Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Germany, Gender Male, Age 33

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Base Sydney, Sydney, Australia
7.7
26th Feb 2016

We had a good time at the Base. Its location opposite Town Hall is just fabulous. It is a very large hostel and so is its kitchen. However, as not everyone has the same standard of cleanliness, it can be a challenge to cook your own meal. The same applies for the washing rooms. In the end, they are not really clean. The private double rooms are ok. They offer a double bed and a little shelf. Although there is a window, you can not open it (at least not in our room). The Staff was mainly friendly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Blanc Inn, Singapore, Singapore
2.9
23rd Feb 2016

WORST HOSTEL EVER STAYED IN: Poor cleanliness due to ants everywhere (bed, toilets, community area), unfriendly staff while checking in (the girl was increadibly unfriendly), bad atmosphere, rooms far below expectations (they are very small, although a private room was advertised, the bed was a dorm bed as you could hear every movement from the other three beds in the room & no proper doors, only curtains to separate the beds) and facilities unacceptable (hardly any privacy, mold & not clean)

View Property Reply

We are sorry about your experience. 1/ Actually our hostel takes pride in the cleaniness of the hostel, as reviewed by many other guests. We agreed that the ants case and the ants was found only on the coffee table and only one morning (as sugar was splashed by one guest during midnight) , and not everywhere as mentioned. We had taken action to change the sugar bottle to be a tight-lid one. 2/ 80% of the hostel do have Alcove Room with Night-door, however, we are not able to offer you one with door due to situation constraint during your stay. Our contractor will come to install night-door by mid Mar 2016, after which, we will be 100% ok. 3/ For improvement, we had put up a notice with manager telephone on it, to request guests who need immediate recovery attention to call him, so that guests requests can be looked into promptly. Lastly, we would like to thank you for your extending 2 more addition nights at our hostel and had borne with us. TO Prospective Honourably GUESTS: Blanc Inn is a youth hostel. We provide proper Single/Double beds, whereas all other hostels provide Dormitory-Beds/Pods/Capsules. Our price is much lower than that of Hotel. However, we strive to offer Good Experience to guests who stay with us. Please feedback to Blanc Inn Manager immediately and we assure you that we will take care of your needs timely.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Frame Guesthouse, Penang, Malaysia
8.3
16th Feb 2016

The Frame is a very special place to stay in Penang. The location is just perfect on Chulia Lane. The guesthouse represents a mixture of renovated and unrenovated parts. We cannot recommend the private double ensuite as it is just next to the showers and toilets. So you can hear every visitors actions to these premises. The normal double rooms are good. However, the walls are very thin. Accordingly, no recommendation for light sleepers. Wifi is ok. Breakfast is included but nothing special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
TWENTY5 by OHANA, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
7.4
12th Feb 2016

We stayed at the Ohana for two days in a private room which was a bit to expensive for the value. There was an unpleasend smell in the room. However, it was fairly large. The staff was friendly but wasn't helpful in planning our journey to the Cameron Highlands.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Khammany Inn Hostel, Luang Prabang, Laos
8.3
19th Jan 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Somjai Place Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya, Thailand
7.4
5th Jan 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
9.1
8th Oct 2013

I really like this place: clean room and facilities, lovingly established, large lockers, towels, free Wifi, free breakfast, friendly staff, rooftop bar, higher privacy by curtains, travel desk

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Brisbane City YHA, Brisbane, Australia
8.0
26th Sep 2013

POSITIVE: Clean room and facilities, huge lockers with plugs in the room, rooftop terrace, travel desk. NEGATIVE: no free wifi, no free towels

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Tropic Days Backpackers, Cairns, Australia
9.1
17th Sep 2013

+ Clean room and facilities, lovingly established + Lockers + Towels + Free Wifi + Free Coffee and Tea + Friendly staff + Lovingly established + Shuttle bus + Travel desk - Location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Eva's Backpackers, Sydney, Australia
9.4
11th Sep 2013

+ Clean room and facilities, lovingly established + Lockers + Towels + Free Wifi + Free Coffee and Tea + Friendly staff + Lovingly established + Rooftop terrace + Location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
8.3
31st Aug 2013

+ Clean room and facilities + Free breakfast + Lockers + Towels + Friendly staff + Travel desk - Expensive Wifi - Expensive food - Location - Beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
USA Hostels San Francisco, San Francisco, USA
8.6
12th Aug 2013

I really enjoyed the friendly staff, the included breakfast and the social events.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.