, supermarkets and other hostels. Pool area was nice and excellent staff. Kitchen was poor. Bathrooms were outdated but clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's at The Winston, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.6
27th Oct 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Pisa Tower, Pisa, Italy
8.0
23rd Sep 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Manena Hostel, Genoa, Italy
7.7
21st Sep 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Academy Hostel, Florence, Italy
8.3
19th Sep 2013

Expensive hostel.. but very modern facilities with excellent rooms and good staff.. Appetisers on the terrace are a great ideal and very good for solo travellers who might want to meet people.

View Property Reply

If you think on all the good things you mentioned including the free breakfast, the free appetizers,free towels, free use of computers, free WI-fi, free personal lockers in the room and safes at reception etc etc ... we think that the value for money you pay is a great deal. thanks for your feedback, the Staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Giovanni's Home, Naples, Italy
8.9
16th Sep 2013

A unique hostel experience in a wonderful city.. Giovanni is an absolute gentleman who makes this hostel a real home from home.. Perfect location in the old town and a great atmosphere for anybody travelling either alone or in a group..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Freedom Traveller, Rome, Italy
7.7
12th Sep 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hatters Hostel- Liverpool, Liverpool, England
6.0
28th Aug 2013

Dorm room was poor. 14 beds in a basement room next to maintenance storeroom. One shared toilet between 14, plus an out of order shower. We switched to private rooms after first night. Private rooms were much more comfortable with free television and good bathrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Metropole, Kilkenny, Ireland
8.6
14th Jun 2013

Great hostel for anybody staying in Kilkenny with very friendly and knowledgeable staff in the bar/reception. The hostel is located right in the middle of the city and is well within walking distance of the castle, brewery, shopping and many bars and restaurants. The live music and food in the bar are both something I would recommend before a night on the town. The only slight complaint I would have was the lack of lockers or secure storage in the rooms for luggage if staying on a longer trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.