Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Female, Age 25

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Kounsavan Guest House, Luang Prabang, Laos
5.7
30th Jan 2016

I was disappointed with this hostel, it was far below the standard of any hostel I've stayed at in SE Asia and not that cheap comparably. The staff was incredibly disengaged, the wifi was a joke, the bathroom situation was pretty bad, and the 4 bed dorm was very small and uncomfortable. The location is good, close to night market area, and the vibe was laid back and social. But for just $2-$3 more in LP, you can get significantly more (private room, clean private bathroom, functioning wifi).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Village, London, England
9.4
9th Nov 2015

Only stayed one night and it was good. They wouldn't let me check out 30 mins late which was annoying but not a big deal. I also didn't think it was great for meeting people but maybe that was just the night. Otherwise it was very clean and comfortable and a great location.

View Property Reply

Hey thanks so much for the review, we're so glad you had a nice stay :) About our checkout time, we're sorry if you found this to bit early. Unfortunately, as we are a rather large hostel, at times due to a large numbers of people checking out on the same day we're a bit more strict with this in-order to make sure everyone can check-in on-time :) Thanks again for your comments and all the best on your onward travels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
City Backpackers Hostel, Stockholm, Sweden
10.0
4th Nov 2015

Absolutely one of the best hostels I've stayed in! Loved the free pasta, really comfy beds, and great kitchen and common rooms. The hostel was kept very clean and I liked that all the bathrooms were private. It's super easy to get to and easy to get around to other parts of the city. Would definitely recommend a stay here and hope to be back again!

View Property Reply

Cool that you had an excellent time here. We'd love to see you again! Happy travels! Charmaine CBP

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
World House Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
8.0
27th Oct 2015

The best thing about the hostel was its location which was perfect for me. Close to a lot of great areas. However, the wifi was terrible and often didn't work at all, the beds were super loud and not so comfy, and the staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. The common area and coffee shop were nice to hang out and pretty good for meeting other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Ali's Guest House, Goreme, Turkey
9.1
22nd Oct 2015

A great cozy hostel in Cappadocia! Can't fault it at all. The staff at Ali's were very helpful in arranging tours and buses and such. Free Turkish breakfast (pretty basic) and coffee/tea all day was nice. Rooms and beds were very comfortable and cozy. It was a bit quiet when I was there but the outdoor area was a nice hangout spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bahaus Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
9.4
18th Oct 2015

Awesome hostel with a top notch atmosphere. I personally didn't love the location since the neighborhood was extremely touristy and no great eating and drinking options, but it's perfect if you want to be close to all the sights and it's still pretty easy to get to other areas. Bathrooms were always clean, great showers, comfy beds with curtains, decent breakfast included. One of the more social hostels I've stayed in and would definitely recommend if you're looking for a good time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Z Hostel, Manila, Philippines
9.4
5th Oct 2015

Surely the nicest hostel in Manila with an awesome rooftop bar. Yes, there were a lot of locals hanging out and staying here but also some backpackers. Be aware that the hostel is in Makati, so might not be the best option if you're looking to tour around Manila (30 min-1 hour away). They should also clean the bathrooms in the dorms more often as they got pretty gross throughout the day. Otherwise, they staff was super helpful and friendly, helping me reserve bus tickets, keeping my bag, etc.

View Property Reply

Hello, Happy to know you loved the rooftop bar! We will make sure that the bathrooms are always checked and cleaned right away. We are sorry about that and are training the staff more effeciently to make sure it doesn't happen again. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Check Inn HK, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
9.1
2nd Oct 2015

Good hostel in Hong Kong. I think they literally cleaned the bathrooms every hour, it was always very clean. Good location in Wan Chai, maybe a 5-10 minute walk to both Wan Chai and Causeway Bay metros, also close to bars. One downside is that people tend to hang out and drink in the common area until late (2-3 AM when I was there) and theres zero regulation on this. So if you're trying to get a good night of sleep bring some earplugs or stay elsewhere as it's very loud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Urban Pack, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
9.1
28th Sep 2015

Great hostel in Hong Kong! Right around the corner from a metro station so it's easy to get around. Staff was very nice and helpful before and during my stay. I didn't love the split floors (I was on a different floor from the main lobby) but that seems to be unavoidable in HK since space is so limited. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
10.0
12th Apr 2015

Cancelled booking before the stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Anne Hostel Asakusabashi, Tokyo, Japan
8.6
7th Apr 2015

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. Decent location, maybe 5 mins walk from metro stop though not much to do in the neighborhood where the hostel is. Free toast & hard boiled eggs for brekkie was a good bonus and tea was available all day. Beds were a bit thin but curtains were nice and wifi was good. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The 80's Guesthouse, Penang, Malaysia
9.7
5th Nov 2014

I absolutely loved the 80's Guesthouse. Location is perfect, staff are unbelievably friendly & helpful, there's always coffee, tea, & water available. Rooms are extremely clean, AC is strong, & the beds are really comfortable. My only qualm is that the floors are old & wooden so if people on the top floor are walking around heavily then you most definitely hear it on the bottom floor and it's quite loud. Despite that, I'd highly recommend a stay here & hope to be back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
9.4
1st Nov 2014

Great hostel, one of the best I've stayed in. Beds are super comfortable and private, the staff is constantly cleaning, the showers are hot and the AC is cold. As they clearly state, the hostel does play music till late at night and it can be easily heard in the rooms. Definitely stay here if your looking for a good time and a really nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Lub d Bangkok Silom, Bangkok, Thailand
8.9
19th Apr 2014

I only stayed one night here but will definitely stay again when passing through Bangkok. This hostel is comparable to the design hostels in Europe. Really amazing facilities. I wasn't there long enough to have any complaints. It is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest BTS but you can always hop on a moto if you're feeling lazy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Siem Reap Hostel, Siem Reap, Cambodia
9.7
28th Jan 2014

Such a great place, I've been staying here for 2 weeks now and I've really enjoyed it. Great AC, pretty good wifi, very friendly and accommodating staff. I usually go somewhere else for breakfast but for $2 you can get fruit, cereal, pancakes, and coffee. Cheap drinks, movie room, yoga room (when there's not class you can just use it on your own). There are a lot of great places to stay in SR but for the price you're really getting a lot at this hostel. I definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Shophouse The Social Hostel, Singapore, Singapore
8.9
26th Jan 2014

Shophouse is a block over from Haji street which has tons of great restaurants, cafes, and shops. The cafe at the bottom of the hostel, where the check in is, is also really good. The wifi is super fast and reliable. The upstairs roof/hangout area is really nice. Free coffee, tea, bread, nutella all day. The 12 bed dorms have windows (but they're pretty loud from the street noise - shophouse has free earplugs) and the smaller ones do not. Personally I like having windows :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Base St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia
8.3
21st Jan 2014

Definitely a fun place to stay. On the weekends beware the bar will be going till 3 AM and midnight during the week. Great food/drink deals every night. If you stay in an all girls room you get free champagne, free shampoo/conditioner and towel, and coffee on the weekends. The biggest flaw is the kitchen. It gets disgusting, people don't clean up,

View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate all feedback given. It seems like you mostly enjoyed your stay apart from the cleanliness of our kitchen. I'm sorry that we did not exceed your expectations on this front. Unfortunately although the kitchen is cleaned 6 times a day it can get messy due to guests not cleaning up after themselves. We will strive to stock it appropriately and keep a better eye on it so it maintains a better standard. Best wishes, BASE CREW

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers Holiday Village, Byron Bay, Australia
7.4
13th Jan 2014

This place is certainly not the nicest but it's guaranteed fun. They have $10 BBQ's some nights and it's a great atmosphere to meet people and go out. If you're trying to have a quiet night they make everyone leave at 10:30 which is really nice. Apartment style so everyone has a bathroom and kitchen but the communal ones are pretty good. A little pricey for what it is but everything in Byron is. Definitely recommend staying here for a good time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
8.6
11th Jan 2014

NZ doesn't seem to have the best hostels but this one is pretty great. Super comfy beds, good common area/kitchen, a few minutes out of the main part if town which is nice. Wifi isn't perfect but for New Zealand it's pretty good. I'd definitely stay again if I were back in Queenstown!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Nomads Capital Backpackers, Wellington, New Zealand
7.4
30th Dec 2013

Had a decent stay at nomads. Chain hostels are predictable and not always the greatest but nomads was pretty good. No free wifi and the beds should really be replaced. Every time you moved a muscle on them they were so loud. The location of the hostel couldn't be any better though. Also know, which they don't tell you in the directions, that you can take a bus from the airport which is 9 NZD rather than the ridiculous shuttle or taxi they recommend. It's about a block from the Cuba st stop.

View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks so much for leaving your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I understand your point with the beds and these are in the process of being upgraded, unfortunately it isn't a quick process especially at this time of year but we are rolling through with new beds. Thank you for mentioning the airport bus, this is what we usually recommend to guests and has now been added to the website. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and that we see you again in the future.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Attic Backpackers, Auckland, New Zealand
8.0
27th Dec 2013

Pretty good stay, no real complaints. The internet wasn't really working when we were there but they give you 4 hours of free wifi which is great. No lockers in the room was a bummer. Great kitchen and bathrooms and comfy beds. Staff was super helpful and friendly - we were arriving early in the AM and they gave us door codes so we could get in.

View Property Reply

Thanks for making time to leave us a review. We glad you found our beds enjoyable and our staff are a great credit to us here. We did have some issues with the internet, this has now been rectified :) With the lockers, when we did the design we found it more advantageous to have a seperate locker room, which created more space for the guest, and a locker room with cctv coverage :) We hope that you will enjoy the rest of your time in NZ and see you back at The Attic soon Cheers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Yellow, Rome, Italy
8.9
12th Sep 2013

One of my favorite hostels, don't listen to the negative comments. As they tell you it's a party hostel which just means there's a bar downstairs that can get crowded at night, making for a great place to meet people. Rooms stay pretty quiet though but try to avoid the street facing rooms, they're loud. Great hostel for solo travelers cause there's always people around to meet. Breakfast isn't included but it was a pretty good deal and they have real breakfast (eggs) which is a nice change.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
St Christophers Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
9.4
30th Jul 2013

Really nice hostel for a great price. The bar downstairs is a good way to meet people but they blast music unnecessarily loud at like 9/10 pm when people are just trying to eat dinner and talk to each other. All the facilities are really nice, even the big dorm rooms. It's a bit of a walk from the main part of town but Prague is small so it's all decently close. Definitely would stay here again, I've always had good experiences at St. Christopher's.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Berlin, Berlin, Germany
9.4
27th Jul 2013

Great hostel, the bar is awesome for meeting people and hanging out. Rooms and beds are nice and lockers in the rooms make it safe. Great location next to a U Bahn stop and walking distance to some good stuff. The area has a ton of good cheap restaurants which is really nice. Only complaint is that there's no AC so sleeping in the heat of the summer is pretty miserable. The wifi is also pretty bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Sleep in Heaven, Copenhagen, Denmark
8.6
24th Jul 2013

Great hostel, I really enjoyed staying here. As they tell you, it is a bit outside of the city center but you can easily get there by walking, biking, metro, bus. Beware of the three story bunk beds. Some downsides are that there's no guest kitchen or refrigerator to keep food (in a city that's so expensive this would be nice). Overall I have no complaints, the staff was great and the hostel was one of my favorites!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Youthhostel Bern, Bern, Switzerland
6.0
8th Jul 2013

Not a great place for meeting other travelers but it was a fine place to sleep for the night. It was very big and there were big groups of young teenagers staying there. Best part about it was the breakfast, I wouldn't recommend it otherwise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Mountain Hostel Gimmelwald, Gimmelwald, Switzerland
9.7
6th Jul 2013

This place is truly special and amazing. It had the most incredible views of the mountains. Definitely bring your own food, get it at the store in Mürren or bring it up from Lauternrunnen. I only stayed one night but I wish I has stayed more. So much great hiking to do. Only two downsides to Mountain Hostel are that you have to pay for showers and the dorm beds are all pushed together, so you may be sleeping uncomfortably close to a stranger.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Balmers Hostel, Interlaken, Switzerland
9.4
2nd Jul 2013

Such a great place for 18-30 year olds. A little bit out of the main part of town which is actually great because Interlaken is filled with tourists. Beware it's about a 20 min walk from the train stations. Good place to just hang out after a long day and its the perfect spot to meet other travelers.

View Property Reply

We realise that with backpacks 15 minutes can be a bit long therefore we offer all our clients free bus passes, :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.