Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Oak Hostel Zen, Tokyo, Japan
8.6
28th Jun 2014

Good location on Jr line close to most things for Jr pass holders. Good beds but showers average. Had some good activities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
A-yado Gion, Kyoto, Japan
8.6
26th Jun 2014

Close to all temples and gesha district. Beds are big and showers good. Hostel could do a few organised activities or have suggestions on sites.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We hope you enjoyed in Kyoto. Well, we think our location is one of the best in Kyoto. It is easy to go anywhere. Also thank you for giving us your opinion. We will try to do our best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
7.1
23rd Jun 2014

Close to subway and JR stop. Lots of food and activities close by. A mix of a hostel and hotel so didnt really feel the backpacking vibe. bed on floor isnt too comfortable, suggest bringing own pillow. only need 1 day in osaka

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Ujamaa Hostel, Arusha, Tanzania
9.7
21st Mar 2014

Really nice hostel with friendly staff. Great free food and good wifi service ($1 a day). Great setup and volunteering available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Manyatta Backpackers, Nairobi, Kenya
8.0
23rd Feb 2014

Bit of step down in hostels compared to South Africa but I think good from East Africa. Wifi is good and nice beds, not much hot water. Good pancake breaky. Staff could be more helpful in suggesting things to do. you can pay using paypal and also to use kitchen costs money which is a bit unfair.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Amber Tree Lodge Backpackers, Cape Town, South Africa
10.0
17th Feb 2014

Security was great with electronic pass to get through gate and front door, then key for room which lockers. Located 15min walk to city and other way to lions head and table mountain. Bus stop out front to city, waterfront and camps bay. Staff really friendly and helpful with all tips. Showers great and strong wifi. Free breaky is ok but kitchen has everything you need. Very modern and clean. Laundry around the corner for 25zar!! Best hostel in South Africa. tip: book robben island in advance!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Wild Spirit Lodge, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
8.0
10th Feb 2014

Awesome place in the national park, great surrounding. Staff are helpful with recommendation but slow and forgetful with basics like washing was left in machine. Great atmosphere. Wifi is really poor. Recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Crowded House, Eceabat, Turkey
9.1
20th Jan 2014

Recommended by travelers we met, it is a great base to do a Gallipoli tour. Rooms are nice and breakfast is ok. Staff are great: really good tours and very helpful with planning any other activities through turkey

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Mosquito Hostel, Krakow, Poland
9.7
8th Jan 2014

Staff are the best. Gave a really good intro and provide free breakfast, dinner and take you out as well. Really nice feel to hostel. Wifi good. Really close to old town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof, Nuremberg, Germany
8.6
27th Dec 2013

Nice hostel close to the station. Wifi a bit poor and no kitchen but everything clean and staff friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Station Hostel for Backpackers, Cologne, Germany
8.3
15th Dec 2013

Good location near station. Kitchen and showers were good and nice having single beds . No Internet in rooms, only down stairs but still poor. Can rent lockers but only security deposit box size. Good value

View Property Reply

Thank you for your review..We have recently installed a number of new larger lockers,big enough for Backpacks...meaning that ,when you include our 2 Luggage rooms ,we have nearly 100 Large lockers. We apologise if the internet was slow..we are constantly working to update it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Brussels 2GO4 Quality Hostel, Brussels, Belgium
7.4
14th Dec 2013

On edge of the city centre. Beds ok, no lockers in the room. Showers good and kitchen has most things. Annoying thing that common room shuts at 11pm so to get out we had to go up 2 levels from basement and around to other exit. No individual lights in room was a problem as one person wanted to stay up. Overall not too bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Flying Pig Downtown, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.6
8th Dec 2013

Hostel close to city. Staff are ok but didn't know too much. Towel stolen wasn't great start. Kitchen is good to cook in but little utensils. Beds ok but rooms packed and had more party vibe then common room and relax

View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving a review. We really appreciate that you took the time to leave a comment. We will personally contact you to see if you have found your towel. Sometimes our cleaning confuses our rental towels with guests personal towels, in this case they go to the laundromat and come back all clean :D Sorry to hear our recently renovated kitchen wasn't finished during your stay. We really hope to see you at the Pig another time! Happy travels!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Shelter City, Amsterdam, Netherlands
7.1
7th Dec 2013

Very tight rooms. No space at all, cramping too many beds into a room. Beds are very basic as well with small lockers. Needs a kitchen but breakfast is good. Very different atmosphere being a Christian hostel. Showers basic. Staff ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Uppelink Ghent, Gent, Belgium
8.9
5th Dec 2013

Very nice hostel on one of the canals. Really nice big rooms and comfy beds. Free breakfast is nice an the hot showers although you have to keep pressing the button. Bit quiet. Only thing it needs is a kitchen. Well recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Lybeer Travellers' Hostel, Bruges, Belgium
7.1
3rd Dec 2013

Hard to say as hostel going through renovations and I think it will be great. Good location. Kitchen is tiny and bedroom very cramped and no lockers. Having the kitchen and common room shut after 11pm is annoying . Not much choice in bruge so still recommend it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Gastama, Lille, France
9.4
2nd Dec 2013

Very nice hostel with a bar down stairs which you can't here if you want to sleep. Big kitchen and common room. Good hot showers, bed and wifi. Only down side is 10min walk from station but easy enough with transport. Well recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Home Lisbon Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
10.0
23rd Nov 2013

Had a wonderful stay - mamas cooking and hospitality made us feel so welcome like we were staying with family. Sadly there were pronlems with internet when we were there but it was not there fault. great that they had ipads computers, food and a lounge so there was everythuing u could need. good nights sleep in comfy bed too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Tattva Design Hostel, Porto, Portugal
10.0
18th Nov 2013

One of the best hostels!!! Good breaky, best mattress, very secure lockers, warm showers, friendly staff, good atmosphere, sunny roof top, cute old couple serving drinks, cheap port from the region, close to everything, free walking tour etc. well recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Blablabla' Faro, Faro, Portugal
2.0
17th Nov 2013

Do not stay here. This is the "Ryan Air of Hostels". The owner poorly communicated to us that we had to pay him for leaving our bags 1pm (which we retrieved) and charge us for using the kitchen (microwave to heat food) and bathroom. Instead of a calm conversation we got abuse and yelling. He wasn't happy with the rates he charged for a double bed and felt like we should be more appreciative. The hostel is close to train station and thats it. No common area, poor kitchen). In it for money.

View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. Only € 3 more was asked why after having stayed with key Hostel, used all facilities, kitchen, a snack made ​​with products from the Hostel, bathrooms, terrace, internet, luggage was stored, made ​​the check out 2:45 pm. This is exactly what happened, customers paid € 20 for a double room and was asked over € 3 for the situation that has been described. Thanks anyway let's review something that is not right.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Samay Hostel Sevilla, Seville, Spain
8.3
15th Nov 2013

Nice hostel with friendly staff. Kitchen, wifi and showers all great. Could of done with an extra blanket in the night. No lockers for big bags just deposit size box for valuables. Close to one bus station and train but far from the other bus. Close to city centre. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
White Nest Hostel - Granada, Granada, Spain
7.7
12th Nov 2013

Nice hostel with friendly staff. A bit far from the main bus and train station. Once you get the bus in, it is still a 500m walk up a hill. Kitchen and shower were good. Staff were ok but a bit clueless on main sites and information advertised. Wifi ok. Poor lighting in the room and noise travelled through the courtyard into the room. It is still a nice hostel and common room is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel One Sants, Barcelona, Spain
9.1
5th Nov 2013

It had a great atmosphere and the free dinner brought people together and one of the hosts took people out every few nights. Beds were ok and security good. Kitchen was great. It was hard with toilets and showers as only one on each level and only a few more on the basement. Location was good next to a metro but still a bit far from the city centre. Overall it was great and recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Safestay York, York, England
9.7
31st Oct 2013

Very nice hostel in a beautiful building. Breakfast is good and kitchen facilities.Beds are ok and lockers in room. Very clean and showers are ok. Was a bit pricey but could of been halloween and weekend.Good atmosphere and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Lagan Backpackers, Belfast, Northern Ireland
10.0
23rd Oct 2013

Really great hostel. Not too far out of town with really friendly staff. Great atmosphere and best breakfast ive had. Also offer a free diner and cheap meals. Must go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Kinlay Eyre Square Hostel, Galway, Ireland
10.0
21st Oct 2013

Real great hostel. Really friendly staff, big common room and good kitchen. Felt more like a friendly hotel. Beds nice and warm showers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bru Bar & Hostel, Cork, Ireland
8.9
19th Oct 2013

Staff stuffed up booking so my partner and I were in separate sides of hostel while we shared a bag and booked four days in advance. No lockers. Besides that, good atmosphere and kitchen. Bit noisy ontop of pub. Close to town and staff helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bath Backpackers, Bath, England
7.7
14th Oct 2013

In a good location. Kitchen facilities were good and staff helpful. Small common room and poor showers on bottom floor

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
EastSeven Berlin Hostel, Berlin, Germany
10.0
29th Sep 2013

The staff were really friendly with sights and tips on what to see as there is so much in Berlin. Kitchen is huge and had everything we needed. Rooms were spacious and great hot showers. Lots of people to talk to. Well recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Apinelo Hostel, Split, Croatia
10.0
20th Sep 2013

We only had a brief stop over in split before our sailing trip but the hostel was excellent. The host was very friendly and helpful showing us all the points of interest, our sailing port and how to get to our next accommodation near the airport after the sailing. The facilities are excellent with stove, fridge and microwave and tv in room. Plenty of free food to cook with was an added bonus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Temza, Zagreb, Croatia
9.4
19th Sep 2013

Only a stop over on way to split. Facilities were good to use. Nice and friendly place close to station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Zeppelin Hostel, Ljubljana, Slovenia
9.1
18th Sep 2013

Can't say much as we just stopped over in Zagreb on our way to Split. Staff were very helpful and close to station. Great bathrooms and kitchen facilities. Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.0
13th Sep 2013

The Hostel is close to the station and the main part of town. The rooms were nice and the staff were helpful with advice. We were annoyed that they advertised kitchen but there was only a microwave so we couldn't use the meat we bought. Besides that, it had a good atmosphere and recommended

View Property Reply

hi there. thanks for the feedback. that's why we annonce it as a tea-kitchen. out of gouvenmental restrictions we cant allow customers to cook in our property. save travells. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
10.0
11th Sep 2013

Staff were so friendly, hospitable and gave great advice. All of them went our of their way to assist us as much as they could, and they demonstrated excellent knowledge of Vienna! Location amazingly close and convenient to station and shops and supermarket! Walking distance to sites (all flat) Kitchen was by far the best i have ever used,so well set up and cleaned and taken care of! use of free food was so handy! Room spacious, good bathroom & security with keycard. Free towel handy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Casa di Roberto, Siena, Italy
7.7
10th Aug 2013

Update the direction details and also how to get to breakfast otherwise it was a great stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Affittacamere Primavera, Lucca, Italy
7.1
2nd Aug 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.