Reviews: Anonymous

Location: USA, Gender: Female, Age: 66

This hostel has comfy and clean dorm rooms, ample lockers, and AC. The toilets and showers are thankfully separate, and cleaned daily. No organized social activities but you can hang out at a really nice and inviting rooftop. Drinks and food are overpriced, but you can buy your own beer (5.5 yuan for a big bottle of Tsingtao compared to 20Y at the hostel) at a nearby store. The wonderful staff really make this place shine, even tho' it's pretty basic and no-frills.

Wada Hostel in Guilin

Guilin, China

Wada girls are friendly and fun; they organized a dumpling party and BBQ which were quite enjoyable. The hostel is clean, although dorm rooms and lockers are small, so a few large suitcases will fill up the room quickly. Common toilet and shower ensuite were cleaner than elsewhere. There are nice areas for relaxing, including areas with pool table, computers, reading room and lovely patio. However, all of this isn't compelling enough to stay in Guilin,an ugly, dirty and uninteresting city.


Usually it's the staff that make a huge difference, but at this hostel, most of them were so-so, unfriendly and not helpful except for 2 (a nice guy called Liu and Anne). No organized social events. A small area near the pizza oven was the only cool social spot. The staff refused to change my room from single to dorm, saying it wasn't their policy, although all the other hostels I've been to did so without any fuss. Their "new" restaurant is pricey and bland, tho' recommended by the staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We respect your opinions, but we have to defense ourselves with reasonable points.1 the definition of friendly differ from person to person. We can not agree that it is equal to satisfying every demand from u. 2, about changing the room, we have explained it in email even with a screenshot show you why we cannot do that and you finally agreed about. 3, you told our staff in new cafe that you loved the dishes and will try their other dish tomorrow.Sorry, but we got hurt by your unfair comment

Han Tang Inn Hostel

Xi'an, China

Clean dorm rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff and an awesome roof top garden made our stay enjoyable. Most of the staff were really helpful, and did their best to help us get to where/what we wanted, especially Fong Fong. She was so sweet, and made sure I got the bottom bunk because of my old age! The airconditioner worked really well, a blessing because of the heat. The bathroom was the only problem because the shower and toilet are in the same room, and it constantly stank.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us a high mark, we are very grateful. For all the help is supposed to do, and thank you for your support, we will try our best to satisfy the needs of customers‘ , to give the rooms they would like to. For the bathroom you mentioned , we will strengthen health surveillance and timely improvements. All the staff are looking forward to meeting yo next time. Have a nice trip. Hantanginn.

Yamen Hostel

Pingyao, China

Although this hostel is an amazing old building, its age definitely shows in the shabby rooms, stale air, stinky bathrooms and toilets. The room just stank all the time, even with the AC on. Staff tried to be helpful, but their lack of English made communication difficult. Not a good place to meet travellers, it's merely a place to spend an uncomfortable night or two. Good location on the main street, and the free pick up from the train station was a big plus.

Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki

Tokyo, Japan

It's no surprise that Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki has won so many excellent awards and ratings from satisfied guests. It is one of the best run hostel we've stayed at, very clean, good location, with many facilities including kitchen, lounge, laptops, even umbrellas and slippers! The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily, the air conditioners work well like everything else! Above all, it is the wonderful staff who make this hostel so special and enjoyable, and way above all the others!