Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Fat Cat Backpackers, Kampala, Uganda
10.0
22nd Nov 2015

This is one of those hostels that becomes a home from home. And it's the so-friendly staff that make the hostel like this. The hostel is one of the most central in Kampala. WiFi works in the rooms as well as in reception. Breakfasts are adequate, with fruit juice an optional £0.80 extra. The showers are warm/hot and the only thing I can think of that needs attention is some slow-draining sinks. There is even a roof-top sun terrace!, A fair-sized mall and some restaurants are walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Agoo Hostel, Accra, Ghana
10.0
21st Oct 2015

The top "excellent" award would go to the so friendly, helpful and understanding staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Saqua Hostel & Surf, Saquarema, Brazil
6.9
15th Jun 2015

This is not really a hostel, it is a house-share. There is actually almost no security, except a camera, but the neighbourhood itself is very safe. Its location is 350 metres from a huge beach, so that's great. The breakfast and kitchen are OK but no more - fruit at breakfast, a banana, and very watered down diluting juice as well. But the bedroom for 5 was as big as you will get anywhere. And the shower was hotter if the bathroom light was not on. Some very good points, some poor, hard to rate.

View Property Reply

at least strange someone who booked 2 nights and stayed 7 nights, come now to complain and criticize everything. If I dislike a place, I just leave and don't stay 5 more nights. About the juice, it was "very watered down diluting" because you didn't mix it .. about the fruits please do not lie because there was a day with banana, apples & papaya but you ate only bananas .. for a hotter shower just switch the heating button to maximum. And the night you arrived here hungry .. I cooked for you ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Walk On The Beach Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
9.4
12th Jun 2015

Very pleasant to stay here. Have stayed at 2 other hostels in Rio (one being Che Lagarto, which is clearly newer) but it's Walk on the Beach I'd return to. It's the staff who really go 2 extra miles to look after you. But a young man needs to get his facts corrected about the buses and where they shop. The 127 and 128 do NOT stop at BRS1! Anyway, the room was small, sure, but bed was comfy enough. Toilets/shower all fine, and YES hot water. The breakfast was good, considering the price paid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
HI Holandes, Ilha Grande, Brazil
10.0
9th Jun 2015

I am so glad I picked this hostel. It is UP from the main street, for sure, but it is signposted from the main street. The hostel's own website has the best map. And do cross the little bridge and always keep left on your way up. The breakfast is superb with a good selection of fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, tea, milk. And as other reviewers have said, there is a limit on one roll with ham and cheese. However toast and jam are available too. It is in a setting surrounded by nature. I'd return!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Local Hostel Manaus, Manaus, Brazil
9.7
8th Nov 2014

Manaus has a very particular climate. It is HOT and HUMID. Whilst the hostel was mostly superb, the toilets and shower area, whilst superbly clean, suffered badly from no air-con. After a shower, whilst attempting to dry yourself, you ended up needing another shower. Hard to know what to do. The bedrooms incidentally did have air-con.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Yellow HouseHostel, Medellin, Colombia
7.4
29th Oct 2014

Vincent´s local knowledge and help with arrangements was excellent. This is very very useful for a tourist in a foreign land, as it adds to safety.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
La Serrana, Salento, Colombia
8.3
22nd Oct 2014

Serious misrepresentation by HostelWorld website. We had booked what we thought was a private room, but La Serrana showed us to a private tent. Now, admittedly, the tent was very nice, but it was quite a distance from a shared bathroom, especially if there was terrential rain. After one night we were switched to a private room, without fuss, in friendly fashion. But please HW, check your room descriptions against what La Serrana actually offer. They DO NOT MATCH and La Serrana were shocked too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Colombian Home Hostel, Cali, Colombia
10.0
14th Oct 2014

Just because it is a challenge to get the downstair's bathroom shower tap to work does not mean that I rate this hostel less than excellent. This was my 4th time here, need I say more....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Colombian Home Hostel, Cali, Colombia
10.0
3rd Oct 2013

When the boss actually also comes out with you at night to the Salsa Clubs and negotiates the taxi fares, how much better can it get???

View Property Reply

thanks for your words I always do my best to make my guests feel at family.... Mauricio :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
9.7
23rd Aug 2013

An amazing host, Xavier, and very well backed up by his always-helpful staff! Cannot be much that Xavier does not know about Cusco and whatever travel-related information you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
9.4
22nd Aug 2013

Very close to the bus company terminals and right on the main square. Super hot water in showers. No problems for a "let me out at 06:00'" bus to the airport. And friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Hostal Wasi Masi, Sucre, Bolivia
10.0
14th Aug 2013

I rated the hostel excellent on the basis of what I paid. In my opinion, everything I needed was very well provided for - in particular, safety, comfort, laundry on-site, hot showers and wi-fi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Pousada Ecoverde, Cuiaba, Brazil
8.9
4th Aug 2013

Cleanliness is difficult to judge fairly as renovations were being made at the time. But once completed, and the clean-up which follows completed, this should be marked at least GOOD. Staff marked as EXCELLENT due to the enormous knowledge of Joel, which he happily passed on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.